Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 15, 2016
Loved loved breakfast yummy and staff so friendly.
Aug 15, 2016
Very nice place. Adorable bunnies running around everywhere! Close to Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore!
Aug 14, 2016
It was amazing !!! It was always clean bathrooms & The staff were friendly and wonderful 😜
Aug 14, 2016
Clean and quiet, Thank You
Aug 13, 2016
Aug 13, 2016
vERY NICE PLACE, the showers may be cleaner! thanks anyway
Aug 13, 2016
The bunnies hopping all over were my favorite part
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
Excellent, mais très court séjour à ce KOA où nous sommes arrivés de nuit... Tout nous attendait à l'accueil. Toilettes très propres. Bel emplacement très silencieux au coeur des Blacks Hills. Nous le recommandons vivement si vous projetez visiter le Mount Rushmore, tout près.
Aug 11, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
We had a wonderful stay! The staff is so friendly and helpful, we were sad to have to go home!!!
Aug 11, 2016
Sites were very small. Our neighbor's sewer line was next to our picnic table, yum! But the staff was very nice and bathrooms were beautiful and clean. Good base for exploring Custer.
Aug 10, 2016
we were there only 3 days but we enjoyed our stay. the campground was clean, the hosts were friendly and welcoming. we felt safe leaving our trailer at site while we were out site seeing. I have already suggested to friends and family up here in my home town to stay and see the sites. thank you for the wonderful experience.
Aug 09, 2016
It was nice and quiet and clean enjoyed very much staying there.
Aug 09, 2016
Very unlevel pull-thru site, worse than many state parks.
Aug 08, 2016
love the area, great site, great staff, planning on going back next year
Aug 08, 2016
Tight space and no grass but the staff was great.
Aug 08, 2016
Very clean bathrooms, great shower. Campsites are small - close together. Store is not well-stocked. Breakfast was good. Not much to do at the campground, but that was ok because there's so much to see and do in the area. Overall good campground.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Great campground! Very nice staff!
Aug 07, 2016
good campground, it would be nice if the spaces could be a little closer to level.
Aug 07, 2016
Great area, well maintained and helpful staff...especially since we were first timers.
Aug 07, 2016
Clean, organized, with everything anyone could need or want! I love the setting, too, in the tall ponderosa pines!
Aug 06, 2016
Staff was so friendly and helpful! Really nice people.
Aug 06, 2016
Very clean and well kept. Pet friendly. Staff was great. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 06, 2016
On our Wild West adventure, we stayed an additional night at KOA in Custer, SD. The location was perfect for visiting the sights and KOA was a wonderful choice for us.
Aug 06, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay nice lot with placeto park our truck
Aug 05, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
The campground is very clean and well kept. The showers are exceptional, but the staff is what makes this 5 stars!
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
Very Friendly
Aug 01, 2016
Unhelpful staff, dated facilities, over the top rules
Aug 01, 2016
The staff was friendly and helpful. While we were out, we saw rain and hail in the forcast and realized we left our awning out. We called and the staff put it up for us. Great service.
Aug 01, 2016
Need to let the guests know about the weather that they mit be in for in the evenings. Especially for those that are in pop up campers. Our night was a really rough one and even though we enjoyed our stay, the sleeping was very poor.
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
Debra managed to squeeze us in same day, then found us another spot the next day. We very much appreciate her going the extra mile to make it work out. This is not our first stay and we plan to return again. Thank you!
Jul 30, 2016
The place was nicer than some hotels l've stayed in the past.
Jul 29, 2016
Nice, quiet campground. Great for children. The small koa store had just the right things. Back in spaces were a little tight.
Jul 29, 2016
Great clean place to stay, need more 2 way hookup sites
Jul 28, 2016
Nice park and friendly staff
Jul 28, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. We liked that it was not a huge campground. It was very quiet. My kids loved the jumping pillow and the bunnies!
Jul 28, 2016
as this was our third stay here, I would recommend this KOA to all.
Jul 27, 2016
It would be nice if people were told that there is no TV other than pbs over the air and no cable. Water pressure leaves a bit to be desired.
Jul 27, 2016
It was clean and the staff were friendly. The sites were very unlevel and the rabbits were a significant problem. They said there was a dog run area but it wasn't fenced so I couldn't take him off leash.
Jul 26, 2016
My family of six traveled from Michigan to Yosemite and back home through South Dakota. Along the way, we stayed at various KOA parks: Limom, Filmore, Yosemite West, Coleville/Walker and Custer/Mt. Rushmore. Not once did we have a bad experience! Thank-you all for your hospitality!
Jul 25, 2016
The lot was even and easy to hook up to the utilities. The kids loved the jump pillow ALOT! The help was very nice. When we were checking out we had an issue with our black water emptying out of our tank. The front desk was happy to send someone to see what they could do to help out. They didn't have to go above and beyond but they did.
Jul 25, 2016
The staff made our stay amazing. They were so friendly and accommodating to our specific situation. Treated us like family. The kids loved the pillow and the pool. Fairly close to all that the Black Hills offer. Would definitely recommend this KOA :)
Jul 25, 2016
We reserved campsites for 4 families 4 months ago and didn't get sites together. Dirty pool. Felt unwelcome as well.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The site placement was explained at the time you made your reservations due to occupancy and equipment types. We are sorry that your debate at the counter couldn't change the facts. We did offer a full refund at check in, which you declined. Safe travels.
Jul 25, 2016
Nice campground but the pool was old and cracked. Would probably book again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the comments. The pool is scheduled for replacement. Safe travels.
Jul 25, 2016
It was very enjoyable. Everyone was friendly and polite.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award