Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay as it was close to town and the sights around the Black Hills. We were especially impressed with Alan, one of the camp hosts. He was so friendly and full of information. He always took time to visit with us and give good advise on things to do. Alan made our stay special.
Sep 10, 2015
Very friendly people. They have a pancake breakfast. We had a back in site and had the forest behind us. Loved the town of Custer and close driving to most attractions.
Sep 09, 2015
very nice campground and nice folks. liked the country atmosphere.
Sep 09, 2015
The staff was so pleasant. Thanks for being accomodating.
Sep 08, 2015
This camp ground is fair we was told we would have a shaded area and we were put in the sun lot 106
Sep 08, 2015
The place is nice and clean. The spots are really tight. The jumping pillow needs some softer stuff around the pillow to land on just in case a kid jumps off or is bounced off of it. Really dangerous jumping pillow area.
Sep 08, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff, they kept the park clean and looking good.
Sep 08, 2015
Campsites very narrow
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
Great campground. Great host.
Sep 07, 2015
The hosts are friendly and helpful and the campground is clean and well maintained.
Sep 06, 2015
2 night stay employee Alan was exceptional pleasant helpful always checking to make sure we had everything we needed. Only glitch was next door neighbor yelled about smoke from our campfire even after we had moved it 2x.
Sep 05, 2015
We enjoyed the friendly staff and how helpful they were. It makes our trips very pleasant when the staff is friendly. Thanks so much!!
Sep 05, 2015
Very good facilities. Could use a bit of road maintenance.great breakfast offered on the weekend.
Sep 03, 2015
There for the Black Hills Rally. A first timer for the Kampground, but definatley will be the place to stay on future SD trips. Everything and everyone was great. All the staff that i came incontact with were very friendly and always willing to help out if needed. I especially liked the Honey Wagon Service. One less thing i hade to do when i pulled out. It was well worth the &10.00 fee. :-)
Sep 03, 2015
Would have given a 10 for reference and 5 stars but the grounds are not up to par with other KOA's in the area for similar $$$
Sep 03, 2015
One of the nicest KOAs that we have stayed at. Thanks.
Sep 03, 2015
Entrance looks like junk yard no TV not even cable no dog park and no grass all rocks
Sep 02, 2015
We stayed 8 nights....loved it. Nice facilities, grounds, and extremely friendly/helpful hosts. F,S & S breakfast is delicious. Had flat tire on truck and Jim went out of his way to get me what I needed to fix it...thanks Jim. Too bad this campsite isn't closer to home or I would love to stay weekends. Thanks to all for a wonderful stay.
Sep 02, 2015
Personnel très accueillant et serviable. Terrains de petite dimension et l'aménagement pourrait être amélioré.
Sep 02, 2015
One of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed at. Very nice setting with trees all around. Excellent dog park.
Sep 01, 2015
Stayed for 8 days. Great host service. Only issue was neighbors dog was a little barky.
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
The best thing about this KOA is the location. It was convenient to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer wildlife and local shops. No closed in dog park. Good WIFi, but no cable and with the shade no antenna/sat access.
Aug 29, 2015
Clean and quiet KOA close to Mt Rushmore and the Jewel Caves. Kids enjoyed playing on the bouncy balloon.
Aug 29, 2015
Host, Mark, was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed using the pool.
Aug 28, 2015
Great place to stay.
Aug 28, 2015
Camp was over priced,Internet was nonexistent ,but the employees were great and made the stay great.
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Staff was very friendly, it was well located for the surrounding attractions, the lots were very spacious and the park was well kept.
Aug 25, 2015
They went out of their way to help and believe me we needed it. Lots of adorable bunnies all over. Lovely campground.
Aug 24, 2015
The people who run the place lie. the owner told me he was giving me a better spot because I asked for no water? When I found my paperwork I ordered everything. Then his wife told me the people they gave 2 spots too were being charged what I was paying. I had the people next to us dump under my awning. I have pictures They are also rude. We left early to get away from there.I cried for 3 days

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You were moved from a water/electric to a full hook up at no addl charge due to a storm which flooded you original site. The wider site next to you was reserved months before you arrival. Your threats of violence in the store was uncalled for. The sewer under you awning was you sites.
Aug 23, 2015
Unfortunately showers and toilets near aur site were not avaliable (due to technical problems)
Aug 23, 2015
I had a 38ft. trailer w/slide outs and was placed in one of the smallest spaces in the campground. Sewer hook up was so far from other utilities I could not use it. Space was so narrow I could not safely use the fire pit.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Apologizes that you were not happy with your site. We were booked full and preferable sites had been booked months in advance. You were informed of our limited availability at reservation. Safe travels.
Aug 22, 2015
The stay was nice until we tried to extend our stay by a day.
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
pool was nice but it could use some cleaning, the edges were very dirty.
Aug 18, 2015
Nice and fairly quiet. Pool needed a few repairs. Needs a fenced dog park, chain link so that you can let your dog loose for a while. Hosts were very nice and knowledgeable about area.
Aug 17, 2015
Very nice KOA. The property is clean and orderly. Very nice amenities and great staff. We always stay at this location when visiting the Black Hills. From our standpoint, the only thing missing is a fenced K-9 facility.
Aug 17, 2015
The people at this campground were nice and helpful. My son loved the jumpy pillow and the pool. Bathroom were nice and up to clean. The campsite was small and no grass! All gravel my dog had no where to run or move around.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Site improvement is an ongoing effort here at the campground. Every season more is done to make things better. We do have the quarter acre field for dogs to enjoy and will soon have another. Safe travels.
Aug 16, 2015
Nice campsites, friendly staff
Aug 16, 2015
Very comfortable, clean bathrooms, friendly people.
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Kids loved the jumping mat! Clean restrooms. Nice place
Aug 15, 2015
Site was spacious and partly shaded. The bathrooms were great. Our boys enjoyed the pool and the jump pillow.
Aug 15, 2015
it a great base camp for Black Hills. Been at this KOA lots of times and it better each time I go there.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
this is the campground we will always stay at when in the area. wonderful folks friendly staff ...love the place
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award