Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 27, 2016
The personal was great friendly and helpful. We just intended to stay one night and wound up staying an extra night. Would go back again an stay there.
Sep 27, 2016
Very clean, attractive and organized. Our only issue was that our site was not level. Since we only stayed one night we didn't complain.
Sep 26, 2016
It's weird that even though the pool was closed and there were no more breakfast (or other) events, price remained the same as if it were high summer. Huh??
Sep 25, 2016
Not as fancy as some KOAs but the facilities are clean and maintained. The staff is nice and the campground is convenient to area attractions. Quiet at night.
Sep 25, 2016
Stayed four days, staff was very helpful and friendly
Sep 24, 2016
The site was not level as promised.
Sep 23, 2016
Good could use cable tv
Sep 23, 2016
Bathrooms and laundry along with the staff were stellar. Dog "run" had barbed wire on three sides and it was close to the road. Dog had to be on leash. Close to Custer which was a plus. Sites were on very uneven ground. Trees were nice.
Sep 22, 2016
Very friendly staff, easy access. Clean bathrooms and showers. Solid WiFi. Gravel /dirt lots with lots of trees.
Sep 21, 2016
The bathrooms were warm and immaculate . The employees were very friendly.
Sep 21, 2016
The staff were helpful, friendly and professional. They went above and beyond to make the stay enjoyable. The amenities are well maintained. The campsites themselves need some maintenance (caps to cover sewer pipes instead of rocks) and upgrading to help level of sites.
Sep 21, 2016
Wonderful town and people. The Koa is close enough to all of the sights. The park staff were proactive in helping me fix a flat tire and guided me to help in town. Thank you.
Sep 21, 2016
Loved this campground. The staff is superb, the location is central to all we wanted to see.
Sep 21, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Facilities neat, clean and wee maintained.
Sep 20, 2016
Great campground. Stayed in a travel trailer.
Sep 20, 2016
Loved this place! We will stay here again!
Sep 20, 2016
Very nice staff. Nice play are for dogs which one of the staff members said would be fenced in the future. Would stay here again.
Sep 19, 2016
Garbage is a little problemen
Sep 17, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Sep 17, 2016
The staff were friendly and very helpful with any of our questions regarding the area and the ammenities were great.
Sep 16, 2016
The hosts were very nice. Campground was kept very clean.
Sep 16, 2016
Personal were very friendly and helpful.
Sep 15, 2016
Great place to stay. Hosts were helpful and friendly. Facilities were well maintained. Conveniently located for sight seeing and easy access to Custer. But no cable TV and only digital channels available were PBS children's and cooking shows. For the higher KOA rates cable is expected as part of full hookups. Otherwise no complaints.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for the lack of cable, but it is not available in our area.
Sep 14, 2016
This was our first time at a KOA and it did not disappoint. We will be staying at KOA's in the future. Thank you!
Sep 14, 2016
We were there late season so bathrooms pretty cool. Pretty sites but on side hill and harder to level trailer.If you pulled through as instructed the connections were at front of trailer. Because of deer in area you needed to watch where you walked
Sep 13, 2016
Friendly staff. Very clean, well-maintained shower house and laundry. Would definitely stay here again. Enjoyed our 3-day stay.
Sep 11, 2016
Had a few novice problems here but the staff couldn't help me enough.
Sep 11, 2016
This is one of the worst KOAs I have ever stayed in. Their dump is right next to your site which we could not find a level spot for the trailer. If you have a dog stay away, the park is infested with rabbits which you get yelled at if your dog barks or chased. Other than the office lady that checked us in the atitude was really bad.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you were not happy with your stay. While we do have rabbits as most areas in the black hills do, our dump station is near no sites, being down by the dog park. Dog regulations are in place for your fellow campers first, as well as for the local wild life. Safe travels.
Sep 10, 2016
Great campground, good location, my wife liked the bounce pillow. John
Sep 10, 2016
Beautiful RV Park. Thanks for a great place to stay.
Sep 10, 2016
The campground was clean and well maintained, staff was helpful. Restrooms and showers were clean and modern
Sep 10, 2016
Very rustic, gravel pads, not terribly level, but the location and wildlife made up for it.
Sep 07, 2016
Clean facilities, but very poor, intermittent WiFi.
Sep 06, 2016
Level is not a word in their dictionary. Good for Bighorn Sheep, bad for RV's.
Sep 06, 2016
Great campgrounds. Probably the nicest staff of any campground we've stayed at. Very clean facilities and orderly camp grounds. We highly recommend.
Sep 06, 2016
Very helpful staff!
Sep 05, 2016
Liked the park. Will try again. Our site (91 I think) had a very sloped sitting area but managed. Looked like end of season and projects happening. Sewer was a problem and kinda stinky. Unfortunately almost every time we came back to the site we had others parked in our site so they didn't have to walk to the bathroom. Mildly annoying. Loved the rabbits. Beautiful rustic setting.
Sep 05, 2016
Absolutely delightful! Beautiful site with trees and bunnies! Excellent restrooms and showers. Friendly and helpful staff.
Sep 05, 2016
nice park but fire pits too close to front of RV.
Sep 05, 2016
Great place first time at a KOA will stay again
Sep 05, 2016
Outstanding great staff
Sep 03, 2016
Secluded and Quiet!
Sep 02, 2016
Great place to stay but still waiting for my membership fees that I cancelled because I accidentally paid for another membership
Sep 02, 2016
Had a very peaceful stay thank you
Sep 01, 2016
Jimmy, Deb, Chick and staff are great people. They are very accommodating and thoughtful. The facilities are clean and updated. We have just completed our 7th year coming there and see many more years of spending our vacation staying there.
Sep 01, 2016
Sep 01, 2016
Great hosts, Long fairly level sites tucked in the trees. The resident bunny rabbits entertained us every day.
Sep 01, 2016
Nice park. Would stay here again.
Aug 30, 2016
Campground is great! Right in the middle of all the sights in the black hills.
Aug 30, 2016
most of the staff were good. the spaces need improving when I said that I was not happy with my site I was told that I could have my money back and leave if I didn't like it
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award