Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 18, 2017
Site not level.
Jul 17, 2017
Very clean, informative and helpful staff. Thank You!
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
They need more 50amp sites.
Jul 17, 2017
The workers were very helpful and pleasant.
Jul 16, 2017
Very helpful and pleasant staff
Jul 16, 2017
The Location Was Great But Campground Offered No Activities And Had Little Amenities To offer. Customer service was adequate but people in our group had a poor experience with front desk. We wouldn't come back especially since the camp next door is less money with an a LA care pool slide.
Jul 16, 2017
Very quiet. Staff was friendly. Escorted us to site. Tight u-turn to get to site with toad.
Jul 15, 2017
Beautiful place in the Black Hills.
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 14, 2017
Great park and location. Staff was friendly and helpful giving us directions of where to go and how to get there. One drawback, our sewer was uphill.
Jul 14, 2017
Very friendly staff. Don't use Google maps to find this place. It will get you lost.
Jul 14, 2017
Stayed for two days while sightseeing in the area. Campground was clean and neat.The staff was very friendly. Sites are not very level.
Jul 13, 2017
The campsite itself was terrible it was like a gravel parking lot it was so small and close if we were to actually light a campfire it would've caught our camper on fire. the jumping pillow and the pool and the restrooms were all very nice but the campsite itself ruined the stay for us we left early canceled our additional two nights of reservations.
Jul 13, 2017
We really enjoyed this campground. Very convenient to so many attractions.
Jul 12, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
One of the best campgrounds we've kamped at.
Jul 11, 2017
Very clean and well maintained campground. The staff was very friendly. I would go back to this campground
Jul 11, 2017
Great place to stay! Close to everything and the staff was absolutely amazing!! And the bunnies were adorable!!
Jul 11, 2017
Quiet hours were not observed. We had kids running around at all hours next to us. We called about linking to the satellite service that was listed on your map, someone came over and said they couldn't help and left. Unsatisfactory on both of these accounts.
Jul 11, 2017
Enjoy this Koa. Staff very helpful. But we ask to make a local call and in this day & age, they had only one line for their business use and not for clients who travel from abroad with no cell phone, pity.
Jul 11, 2017
So clean. Close to Rushmore and Custer state park. Very friendly staff.
Jul 10, 2017
The sites are to close together. You can't see any scenery .
Jul 10, 2017
Stayed three nights for our grandchildren to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Wind Caves NP and Hot Srings mammoth dig. Park was perfect, with pool and bouncing pillow for the kids. Good facilities and helpful staff!! Thank you!!
Jul 09, 2017
Clean restrooms but tiny muddy ugly sites. Would not stay here again. There is a KOA closer to to the entrance to Custer State Park that appears to be much nicer.
Jul 09, 2017
Nice campground pool closes early to due to chance of storm. Kids were sad and we were frustrated
Jul 09, 2017
Nice friendly staff. I would like to see more grass.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the comments. As for grass, we want more too! We're working on it and we will have more when you come again. Safe travels.
Jul 08, 2017
Very nice camp ground, staff is great and friendly and helpful, the restrooms are clean.
Jul 06, 2017
Not the best kept KOA we have camped at and we have camped at many. Cluttered,restrooms could be cleaner and staff appeared to have a attitude on the negative side.
Jul 06, 2017
Over a 4 day stay, we were forced to move our trailer after one day - after being told we would not have to by campground representatives. So instead of enjoying the beautiful area of Custer, we sat around waiting for the other site we were to move into to vacate. It seems they could have figured out a reasonable solution, but didn't seem interested in trying to accommodate us.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Your original reservation was for 3 nights. Wanting to come in a day early, you made another reservation on line. Due to the park being full we could not move other campers to keep you in one site. Also, our staff assisted you in moving your belongings and got you moved by 10:30am. No one from this campground ever indicated you would be staying in the same site. Safe travels.
Jul 06, 2017
Beautiful campground staff very friendly and helpful. Very close to things we wanted to do Mt. Rushmore and Custer state park.
Jul 06, 2017
Staff were great and sufficiently addressed our dissatisfaction with the small crowded site. This campground is on the side of a hill so lots are fashioned w that consideration. Once we were moved, very satisfied.
Jul 05, 2017
This Kamp was convenient for all our sightseeing.
Jul 05, 2017
Everyone was very polite and helpful. We had such a good time.
Jul 05, 2017
The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating us seemed to please them, facilities were all clean. We will definitely be back!
Jul 04, 2017
We had a great stay! Everything was so clean and nice. The kids had lots to do. It was the perfect location to explore the Black Hills. We'll be back!
Jul 04, 2017
Friendly staff.
Jul 04, 2017
The wife wanted to goto church and I asked for 15 to 20 minutes grace time in case she didn't get back in time to make the 11:00 departure time. They wouldn't grant it.
Jul 03, 2017
Great KOA!! Only one complaint. We came at 9:29 for breakfast and were turned away.
Jul 03, 2017
Clean friendly staff had stayed before and would do it again. Close to all state parks lots of animals to see.
Jul 02, 2017
Wonderful place to stay and really great hosts.
Jul 02, 2017
Host's were nice and usually helpful. Our site was little more than a pull through stone "driveway." Knowing we would be there 5 nights we asked to be moved to a grassy back-in but they were unable to move us to that site. Don't understand scheduling as we watched campers come and go for a night at a time to back-in site. Campground is in a nice location.
Jul 02, 2017
Expensive
Jul 01, 2017
Awesome campground!
Jun 30, 2017
Jun 30, 2017
No cable bad internet connection great people bad storm went through power was out for awhile loaned me had for my generator.
Jun 29, 2017
Great campground. Clean. Friendly staff.
Jun 29, 2017
Staff were great, very friendly and eager to help. Sites had plenty of room. The 24 hour access to the laundry was helpful for our needs.
Jun 28, 2017
Ok facility. Updated bathrooms were nice. Very close together with very little privacy. Very nice hosts.
Jun 27, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award