Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13

RV Reviews

Jul 01, 2015
Very helpful staff clean and tidy site
Jun 30, 2015
The Custer KOA is in a great location. The staff is very helpful, and the campground itself is has lots of trees, fire rings, etc. It's a very good place to stay when visiting the Black Hills Area.
Jun 30, 2015
Staff was very friendly, stopped and talked with us often. Facilities were well taken care of and clean.
Jun 29, 2015
Friendly, clean & great location! Super nice folks. Enjoyed our stay!
Jun 27, 2015
This park was great, the people were the freindliest we have ever met, the employees we very helpful. Would definitely come back.
Jun 27, 2015
We had a great check in experience with Mark the Sombrero Man and his wife Julie. After checking in Mark escorted us to the dump station as we needed to dump from our previous nights stay at another KOA that had a very muddy dump area. We had quiet neighbors and a clean campsite. The hospitality was great from all involved with our stay. The breakfast at the chuckwagon was good as well.
Jun 27, 2015
Our stay was great. The only complaint would be that the showers were ice cold the morning we left.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for the shower the morning you left. A break in a hot water line caused the problem, which we had fixed within 3 hours. I hope you return and enjoy the area in the future. Safe Travels. Jim
Jun 26, 2015
Very nice place.
Jun 26, 2015
All the staff at the camp ground are very friendly everything was very clean I will be back to stay again.
Jun 26, 2015
Very nice people running the place.they make you feel like they've known you for years.will definitely come back
Jun 25, 2015
very nice and great staff. Roomy sights & lots to do
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 25, 2015
My husband had to have an emergency surgical procedure while we were camped here. Your wonderful staff helped me SO MUCH!!!! They found me a hospital to go to & pumped my RV septic while I had to follow the ambulance to a larger hospital for the procedure. They checked in on my daughter & 4 dogs while I was busy caring for my husband. They were SO HELPFUL!!! MUCHO KUDOS!!!!
Jun 24, 2015
We were here with our 6,5, and 1 year olds. The facilities were clean, well-tended, and accessible. EVERY SINGLE ONE of the staff that we encountered was 100% friendly and accommodating. They listened to my 6 and 5 year olds' endless chatter and cheerfully waved back to my toddler when he waved at them Every. Single. Time. they drove by in a golf cart. Awesome stay!
Jun 23, 2015
Great staff. Very enjoyable stay. Breakfast was great. Very clean restrooms and showers.
Jun 22, 2015
Friendly staff! Love the rabbits! Grounds need some TLC, Overpriced breakfast.
Jun 22, 2015
Great place. People were very friendly and helpful.
Jun 21, 2015
This site- pull through, full hookups was totally open, no shade at all. It was a very hot and sunny day so quite uncomfortable. The site was quite narrow and barely room for the table and fire ring. We left after an hour and found a better campground in town under the pine trees.
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
Our 6 night stay at the Custer/Mt Rushmore KOA was simply wonderful. Mr and Mrs Katz are amazing work Kampers and made us more than welcome. I would recommend this Kampground very highly.
Jun 20, 2015
Nice people. Sites and roads need gravel and leveling.
Jun 20, 2015
I cant say enough about the friendliness of the staff...Debbi, Jim, Mark, Billy etc...I highly recommend the morning breakfast made by Billy...good food at a good price!! The whole facility is kept nicely and I would definelty stay here again if we are in the area...
Jun 20, 2015
Nice, roads are rough but sites are level.
Jun 18, 2015
Great visit
Jun 18, 2015
Good location, very friendly staff, DELICIOUS breakfast.
Jun 18, 2015
Beautiful area. Loved it.
Jun 18, 2015
Jun 17, 2015
The problem I had was with getting the RV level. Even with blocks it wasn't, this is important to me, too bad.
Jun 16, 2015
I loves this place the people were friendly and courteous. The campgrounds were clean and well kept. They also made the children feel welcome by having fun things for them to do. I would recommend this KOA to andyone.
Jun 15, 2015
Kids loved the jumping pillow and bunnies running around camp. Nice quiet camp and friendly staff.
Jun 14, 2015
Excellent customer service! Some sites need more grass.
Jun 14, 2015
Women's bathroom very clean and warm! Enjoyed meeting new neighbors. Front office staff very nice and helpful. Great proximity to sites we wanted to see.
Jun 13, 2015
The staff here was awesome. Place was clean and quiet. I was glad I chose to stay here verses the closer places. It was very laid back. The wifi was adequate. I highly recommend.
Jun 13, 2015
and the staff was friendly. Will stay there in the future when we return to the Black Hills.
Jun 13, 2015
Great location & quiet. Staff helpful. Sites very uneven & difficult to level. Roads a muddy mess. Needs a lot more gravel to cover dirt & less mud.
Jun 13, 2015
Very clean & friendly
Jun 13, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff. Grandson liked the heated pool. Billy is a great asset with all he does and his helpfulness with campers.
Jun 12, 2015
This quiet, well shaded campground was a delight for all 5 of us with the pool, playground and bounce pillow AND who can resist those bunnies---much better that chipmunks!!
Jun 12, 2015
Great staff. Men's shower was the best I've ever used at a KOA or any other RV Park. We'll be back
Jun 12, 2015
The campground was very clean and well run. The people were so friendly and helpful! Great job!
Jun 10, 2015
Best of the best
Jun 10, 2015
Outstanding accommodations, KOA residents were helpful and accommodateing, clean site with no road noise
Jun 08, 2015
Quiet campground.
Jun 08, 2015
The staff was very courteous and attentive. I did not like the unlevel site. And all of the hook ups were on the wrong end of my trailer. I had to pull forward and set up on a slant just to reach the electric box.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize your site was not to your liking. If you had informed us we do have 30 and 50 amp cords for just such situations, which we would have gladly lent you. Thank you for staying with us and safe travels.
Jun 07, 2015
Jun 06, 2015
Our trip was interrupted by flooding on I90 and the people at Custer Campground were most helpful in getting us booked for another day and then when we went to leave the truck would not start and withing minutes of our call to the office they were there to give us a jump. They couldn't have been nicer.
Jun 06, 2015
Nice people.Good location. Just a bit far from Rushmore.
Jun 05, 2015
Awesome KOA! Highly recommended. Most friendliest staff and awesome accommodations. Would love to return again.
Jun 05, 2015
People are lovely, campsite was so uneven it damaged the leveling jacks on my motor home. Others had a wheel jacked in the air. Is it too much to expect level access and a level site. The country was so green and lush, unlike the dust bowl of a campground. I hope this is seen as constructive critism.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. When you were escorted to you site you did not have any complaints, nor when we made contact with you later in the day. I'm not sure dust bowl fits since it rained every day you were here and this has prevented our normal spring site maintenance. Safe travels.
Jun 04, 2015
Nice friendly park.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.