Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Jul 30, 2015
Very friendly staff, clean bathrooms and showers
Jul 29, 2015
The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. Loved the location! Camp sites were very close together but it worked out well. The staff was all very nice and accommodating. Very happy with our stay!
Jul 29, 2015
I stayed here when I selected the wrong campground and meant to reserve another KOA. It made no difference because we had such a nice time here. The office was nice and the staff was very friendly. The campground was clean and quiet and the kids had a great time with the play equipment and "pillow" along with the game room. Very enjoyable campground.
Jul 29, 2015
Bathrooms nice though not a lot of stalls or showers for busy times
Jul 29, 2015
Extremely well ran KOA with pleasant and helpful people at the front desk. They were quick to help, thorough and made us feel welcome. The bathrooms were well maintained and the campsite was perfect. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Jul 27, 2015
Great campground. Nice people! Love KOA
Jul 26, 2015
The campground itself was great. The road (16) was very noisy. Not the best for a "peace and quiet" camping trip. But overall, it was good.
Jul 25, 2015
Ok. I think the only thing we didn't like is that the tent area was on a hard surface. Level, but hard. We were able to be upgraded to a site with an electrical hookup; being able to charge our cell phones was nice. Staff was very nice.
Jul 25, 2015
When we checked in we were told we had an excellent tent site. I wish we had gone back and asked for a refund: site was either gravel covered, under the firepit, or sloping. My family and I rolled downhill all night. We had no hook ups, I wish we had stayed at Wind Cave and saved the extra money.
Jul 24, 2015
It was a quick overnighter, but the camp grounds were well maintained and the cabins looked nice!
Jul 24, 2015
We really enjoyed this KOA. The staff were the friendliest by far of all the KOAs we have encountered. We especially enjoyed the staff member working the desk when we checked in. Didn't catch his name (although he did say it), but he had a beard and wore a cowboy hat. He was so warm and inviting and took the time to tell us about places in the area.
Jul 21, 2015
This was our first KOA experience, and it was wonderful! The staff was so friendly and welcoming (so were the bunnies!) and Billy made a delicious breakfast. We will definitely be back to this awesome campsite!
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
I was extremely impressed with the facilities and, especially, the employees! The gentleman with the hat (I never did catch his name) was extremely friendly and always had a big smile on. We will definitely stay here again.
Jul 18, 2015
Great place to stay,grandkids love the jump pillow
Jul 17, 2015
By far my favorite koa! They really go above and beyond to make your trip memorable! Great activities for the kids, and amazing breakfast (thanks Billy!). We will definitely stay here many many more times!
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
Great location, friendly and excellent staff and service. Lovely grounds, and very kid and family friendly. I had only three complaints; 1) quiet hours were not strictly enforced, though not a serious problem; 2) road noise; 3) one bundle of firewood sold to us was a bit green.
Jul 09, 2015
All in all ok stay. Needs signage to direct to campground. Best part is town, Custer is quaint, cozy and friendly.
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
This is a great place to stay!! Lots of trees and a very helpful staff. We tried to stay an extra night but they were full. Kids loved the jumping pillow and the pool. Staff made us feel like family. Lots of nice families camping there.
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Loved the STAFF... CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN even with the July 4th week. Thanks Sir jimmy
Jul 06, 2015
Facilities are clean, staff friendly and accommodating. Campsite are a little close, though.
Jul 05, 2015
You need to have another dish washing station on the other end of the camp ground by the other bathrooms.
Jul 05, 2015
Clean facilities friendly staff very helpful but tent sites pretty close together....could hear EVERYTHING going on. But we would still recommend this KOA.
Jul 04, 2015
Excellent location, layout and services. Raised spots for tents were especially great. Plus, bunnies. Tons of them.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Friendly staff, clean and quiet facility. Great location and close to a lot of attractions. Would be nice if the shower stalls were a little larger and the teen game room was a little disappointing.
Jun 29, 2015
The staff was all AMAZING, top-notch, and we loved it. Only complaint: wish the highway noise was blocked a bit.
Jun 27, 2015
Very friendly staff. The giant bouncy pillow was a hit with our 7 and 9 year olds. Great trees for shade.
Jun 20, 2015
Beautiful campground. Excellent hosts - very friendly & helpful - they go above & beyond to help. Loved that the jumping pillow was free. Bathrooms were nice & clean. Only negatives: (1) Tent pads are too small -- should be at least 3" longer on each side; (2) The showers were awful - only 1 worked, the other 2 were too cold or no flow (or both).
Jun 20, 2015
Clean bathrooms and friendly, helpful staff. Plus a jumping pillow, which might have beat Mt. Rushmore as a highlight for my kids. :-)
Jun 18, 2015
Staff very friendly and helpful. Facilities very clean and user friendly. All the bunnies a bonus. Again staff were amazing!
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
Excellent stay. Great campsite, awesome staff. The children loved the pool and jumping pillow, aswell as feeding the friendly rabbits.
Jun 11, 2015
The front desk and help were extremely helpful and friendly! I loved the space heaters in the restrooms. I am always cold.
Jun 03, 2015
Loved our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Kids loved the playground and jumping pillow. Also, Billy does make the best pancakes!!
May 27, 2015
Other than the constant rain,it was a great place to stay. I'll be back when it is drier!
May 11, 2015
The staff was very nice and helpful. But may stay was full of rain which kinda made the campgrounds muddy. That's the only reason I didn't enjoy my stay all too much, but I'm sure with better weather, it'd be very nice. I appreciated the heaters in the bathroom, very helpful since it got pretty cold during my stay.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Campsites for tents are basically all on a rocky hill. Difficult to stake your tent and you will probably be sleeping with some difficulty due to unlevel sites. Staff very friendly. Odd view of someone's house directly near campsites- kind of strange. Good bathrooms.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Camp very close to Custer city. Rare possibility to have facilities of city and camp lodge. Excellent Wi-Fi(in tent!!!). Nice breakfast (additional amenity, I didn't waste my time to make meal)
Sep 02, 2014
Everyone on staff was super friendly! We had a great time, and my son had a blast on the jumping pillow :-D
Sep 01, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
This is a fabulous KOA. It is outside Custer. It is near Jewel Cave, Wind Cave, Mount Rushmore and in the heart of black hills.
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
The only nice thing to say about this place is the bathrooms were clean and the rabbits are cool. The female staff are rude and snotty,the sites were sloped and they did nothing about noise control night or day. They hike up prices for bike week and if you're not satisfied and leave you won't get a refund. I am a rewards member and have stayed at KOA sites all over the US,this was the worst!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.