Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 20, 2016
This KOA is nicely run. They are very pleasant and helpful. It's very peaceful even though it sits on hwy 16. It's not a heavily used road. Lots of pines, clean, and bunnies that aren't shy around people moving around. They aren't begging, just meandering the grounds. The bathrooms at the main building are super nice! You feel like you are staying at a nice hotel!
Sep 16, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
Very clean place and we loved seeing the friendly rabbits and squirrels during our stay. I wish we would have had more time so we could have enjoyed the pool.
Sep 12, 2016
Great Place, great staff, great location.
Sep 10, 2016
Sep 09, 2016
You couldn't ask for better staff! Great job you guys!
Sep 09, 2016
Best KOA I've stayed at! Great tent pad, Wi-Fi at site worked great, and showers/bathroom were clean and nice.
Sep 08, 2016
The campground was wonderful. The staff were awesome. They were so friendly and helpful. I can't remember all their names. But everyone was great and we will definitely be back.
Sep 07, 2016
Great camp ground. Very clean and the workers and guests were friendly and great. Easy to find. My son (and I) really enjoyed the jumping pillow.
Sep 07, 2016
Nice and quiet. Clean restrooms and showers. Super friendly staff gave us a good-sized space for our large family tent. Gave an active duty military discount. Thanks!
Sep 06, 2016
The hosts were so nice and caring! I honestly had an amazing time and would stay here again!
Sep 05, 2016
a nice farely quiet campground
Aug 29, 2016
Really lovely campsite, nice facilities, nice sized plots. Very friendly & helpful staff. Loved the cafe on site. Directions on website could be clearer, maybe get email confirmation to have directions as part of text.
Aug 29, 2016
Restrooms were very nice. shower wands were great. Kid play area is a plus
Aug 28, 2016
The people in the ten house has a noisy dog.
Aug 27, 2016
Sites extremely close together. No privacy. Very little grass or trees. Good shower facility. Staff seemed nice. Wish I chose a cabin instead of a tent site
Aug 25, 2016
This was the first time I tent camped and the first time at a KOA! It was fabulous and I had a great time! KOA employee Roy from Louisiana was especially wonderful and caring!
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 20, 2016
once again the staff was very friendly and helpful-great on directions and places to see. restrooms were clean
Aug 19, 2016
Very clean campgrounds,friendly staff! Loved the bunnies
Aug 16, 2016
Facilities were clean. Staff was friendly. The only place to pitch the tent was on a hill. There was a hole about 10 feet deep with water in the bottom next to our site. There were a few sheets of plywood over it. We were traveling with an active toddler. It was very stressful trying to keep him safe in that situation. Price was too high for these conditions.
Aug 15, 2016
Convenient for running into town to get whatever you forget! Very nice staff.
Aug 14, 2016
I know it was Sturgis week, though it was an off year and the tent sites were never full. It was just my wife and I, and my 9 year old grandson. They charged extra for him! I will never go back to this KOA!
Aug 14, 2016
nice tent sites
Aug 12, 2016
The staff is very friendly. Restroom and showers were clean. Breakfast was great. Was out and about most of the days so just slept in our tent sight. It was good.
Aug 11, 2016
I was lost, lost, lost...and service (on my phone went in and out, but they never lost patience and were extremely helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the camp sites were cozy.
Aug 10, 2016
Nice. Miss shade for tents. Not enough toilets when campground full. Near everything.
Aug 09, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay at this campground. The campsites could have been a little farther apart from each other, but otherwise it had nice bathroom facilities and amenities and was very close to a lot of attractions.
Aug 09, 2016
Bucket list. Clean, great food, pool, kids play area, laundry. Blessed to been able to stay here. Great people.
Aug 08, 2016
thanks
Aug 05, 2016
We arrived late but the staff were ready to help us with a smile.
Aug 05, 2016
Clean restrooms Clean surroundings Easy access to places
Aug 05, 2016
Friendly staff and rabbits.
Aug 04, 2016
This was a great place to stay. It was a remarkable place to camp. Clean facilities. Clean sites. A bounce pad, pool, playground and a hoop. The camp is one step away from a tenting resort. Close to everything and a reasonable price. Sites are close by each other, but most of the time isn't spent in the tent.
Aug 03, 2016
We loved the campground. The reasonably priced breakfast was wonderful so we did not have to make our own. It helped us get an earlier start. Clean showers and restroom. Enjoyed the cute bunnies. That was so cool and fun to watch. Great map of campground. The two women working at the desk were very friendly and helpful. Clean and spacious tent sites. Not one complaint. We would visit again
Aug 03, 2016
Ntbe staff was verhy friendly and the cmamp ground was laid out nicely. We even extended our stay because we liked the area so much. There is plenty to do for kids staying at the site.
Aug 02, 2016
Totally love it .
Aug 01, 2016
Beautiful campground. Staff was wonderful! very kind and helpful! We really enjoyed our stay!
Aug 01, 2016
First time here, super friendly, and helpful staff. Really clean restrooms with showers. Enjoyed our stay very much.
Jul 31, 2016
Enjoyed the convenience and the facilities. My family had a great stay.
Jul 26, 2016
We enjoyed our stay and the friendliness of the staff! Suggestions: have mounted soap dispenser at level kids can reach, post pool hours for kids to read, and spray for ants at the tent sights.
Jul 23, 2016
Very sandy/gravel throughout campground. Very uneven ground and roads made difficult for walking to restroom at night in the dark. Tent sites were on sand. Restrooms were nice. Breakfast made to order was handy.
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
Fantastic. Breakfast was home-cooked and wonderful. Very friendly people working at this KOA
Jul 19, 2016
I want to give this place 5 stars but... the WiFi did not work. However, out of all of our KOA stops on this year's road trip, this was the best. The bathrooms/showers were clean and a good size. It was quiet and inviting. Staff was nice. They also had the earliest breakfast for those who like to eat early. We had a tent site with a raised pad. It just fit with our 12'x10' base.
Jul 18, 2016
Great koa, friendly staff, good spaces with plenty of shade, convent location
Jul 18, 2016
The campground is a great location for the Custer area. I would say your site is pretty small but if it's just two people it works great. The showers were close by although only two showers can cause a line in the morning. The breakfast at the campground was good. It was easy to find and the staff was very helpful with firewood, cheap too!
Jul 16, 2016
The jumping pillow was a big hit with my grand children. This was their first tent camping experience. We were in 12 and 11 and it was perfect for us. Very accommodating . The office closes at 8:30, and we needed firewood. We called while we were out and they delivered the wood to our camp site. Saved the night. Showers and restrooms were clean and very nice.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award