Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Aug 28, 2015
Great facility. The people that work there are extremely kind and helpful. The bathrooms are the best I've seen at a KOA. The campsites are spacious. There are lots of rabbits, they are friendly but drove our dog a little crazy. Perfect location for exploring the beautiful black hills. Hope to be back.
Aug 27, 2015
Nice facilities and wonderful folks working in the office. Very nice tiled and clean restrooms & showers. Tent camped here and nice site.
Aug 24, 2015
Great place. Only remark is that there wasn't a grate on our fire pit for the tent area. But not a huge deal!
Aug 23, 2015
Clean campground and the hosts were extremely friendly and inviting!
Aug 22, 2015
Great place to stay while in the Rushmore/Custer area.
Aug 22, 2015
A couple of the showers were u see maintenance. Lack of tree cover in a few parts of the camp ground making you very exposed to the elements. Great location and overall amenities. Staff was great.
Aug 17, 2015
We called pre-season all the way from Maine for reservations, (though we were' t then aware of Sturgis bike week). The lady on the phone with whom we made arrangements was VERY nice and accommodating. The campground was neat, clean, maintained, and well organized. (Yes, we had motorcycles - quiet ones- but we're on a coast to coast tour. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We would stay there again
Aug 16, 2015
Some of the friendliest staff I've ever seen anywhere, bar none. Enjoyed my stay immensely.
Aug 14, 2015
This was our second time staying here we cannot say enough about our stay every staff member was wonderful they made us feel like we were family. We love the campground, we will definitely go back again. we have stayed at other KOA campgrounds and by far this is the best. We ate the chuckwagon breakfeast every morning. Debbie and Jim do a great job with managing the campgrounds.
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful facilities! Great staff! Central to the sites!
Aug 11, 2015
Best breakfast menu and best staff! Fanciest and best maintained restrooms/shower. Tent sites were a bit steep but a great location!
Aug 10, 2015
Nice camp ground. Clean rest rooms. Organized camp sites. Great amenities. Friendly staff. Good location.
Aug 08, 2015
Nice location, clean, nice staff, sites are a bit close together.
Aug 07, 2015
KOA Staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. Former sailor "Mark" and his wife were especially nice seeing that we are both Navy Veterans. The only improvement I can suggest is to redesign the shower facility in the back of the grounds to accommodate more users. The smaller of the 2 shower stalls appears to be an "after-thought" which I am sure was not intended. Overall very positive!!
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
We had a great time. My daughter loved the giant inflatable balloon. Both kids loved the rabbits running around too. The central location to all the Black Hills has to offer was convenient for us too.
Aug 06, 2015
It was great everyone was very nice n helpful, loved the cooks. Took care of all our needs
Aug 05, 2015
The campground and staff were awesome. I plan to return next year! A very great 4 day stay
Aug 04, 2015
This is a great campground! Very well run and excellent bathroom facilities. Everything is neat and tidy and great breakfast offered too! They were very helpful and accommodating when we had to change our reservations. I would definitely recommend this campground if you're in the area!
Aug 04, 2015
Great place. Very quiet and friendly people. Clean bathrooms and showers. Lots of hot water. I like the raised pads for the tents.
Aug 03, 2015
Great location with great people.
Jul 30, 2015
Very friendly staff, clean bathrooms and showers
Jul 29, 2015
The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. Loved the location! Camp sites were very close together but it worked out well. The staff was all very nice and accommodating. Very happy with our stay!
Jul 29, 2015
I stayed here when I selected the wrong campground and meant to reserve another KOA. It made no difference because we had such a nice time here. The office was nice and the staff was very friendly. The campground was clean and quiet and the kids had a great time with the play equipment and "pillow" along with the game room. Very enjoyable campground.
Jul 29, 2015
Bathrooms nice though not a lot of stalls or showers for busy times
Jul 29, 2015
Extremely well ran KOA with pleasant and helpful people at the front desk. They were quick to help, thorough and made us feel welcome. The bathrooms were well maintained and the campsite was perfect. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Jul 27, 2015
Great campground. Nice people! Love KOA
Jul 26, 2015
The campground itself was great. The road (16) was very noisy. Not the best for a "peace and quiet" camping trip. But overall, it was good.
Jul 25, 2015
Ok. I think the only thing we didn't like is that the tent area was on a hard surface. Level, but hard. We were able to be upgraded to a site with an electrical hookup; being able to charge our cell phones was nice. Staff was very nice.
Jul 25, 2015
When we checked in we were told we had an excellent tent site. I wish we had gone back and asked for a refund: site was either gravel covered, under the firepit, or sloping. My family and I rolled downhill all night. We had no hook ups, I wish we had stayed at Wind Cave and saved the extra money.
Jul 24, 2015
It was a quick overnighter, but the camp grounds were well maintained and the cabins looked nice!
Jul 24, 2015
We really enjoyed this KOA. The staff were the friendliest by far of all the KOAs we have encountered. We especially enjoyed the staff member working the desk when we checked in. Didn't catch his name (although he did say it), but he had a beard and wore a cowboy hat. He was so warm and inviting and took the time to tell us about places in the area.
Jul 21, 2015
This was our first KOA experience, and it was wonderful! The staff was so friendly and welcoming (so were the bunnies!) and Billy made a delicious breakfast. We will definitely be back to this awesome campsite!
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
I was extremely impressed with the facilities and, especially, the employees! The gentleman with the hat (I never did catch his name) was extremely friendly and always had a big smile on. We will definitely stay here again.
Jul 18, 2015
Great place to stay,grandkids love the jump pillow
Jul 17, 2015
By far my favorite koa! They really go above and beyond to make your trip memorable! Great activities for the kids, and amazing breakfast (thanks Billy!). We will definitely stay here many many more times!
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
Great location, friendly and excellent staff and service. Lovely grounds, and very kid and family friendly. I had only three complaints; 1) quiet hours were not strictly enforced, though not a serious problem; 2) road noise; 3) one bundle of firewood sold to us was a bit green.
Jul 09, 2015
All in all ok stay. Needs signage to direct to campground. Best part is town, Custer is quaint, cozy and friendly.
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
This is a great place to stay!! Lots of trees and a very helpful staff. We tried to stay an extra night but they were full. Kids loved the jumping pillow and the pool. Staff made us feel like family. Lots of nice families camping there.
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Loved the STAFF... CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN even with the July 4th week. Thanks Sir jimmy
Jul 06, 2015
Facilities are clean, staff friendly and accommodating. Campsite are a little close, though.
Jul 05, 2015
You need to have another dish washing station on the other end of the camp ground by the other bathrooms.
Jul 05, 2015
Clean facilities friendly staff very helpful but tent sites pretty close together....could hear EVERYTHING going on. But we would still recommend this KOA.
Jul 04, 2015
Excellent location, layout and services. Raised spots for tents were especially great. Plus, bunnies. Tons of them.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Friendly staff, clean and quiet facility. Great location and close to a lot of attractions. Would be nice if the shower stalls were a little larger and the teen game room was a little disappointing.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.