Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 22, 2017
Wonderfully clean and well kept showers and toilets. Swimming pool is in dire need of shade/awning.
Jul 21, 2017
This campground was the best! Very clean bathrooms and showers. My kids loved the jump pad and pool. What a great place! This was our 1st time camping at a KOA and we would definitely come again.
Jul 12, 2017
Our stay was really nice. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The only wish would be more shaded areas for tents.
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
The workers were very nice and the area was really clean. Very enjoyable and beautiful area. Thank you!
Jul 09, 2017
Jul 09, 2017
Everything was great. Even the bathrooms and shower houses were super clean. No complaints. The guy driving around the campground in a golf cart acted like he hated his job (KOA police?), he was not very nice or friendly, but all the other staff was very hospitable. Thank you for the great stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the great comments. We take pride in our hospitality. As for the employee you mentioned, rest assured I will deal with the matter immediately. Again, thank you. Safe travels.
Jul 06, 2017
Jul 06, 2017
Nice Campground, not overwhelmed with road noise at this site
Jul 03, 2017
Good location for Rushmore, Devils Tower and Wind Cave. Small and friendly. Everything you need.
Jul 02, 2017
The facilities and staff were very nice. This was our first ever stay at a KOA and made us want to stay at more.
Jul 01, 2017
We absolutely enjoyed our stay! The staff was amazing to work with, especially accommodating our large group of family. We will definitely stay again some day.
Jun 28, 2017
Quiet, very clean and centrally located to the activities we had planned
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 23, 2017
Staff was super friendly and helpful. Always cheerful. Facilities were clean and nicer than any other campground we have stayed at.
Jun 23, 2017
Quiet
Jun 20, 2017
We were doing a "winging it" vacation so could only get a site for one night, but we have camped here before and wanted to again. Very friendly staff.
Jun 17, 2017
Very clean facilities!! Everything I've came to accept from a KOA.
Jun 16, 2017
Clean bathrooms
Jun 14, 2017
Staff are friendly. Roy is a fountain of information and our self guided tours were I. direct response to his guidance. Everyone was helpful even though we kept adding days to our stay. Delightful community. Restrooms and laundry room very clean.
Jun 09, 2017
Debbie is the best
Jun 07, 2017
I loved the shower space and easy late check in
Jun 05, 2017
Comfortable and convenient. Great hosts. Very helpful and even assisted with vehicle problems. Thanks Chuck! Will definitely return.
May 27, 2017
The bathrooms were very clean and warm! The staff was very friendly. Overall it was great experience!
May 23, 2017
Excellent!
May 17, 2017
Had a great time! We did get rained out one night from our tent and had to stay in a hotel for the night. I had just mentioned about getting rained out to the staff as we checked out to head home and they refunded us for that night. Vary nice of them to do that.
May 16, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff! Clean bathrooms, showers. Well kept grounds. Store has everything you could need. Near attractions and parks.
Oct 03, 2016
Oct 01, 2016
Fantastic staff!!! We felt so welcome at this KOA! We felt like we where home. The staff was simply amazing to us! We have been to other KOA's and have never felt so welcome. The bathrooms where extremely clean. Hot water, always. We didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back. We highly recommend this KOA to everyone coming to Mount Rushmore/Custer.
Sep 26, 2016
Lovely place. wonderful employees, especially want to give a shout out to Darrel and Sharon!!
Sep 20, 2016
This KOA is nicely run. They are very pleasant and helpful. It's very peaceful even though it sits on hwy 16. It's not a heavily used road. Lots of pines, clean, and bunnies that aren't shy around people moving around. They aren't begging, just meandering the grounds. The bathrooms at the main building are super nice! You feel like you are staying at a nice hotel!
Sep 16, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
Very clean place and we loved seeing the friendly rabbits and squirrels during our stay. I wish we would have had more time so we could have enjoyed the pool.
Sep 12, 2016
Great Place, great staff, great location.
Sep 10, 2016
Sep 09, 2016
You couldn't ask for better staff! Great job you guys!
Sep 09, 2016
Best KOA I've stayed at! Great tent pad, Wi-Fi at site worked great, and showers/bathroom were clean and nice.
Sep 08, 2016
The campground was wonderful. The staff were awesome. They were so friendly and helpful. I can't remember all their names. But everyone was great and we will definitely be back.
Sep 07, 2016
Great camp ground. Very clean and the workers and guests were friendly and great. Easy to find. My son (and I) really enjoyed the jumping pillow.
Sep 07, 2016
Nice and quiet. Clean restrooms and showers. Super friendly staff gave us a good-sized space for our large family tent. Gave an active duty military discount. Thanks!
Sep 06, 2016
The hosts were so nice and caring! I honestly had an amazing time and would stay here again!
Sep 05, 2016
a nice farely quiet campground
Aug 29, 2016
Really lovely campsite, nice facilities, nice sized plots. Very friendly & helpful staff. Loved the cafe on site. Directions on website could be clearer, maybe get email confirmation to have directions as part of text.
Aug 29, 2016
Restrooms were very nice. shower wands were great. Kid play area is a plus
Aug 28, 2016
The people in the ten house has a noisy dog.
Aug 27, 2016
Sites extremely close together. No privacy. Very little grass or trees. Good shower facility. Staff seemed nice. Wish I chose a cabin instead of a tent site
Aug 25, 2016
This was the first time I tent camped and the first time at a KOA! It was fabulous and I had a great time! KOA employee Roy from Louisiana was especially wonderful and caring!
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 20, 2016
once again the staff was very friendly and helpful-great on directions and places to see. restrooms were clean
Aug 19, 2016
Very clean campgrounds,friendly staff! Loved the bunnies
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award