Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 21, 2017
Great stay (so glad we were in the cabin for the thunderstorm). Great people (guy behind the counter gave me his lighter as they were out). Great place.
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 21, 2017
Very nice
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 21, 2017
My family and I were on a road trip to the west coast and needed a night to stay near Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. This location was fantastic. We really felt like we were at home. The hosts were amazing. Very informative and eager to help. Bathrooms were clean and very warm showed. Wifi was great. Wish I had a chance to stay here longer. If I am in the area again will definitely stay here.
Jun 20, 2017
Close to city of Custer, nice grounds.
Jun 20, 2017
Was very nice my son loved the jump pillow!
Jun 20, 2017
Jun 20, 2017
We were doing a "winging it" vacation so could only get a site for one night, but we have camped here before and wanted to again. Very friendly staff.
Jun 19, 2017
Everything okay. Bathrooms were clean and convenient. Campground was close to local tourist sites. Only issue we had was campsite too short for our camper and vehicle.
Jun 19, 2017
clean restrooms, friendly staff, good location. Kids loved the bouncing pillow- Happy with our stay
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
Customer service and all employees were excellent. Did not care for our camp site.
Jun 18, 2017
Very friendly and accommodating. Would love to visit again!
Jun 18, 2017
Pool clean but small. Bathrooms need remodel and are small. Laundry nice. General store has good supply of most needed items. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Jun 18, 2017
Beautiful setting. Friendly and helpful staff. Flat sites. Nice bathrooms and showers.
Jun 18, 2017
Nice place. Lots of people. Very friendly staff.
Jun 18, 2017
The place needs work. Bathrooms were new but not clean. The park itself was a mess. They were doing some type of expanding. The sites were too small. I will not stay there again
Jun 17, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
Very clean facilities!! Everything I've came to accept from a KOA.
Jun 16, 2017
This is a wonderful campground located close enough to all South Dakota has to offer, but without compromising on a true camping experience. It was clean, fun, and comfortable.
Jun 16, 2017
Jun 16, 2017
Very nice stay. Grounds and bathrooms were well kept and very clean. Just wish we could have stayed longer.
Jun 16, 2017
Clean bathrooms
Jun 15, 2017
This is a great campground, lots of trees, clean bathrooms and showers. Very nice staff and well cared for camp grounds.
Jun 15, 2017
Very nice hosts. Clean park. All gravel and stones unless you want to pay way extra. It was good for a one night stay, but wouldn't want to stay longer. The dog area was nice but not good for small dogs. Mine went right through the fence.
Jun 14, 2017
Great!
Jun 14, 2017
The attendants were amazing with knowledge and very helpful.
Jun 14, 2017
Staff are friendly. Roy is a fountain of information and our self guided tours were I. direct response to his guidance. Everyone was helpful even though we kept adding days to our stay. Delightful community. Restrooms and laundry room very clean.
Jun 13, 2017
lots need to be a little bigger
Jun 13, 2017
Great place to stay, fun for the kids and whole family! Friendly staff, nice grounds and clean facilities!
Jun 13, 2017
Very friendly. Very clean.
Jun 12, 2017
Clean, nice campground. Bathrooms/showers were immaculate and well-stocked and good hot water supply. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Jun 12, 2017
so much that we decided to stay a night more.
Jun 12, 2017
It was and had been raining. we were escorted to our camp site. Packed in like a herd of buffalo.We could reach out and touch our neighbor.And hear them talking.We probably would not go there again. No privacy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were not happy with your site. You reservation made a week before your arrival took our last site for your one night stay. Safe travels.
Jun 11, 2017
Tonette & David were great hosts. They provided good information on what to see and do in the area in a very warm & friendly manner.
Jun 11, 2017
Such a terrific place! Wish we would have had more time here. Lots to do with kids and the staff was outstanding to interact with! My daughter lived horseback riding, our whole family enjoyed the pool time, movie, and more!
Jun 11, 2017
We had a great experience! The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom facilities were great.
Jun 11, 2017
Jun 10, 2017
The only thing I didn't like about my stay is the fact that they charged me $12 more when I checked in because they have me a campsite that was only for 2 people & I had 3 people. I specifically told them there would be 3 people when I made the reservation. They should've given me a campsite built for 3 people. I was told a specific amount when I made the reservation. I should only be charged that

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You made your reservation on line and did not speak with anyone here at the campground. You entered two individuals and arrived with three. This is in no way the fault of the campground. Safe travels
Jun 09, 2017
Awesome time awesome people
Jun 09, 2017
Debbie is the best
Jun 09, 2017
Truly outstanding. Easy in/ out. Very level. Nice, helpful staff. Near Custer and the tourist things to see. We stayed several days & took excellent Golden Circle tour.
Jun 08, 2017
Cabin was very comfortable and the report was clean. Everyone was very friendly. The location was very convenient to all the area parks and attractions.
Jun 08, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
I loved the shower space and easy late check in
Jun 07, 2017
We have stayed here previously and will be back again.
Jun 06, 2017
great Camping ground and very friendly staff
Jun 06, 2017
Great staff in the office. Ate their breakfast first day and was glad we did. Wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed more. Next time for sure.
Jun 06, 2017
Amazingly friendly staff from the front desk to the maintenance staff! Cabin and showers were clean and updated! Campground very quiet and relaxed which is what is needed after a day of fun in the Black Hills.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award