Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 20, 2016
Nice place, very friendly. Bathrooms are very clean and the laundry room was affordable and roomy. The dog park was huge but not fenced in.
May 19, 2016
We had a great time. Staff were friendly and helpful.
May 18, 2016
This KOA had the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever stayed with. They took a lot of time to help out with the local area and there is plenty to see within 50 miles of this campground.
May 17, 2016
The staff was very help full with all needs we had
May 16, 2016
Besides the fact that the area is beautiful the KOA was very well kept and clean. The staff at the KOA were amazing and very caring, friendly and helpful. I definitely enjoyed my stay and will be back! Thank you!
May 12, 2016
Good stay. Nice bathrooms.
May 10, 2016
great employees! vey helpful
May 07, 2016
Excellent stay in this pet friendly, clean and conveniently located campground. Stayed in two room cabin. Was very close to restroom and showers. Very clean facility. No regrets coming from this picky traveler!
May 07, 2016
Very nice country park with good amenities. People were helpful and pleasant.
Dec 21, 2015
Good location, big rig friendly, great staff.
Oct 16, 2015
Staff very friendly and helpful. Tame rabbits everywhere at this campground. Sites small but otherwise fine. Dog park not fenced.
Oct 09, 2015
Quiet, well maintained and a wonderful stopover while we visited; Crazy Horse Monument, Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave, Jewel Cave and the 1880 Train. All were within 40 minutes of the KOA Campground.
Oct 04, 2015
Oct 03, 2015
Arrived on a wet, snowy night. Staff gave us an extra heater to keep warm and went out of their way to accommodate our stay. Bathrooms are great and the best of any during our travels! Stayed at a different KOA every night for several weeks. Great place.
Oct 02, 2015
It was a great location for all the activities we wanted to do. The campground itself was clean and the personnel were pleasant and knowledgeable.
Oct 02, 2015
We had a wonderful time staying at this KOA. Bathrooms were clean and campgrounds well leveled for our RV.
Oct 01, 2015
The campground has one of the most relaxing and welcoming atmosphere's of any KOA at which I've ever stayed. The staff is personable and attentive. This is by far my favorite KOA.
Oct 01, 2015
Very helpful service and super clean facilities.
Oct 01, 2015
Very nice hosts, let us move to a quieter site. Clean restrooms. handy to Custer. SItes are gravelly and some uneven, so be prepared to level your rig.
Oct 01, 2015
Beautiful campground.
Oct 01, 2015
No cable or satellite and very spotty and weak local TV reception needs to be addressed

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Cable is not available in our area. Satellite is obtainable in most site, including yours. Over the air is due to the mountains. Our numerous Wi-Fi Channels do provide streaming. Safe travels.
Oct 01, 2015
No sewer hookup!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You made your reservation on line and requested a water and electric site as all of our full hook ups were taken during your stay. Safe Travels
Sep 30, 2015
Sep 30, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpful and friendly- even loaned us a power cord! We also loved the visits from the deer and bunnies. Campground close to lots of local attractions.
Sep 30, 2015
The staff and owners were very friendly, even helping us park our trailer correctly. Debi was informative as to directions to the Buffalo Roundup and suggestions for dining out. The property was very neat and clean, and has many amenities, including what we thought looked very fun and interesting for the kids ... The Pillow.
Sep 29, 2015
Great quiet wooded area. So convenient to parks and monuments.
Sep 28, 2015
Sep 28, 2015
Sep 28, 2015
Sep 28, 2015
Great location to all sites. Very friendly staff and fun rabbits to watch.
Sep 28, 2015
Room was full of fliesdead and alive. Close to a hundred flying flies kept flying into our faces and they were the size of dimes. Other than that the accommodations were what we anticipated.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

First we heard of your problem. When cleaning after your departure flies were noted but not in the numbers or sizes indicated. As we are in a forest, flies and the like are common. I wish you'd have notified us during your stay to give us a chance to address the situation. Safe travels.
Sep 27, 2015
Sep 27, 2015
Great time. Very clean and staff were very helpful.
Sep 27, 2015
You made us feel like family and our stay was great. We'll be coming back to the area and will definitely be staying with you. Thanks for everything! D & L
Sep 26, 2015
When we arrived,we needed buns for sandwiches. The woman at the desk gave us a package without charge. They are very hospitable. Our side was spacious and shaded. The rest rooms and laundry are good. We stayed 7 nights. We have camped here before and look forward to returning.
Sep 26, 2015
I will certainly be back next year!! The campground is kept very clean and the people are awesome!! Very welcoming and cheerful! Thanks for the great stay!! Jamie
Sep 26, 2015
Sep 25, 2015
Very clean and comfortable. Great location
Sep 23, 2015
After paying for the tent site, we didn't stay. There was only stones and gravel to pitch our tent on for ALL tent sites. Just drove to another campground and forfeited the payment.
Sep 22, 2015
Very accommodating pleasant friendly and clean
Sep 20, 2015
a bit primitive for us. Pet area was not secure, the fence did not allow for pets to run free as indicated in site map. needs upgrading.
Sep 20, 2015
Like the rabbits. Clean restrooms
Sep 20, 2015
Goog clean well equip site very friendly made you welcome.
Sep 20, 2015
The cabins were great, loved all the rabbits hopping about. Made it easy to visit Mt. Rushmore, and Custer Park. Loved the camp grounds.
Sep 20, 2015
Very friendly, helpful and knowledgable folks. Gave us road tips and local info every day. And that bathroom!!! Wow!! It is the best and cleanest I've seen. Grounds were very clean.
Sep 19, 2015
Sep 19, 2015
We stayed here because of its central location to the sites. Facilities were nice
Sep 18, 2015
Very comfortable and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 18, 2015
Awesome staff, clean and scenic.
Sep 17, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA for over 30 years and will continue to do so in the future. We have used a variety of camping vehicles in all those years and currently stay in the camping cabins. The cabins and the restroom/bath houses are always very clean. But the best part of our camping experience is the friendliness of the staff especially the current managers, Debbie and Jim.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the favorable review. It is a pleasure to have you and hope to see you again next season. Call ahead to be sure we get you the same cabin. Safe Travels.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals