Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 04, 2016
Nice site, but a little uneven. Clean bathrooms.
Jul 04, 2016
super friendly and a excellent location
Jul 04, 2016
If the dog park was fenced in, we'd give it a 10.
Jul 04, 2016
Bathrooms are nice. However, seems trivial but I was charged a holiday rate for June 30th. When I asked the woman at the desk she had no explanation. She told me the holiday rate was from the 1st - the 4th. I was there from the 30th - the 3rd. For 4 dollars you might want to think about giving your customer a refund instead of them being unhappy and have to write this review.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The holiday rates run from June 30th through July 5th which is noted on the web site as well as your e-mail confirmation which you received well in advance of your arrival. Rebates are not based on opinion as prices are set a year in advance. Safe travels.
Jul 03, 2016
Pool was for children, not adults. I was double charged for the week and am wondering how to get some of my money back.
Jul 03, 2016
Found employees very helpful. Shower/toilet area was a 11 on 10 scale. Enjoyed the breakfast. Had Yeti cooler stolen, so heads up. Might want to lock down personal items.
Jul 03, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had everything we needed and the facility is very near to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse and Keystone. Nice place, would stay there again.
Jul 03, 2016
Only negative was the scrambled eggs at the Chuck Wagon breakfast. They weren't scrambled and cook was unwilling to cook properly.
Jul 03, 2016
The most level site I have ever parked on. The jumping pillow looked super fun. I used laundry which was great. All told, it was a very nice KOA.
Jul 02, 2016
We were here for five nights, very clean, very quiet, helpful staff. Laundry room, showers and restrooms clean as well. If ever back in this area, we will stay here.
Jul 02, 2016
Alsolutly wonderful people, our truck broke down and had to be fixed they were so great to help us stay there till our truck was repaired, would recommend this fun and relaxing place to stay!!!!!!
Jun 29, 2016
Jun 29, 2016
We loved this KOA! Very friendly and helpful staff, newly renovated and clean bathrooms, and decent site space with shade. The dog park isn't fenced in and the pool is a little small but we were overall very happy with our decision to stay here. Dog owners beware, if your dog likes bunnies...you might have a tough time.
Jun 29, 2016
One night. Level sites. Nice, but pricey.
Jun 28, 2016
Great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean bathrooms, good showers.
Jun 28, 2016
Very clean and quiet
Jun 28, 2016
Hosts and staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice campground.
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 26, 2016
Overall, great stay! The staff was top-notch! My kids loved the jumping pillow and pool. Small sites and could use more showers but we'd stay again! Consider moving at least one soap dispenser in the bathrooms lower. Saw lots of kids who had to ask to be lifted up onto the sink to reach the dispensers.
Jun 26, 2016
This is a lovely site to stay. This time our son was along with their rv. At their site the drain stopped up. They were accused of putting paper towels in their toilet causing the issue. They were accused of buying the wrong toilet paper. Three of us hand carried the sewer hose through the grounds to empty it at the main dump. The problem was, screws were put into the drain. Catching all solids.
Jun 24, 2016
The most awesome people ever in the office, such a friendly, accommodating staff. We loved our site and the kids thought the pillow was fantastic!
Jun 24, 2016
Bath rooms were great. The spaces small. The dog run wasn't chain linked fenced. The people were nice.
Jun 24, 2016
Very friendly staff, lots for the kids to do, and clean facilities. Great stay!
Jun 22, 2016
Good for the kids.
Jun 21, 2016
Was a very nice stay, bathrooms are very clean and nice. Mark was a very nice and helpful.
Jun 21, 2016
Cleanest and friendliest Campground we stayed at since we've been on our trip
Jun 21, 2016
VERY PRESENT OFFICE PERSONEL
Jun 20, 2016
Very clean, well maintained. Staff was very friendly. Would definately come back!!
Jun 19, 2016
Love this KOA! Very friendly staff. The cleanest campground I have ever stayed at. Bath house was like taking a shower at home. Loved it!
Jun 18, 2016
Great location! Lots of trees. Close to monument
Jun 17, 2016
Staff at this KOA were extremely friendly and helpful. Facilities were great and our camp site was beautiful. Bathrooms were updated and clean.
Jun 16, 2016
Our stay at KOA Custer was very nice, clean and Friendly
Jun 15, 2016
Very clean bathroom and shower facilities. Breakfast in the morning was great and the staff were very helpful and knowledgable.
Jun 14, 2016
Staff was friendly and very enthusiastic. Always with a smile and a helping hand if need be. Great work both times we have been there.
Jun 14, 2016
Friendly, courteous and helpful staff.
Jun 14, 2016
We accidentally stopped at 2 wrong KOAs. We lucked out as this was by far the best of all! Trees, friendly, clean! Seemed like camping! Not commercialism.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the nice comment! Your description about "camping" is exactly what we are striving for. Glad you noticed. Safe Travels. :]
Jun 13, 2016
Friendly Staff, easy access. Great place to stay for the southern part of the Black Hills
Jun 13, 2016
front looks great back is in bad shape, high grass, construction debri unlevel sites

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the mess. This was due to a water break and not construction. Unfortunately we cannot predict when these thing will occur and must deal with them promptly. Grass cutting is subject to weather and site occupancy of which we attempt to stay on top of with minimal camper disruption.
Jun 12, 2016
The spaces were to tight . WiFi was really bad . Could not get but 3 cable channels .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were not happy. I wish you'd have let us know while you were here. The wifi is monitored and no faults have been detected. As for cable, there is no cable as it is not available to us. Not sure if this meant for Custer KOA. Safe travels.
Jun 11, 2016
Excellent staff! Super friendly and warm. Pretty sites and awesome location in general.
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
Very friendly people. Not crazy about our site. Across from bathroom and tenters kept walking through our site. Also, not much room to sit outside.
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
Lovely pine shaded campsites. Staff was friendly and helpful. Conveniently located to see all the sights of the area.
Jun 09, 2016
Very friendly and helpful
Jun 08, 2016
great pizza and a great breakfast No tv reception Good wifi. Great staff
Jun 05, 2016
Great people and free breakfast...
Jun 05, 2016
Our stay at the Rushmore Custer kola was a real delight. We had made an mistake in our reservation dates. They were able to accomadate us and we enjoyed every minute.
Jun 04, 2016
We liked yhe mountain setting and the bathrooms were exceptionally clean. It was a good location for all that we wanted to do.
Jun 03, 2016
Very friendly staff they made me feel like I was at home.The desk clerk gave valuable suggests on how to best see the black hills. I will return again soon!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award