Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 14, 2016
Friendly, courteous and helpful staff.
Jun 14, 2016
We accidentally stopped at 2 wrong KOAs. We lucked out as this was by far the best of all! Trees, friendly, clean! Seemed like camping! Not commercialism.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the nice comment! Your description about "camping" is exactly what we are striving for. Glad you noticed. Safe Travels. :]
Jun 13, 2016
Friendly Staff, easy access. Great place to stay for the southern part of the Black Hills
Jun 13, 2016
front looks great back is in bad shape, high grass, construction debri unlevel sites

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the mess. This was due to a water break and not construction. Unfortunately we cannot predict when these thing will occur and must deal with them promptly. Grass cutting is subject to weather and site occupancy of which we attempt to stay on top of with minimal camper disruption.
Jun 12, 2016
The spaces were to tight . WiFi was really bad . Could not get but 3 cable channels .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were not happy. I wish you'd have let us know while you were here. The wifi is monitored and no faults have been detected. As for cable, there is no cable as it is not available to us. Not sure if this meant for Custer KOA. Safe travels.
Jun 11, 2016
Excellent staff! Super friendly and warm. Pretty sites and awesome location in general.
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
Very friendly people. Not crazy about our site. Across from bathroom and tenters kept walking through our site. Also, not much room to sit outside.
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
Lovely pine shaded campsites. Staff was friendly and helpful. Conveniently located to see all the sights of the area.
Jun 09, 2016
Very friendly and helpful
Jun 08, 2016
great pizza and a great breakfast No tv reception Good wifi. Great staff
Jun 05, 2016
Great people and free breakfast...
Jun 05, 2016
Our stay at the Rushmore Custer kola was a real delight. We had made an mistake in our reservation dates. They were able to accomadate us and we enjoyed every minute.
Jun 04, 2016
We liked yhe mountain setting and the bathrooms were exceptionally clean. It was a good location for all that we wanted to do.
Jun 03, 2016
Very friendly staff they made me feel like I was at home.The desk clerk gave valuable suggests on how to best see the black hills. I will return again soon!!
Jun 03, 2016
The most uneven RV spaces I've ever stayed in. The showers were clean, the jump pillow was not. Definitely pot smokers in the evening.
Jun 02, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff. Decent grounds, but not top-notch. Clean bath houses. Food service on-site, but days and hours vary. This was an overnight stop for us.
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
Everyone was helpful, improvements are being made but the camp sites need a lot work they need leveling and resurfacing.
Jun 01, 2016
EAsy to get in and out. FAcilities were clean and staff professional.
Jun 01, 2016
Staff very friendly.
May 31, 2016
We had a great time, the facility has the best bathrooms I've ever seen and the people were amazing!!
May 31, 2016
This was an excellent Kampground. The grounds and facilities were clean and the staff was extremely friendly. We will be staying there again in the future.
May 31, 2016
Very clean, fun stuff for kids, GREAT staff!
May 30, 2016
It was a great spot quiet and close to Custer State Park and an easy drive to Mt Rushmore. It was also a great home base for the Badlands and Minuteman Missile Site. It was great in that it gave us a site that had an outdoor feeling. Hosts and staff where very helpful Laundry facility was very clean. We stayed in AS Motorhome with a tow.
May 28, 2016
You and your staff were very friendly, helpful, and courteous. We will be back
May 26, 2016
Extremely friendly and helpful people! Lovely camping with extra roomy spaces. Very convenient to all sights in the culturally rich area.
May 24, 2016
Very friendly and helpful folks!
May 22, 2016
Loved the park. I am a walker and there were so many places to walk! Restrooms very nice and staff, especially camp workers very friendly and helpful.
May 22, 2016
Frinley people that will go out of their way to solve a problem with your camper . A big thanks to Mark and Jerry .
May 20, 2016
Nice place, very friendly. Bathrooms are very clean and the laundry room was affordable and roomy. The dog park was huge but not fenced in.
May 19, 2016
We had a great time. Staff were friendly and helpful.
May 18, 2016
This KOA had the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever stayed with. They took a lot of time to help out with the local area and there is plenty to see within 50 miles of this campground.
May 17, 2016
The staff was very help full with all needs we had
May 10, 2016
great employees! vey helpful
May 07, 2016
Very nice country park with good amenities. People were helpful and pleasant.
Dec 21, 2015
Good location, big rig friendly, great staff.
Oct 16, 2015
Staff very friendly and helpful. Tame rabbits everywhere at this campground. Sites small but otherwise fine. Dog park not fenced.
Oct 09, 2015
Quiet, well maintained and a wonderful stopover while we visited; Crazy Horse Monument, Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave, Jewel Cave and the 1880 Train. All were within 40 minutes of the KOA Campground.
Oct 04, 2015
Oct 02, 2015
We had a wonderful time staying at this KOA. Bathrooms were clean and campgrounds well leveled for our RV.
Oct 01, 2015
Very helpful service and super clean facilities.
Oct 01, 2015
Very nice hosts, let us move to a quieter site. Clean restrooms. handy to Custer. SItes are gravelly and some uneven, so be prepared to level your rig.
Oct 01, 2015
No cable or satellite and very spotty and weak local TV reception needs to be addressed

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Cable is not available in our area. Satellite is obtainable in most site, including yours. Over the air is due to the mountains. Our numerous Wi-Fi Channels do provide streaming. Safe travels.
Oct 01, 2015
No sewer hookup!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You made your reservation on line and requested a water and electric site as all of our full hook ups were taken during your stay. Safe Travels
Sep 30, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpful and friendly- even loaned us a power cord! We also loved the visits from the deer and bunnies. Campground close to lots of local attractions.
Sep 30, 2015
The staff and owners were very friendly, even helping us park our trailer correctly. Debi was informative as to directions to the Buffalo Roundup and suggestions for dining out. The property was very neat and clean, and has many amenities, including what we thought looked very fun and interesting for the kids ... The Pillow.
Sep 29, 2015
Great quiet wooded area. So convenient to parks and monuments.
Sep 28, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award