Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 26, 2016
My family of six traveled from Michigan to Yosemite and back home through South Dakota. Along the way, we stayed at various KOA parks: Limom, Filmore, Yosemite West, Coleville/Walker and Custer/Mt. Rushmore. Not once did we have a bad experience! Thank-you all for your hospitality!
Jul 25, 2016
The lot was even and easy to hook up to the utilities. The kids loved the jump pillow ALOT! The help was very nice. When we were checking out we had an issue with our black water emptying out of our tank. The front desk was happy to send someone to see what they could do to help out. They didn't have to go above and beyond but they did.
Jul 25, 2016
The staff made our stay amazing. They were so friendly and accommodating to our specific situation. Treated us like family. The kids loved the pillow and the pool. Fairly close to all that the Black Hills offer. Would definitely recommend this KOA :)
Jul 25, 2016
We reserved campsites for 4 families 4 months ago and didn't get sites together. Dirty pool. Felt unwelcome as well.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The site placement was explained at the time you made your reservations due to occupancy and equipment types. We are sorry that your debate at the counter couldn't change the facts. We did offer a full refund at check in, which you declined. Safe travels.
Jul 25, 2016
Nice campground but the pool was old and cracked. Would probably book again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the comments. The pool is scheduled for replacement. Safe travels.
Jul 25, 2016
It was very enjoyable. Everyone was friendly and polite.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
Very well kept sites,quite and lots to do for the kids (granddaughter). The rabbits were very entertaining for the granddaughter!! Will be my first choice on a return trip.
Jul 23, 2016
enjoyed our stay very much.
Jul 23, 2016
The overall stay was great. My only complaint is there was a large group of young campers across from us being quite loud with music, conversation and singing past the 10:00 quiet time with no one on the grounds to contact.
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
The site was fantastic, the staff was great and helpful, the only problem we encountered was our site #92 the sewer service was higher than our trailer drain line making it difficult to dump into the septic system
Jul 20, 2016
The staff was very friendly. Campsites were well kept and the bathrooms were great! Kids enjoyed the playground, jumping pillow, and the pool. We will be coming back.
Jul 20, 2016
Aside from a mix up at check in our stay was great
Jul 20, 2016
Good staff. Had a great stay.
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
The sites are small and crowded, with little or no privacy. I did not like the people washing dishes in the laundry room, most places have a separate area or at least a wall separating the dish area from the laundry area. I liked the location of the KOA, it worked well for the places we wanted to visit. The employees were very friendly and helpful. WIFI could have been better. Would stay again.
Jul 19, 2016
enjoyed our time at this KOA. the KOA was clean and well cared for and the staff was super friendly. would stay here again.
Jul 18, 2016
Lots of shade and firewood delivery. Awesome service!
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed there for 4 nights and thought the campground was nice,restrooms were very clean and the staff very friendly.
Jul 18, 2016
We had a great time the camp ground was very nice and the staff was very nice
Jul 18, 2016
Great campground
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice facility. Only the lack of cable keeps it from the highest rating. 9.5/10
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice and clean
Jul 16, 2016
sites were large but not very level. Very close to area attractions but not the closet campground or the nicest.
Jul 15, 2016
small spaces, not enough bathrooms for the amount of campers they rent to. the dog run was horse wire so not a real dog run. Will never recommend it to anyone.
Jul 15, 2016
Just need to work on the wifi. Speed was pretty slow
Jul 13, 2016
Kids loved the pool and jumping pad. Bathrooms nice and clean. When we first got to our campsite, our picnic table had a broken bench. The staff promptly replaced it.
Jul 13, 2016
the only issue we had was my daughter slipped in the bathroom on the floor and fell on her back. The little kids run in and out of the bathroom while swimming and adults walk out of the shower soaking wet and the floors are soaked with water on tile. The bathroom are not mopped enough to correct this issue.
Jul 13, 2016
Nice place, however sites were uneven, difficult to level the rv. Bathrooms very clean! Close to attractions. Thank u
Jul 12, 2016
We chose this KOA due to it's proximity to Mount Rushmore. We enjoyed the Kampground very much and would stay here again. There were no negatives about this KOA.
Jul 12, 2016
The fact that we had to move out of our spot to see what the computer says at 11am. All other KOAs we knew our site number in advance. Just as we moved and unhitched in the dog park area "the computer" told us our site number. That messed up all of our morning plans. Not helpful for us.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Check out time for guests is 11am. The site you were moving to was vacated at 11 and you were able to move in right away. We are sorry about your plans but we do not rush guests to leave early due to your already being here. RV check in time is noon. Safe travels.
Jul 11, 2016
Pool temperature was perfect...thanks for keeping it warm enough to be in on cooler days!
Jul 11, 2016
Friendliest staff of any KOA
Jul 11, 2016
We had a over flow spot by the pool so no sewer or tv because of trees. It was very clean over all
Jul 11, 2016
Nice place with tree spending shades. Very friendly and helpful hosts
Jul 10, 2016
Friendly staff. Nice showers and restrooms!! Quiet and peaceful
Jul 10, 2016
Check in was quick and easy. Site was level with good utilities. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Jul 09, 2016
Great staff. Went above and beyond to help me with a mechanical issue.
Jul 09, 2016
Small spots and WIFI didn't work very well. Other than that, the staff was very friendly.
Jul 09, 2016
Staff was very friendly, campground was quiet and clean.
Jul 08, 2016
Lovely beautiful setting. More rustic than some but we loved it. Very clean and well kept
Jul 08, 2016
I telephone in my res. and what I got was no where close to what I asked for so I will never recommend this KOA.
Jul 07, 2016
Campground needs some sprucing up. Water spicket only had 2-3 threads on it. Hard to get a seal. Sites could have been leveled. Sewer line was higher then the tank outlet. Hard to drain going up hill. No cable. Felt the pricing was to high. Not worth the price.
Jul 06, 2016
Good location. Easy to find. My boys loved the jumping pad. Good camping spots.
Jul 06, 2016
Unfortunately there was a mix-up with our charge cards. Hope to get it straightened out...
Jul 06, 2016
Loved the bunnies, staff very friendly.
Jul 06, 2016
Dog owners needed to be reminded to pick up after their pets. Fresh poops on our site. Had to bury.
Jul 05, 2016
they were very friendly and helpful and could tell you what nice to see around there
Jul 05, 2016
Great Place! Quiet, Clean, Great Bath Facilities.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award