Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 18, 2016
Lots of shade and firewood delivery. Awesome service!
Jul 18, 2016
We stayed there for 4 nights and thought the campground was nice,restrooms were very clean and the staff very friendly.
Jul 18, 2016
We had a great time the camp ground was very nice and the staff was very nice
Jul 18, 2016
Great campground
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice facility. Only the lack of cable keeps it from the highest rating. 9.5/10
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice and clean
Jul 16, 2016
sites were large but not very level. Very close to area attractions but not the closet campground or the nicest.
Jul 15, 2016
small spaces, not enough bathrooms for the amount of campers they rent to. the dog run was horse wire so not a real dog run. Will never recommend it to anyone.
Jul 15, 2016
Just need to work on the wifi. Speed was pretty slow
Jul 13, 2016
Kids loved the pool and jumping pad. Bathrooms nice and clean. When we first got to our campsite, our picnic table had a broken bench. The staff promptly replaced it.
Jul 13, 2016
the only issue we had was my daughter slipped in the bathroom on the floor and fell on her back. The little kids run in and out of the bathroom while swimming and adults walk out of the shower soaking wet and the floors are soaked with water on tile. The bathroom are not mopped enough to correct this issue.
Jul 13, 2016
Nice place, however sites were uneven, difficult to level the rv. Bathrooms very clean! Close to attractions. Thank u
Jul 12, 2016
We chose this KOA due to it's proximity to Mount Rushmore. We enjoyed the Kampground very much and would stay here again. There were no negatives about this KOA.
Jul 12, 2016
The fact that we had to move out of our spot to see what the computer says at 11am. All other KOAs we knew our site number in advance. Just as we moved and unhitched in the dog park area "the computer" told us our site number. That messed up all of our morning plans. Not helpful for us.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Check out time for guests is 11am. The site you were moving to was vacated at 11 and you were able to move in right away. We are sorry about your plans but we do not rush guests to leave early due to your already being here. RV check in time is noon. Safe travels.
Jul 11, 2016
Pool temperature was perfect...thanks for keeping it warm enough to be in on cooler days!
Jul 11, 2016
Friendliest staff of any KOA
Jul 11, 2016
We had a over flow spot by the pool so no sewer or tv because of trees. It was very clean over all
Jul 11, 2016
Nice place with tree spending shades. Very friendly and helpful hosts
Jul 10, 2016
Friendly staff. Nice showers and restrooms!! Quiet and peaceful
Jul 10, 2016
Check in was quick and easy. Site was level with good utilities. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Jul 09, 2016
Great staff. Went above and beyond to help me with a mechanical issue.
Jul 09, 2016
Small spots and WIFI didn't work very well. Other than that, the staff was very friendly.
Jul 09, 2016
Staff was very friendly, campground was quiet and clean.
Jul 08, 2016
Lovely beautiful setting. More rustic than some but we loved it. Very clean and well kept
Jul 08, 2016
I telephone in my res. and what I got was no where close to what I asked for so I will never recommend this KOA.
Jul 07, 2016
Campground needs some sprucing up. Water spicket only had 2-3 threads on it. Hard to get a seal. Sites could have been leveled. Sewer line was higher then the tank outlet. Hard to drain going up hill. No cable. Felt the pricing was to high. Not worth the price.
Jul 06, 2016
Good location. Easy to find. My boys loved the jumping pad. Good camping spots.
Jul 06, 2016
Unfortunately there was a mix-up with our charge cards. Hope to get it straightened out...
Jul 06, 2016
Loved the bunnies, staff very friendly.
Jul 06, 2016
Dog owners needed to be reminded to pick up after their pets. Fresh poops on our site. Had to bury.
Jul 05, 2016
they were very friendly and helpful and could tell you what nice to see around there
Jul 05, 2016
Great Place! Quiet, Clean, Great Bath Facilities.
Jul 04, 2016
Nice site, but a little uneven. Clean bathrooms.
Jul 04, 2016
super friendly and a excellent location
Jul 04, 2016
If the dog park was fenced in, we'd give it a 10.
Jul 04, 2016
Bathrooms are nice. However, seems trivial but I was charged a holiday rate for June 30th. When I asked the woman at the desk she had no explanation. She told me the holiday rate was from the 1st - the 4th. I was there from the 30th - the 3rd. For 4 dollars you might want to think about giving your customer a refund instead of them being unhappy and have to write this review.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The holiday rates run from June 30th through July 5th which is noted on the web site as well as your e-mail confirmation which you received well in advance of your arrival. Rebates are not based on opinion as prices are set a year in advance. Safe travels.
Jul 03, 2016
Pool was for children, not adults. I was double charged for the week and am wondering how to get some of my money back.
Jul 03, 2016
Found employees very helpful. Shower/toilet area was a 11 on 10 scale. Enjoyed the breakfast. Had Yeti cooler stolen, so heads up. Might want to lock down personal items.
Jul 03, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had everything we needed and the facility is very near to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse and Keystone. Nice place, would stay there again.
Jul 03, 2016
Only negative was the scrambled eggs at the Chuck Wagon breakfast. They weren't scrambled and cook was unwilling to cook properly.
Jul 03, 2016
The most level site I have ever parked on. The jumping pillow looked super fun. I used laundry which was great. All told, it was a very nice KOA.
Jul 02, 2016
We were here for five nights, very clean, very quiet, helpful staff. Laundry room, showers and restrooms clean as well. If ever back in this area, we will stay here.
Jul 02, 2016
Alsolutly wonderful people, our truck broke down and had to be fixed they were so great to help us stay there till our truck was repaired, would recommend this fun and relaxing place to stay!!!!!!
Jun 29, 2016
Jun 29, 2016
We loved this KOA! Very friendly and helpful staff, newly renovated and clean bathrooms, and decent site space with shade. The dog park isn't fenced in and the pool is a little small but we were overall very happy with our decision to stay here. Dog owners beware, if your dog likes bunnies...you might have a tough time.
Jun 29, 2016
One night. Level sites. Nice, but pricey.
Jun 28, 2016
Great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean bathrooms, good showers.
Jun 28, 2016
Very clean and quiet
Jun 28, 2016
Hosts and staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice campground.
Jun 27, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award