Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 28, 2017
Very impressed with facilities and friendliness of the staff.
Jul 28, 2017
greAT
Jul 28, 2017
Its good for the price, we were on a slope so you slept down hill and the sewer hook up arent as ideal we were lucky we didnt have someone next to us but felt bad for the ones behind us cause our sewer hook up was about a foot from their picnic table if they wanted to eat outside, Its also not close to Mt Rushmore about 30 miles away and you can't evensee it from this campground so dont be mislead
Jul 28, 2017
Great location for seeing all the National Parks and Monuments. Very convenient to Custer, SD. Kind attention by the KOA staff; they offered a 50-39 amp converter on our arrival without hesitation. Great attention to detail and campground is clean with level, gravel sites.
Jul 28, 2017
Need a bigger doggie play area and spaces should be more level
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
It was nice and quiet except at the pool. Underage boys with no parents were out of control. Not the managements fault but that of the parents!
Jul 26, 2017
clean and friendly
Jul 26, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
Great staff, super clean restrooms and nice central location to all that the Black Hills has to offer. The one small complaint would be the Wi-Fi kicked the kids off repeatedly forcing them to use their data....not a life changer for me but they were disappointed. I would completely recommend this KOA.
Jul 25, 2017
Nice facilities. Wish we were there longer.
Jul 24, 2017
very friendly staff. Campground was kept clean, told us all the interesting places to see
Jul 24, 2017
Awesome! Very clean, nice shower/bathrooms Very nice pool. Very nice people. We will be back!!
Jul 23, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. Very clean and family friendly!
Jul 23, 2017
I had 0 place to place a single chair it was so steep.This place was not for me and I love KOA's
Jul 23, 2017
We had an excellent double site so were able to be with our daughter's family. It was also very private and we had trees behind us, very nice. Very centrally located for all our site-seeing and a good place to rest at the end of the day. Good showers and clean laundry facility. Helpful, friendly staff.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
You need to widen your roads in the campground because when I was hooking up my camper I had to rush because there was another camper trying to get by me
Jul 22, 2017
The campground is clean and the folks are friendly. Easy access to all the attractions.
Jul 21, 2017
Staff was very helpful about local attractions. Breakfasts were very tasty.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
We had a great time at your campground.
Jul 21, 2017
I made reservations for 10 night stay, on line several months prior to trip. We were camping with a large group, which I noted in my reservations, yet when we arrived I was not at all near my friends, and when we asked for relocation, they offered us a refund, rather then try to accommodate! The camp bathrooms are the redeeming factor.. The staff not at all pleasant, esp.to Lg, long staying group

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Each of your group made their own separate reservation, not as a group. The friends you speak of requested a 50 amp pull through via calling the park while you chose a 30 amp back in on line. These sites do not co-exist near each other in our park. On you arrival, as you are aware, the park was full for your stay and no changes could be made. Your attitude toward our staff explains the rest.
Jul 18, 2017
Site not level.
Jul 17, 2017
Very clean, informative and helpful staff. Thank You!
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
They need more 50amp sites.
Jul 17, 2017
The workers were very helpful and pleasant.
Jul 16, 2017
Very helpful and pleasant staff
Jul 16, 2017
The Location Was Great But Campground Offered No Activities And Had Little Amenities To offer. Customer service was adequate but people in our group had a poor experience with front desk. We wouldn't come back especially since the camp next door is less money with an a LA care pool slide.
Jul 16, 2017
Very quiet. Staff was friendly. Escorted us to site. Tight u-turn to get to site with toad.
Jul 15, 2017
Beautiful place in the Black Hills.
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 14, 2017
Great park and location. Staff was friendly and helpful giving us directions of where to go and how to get there. One drawback, our sewer was uphill.
Jul 14, 2017
Very friendly staff. Don't use Google maps to find this place. It will get you lost.
Jul 14, 2017
Stayed for two days while sightseeing in the area. Campground was clean and neat.The staff was very friendly. Sites are not very level.
Jul 13, 2017
The campsite itself was terrible it was like a gravel parking lot it was so small and close if we were to actually light a campfire it would've caught our camper on fire. the jumping pillow and the pool and the restrooms were all very nice but the campsite itself ruined the stay for us we left early canceled our additional two nights of reservations.
Jul 13, 2017
We really enjoyed this campground. Very convenient to so many attractions.
Jul 12, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
One of the best campgrounds we've kamped at.
Jul 11, 2017
Very clean and well maintained campground. The staff was very friendly. I would go back to this campground
Jul 11, 2017
Great place to stay! Close to everything and the staff was absolutely amazing!! And the bunnies were adorable!!
Jul 11, 2017
Quiet hours were not observed. We had kids running around at all hours next to us. We called about linking to the satellite service that was listed on your map, someone came over and said they couldn't help and left. Unsatisfactory on both of these accounts.
Jul 11, 2017
Enjoy this Koa. Staff very helpful. But we ask to make a local call and in this day & age, they had only one line for their business use and not for clients who travel from abroad with no cell phone, pity.
Jul 11, 2017
So clean. Close to Rushmore and Custer state park. Very friendly staff.
Jul 10, 2017
The sites are to close together. You can't see any scenery .
Jul 10, 2017
Stayed three nights for our grandchildren to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Wind Caves NP and Hot Srings mammoth dig. Park was perfect, with pool and bouncing pillow for the kids. Good facilities and helpful staff!! Thank you!!
Jul 09, 2017
Clean restrooms but tiny muddy ugly sites. Would not stay here again. There is a KOA closer to to the entrance to Custer State Park that appears to be much nicer.
Jul 09, 2017
Nice campground pool closes early to due to chance of storm. Kids were sad and we were frustrated
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award