Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 06, 2013
My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much! The family that runs this KOA was extremely nice and accommodating. Our cabin was clean and cute, we loved it! The bathroom facilities were also very clean. Over all we had a wonderful experience and we would definitely recommend this campsite to our family and friends. We would also love to go back someday!
Aug 06, 2013
Staff was pleasant and helpful. Was given kabin of my choice upon arrival.
Aug 05, 2013
The staff was fantastic, Jimi's breakfast was incredible! We loved the bunnies around our cabin. Everything about the facility was clean & family friendly.
Aug 05, 2013
It was very nice campground. Friendly staff, clean restrooms, nice pool, good prices.
Aug 05, 2013
Great, quiet campground. Bathrooms and showers were pretty good.
Aug 03, 2013
veryfriendly! loved setup! happy with the visit to custer. cute town!!
Aug 03, 2013
The cabins were nice, the staff was friendly, and we had a good sta.
Aug 02, 2013
Stayed in one of the cabins and loved it! Very clean and comfortable, and the staff was so friendly and helpful!
Aug 02, 2013
We had an amazing time!! Thank you for the great hospitality!
Aug 01, 2013
The campsite was beautiful!!! It was an excellent location in regards to proximity to many of the area attractions. Very well kept and friendly staff. Though we were all visiting sites during most of our stay, on the evenings we were at our campsite, the kids really enjoyed the many activities, mostly the jumping pillow! Would highly recommend this KOA! Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Aug 01, 2013
Very close to everything we wanted to do and our cabin was very clean. Campground was very quiet.
Jul 31, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Friendly and very helpful staff. The restrooms and showers were always clean. The only thing we would recommend would be some porta potties around the campground. We will definitely be back for another visit!
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
The campground was quite nice. Not fully developed (dirt roads) but not under developed either. Nice rural campground feel. The kids loved the jump pillow, but I didn't realize there was an extra fee for it.
Jul 30, 2013
Nice clean place. Lots for kids to do. The camping spaces are a little close together and the breakfast is a little expensive for a campground but overall it is decent!
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Awesome place to stay! 3 nights. great service. Very quiet. Breakfast was amazing!
Jul 27, 2013
We had a great time. The cabin was clean and the breakfast was wonderful. Best pancakes ever!!
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Great location. Friendly staff.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Peaceful campground even though it's close to road. Only complaint is that my kabin was by a campground street light- very bright all night long. :(

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

While we cannot do anything about the utility company's street light, we will be tinting the affected windows to aid the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Happy kamping and hope we get to see you again in the future :)
Jul 25, 2013
We had a wonderful stay at the kampground! Great location very clean and the kids loved all the bunnies
Jul 24, 2013
Staff was very nice. Cabins were too close together.
Jul 24, 2013
This was a very nice place to stay. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was awesome.
Jul 24, 2013
This is a bigger campground than I usually stay at but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Just a little crowded for my tastes.
Jul 23, 2013
A great place for kids! The bunnies about our cabin were an added plus!
Jul 22, 2013
My son loved it there! He made friends everyday & loved the bounce pillow. The cabin was great! Just wish the coffee was free :)
Jul 21, 2013
The camp was very clean and staff all friendly. The pool was small but nice for the kids, jumping pillow was also great for the kids! quiet, relaxed atmosphere :)
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Very accommodating. Bathrooms were a little old school. Take flip flops! The Kabin was amazing! Porch swing, nice picnic table, the works!
Jul 17, 2013
GREAT PLACE TO STAY ! FRIENLY PEOPLE , I LIKED THE BREAKFAST AT THE CHUCK WAGON EVERY MORNING! VERY CLEAN!
Jul 16, 2013
Our stay was great, and the staff was very helpful, we had some annoying neighbors at the end of our stay but the staff took care of it right away!
Jul 16, 2013
We came in around 11pm after a wedding and were very quietly unpacking and we harassed by the night watchmen. He was very, very rude and didn't even allow us to say goodbye to some out-of-state friends that were leaving. He should seriously be evaluated and spoken to about how he treats customers. We rented two cabins and spent about $150 dollars only to be treated disrespectfully.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

7 complaints from cabin & RV sites were received upon arrival due to noise, racing of engines & autos blocking the roads. One quarter hour after the first encounter with our staff, three more of same complaints were received requiring a second encounter. Unregistered people were then asked to leave.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Our cabin had bed bugs and the manager did not offer a refund or discount. My husband and I had to spend $60 to have our clothing and bedding cleaned and to purchase insecticide to prevent getting bed bugs in our home. We were very disappointed in the way we were treated when showing the management the bed bug that was captured in the middle of the night. My sister in law was covered in bites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry for your unfortunate experience. The previous guests made no such complaints. The cabin was immediately closed and exterminated. These matters, while unfortunate, are out our control as we do cleaning and visual inspection after each guest's departure to the best of our ability.
Jul 15, 2013
Clean, quiet, activities to keep kids busy. Close to city of Custer.
Jul 15, 2013
quiet hours are not enforced at all. People were up late and up early making a lot of noise. Otherwise everything was Great! Would stay again
Jul 15, 2013
not bad I have stayed a better but not bad. to expensive for the quality of the camp site.
Jul 13, 2013
Staff was wonderful! Great breakfast, very clean, pool was great! Will stay here again
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Staff was wonderful, kabins were lovely and the location was perfect. The only part that was a bit disheartening was we needed a boost, as our battery died, and they didn't have booster cables. So we were a little late checking out, but other than that we will be back...we promise!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our apologizes on the jumper cables. Ours were leant to another camper and they did not return to us. We are obtaining another set as they are needed often at campgrounds. Thank you so much for the other positive comment. See you your next trip out!
Jul 07, 2013
Great facilities, well managed, clean, great breakfast for a reasonable price on site - kids loved the bounce pillow, very friendly and helpful staff - we would stay again!
Jul 06, 2013
we enjoyed our stay at the campground very much and if we didn't live so far away it would be a regular weekend getaway. thanks so much!
Jul 06, 2013
everything was clean and everyone was super friendly. Had a wonderful time.
Jul 05, 2013
Excellent facilities. Friendly staff. Convenient location. CLEAN kabins! ;)
Jul 05, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
wonderful everything!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.