Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 21, 2016
Cleanest and friendliest Campground we stayed at since we've been on our trip
Jun 21, 2016
VERY PRESENT OFFICE PERSONEL
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
We loved staying in the 2 room cabin at Custer KOA. It was cute, clean and better than we expected. The swing on the front porch was an added bonus. We loved all of the amenities at the campsite and were pleased with how clean the facilities were.
Jun 20, 2016
Very clean, well maintained. Staff was very friendly. Would definately come back!!
Jun 19, 2016
Love this KOA! Very friendly staff. The cleanest campground I have ever stayed at. Bath house was like taking a shower at home. Loved it!
Jun 19, 2016
The Staff was friendly and helpful. The camp was tidy and well kept.
Jun 19, 2016
Great service, friendly staff, clean rooms and very nice bathrooms. Easy check in and check out and lots of other services available.
Jun 19, 2016
From the super clean bathrooms to the friendly staff to the wonderful kids' activities, we had a great time at the Custer KOA!
Jun 19, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a cabin which was clean and well maintained. The shower house was clean as well.
Jun 19, 2016
We have stayed at this Koa many times and have enjoyed it and will continue to come back
Jun 19, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean facilities, and great location to attractions.
Jun 18, 2016
This KOA was great. Perfect for our family and the staff was super friendly. No complaints at all and we would definitely stay again!
Jun 18, 2016
Great location! Lots of trees. Close to monument
Jun 17, 2016
Staff at this KOA were extremely friendly and helpful. Facilities were great and our camp site was beautiful. Bathrooms were updated and clean.
Jun 17, 2016
Jun 16, 2016
Our stay at KOA Custer was very nice, clean and Friendly
Jun 16, 2016
Fantastic staff, clean bathrooms, nice cabins!
Jun 16, 2016
Very nice location and the people were very friendly. Good WiFi and liked the fan. There was no after hours key drop off location/Box
Jun 15, 2016
The restroom/showers were excellent. The staff was very helpful too.
Jun 15, 2016
Great set up. Stayed in a tent and the pad was nice and flat. Liked that they had a place to clean my dishes. Showers could have been a little cleaner but would stay there again.
Jun 15, 2016
Very clean bathroom and shower facilities. Breakfast in the morning was great and the staff were very helpful and knowledgable.
Jun 14, 2016
Staff was friendly and very enthusiastic. Always with a smile and a helping hand if need be. Great work both times we have been there.
Jun 14, 2016
Friendly, courteous and helpful staff.
Jun 14, 2016
We accidentally stopped at 2 wrong KOAs. We lucked out as this was by far the best of all! Trees, friendly, clean! Seemed like camping! Not commercialism.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the nice comment! Your description about "camping" is exactly what we are striving for. Glad you noticed. Safe Travels. :]
Jun 13, 2016
The staff was very friendly. The pool was nice although at times it could be a bit crowded. The bathrooms by the pool could stand to be mopped during the day as people would come in from the pool wet therefore the floors would be wet and slippery. The jumping pillow was a hit with my son. We had to leave early on the account of I couldn't breathe with the thick pollen in the air and KOA refunded.
Jun 13, 2016
Friendly Staff, easy access. Great place to stay for the southern part of the Black Hills
Jun 13, 2016
front looks great back is in bad shape, high grass, construction debri unlevel sites

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the mess. This was due to a water break and not construction. Unfortunately we cannot predict when these thing will occur and must deal with them promptly. Grass cutting is subject to weather and site occupancy of which we attempt to stay on top of with minimal camper disruption.
Jun 13, 2016
The staff was so limited and rude. They were in the mentality of high way robbery. When I objected they told me not to come back. They even charged me for a sewer ring and I had a tent site and couldn't refund me because I didn't have a receipt. Meanwhile I was totally in their system. Very very rude and limited staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Your threats to our female staff were not going to be tolerated. Your tone changed dramatically when I came out of the other room after hearing you. You were asked to leave and not return due to your threatening statements. You were aware of prices prior to any purchases and could have declined.
Jun 12, 2016
My nephew and I stayed in a camping cabin and had a great 3 day visit to the Black Hills!! Everything about our visit was great!
Jun 12, 2016
Great staff and very well taken care of KOA!!
Jun 12, 2016
The spaces were to tight . WiFi was really bad . Could not get but 3 cable channels .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were not happy. I wish you'd have let us know while you were here. The wifi is monitored and no faults have been detected. As for cable, there is no cable as it is not available to us. Not sure if this meant for Custer KOA. Safe travels.
Jun 11, 2016
Excellent staff! Super friendly and warm. Pretty sites and awesome location in general.
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
This was the best KOA we have ever stayed at! The staff was so friendly and the Camp was very well maintained! Would love to come back again!!
Jun 11, 2016
Very friendly people. Not crazy about our site. Across from bathroom and tenters kept walking through our site. Also, not much room to sit outside.
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
Lovely pine shaded campsites. Staff was friendly and helpful. Conveniently located to see all the sights of the area.
Jun 10, 2016
My husband and I celebrated our anniversary in Custer, staying at the Custer KOA. What a perfect choice it was! The camper cabin was clean, comfortable and private, and all the facilities were well kept up. The bathrooms and showers were the best! We felt like we were in a nicer hotel rather than a campground. Debi and Jim, the managers, and other workers, were friendly and warm. WONDERFUL TIME!
Jun 10, 2016
Very friendly staff. The bathrooms were spotless. Easy access to Custer State Park and Rushmore/Crazy Horse.
Jun 09, 2016
Very friendly and helpful
Jun 08, 2016
great pizza and a great breakfast No tv reception Good wifi. Great staff
Jun 08, 2016
Great service. Clean cabin and camp ground.
Jun 07, 2016
It was awesome!!
Jun 05, 2016
Great people and free breakfast...
Jun 05, 2016
Our stay at the Rushmore Custer kola was a real delight. We had made an mistake in our reservation dates. They were able to accomadate us and we enjoyed every minute.
Jun 04, 2016
We liked yhe mountain setting and the bathrooms were exceptionally clean. It was a good location for all that we wanted to do.
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 03, 2016
Very friendly staff they made me feel like I was at home.The desk clerk gave valuable suggests on how to best see the black hills. I will return again soon!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award