Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
although there was a cabin open on the other side, we were sandwiched in between two cabins with small children. why wouldn't you leave a cabin free between families unless you absolutely have to fill it? these folks aren't interested in thinking about the age of the people renting their cabins and/or spacing people if at all possible. these cabins are close together. don't stay here.
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Great folks run this campground and the rabbits provide hours of entertainment!
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Very helpful staff and msde some good suggestions on what to see in the area.
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
Management and staff were great! Very accommodating and friendly. Campsites and facilities were well maintained. Very enjoyable visit and close to many attractions. Will stay here again.
Aug 30, 2013
Great, some highway noise, but not terrible. Great cook, clean facilities!
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
The main complaint I have is the location and that it was not "advertised" as to where it was. What helped us was our "RV" GPS.
Aug 27, 2013
Pleasant staff. Friendly and helpful. Sites are not level. Fire pits consist of rocks in a cirlce. Campground is "rustic" If you are a a "high class" RV'er or have a Big Rig you will not want to stay at this campground.
Aug 27, 2013
Clean level sites, close to all the attractions, Staff was fantastic!!!!
Aug 26, 2013
Great staff, super clean, many family friendly activities, and close to everything! We loves everything at the KOA so much we hardly wanted to leave to see or do anything else! Our kids loved the jumping pillow & pool. We will be back for sure!
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
The sites are nice. No enclosed Pet Area so pets can run loose after being in your vehicle all day.Breakfast was very good. Lady at front desk needed to get wireless mic. for phone off. Always there and would be talking to people while waiting on you. Went into store to ask for help, the phone rang and she said I would have to wait. Waited almost 10 minutes while she was on the phone.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
HAD A GREAT TIME, NICE FRIENDLY KOA WORKERS
Aug 25, 2013
Loved the pines clean bathrooms quiet at night cabins were nice
Aug 25, 2013
Friendly folks, nice facilities, and cute bunnies everywhere. We loved it!
Aug 24, 2013
This the ideal place to stay when in Custer. We have stayed in other campgrounds here and would absolutely stay at this over all the others. Thanks. We loved it.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
NOT kid friendly. Ray was very good with kids. Pool was very warm and clean. Jumping pillow was a blast for kids. Bathrooms NEEDS a lot of work. Mold grows in the showers. Right next to the hair that's in large clumps on wall and floor. Dumpsters were full to the brim. You had to squeeze between the fence and lift bag over your head to throw. Washers don't spin out. Dryers 1.75 2 start! SEND HELP!
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
It was a great place, great location. A bit too cold for us but we enjoy the place
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
Loved it, we extended our stay twice as the kids didn't want to leave. The best part was the ATV rental, didn't even have to leave the campground. Centrally located, only about 15 minutes to Mt. Rushmore. Loved the outdoor grilling station with fresh herbs. Would suggest they could improve on the night time entertainment though. I would definitely stay here again.
Aug 22, 2013
very quiet.
Aug 22, 2013
Beautiful and clean bathrooms. Well maintained
Aug 22, 2013
This is second time we have stayed here and again it was excellent. Nice shady roomy spots for our 40' motorhome, nice pool & activities for kids, and the breakfast was excellent.
Aug 21, 2013
Under the circumstances (Sturgis Biker Rally) they did a great job.
Aug 20, 2013
We had the best site in the park. It was actually extra wide, and backed on to a greenbelt. We were the gathering spot for our friends. Very nice, would stay again.
Aug 20, 2013
Hosts were great providing places to eat. Easy check in and extended our stay an extra day, used as 'home base'. Would stay again.
Aug 20, 2013
Great place to stay, one night or longer.
Aug 19, 2013
Great stay, clean place, fun pool! However, soap dispensers in the bathroom were too high for my kids to reach and the paper towels were very hard to get out with wet hands. Otherwise a perfect stay!
Aug 19, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff/management. From the minute we made our reservation the were communicating via email and accommodated our traveling group. Wonderful people! Thanks
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Friendly and clean.The kids were so entertained by the bunnies. Only complaint is cabins are a bit close together and close to hiway. Would like a bit more privacy and quiet.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
I wish the cabins would of had air conditioning.THe pool would of stayed open longer than 8:30PM.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Very friendly staff and clean facilities!
Aug 18, 2013
They are very friendly when you come in and all paper work done and quick check in after hard day of driving.
Aug 18, 2013
The couple from PA working there are awesome and very helpful.. Thanks
Aug 18, 2013
The pool could have been cleaner. The bunnies were great. I will send you the pictures.
Aug 17, 2013
Ray and Linda are the best KOA staff ever! Superior service and great, friendly attitude. My kids loved them! Also, the place is awesome!
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Deb and her staff were great, site was great showeres great, This was our first stay at a KOA we stayed and two others while on our vacation and none compared to this campground. Great job.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.