Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2014
The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the camp itself was great. The bathrooms and showers were especially very nice and always very clean. Highly recommended!
May 25, 2014
May 23, 2014
Great location to surrounding sites to see. Cabin had a bit of a smell after rains; however, opening windows helped. Nice people. Great jumpy pillow for adults and kids. Friendly staff. GREAT, clean nice bathrooms!
May 22, 2014
May 21, 2014
Loved the area. Great staff
May 21, 2014
They had a nice spot waiting for us, all facilities were nice and clean. Everything worked out well. They gave us info on renting a car during our stay for seeing the sights nearby, which worked out real well.
May 21, 2014
One of the best places we have stayed, great people, place was clean and really nice bathrooms.
May 21, 2014
The tent people across the road from us were noisy until 12:30. They seem to quieten down when they realized we could hear everything they said. Please ensure that all your guests understand the 10pm quiet time rule.
May 20, 2014
We were so pleased with the prompt and excellent service we received. I made a reservation on-line, and all that info was processed and waiting upon our arrival. Staff were friendly. The campground is in a nice setting. Washrooms were very clean.
May 19, 2014
May 19, 2014
A quiet and peaceful place in the pines!! We loved it!
May 16, 2014
Best KOA we stayed in. Very friendly staff Everything was clean & we'll kept
May 12, 2014
The camp sites were well spaced and the facilities were very clean.
May 11, 2014
GREAT STAY!! Nice, well maintained facility, SUPER nice folks, a pleasure to deal with.
May 10, 2014
The bathrooms were top notch and having a place to wash dishes was very helpful. The staff were helpful and courteous, especially with our late check-in.
May 08, 2014
great Staff-Jim and Debi were so helpfull and went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay-had room so let us leave our RV past check-out so we could visit area.
Nov 14, 2013
Showers OK.
Oct 27, 2013
We loved that place. Very friendly staff (helpful, funny, great). They made us feel welcome. The sites, restrooms, the place are clean. Perfect
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 13, 2013
Disappointed because we paid for full hook up and no television (satellite or cable) was available. That's not full hook up!
Oct 10, 2013
Sites not level, poor internet service, poor roads, no cable but the RV park next door had cable for $10 less a night.
Oct 08, 2013
Clean, quiet campground in the Ponderosa Pines. Staff was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating.
Oct 06, 2013
left the day before the tornado hit there Hopefully you didnt sustain any damage your campground is very well kept and the staff was great will definately return and suggest your site to friends
Oct 06, 2013
Signs marking the way to exit would help find the way out at 4am. Also cable TV would be nice. Wifi worked!!!
Oct 06, 2013
Easy access to campground. Very helpful and friendly staff. Found us a great spot when they were nearly full.
Oct 05, 2013
The managers of this KOA were very nice and helpful, however, this campground was not up to KOA standards. Sites were very unlevel, no cable hook-up but the rates were the same as KOA's with all the amenity's!
Oct 04, 2013
Friendly staff. Super clean showers and restrooms.
Sep 30, 2013
Very uneven ground, had to be careful we're you walked
Sep 30, 2013
Linda and Ray were very friendly and helpful.
Sep 29, 2013
Nice level sites. Parking assist was great. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Facilities are clean and well maintained. We would definitely stay here again.
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 28, 2013
Sep 28, 2013
Grounds were well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location to attractions was wonderful. Our site was narrow and very uneven. Hot water in one bathhouse was inoperable one day. Two washers and one dryer were broken which made for a wait to use.
Sep 25, 2013
The campground and personnel were great. The problem was no cable (not a problem), but no antenna TV. If you had a dish, you were OK. I assumed that not having cable, you would still have antenna TV. The campsite next door had cable.
Sep 25, 2013
All of the staff were very helpfull and polite
Sep 24, 2013
What a great place.Everyone was very helpful with directions and places to see. Great town.
Sep 24, 2013
Pet area needs more secure fencing to prevent small dogs from going under the fence, please!
Sep 23, 2013
GREAT HOSTS! excellent facilities that were superbly maintained. great stay!
Sep 23, 2013
Well run by Friendly, and Competent Personnel. Thanks.
Sep 22, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
friendly and helpful staff. area is very clean and forested which is what we like to have since we are from Colorado.
Sep 21, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA several times. The sites for long rigs (we camp with a 34 ft Airstream) are not shaded and on a hill. This is typical of the Black Hills area, which is very rocky and hilly. The rest rooms are outstanding and the KOA is in a great location.
Sep 21, 2013
Pet area is not enclosed
Sep 20, 2013
Lovely facility and friendly, helpful staff.
Sep 19, 2013
no complaints at all; our time there was great; there's a lot to do and see in the area, and this place is not far from anything, but not too close to the big town either. we stayed at one of the simple kamper kabins instead of our usual tent, mostly because we labor day wknd reservations too far in advance to have any idea of what the weather would be like.
Sep 18, 2013
Very nice, escorted to site. Tour recommendation was out of this world. They told us if we didn't think this KOA was a 10 to let them know and they'd make it right so we could give them a 10. Nothing needed making it right it just was.
Sep 17, 2013
Very nice,clean park. Campsites were too close glad it was off season & not full
Sep 17, 2013
day perso was helpful and very nice night afternoon people rude made us feel stupid in general not friendly at all

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for your bad experience at our campground. The matter has been addressed with the staff in question as we do not like having unhappy campers. I do hope the other aspects of your stay were positive and that we may have a chance to have you stay again in the future. Jim, General Manager
Sep 16, 2013
Custer KOA is an awesome campground! Very friendly, helpful staff and nice clean facilities. This campground is in a beautiful area nestled in the pine trees. We loved camping at Custer KOA!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.