Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 11, 2015
Greatexperience!
Sep 10, 2015
Very friendly people. They have a pancake breakfast. We had a back in site and had the forest behind us. Loved the town of Custer and close driving to most attractions.
Sep 09, 2015
Nice camp.
Sep 09, 2015
very nice campground and nice folks. liked the country atmosphere.
Sep 09, 2015
The staff was so pleasant. Thanks for being accomodating.
Sep 08, 2015
This camp ground is fair we was told we would have a shaded area and we were put in the sun lot 106
Sep 08, 2015
The place is nice and clean. The spots are really tight. The jumping pillow needs some softer stuff around the pillow to land on just in case a kid jumps off or is bounced off of it. Really dangerous jumping pillow area.
Sep 08, 2015
Nice campground. Clean facilities. I took my wife and daughters camping for the first time. They liked staying in a KOA "Kamping Kabin" and will go again.
Sep 08, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff, they kept the park clean and looking good.
Sep 08, 2015
Campsites very narrow
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
Great campground. Great host.
Sep 07, 2015
The hosts are friendly and helpful and the campground is clean and well maintained.
Sep 07, 2015
The staff was very nice and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this KOA to others.
Sep 07, 2015
Great stay! Great place! Thanks!
Sep 07, 2015
Went on the koa website to reserve a 3 night stay. The lady was very rude and didn't explain anything thoroughly. Get to check in at what I thought was the only koa resort at Mt rushmore they said I had the wrong reservation numbers and sent me to custer. Stayed at the mt. Rushmore koa as a kid and wanted to stay there again not knowing there was another koa. Terrible service.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It sounds like your problems with staff were not at our location. A though may be to call the campground after making an internet reservation to be sure all is as you expect it be on your arrival. Safe Travels.
Sep 06, 2015
2 night stay employee Alan was exceptional pleasant helpful always checking to make sure we had everything we needed. Only glitch was next door neighbor yelled about smoke from our campfire even after we had moved it 2x.
Sep 06, 2015
The people were great and friendly the Benny's were sweet take care of them I would tell others bathrooms clean close to sites Bruce and Shirley I'll come back
Sep 05, 2015
We enjoyed the friendly staff and how helpful they were. It makes our trips very pleasant when the staff is friendly. Thanks so much!!
Sep 05, 2015
Very good facilities. Could use a bit of road maintenance.great breakfast offered on the weekend.
Sep 03, 2015
There for the Black Hills Rally. A first timer for the Kampground, but definatley will be the place to stay on future SD trips. Everything and everyone was great. All the staff that i came incontact with were very friendly and always willing to help out if needed. I especially liked the Honey Wagon Service. One less thing i hade to do when i pulled out. It was well worth the &10.00 fee. :-)
Sep 03, 2015
I really enjoyed it while I was there, my grandson had a great time, the only thing I felt maybe would have made him happier, is the campground next to the KOA, had a big slide to their pool and he asked if he could go over to it and told him I didn't think it was allowed, so it would have been great if there had been something like that, but the sta
Sep 03, 2015
Excellent in all respects.
Sep 03, 2015
Would have given a 10 for reference and 5 stars but the grounds are not up to par with other KOA's in the area for similar $$$
Sep 03, 2015
One of the nicest KOAs that we have stayed at. Thanks.
Sep 03, 2015
Entrance looks like junk yard no TV not even cable no dog park and no grass all rocks
Sep 02, 2015
We stayed 8 nights....loved it. Nice facilities, grounds, and extremely friendly/helpful hosts. F,S & S breakfast is delicious. Had flat tire on truck and Jim went out of his way to get me what I needed to fix it...thanks Jim. Too bad this campsite isn't closer to home or I would love to stay weekends. Thanks to all for a wonderful stay.
Sep 02, 2015
Personnel très accueillant et serviable. Terrains de petite dimension et l'aménagement pourrait être amélioré.
Sep 02, 2015
One of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed at. Very nice setting with trees all around. Excellent dog park.
Sep 01, 2015
Stayed for 8 days. Great host service. Only issue was neighbors dog was a little barky.
Sep 01, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
Friendly staff! Good breakfast! Very nice restrooms! 😃
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
The best thing about this KOA is the location. It was convenient to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer wildlife and local shops. No closed in dog park. Good WIFi, but no cable and with the shade no antenna/sat access.
Aug 30, 2015
Great staff who acknowledged my request for a no-pets cabin. Cleanest and newest bathrooms I have ever seen in many years of camping at many different places! Thanks for the kids' activities being free and the pool being warm on a cooler evening.
Aug 29, 2015
Clean and quiet KOA close to Mt Rushmore and the Jewel Caves. Kids enjoyed playing on the bouncy balloon.
Aug 29, 2015
Host, Mark, was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed using the pool.
Aug 28, 2015
Great place to stay.
Aug 28, 2015
Great facility. The people that work there are extremely kind and helpful. The bathrooms are the best I've seen at a KOA. The campsites are spacious. There are lots of rabbits, they are friendly but drove our dog a little crazy. Perfect location for exploring the beautiful black hills. Hope to be back.
Aug 28, 2015
Camp was over priced,Internet was nonexistent ,but the employees were great and made the stay great.
Aug 27, 2015
Grat location, great kabins, the staff was very pleasent and helpful. The whole facility was clean with rabbits running all over but they didn't bother or beg from you. I was very happy with our 3 day stay there.
Aug 27, 2015
Loved the nice clean cabin. The kids enjoyed the pillow shaped trampoline.
Aug 27, 2015
Nice facilities and wonderful folks working in the office. Very nice tiled and clean restrooms & showers. Tent camped here and nice site.
Aug 26, 2015
The staff is very friendly and always willing to help with any questions or problems.
Aug 26, 2015
Great stay! Our granddaughter loved the bouncy play place and the rabbits that came right up to our cabin for a treat.
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
They really need to get wifi to cabins. Cleaning has to improve and service too. Not informed properly at all at arrival. Way to expensive

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Apologizes for the internet. A storm took out the system the day of you arrival and parts were overnighted and repairs made. As for misinformation, if you could send an e-mail elaborating, the matter will be addressed. Safe travels.
Aug 25, 2015
Staff was very friendly, it was well located for the surrounding attractions, the lots were very spacious and the park was well kept.
Aug 25, 2015
They went out of their way to help and believe me we needed it. Lots of adorable bunnies all over. Lovely campground.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award