Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2015
The people at this KOA made the stay outstanding. The facilities were all fine but eh staff made the difference.
Jul 10, 2015
we loved the area, the staff was friendly and helpful. the kids loved the "wild wabbits" would definalty stay there again.
Jul 10, 2015
Amazing!
Jul 10, 2015
Great atmosphere, facility and staff.
Jul 09, 2015
Bend over backwards customer service
Jul 09, 2015
The staff was wonderful. Billy is awesome and very helpful. He also makes the best pancakes!! Jim the General Manager was very nice in making our reservation and bent over backwards to help my family get an RV spot for the July 4th weekend. Then when we got there he was very helpful and really cared about all the guests having a good time. Will definitely stay again!
Jul 09, 2015
All in all ok stay. Needs signage to direct to campground. Best part is town, Custer is quaint, cozy and friendly.
Jul 09, 2015
Beautiful site, close to many attractions. quiet and peaceful. Pancakes were delicious- thanks to Billy!!
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Jul 08, 2015
It was clean and well kept pretty flowers friendly people
Jul 08, 2015
The staff is fantastic. I couldn't say enough as to how welcoming and helpful and fun they were. The facility is very well maintained and if I'm in the area, I'm definitely spending the night
Jul 08, 2015
The people here have been the nicest and kindest ever. They have been so helpful to us, I can't even explain. And, Billy cooks a great breakfast!
Jul 08, 2015
This location is close to Custer, 4 miles from Crazy Horse Monument, and 20 miles from Mount Rushmore. Easy access to all locations was a real bonus. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our site could have used a little leveling and grooming. WiFi connectivity was less than ideal particularly in the evening as the campground came to capacity. We enjoyed our time in Custer quite a bit.
Jul 08, 2015
First time camping in a KOA. W/ 3 small kids it was nice to have hook-ups, showers & play area for. My kids loved the inflated jumping pad & playground. The staff was super friendly, so nice! Our site did not have a pit cover to grill on so they brought us a nice stand-up one to use. Very accommodating! My only complaint was our site was terrible. Hardly any grass, it was a mud pit!
Jul 08, 2015
This is a great place to stay!! Lots of trees and a very helpful staff. We tried to stay an extra night but they were full. Kids loved the jumping pillow and the pool. Staff made us feel like family. Lots of nice families camping there.
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Loved the camp host! Nice Kabin.
Jul 07, 2015
Staff was amazing! They accommodated us an extra night at the last minute. Very nice and clean. Close to everything.
Jul 07, 2015
Nep Park? Needs more level sites
Jul 07, 2015
....SUPER....KOA... And the BIG HUGE JUMPING PILLOW...Wow whatta blast!!!
Jul 07, 2015
Loved the STAFF... CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN even with the July 4th week. Thanks Sir jimmy
Jul 07, 2015
We thank you from the bottom of our hearts! Your campsite, cabins, and restroom/showers were perfect! The whole staff was friendly and helpful! Couldn't ask for a better location. You even helped us when we decided to stay for an extra night. We will be back at your site, along with more family members:) Thanks for helping us with our vacation memories!
Jul 06, 2015
Warm friendly feeling from the staff from day we arrived until we left. We were there two weeks and totally enjoyed our stay. One of the best KOAs so far. They obviously work very hard to keep the campground comfortable.
Jul 06, 2015
Great KOA, spaces were large, grounds were easy to navigate and quiet, staff was friendly and courteous. Will be planning a return trip!
Jul 06, 2015
Wonderful setting and located close to all we wanted to see. The only problem was the wet wood for campfires. Once we learned the trick to lighting it, we were fine.
Jul 06, 2015
Facilities are clean, staff friendly and accommodating. Campsite are a little close, though.
Jul 06, 2015
Had truck problems while staying here and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating.
Jul 05, 2015
We loved it
Jul 05, 2015
You need to have another dish washing station on the other end of the camp ground by the other bathrooms.
Jul 05, 2015
This is an outstanding place to stay. Of all the things the girls did they loved the campground the best! Bathrooms were very nice, hot showers! Staff were very helpful - the horseback place 4 miles down called Ponderrosa is super! - the grounds were quiet. We will for sure be back!
Jul 05, 2015
Clean facilities friendly staff very helpful but tent sites pretty close together....could hear EVERYTHING going on. But we would still recommend this KOA.
Jul 05, 2015
Friendly greeting even after hours. Clean. Nice sized spots and well kept grounds. Help was always informative and gracious.
Jul 05, 2015
We arrived early evening of our stay and the staff was not in a great mood. Our "escort" to our lot was tired and I understand that tired people can often be cranky. The morning staff was AMAZING!! So nice, helpful and frendly. We will be back. My husband calls me the KOA queen :). My kids LOVED the air pillow!! What a great option ;).
Jul 04, 2015
Friendly staff.
Jul 04, 2015
Excellent location, layout and services. Raised spots for tents were especially great. Plus, bunnies. Tons of them.
Jul 04, 2015
Very nice amenities. Enjoyed the chuck wagon breakfast
Jul 03, 2015
My husband and I decided to bring our 16 yr. old grandson and our twin 10 yr old grand-daughters out to Mount Rushmore and in the past when our children were small we camped at the Custer KOA (20 some years ago)and we had a great time then. This time was just or even better than 20yrs ago. The staff made our stay fantastic. Thank you all for the great job that you do.
Jul 03, 2015
Everything is clean and well cared for. Bathrooms are very nice.
Jul 03, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Nice location , level sites, staff real helpful. I needed oil change the staff recommended a place that was close and reasonably priced.
Jul 03, 2015
Great stay.
Jul 03, 2015
Everyone was very nice and the cabins and bathrooms were very clean.
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
Friendly customer service. Love that the firewood gets delivered to your spot. They even came and helped us get a fire started one night.
Jul 02, 2015
Great location, very restful, lots of trees right in the hills and close to parks lakes and caves. The cabin was a great place to stay, comfortable at night and very much appreciated during the Gail storm. Kids loved to bouncing pillow and pool. We had the pool to ourselves several times and met great families from all over. Quiet, clean convenient
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
The campsite 44 was not made to fit our fifth wheel. We had to drive up on rocks to get into it. Also there was mold in the men's bathroom..
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award