Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2013
Great place to stay, one night or longer.
Aug 19, 2013
Great stay, clean place, fun pool! However, soap dispensers in the bathroom were too high for my kids to reach and the paper towels were very hard to get out with wet hands. Otherwise a perfect stay!
Aug 19, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff/management. From the minute we made our reservation the were communicating via email and accommodated our traveling group. Wonderful people! Thanks
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Friendly and clean.The kids were so entertained by the bunnies. Only complaint is cabins are a bit close together and close to hiway. Would like a bit more privacy and quiet.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
I wish the cabins would of had air conditioning.THe pool would of stayed open longer than 8:30PM.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Very friendly staff and clean facilities!
Aug 18, 2013
They are very friendly when you come in and all paper work done and quick check in after hard day of driving.
Aug 18, 2013
The couple from PA working there are awesome and very helpful.. Thanks
Aug 18, 2013
The pool could have been cleaner. The bunnies were great. I will send you the pictures.
Aug 17, 2013
Ray and Linda are the best KOA staff ever! Superior service and great, friendly attitude. My kids loved them! Also, the place is awesome!
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Deb and her staff were great, site was great showeres great, This was our first stay at a KOA we stayed and two others while on our vacation and none compared to this campground. Great job.
Aug 15, 2013
we had a great experience at custer/mt. rushmore koa. we loved our tent site. the staff was excellent. the bathrooms were clean. we enjoyed watching several families of bunnies. can't wait to visit again.
Aug 15, 2013
WE GREATLY ENJOYED THE CAMPGROUND. THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY, THE FACILITIES CLEAN AND IN ORDER AND THE LOCATION WAS PERFECT FOR SEEING ALL THE BLACK HILLS AREA HAS TO OFFER. THANK YOU FOR A GREAT STAY!!
Aug 14, 2013
Got charged an extra $91 that I was told wouldn't be charged to my account. Will not stay again and will not tell anyone to stay here.
Aug 12, 2013
Personnel was very courteous and helpful. Restrooms were clean snd overall campground in good shape. Didn't have a cooking fire pit at our spot and they didn't have any available.
Aug 12, 2013
Super friendly staff...very helpful on all my needs during our stay!
Aug 12, 2013
Stayed at this site 3 times its a great place
Aug 12, 2013
IT was just fine
Aug 12, 2013
They were very accommodating. I made several changes to my stay, and they worked it in without a hitch. Great service.
Aug 11, 2013
friendly staff, great location
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
The price was to high for tent site with no water or electrical I paid 39 dollars a night and it was to high down the road I paid 22 dollars and had both water and electrical you need to come down on price
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
It was a great Kampground and the staff was so friendly. The service we received was outstanding. Looking forward to next years vacation up there. Thank You.
Aug 10, 2013
Jimmie, Debi, and Billie with the rest of the crew were great. They were very accommodating in every way. Lots of great updates in the campground, much more user friendly especially for those of us who have larger toyhaulers. We have stayed there now 4 years during Sturgis week and plan on returning again and again.
Aug 10, 2013
All I can say we had a very good time,and we will be there next year, thank you for every thing.
Aug 10, 2013
Could not ask for better host. They are as great as the come.
Aug 10, 2013
This was my fifth stay and I will be staying here when I come to the Black Hills.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Staff were very helpful and kind. Campsites were very small and close together. Our was almost touching our neighbors tent. This KOA had some nice.games to play and the location was great. The food and wood were quite expensive.
Aug 09, 2013
Cabin number 1 was infested with fleas. My wife got 37 (thirty seven)itching bites on her body. I was lucky with only twenty or so. Receptionist laughed the problem away but we got a spray the next morning. Did not work, another bad night. Glad we could leave after 2 nights.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for your misfortune. On your departure, cabin was exterminated and no infestation was found. We also immediately offered you another cabin, or an early departure w/ rebate, which was declined. RV campers near your cabin mentioned bites from being outside, which is out of our control.
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
wonderful hosts!! very friendly staff.
Aug 07, 2013
Friendly, helpful staff. Great breakfast!
Aug 07, 2013
I have only one item that made our stay a little less than optimum. The temperature in the shower houses was less than comfortable. It was slightly above the outside temperature outside, which was below the average for this time of year. We enjoyed the breakfast from your 'Chuck Wagon'. Thanks for the hospitality that was shown us during our stay. Dale & Jan Olson
Aug 07, 2013
Very well kept and clean. Extremely quiet considering it was during Sturgis bike rally. Kabins were ideal for motorcycle vacation. Perfect area to enjoy Custer State Park.
Aug 07, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay in this campground. It was close to Crazy Horse and to Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. Billy does a great job with the freshly prepared breakfast each morning. That was a definitely hit with this family.
Aug 07, 2013
We had a nice campsite under the pine trees. I felt that there was little open green area to hike or play frisbee. Many of the nearby campsites were squeezed into a small area. The staff in the office weren't very pleasant either. The amenities were pretty good. Most of the other KOA campgrounds had jumping pillows for free, this campground charges a small fee.
Aug 06, 2013
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The bathroom had been recently upgraded and was VERY nice, but was also kept clean. We didn't need them, but the availability to heaters in the bathroom could be great under certain circumstances. The pool temperature was quite nice too!
Aug 06, 2013
My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much! The family that runs this KOA was extremely nice and accommodating. Our cabin was clean and cute, we loved it! The bathroom facilities were also very clean. Over all we had a wonderful experience and we would definitely recommend this campsite to our family and friends. We would also love to go back someday!
Aug 06, 2013
Staff was pleasant and helpful. Was given kabin of my choice upon arrival.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Great place to stay
Aug 05, 2013
Every thing was outstanding and the staff was willing to help with anything. The area was clean and in order. Thanks...

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.