Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 06, 2016
Dog owners needed to be reminded to pick up after their pets. Fresh poops on our site. Had to bury.
Jul 06, 2016
Stay was great!! People were very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again. Clean restrooms and showers!!
Jul 06, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the campsite was clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our stay very much!
Jul 05, 2016
Very nice people and nice bathrooms. Beautiful scenery!
Jul 05, 2016
they were very friendly and helpful and could tell you what nice to see around there
Jul 05, 2016
It was quiet, clean, and friendly. Our tent site was shady and large. We really thought the bathrooms were extremely nice.
Jul 05, 2016
It would have been nice to have grass for our tent site but it still worked out okay. The facility was very good and the staff friendly.
Jul 05, 2016
The campground was beautiful. Cabin was right in the trees. Loved it.
Jul 05, 2016
The online reservation system indicated there were tent sites with electricity. Thats what I selected. When I arrived I was informed they don't have tent sites with electricity. Only RV sites. Felt misled. I was stuck with an RV site for my tent. not easy camping with a tent on a rocky site. Disappointed with that.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The site in which you stayed was a tent site with water and electric. We do not have electric only tent sites. The site (#37) does not allow RV's in it. This was all clearly explained on the web site as well as the e-mail confirmation you received. Safe travels.
Jul 05, 2016
Great Place! Quiet, Clean, Great Bath Facilities.
Jul 04, 2016
Nice site, but a little uneven. Clean bathrooms.
Jul 04, 2016
super friendly and a excellent location
Jul 04, 2016
If the dog park was fenced in, we'd give it a 10.
Jul 04, 2016
Bathrooms are nice. However, seems trivial but I was charged a holiday rate for June 30th. When I asked the woman at the desk she had no explanation. She told me the holiday rate was from the 1st - the 4th. I was there from the 30th - the 3rd. For 4 dollars you might want to think about giving your customer a refund instead of them being unhappy and have to write this review.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The holiday rates run from June 30th through July 5th which is noted on the web site as well as your e-mail confirmation which you received well in advance of your arrival. Rebates are not based on opinion as prices are set a year in advance. Safe travels.
Jul 03, 2016
This is the best KOA ever! The tent sites were separate from the RVs and cabins. Bathrooms and showers are the best! (no kidding) The site was clean and interesting. (no cookie-cutter sites with tent pad, trees, rocks, all in different configurations). The playground, pool, and bounce pad were a hit! The staff was very friendly. All good!
Jul 03, 2016
Pool was for children, not adults. I was double charged for the week and am wondering how to get some of my money back.
Jul 03, 2016
Found employees very helpful. Shower/toilet area was a 11 on 10 scale. Enjoyed the breakfast. Had Yeti cooler stolen, so heads up. Might want to lock down personal items.
Jul 03, 2016
Good location, good wifi, clean cabin, It would have been helpful to have the office open past eight pm
Jul 03, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had everything we needed and the facility is very near to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse and Keystone. Nice place, would stay there again.
Jul 03, 2016
This is by far the best KOA I've stayed at to date! The staff is friendly. What I liked the best were the new bath/shower rooms and the sand plots for setting up our tent. Not only is it easier to stake the tent, it also absorbs rain so the tents don't sit in water. Loved it!
Jul 03, 2016
Only negative was the scrambled eggs at the Chuck Wagon breakfast. They weren't scrambled and cook was unwilling to cook properly.
Jul 03, 2016
The most level site I have ever parked on. The jumping pillow looked super fun. I used laundry which was great. All told, it was a very nice KOA.
Jul 02, 2016
We were here for five nights, very clean, very quiet, helpful staff. Laundry room, showers and restrooms clean as well. If ever back in this area, we will stay here.
Jul 02, 2016
Alsolutly wonderful people, our truck broke down and had to be fixed they were so great to help us stay there till our truck was repaired, would recommend this fun and relaxing place to stay!!!!!!
Jul 02, 2016
The tent sites are great, but I would not recommend for RVs. However, the newly renovated bathrooms are AMAZING and make you forget your camping.
Jul 02, 2016
Very accommodating staff.
Jul 01, 2016
Very clean facility. Staff very friendly. Only complaint is some staff members ignoring the no smoking areas.
Jun 29, 2016
Jun 29, 2016
We loved this KOA! Very friendly and helpful staff, newly renovated and clean bathrooms, and decent site space with shade. The dog park isn't fenced in and the pool is a little small but we were overall very happy with our decision to stay here. Dog owners beware, if your dog likes bunnies...you might have a tough time.
Jun 29, 2016
The kids loved the bouncing pillow and the campground was very clean and well maintained. The staff was super helpful and always a joy to interact with. We will be staying here again!
Jun 29, 2016
One night. Level sites. Nice, but pricey.
Jun 28, 2016
Great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean bathrooms, good showers.
Jun 28, 2016
Very clean and quiet
Jun 28, 2016
Nice place and well taken care of. Staff was friendly.
Jun 28, 2016
Hosts and staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice campground.
Jun 27, 2016
We absolutely loved our stay here! The cabins and bathrooms were always clean. The staff was really nice and friendly. We didn't have an opportunity to get a cabin with a bathroom in it but the bathrooms weren't too far to walk. They had plenty of things to do for the whole family here like a jumping pillow, pool, bean bag toss and play ground.
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 27, 2016
We had a wonderful time, the kids had fun on the pillow and in the pool! The bathrooms and showers were updated and clean! They deliver firewood to you, Staff was friendly and knowledgable!
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 26, 2016
Overall, great stay! The staff was top-notch! My kids loved the jumping pillow and pool. Small sites and could use more showers but we'd stay again! Consider moving at least one soap dispenser in the bathrooms lower. Saw lots of kids who had to ask to be lifted up onto the sink to reach the dispensers.
Jun 26, 2016
This is a lovely site to stay. This time our son was along with their rv. At their site the drain stopped up. They were accused of putting paper towels in their toilet causing the issue. They were accused of buying the wrong toilet paper. Three of us hand carried the sewer hose through the grounds to empty it at the main dump. The problem was, screws were put into the drain. Catching all solids.
Jun 26, 2016
Great campgrounds with wonderful hosts. Would recommend to all.
Jun 25, 2016
Very nice, clean cabin. Great breakfast and friendly staff.
Jun 25, 2016
Stayed in a Kamper Kabin, and they were pretty close together, but otherwise comfortable. Very clean grounds and facilities. Nice and quiet, so able to get a good nights rest. All staff helpful and friendly, also could tell they work hard and care about this place.
Jun 25, 2016
Owners are very friendly and helpful. Very clean campground and restrooms. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends.
Jun 24, 2016
The most awesome people ever in the office, such a friendly, accommodating staff. We loved our site and the kids thought the pillow was fantastic!
Jun 24, 2016
Bath rooms were great. The spaces small. The dog run wasn't chain linked fenced. The people were nice.
Jun 24, 2016
Very friendly staff, lots for the kids to do, and clean facilities. Great stay!
Jun 24, 2016
Loved our stay. Nice, clean cabins & facilities, friendly & helpful staff. Kids loved the jumping bubble & pool. Only concern was the barbed wire lining the property behind our cabin (G). Huge safety hazard for small kids like ours. Other than that, we were very pleased with the Custer KOA!
Jun 23, 2016
The staff members were AMAZING! Our cabin was extremely clean, as were the bathrooms and the office/store area. We are looking forward to staying here again!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award