Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 13, 2015
Thankful for late nite registration! Came in late and parked. My family enjoyed the nice location and overall park cleanliness. The chuck wagon breakfast was a nice plus since we had to hit the road for another 9 hrs driving. Thank you!
Jul 13, 2015
This is a nice and quiet campground. There were lots of trees. We had a full hookup spot in the back and it was a decent size. Kids loved the bunnies and the jumping pillow. The showers/restrooms were very clean and nice. Would love to see new fire pits there.
Jul 12, 2015
The campground was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The location of the campground was perfect for everything we had planned.
Jul 12, 2015
The RV sights are a little tight. You are right next to your neighbor. Friendly hosts! Nice morning breakfast!
Jul 12, 2015
Sites are wooded and large. Staff is terrific...just like being at home! This is the best KOA in the area!!
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
I would have given them a 5, but I booked a 50 amp full hook up site. I had to change our reservations and when they were changed the koa girls didn't make sure that we had 50 amp. We have 3 ac's and it was around 95, so we really needed the power. The owner of the koa was kind enough to lend us her adapter so we ran on one ac which got us through the night. Grounds were beautiful, people nice.
Jul 12, 2015
Helpful and friendly staff. Clean facilities.
Jul 12, 2015
Made the BIG mistake of being in South Dakota within few weeks of the 75th Sturgis Celebration. Not a good time for regular people to be in SD. There is no room in SD,NO ROOM at all. Will not go to stay in SD EVER AGAIN. NEVER EVER!! Wyoming,Montana,Idaho, Colorado are so much better/ friendlier.
Jul 11, 2015
great place to stay, nice and clean bathrooms, jumping pillow, playground and game room for kids and nice friendly staff...our kids did not want to leave!
Jul 11, 2015
Super Friendly Staff! Clean and nice spot. I just wish there where more showers, I had to wait at least 15+ minutes every time I went up there. other than that is was perfect
Jul 11, 2015
Very nice campground,central to everything we wanted to visit during our one week stay. Clean and updated bathrooms and laundry. Kids loved the jumping pillow and pool. Staff friendly and accommodating. The wild camp bunnies were a bonus!
Jul 11, 2015
We loved our time staying in the cabin. The staff was wonderful and so helpful! The whole camp sight was clean and well taken care of. The bathroom was very clean!!
Jul 11, 2015
The stay was wonderful and the location is awesome, the only issue was in the men's restroom the Urinal wasn't working so the men's restroom didn't seem that clean. But we loved our stay.
Jul 11, 2015
Great location, friendly and excellent staff and service. Lovely grounds, and very kid and family friendly. I had only three complaints; 1) quiet hours were not strictly enforced, though not a serious problem; 2) road noise; 3) one bundle of firewood sold to us was a bit green.
Jul 11, 2015
Roads need grading they need separate locked handicap restroom as people use shower because it is one of 2. Camp to big for so few shower.
Jul 11, 2015
Staff that guided to our spot was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and laundry very clean.
Jul 10, 2015
Our stay here was great. The bathrooms were clean and the staff was really helpful.
Jul 10, 2015
This is the place to stay. Everyone and everything was great. Close to all the things you want to see.
Jul 10, 2015
The people at this KOA made the stay outstanding. The facilities were all fine but eh staff made the difference.
Jul 10, 2015
we loved the area, the staff was friendly and helpful. the kids loved the "wild wabbits" would definalty stay there again.
Jul 10, 2015
Amazing!
Jul 10, 2015
Great atmosphere, facility and staff.
Jul 09, 2015
Bend over backwards customer service
Jul 09, 2015
The staff was wonderful. Billy is awesome and very helpful. He also makes the best pancakes!! Jim the General Manager was very nice in making our reservation and bent over backwards to help my family get an RV spot for the July 4th weekend. Then when we got there he was very helpful and really cared about all the guests having a good time. Will definitely stay again!
Jul 09, 2015
All in all ok stay. Needs signage to direct to campground. Best part is town, Custer is quaint, cozy and friendly.
Jul 09, 2015
Beautiful site, close to many attractions. quiet and peaceful. Pancakes were delicious- thanks to Billy!!
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Jul 08, 2015
It was clean and well kept pretty flowers friendly people
Jul 08, 2015
The staff is fantastic. I couldn't say enough as to how welcoming and helpful and fun they were. The facility is very well maintained and if I'm in the area, I'm definitely spending the night
Jul 08, 2015
The people here have been the nicest and kindest ever. They have been so helpful to us, I can't even explain. And, Billy cooks a great breakfast!
Jul 08, 2015
This location is close to Custer, 4 miles from Crazy Horse Monument, and 20 miles from Mount Rushmore. Easy access to all locations was a real bonus. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our site could have used a little leveling and grooming. WiFi connectivity was less than ideal particularly in the evening as the campground came to capacity. We enjoyed our time in Custer quite a bit.
Jul 08, 2015
First time camping in a KOA. W/ 3 small kids it was nice to have hook-ups, showers & play area for. My kids loved the inflated jumping pad & playground. The staff was super friendly, so nice! Our site did not have a pit cover to grill on so they brought us a nice stand-up one to use. Very accommodating! My only complaint was our site was terrible. Hardly any grass, it was a mud pit!
Jul 08, 2015
This is a great place to stay!! Lots of trees and a very helpful staff. We tried to stay an extra night but they were full. Kids loved the jumping pillow and the pool. Staff made us feel like family. Lots of nice families camping there.
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Loved the camp host! Nice Kabin.
Jul 07, 2015
Staff was amazing! They accommodated us an extra night at the last minute. Very nice and clean. Close to everything.
Jul 07, 2015
Nep Park? Needs more level sites
Jul 07, 2015
....SUPER....KOA... And the BIG HUGE JUMPING PILLOW...Wow whatta blast!!!
Jul 07, 2015
Loved the STAFF... CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN even with the July 4th week. Thanks Sir jimmy
Jul 07, 2015
We thank you from the bottom of our hearts! Your campsite, cabins, and restroom/showers were perfect! The whole staff was friendly and helpful! Couldn't ask for a better location. You even helped us when we decided to stay for an extra night. We will be back at your site, along with more family members:) Thanks for helping us with our vacation memories!
Jul 06, 2015
Warm friendly feeling from the staff from day we arrived until we left. We were there two weeks and totally enjoyed our stay. One of the best KOAs so far. They obviously work very hard to keep the campground comfortable.
Jul 06, 2015
Great KOA, spaces were large, grounds were easy to navigate and quiet, staff was friendly and courteous. Will be planning a return trip!
Jul 06, 2015
Wonderful setting and located close to all we wanted to see. The only problem was the wet wood for campfires. Once we learned the trick to lighting it, we were fine.
Jul 06, 2015
Facilities are clean, staff friendly and accommodating. Campsite are a little close, though.
Jul 06, 2015
Had truck problems while staying here and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating.
Jul 05, 2015
We loved it
Jul 05, 2015
You need to have another dish washing station on the other end of the camp ground by the other bathrooms.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.