Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 02, 2016
The campground is very clean and well kept. The showers are exceptional, but the staff is what makes this 5 stars!
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
Very Friendly
Aug 01, 2016
Unhelpful staff, dated facilities, over the top rules
Aug 01, 2016
The staff was friendly and helpful. While we were out, we saw rain and hail in the forcast and realized we left our awning out. We called and the staff put it up for us. Great service.
Aug 01, 2016
Beautiful campground. Staff was wonderful! very kind and helpful! We really enjoyed our stay!
Aug 01, 2016
First time here, super friendly, and helpful staff. Really clean restrooms with showers. Enjoyed our stay very much.
Aug 01, 2016
Need to let the guests know about the weather that they mit be in for in the evenings. Especially for those that are in pop up campers. Our night was a really rough one and even though we enjoyed our stay, the sleeping was very poor.
Jul 31, 2016
Very nice campground but on a motorcycle with all the gravel and rain made it hard to drive up some of the slopes.
Jul 31, 2016
My kids really enjoyed themselves on the bouncy pillow as did I! The pool was a nice addition, but needed some attention. The cabin was clean and quite comfortable and we were able to see all the sites.
Jul 31, 2016
Enjoyed the convenience and the facilities. My family had a great stay.
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
Everything was wonderful: the staff, the location, the breakfasts. We really enjoyed ourselves.
Jul 30, 2016
Debra managed to squeeze us in same day, then found us another spot the next day. We very much appreciate her going the extra mile to make it work out. This is not our first stay and we plan to return again. Thank you!
Jul 30, 2016
We were only there for a short time. We arrived in the early evening and left the next morning. The weather was storming while we were there. All the staff were extremely friendly and the breakfast was delicious!
Jul 30, 2016
The place was nicer than some hotels l've stayed in the past.
Jul 29, 2016
Nice, quiet campground. Great for children. The small koa store had just the right things. Back in spaces were a little tight.
Jul 29, 2016
Very nice. Cabin was cute and comfortable. Very friendly staff. Could use more showers though.
Jul 29, 2016
Great clean place to stay, need more 2 way hookup sites
Jul 28, 2016
Nice park and friendly staff
Jul 28, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. We liked that it was not a huge campground. It was very quiet. My kids loved the jumping pillow and the bunnies!
Jul 28, 2016
as this was our third stay here, I would recommend this KOA to all.
Jul 28, 2016
We loved it will return someday!
Jul 27, 2016
It would be nice if people were told that there is no TV other than pbs over the air and no cable. Water pressure leaves a bit to be desired.
Jul 27, 2016
It was clean and the staff were friendly. The sites were very unlevel and the rabbits were a significant problem. They said there was a dog run area but it wasn't fenced so I couldn't take him off leash.
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful! Thanks for the cup of coffee :)
Jul 27, 2016
We had a wonderful stay in Custer and enjoyed our camping cabin very much. The cabin was extremely clean and well maintained, and while we didn't get to partake in many of the activities offered at this location, we appreciate the services we did receive.
Jul 26, 2016
We absolutely loved it. We are returning for sure
Jul 26, 2016
We enjoyed our stay and the friendliness of the staff! Suggestions: have mounted soap dispenser at level kids can reach, post pool hours for kids to read, and spray for ants at the tent sights.
Jul 26, 2016
My family of six traveled from Michigan to Yosemite and back home through South Dakota. Along the way, we stayed at various KOA parks: Limom, Filmore, Yosemite West, Coleville/Walker and Custer/Mt. Rushmore. Not once did we have a bad experience! Thank-you all for your hospitality!
Jul 25, 2016
The lot was even and easy to hook up to the utilities. The kids loved the jump pillow ALOT! The help was very nice. When we were checking out we had an issue with our black water emptying out of our tank. The front desk was happy to send someone to see what they could do to help out. They didn't have to go above and beyond but they did.
Jul 25, 2016
My wife &I rode to Custer KOA from Ohio on our motorcycle.The camp staff was exceedingly helpful and energetic. Mark and his wife Julie were especially helpful on where to ride,see and stop while out in S.D. Cabin 7 was clean and comfortable and was a great place to unwind and meet other campers. The staff was very helpful and understanding when we had trouble with the motorcycle.
Jul 25, 2016
The staff made our stay amazing. They were so friendly and accommodating to our specific situation. Treated us like family. The kids loved the pillow and the pool. Fairly close to all that the Black Hills offer. Would definitely recommend this KOA :)
Jul 25, 2016
We reserved campsites for 4 families 4 months ago and didn't get sites together. Dirty pool. Felt unwelcome as well.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The site placement was explained at the time you made your reservations due to occupancy and equipment types. We are sorry that your debate at the counter couldn't change the facts. We did offer a full refund at check in, which you declined. Safe travels.
Jul 25, 2016
Nice campground but the pool was old and cracked. Would probably book again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the comments. The pool is scheduled for replacement. Safe travels.
Jul 25, 2016
It was very enjoyable. Everyone was friendly and polite.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
Wonderful place, friendly people, beautiful location!
Jul 23, 2016
Very well kept sites,quite and lots to do for the kids (granddaughter). The rabbits were very entertaining for the granddaughter!! Will be my first choice on a return trip.
Jul 23, 2016
enjoyed our stay very much.
Jul 23, 2016
The overall stay was great. My only complaint is there was a large group of young campers across from us being quite loud with music, conversation and singing past the 10:00 quiet time with no one on the grounds to contact.
Jul 23, 2016
Very sandy/gravel throughout campground. Very uneven ground and roads made difficult for walking to restroom at night in the dark. Tent sites were on sand. Restrooms were nice. Breakfast made to order was handy.
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
The site was fantastic, the staff was great and helpful, the only problem we encountered was our site #92 the sewer service was higher than our trailer drain line making it difficult to dump into the septic system
Jul 21, 2016
Staff was great and the cabin was spotless
Jul 21, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Staff was very friendly, bathrooms were great, pool and jumping pillow were our kids favorites. Thank you!
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 21, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award