Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 13, 2016
Nice place, however sites were uneven, difficult to level the rv. Bathrooms very clean! Close to attractions. Thank u
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
Well run KOA. Clean pool and bathrooms. Bonus: one of the few places in the Black Hills that has any recycling.
Jul 13, 2016
Upon first arrival I was not overly thrilled with my Kabin location. However addressing this with the staff was great. They were extremely kind and accommodating. The kabins were very clean, as was the campground. The bathrooms were great as well. My boys loved the pool, the jumping pillow and the playground. Equally we enjoyed the bunny visits. I would definitely come back and visit again.
Jul 12, 2016
Super friendly! Very helpful. All areas clean and in good repair.
Jul 12, 2016
We chose this KOA due to it's proximity to Mount Rushmore. We enjoyed the Kampground very much and would stay here again. There were no negatives about this KOA.
Jul 12, 2016
All koa' are close to highways for convenience but they are so noisy with traffic. You don't have to worry about sleeping in.
Jul 12, 2016
We were pleased with our stay at Custer/Mt Rushmore KOA. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cabin and bathroom/shower were very clean. Our son loved the jumping pillow. We had a short stay this trip but would definitely choose Custer/Mt Rushmore KOA again. Everything we experienced at this KOA was excellent!
Jul 12, 2016
The KOA was great. The area was clean and very quiet. The only issue we had was checking in after the office closed at 10 pm. There were no instructions in our email as to where our tent site was or how to find that information upon arrival.
Jul 12, 2016
Nice setting. Friendly, helpful staff. One problem: not enough bathroom or shower stalls. Be prepared to wait.
Jul 12, 2016
The fact that we had to move out of our spot to see what the computer says at 11am. All other KOAs we knew our site number in advance. Just as we moved and unhitched in the dog park area "the computer" told us our site number. That messed up all of our morning plans. Not helpful for us.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Check out time for guests is 11am. The site you were moving to was vacated at 11 and you were able to move in right away. We are sorry about your plans but we do not rush guests to leave early due to your already being here. RV check in time is noon. Safe travels.
Jul 11, 2016
Loved the campground - very quiet. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful.
Jul 11, 2016
Pool temperature was perfect...thanks for keeping it warm enough to be in on cooler days!
Jul 11, 2016
Friendliest staff of any KOA
Jul 11, 2016
We had a over flow spot by the pool so no sewer or tv because of trees. It was very clean over all
Jul 11, 2016
Nice place with tree spending shades. Very friendly and helpful hosts
Jul 11, 2016
Amazing campground! Wonderful staff, clean, great and impressive services! Very likely to return.
Jul 10, 2016
Friendly staff. Nice showers and restrooms!! Quiet and peaceful
Jul 10, 2016
Check in was quick and easy. Site was level with good utilities. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Jul 09, 2016
Nice campground, friendly helpful employees, and loved the bunnies!
Jul 09, 2016
Great staff. Went above and beyond to help me with a mechanical issue.
Jul 09, 2016
Small spots and WIFI didn't work very well. Other than that, the staff was very friendly.
Jul 09, 2016
Staff was very friendly, campground was quiet and clean.
Jul 08, 2016
Lovely beautiful setting. More rustic than some but we loved it. Very clean and well kept
Jul 08, 2016
Aside from the amenities and services (which were both abundant and of high quality), the best part of staying here was the staff. Every single member of the KOA team was friendly, helpful, out-going and a lot of fun to talk to. They really make you feel special and are willing to help with whatever problem you might run into.
Jul 08, 2016
I telephone in my res. and what I got was no where close to what I asked for so I will never recommend this KOA.
Jul 08, 2016
Great stay. Facilitates seemed clean and very adequate. Cabins are a bit crammed together and the firewood we bought was damp and fire hard to burn.
Jul 08, 2016
Very clean cabins, super friendly staff, good breakfast. Quiet, well-maintained campground.
Jul 07, 2016
Campground needs some sprucing up. Water spicket only had 2-3 threads on it. Hard to get a seal. Sites could have been leveled. Sewer line was higher then the tank outlet. Hard to drain going up hill. No cable. Felt the pricing was to high. Not worth the price.
Jul 07, 2016
Very welcomed by staff. Clean facilities. The only complaint, sites are much too close to each other, you can hear your neighbors whispers!
Jul 06, 2016
Good location. Easy to find. My boys loved the jumping pad. Good camping spots.
Jul 06, 2016
Unfortunately there was a mix-up with our charge cards. Hope to get it straightened out...
Jul 06, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay this was our first time staying in a cabin at KOA. We are planing our next trip with KOA. The staff was wonderful and we enjoyed seeing them every time we went to the office. It was a lot of fun for all of us. The Bowmans
Jul 06, 2016
Loved the bunnies, staff very friendly.
Jul 06, 2016
Dog owners needed to be reminded to pick up after their pets. Fresh poops on our site. Had to bury.
Jul 06, 2016
Stay was great!! People were very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again. Clean restrooms and showers!!
Jul 06, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the campsite was clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our stay very much!
Jul 05, 2016
Very nice people and nice bathrooms. Beautiful scenery!
Jul 05, 2016
they were very friendly and helpful and could tell you what nice to see around there
Jul 05, 2016
It was quiet, clean, and friendly. Our tent site was shady and large. We really thought the bathrooms were extremely nice.
Jul 05, 2016
It would have been nice to have grass for our tent site but it still worked out okay. The facility was very good and the staff friendly.
Jul 05, 2016
The campground was beautiful. Cabin was right in the trees. Loved it.
Jul 05, 2016
The online reservation system indicated there were tent sites with electricity. Thats what I selected. When I arrived I was informed they don't have tent sites with electricity. Only RV sites. Felt misled. I was stuck with an RV site for my tent. not easy camping with a tent on a rocky site. Disappointed with that.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The site in which you stayed was a tent site with water and electric. We do not have electric only tent sites. The site (#37) does not allow RV's in it. This was all clearly explained on the web site as well as the e-mail confirmation you received. Safe travels.
Jul 05, 2016
Great Place! Quiet, Clean, Great Bath Facilities.
Jul 04, 2016
Nice site, but a little uneven. Clean bathrooms.
Jul 04, 2016
super friendly and a excellent location
Jul 04, 2016
If the dog park was fenced in, we'd give it a 10.
Jul 04, 2016
Bathrooms are nice. However, seems trivial but I was charged a holiday rate for June 30th. When I asked the woman at the desk she had no explanation. She told me the holiday rate was from the 1st - the 4th. I was there from the 30th - the 3rd. For 4 dollars you might want to think about giving your customer a refund instead of them being unhappy and have to write this review.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The holiday rates run from June 30th through July 5th which is noted on the web site as well as your e-mail confirmation which you received well in advance of your arrival. Rebates are not based on opinion as prices are set a year in advance. Safe travels.
Jul 03, 2016
This is the best KOA ever! The tent sites were separate from the RVs and cabins. Bathrooms and showers are the best! (no kidding) The site was clean and interesting. (no cookie-cutter sites with tent pad, trees, rocks, all in different configurations). The playground, pool, and bounce pad were a hit! The staff was very friendly. All good!
Jul 03, 2016
Pool was for children, not adults. I was double charged for the week and am wondering how to get some of my money back.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award