Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 12, 2014
We were too close to bathrooms. There was a lot of noise. People were fruendly and we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 12, 2014
The manager was great but the female employee was not very friendly. Plus we had to buy their firewood which was not very good. It smoked excessively and wouldn't stay lit.
Jul 11, 2014
Friendly staff, great facility. Would recommend to anybody staying in the area!
Jul 11, 2014
The kids really enjoyed the bouncing pillow, pool, and playground. The chuckwagon was good as well. The only downfall was that our site was in ther middle and did not have a lot of room. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 10, 2014
It was a great spot to make our home base. The only thing that kept me from giving top marks is the spots. They were very unlevel and it was a big challenge to get level when we parked. The staff was great and tge amenities were awesome. Level the spots and you will get 5 stars!
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
Sites extremely unlevel and in horrible condition. We were on a 2 month trip and all the KOA parks we stayed at were terrible. Will never stay at another KOA or recommend them.
Jul 09, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
Unimproved sights,host had limited knowlege of rotes and derecttions. Great chuck wagon breakfast.
Jul 09, 2014
We stayed here one night while traveling through South Dakota. The site was extra large. You can buy a great breakfast in the morning at a reasonable cost.
Jul 08, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
Very friendly, very convenient, very clean!
Jul 08, 2014
This campground was close to the sights in the Black Hills. Information about the campground and the surrounding area was provided at check-in. Staff were helpful and friendly. The campground amenities (washrooms, etc.) were clean and available for use.
Jul 07, 2014
We had a great lot, the grounds were clean and easy to set up your site. The location is perfect to get to ALL the sites in the Black Hills. I did make a resiervation in march for handicape close to restrooms for our stay in June and was placed down hill from them. My husband who is very active paraplegic it was quite the taking getting up the hill. So more handicap access sites would be great!!
Jul 07, 2014
Nice people, had everything we needed, very good location as we were just a short drive from many of the area attractions.
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
need to improve wifi
Jul 07, 2014
We stayed for 1 night in the two room cabin and were VERY impressed with the cleanliness of the cabin as well as the amazing bathrooms!
Jul 06, 2014
Was glad to stay at KOA. Thanks for being there. Dan
Jul 06, 2014
we wished we had more time to stay ! Staff were Great & Bathrooms were Supper clean!!!!!
Jul 06, 2014
Very nice place, the folks behind the counter were very pleasant and it had a well-maintained upkeep. We would return.
Jul 06, 2014
The staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our breakfast at the Chuck Wagon. We would definitely come and stay at KOA again.
Jul 06, 2014
a bit of difficulty with walking sharp gravel roads but site was convenient, chef/food good. Thankyou
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 05, 2014
Really nice and close to all the sites, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer St. Park (is fabulous) and Wind Cave NP!
Jul 05, 2014
Everything was fantastic. We will be back.
Jul 05, 2014
Arrive late at night in the middle of a thunderstorm - the site was fairly level with some grass but pretty muddy. Laundry was clean, store okay but had more doo-dads than foodstuffs or supplies you might need. Great location for exploring the Badlands of South Dakota.
Jul 05, 2014
Great spot in back of campground. The bouncing pillow was fantastic! Laundry room has coin changer broken. Wifi was non-existent in our spot on back of property.
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 05, 2014
Everything I expected from a KOA! Clean, friendly and lots of trees. Wish I could have stayed longer and enjoyed everything they had to offer. Will return again hoping it doesn't rain our entire trip
Jul 04, 2014
The staff was very helpful in recommending where to go and what to see within the time frame we planned on staying.
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
It was what we have come to expect at any KOA. Friendly staff, grandkids had plenty to do, good location, and friendly bunnies!
Jul 03, 2014
Great friendly staff. Camp sites are spacious not crowded on top of one another. Wonderful location to the sites. Thank you!
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Very nice place to stay with an extremely friendly staff. We look forward to our next trip to the Black Hills and a stay in Custer at the KOA.
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Friendly, helpful staff, great onsite breakfast, site not as level as it could be with a little grading, great location, easy access to highway
Jul 03, 2014
Kitchen facilities ?
Jul 03, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay! Staff is friendly and helpful- went above and beyond . Campground was very clean and we'll kept.
Jul 03, 2014
Nice lots of trees! We could not use our directv because of trees but not park fault. Did lots if sightseeing so did not care if we had tv or not. Everyone very friendly!!
Jul 03, 2014
Great location, we had a mechanical problem with our RV and the manager found a RV service tech and helped with our problem and managed to get our RV temporarily fixed to drive, his help was greatly appreciated as we are 1st time RV travelers
Jul 03, 2014
Unlevel sites, small lanes/roads, gravel and dirt which got tracked into the camper. Not recommended for a big rig! Showers were clean.
Jul 02, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.