Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Nice place. My only complaint is that the wifi was so weak. It's important for long-term travelers to have good wifi access to keep all the business at home going.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
We truly enjoy staying at KOA's, however, I've yet to find one with a decent Wi-Fi system. Camping really shouldn't be about camping, however, so it's a small thing.
Jul 16, 2014
Best KOA I have ever stayed in. The staff was excellent. We had mechanical issues with our tow vehicle and while we were without it for a couple of days, they made sure we were comfortable, our needs were met, and that our stay remained enjoyable. The owner is fabulous as is the general manger. The facilities are very nice, clean, and easy to access.
Jul 16, 2014
The staff here is very friendly and they make sure there guest have what they need. The area was beautiful. It is located in a great place to see everything you need to see in the area. I would definitely stay there again. My kids loved it there too.
Jul 16, 2014
Loved our stay at the Custer KOA. We arrived late on the first night and were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. The cabin was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The entire campground was very clean and very well maintained. We also ate at the Chuckwagon one morning for breakfast and really enjoyed it. Overall, was an awesome stay and I look forward to staying there again.
Jul 16, 2014
We had a great stay at the KOA in CusterSD. The staff were very pleasantand helpful.
Jul 16, 2014
This is the best KOA we've ever stayed at. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, great prices, wonderful accommodations and we met a lot of travelers with interesting stories! We will definitely be back!
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
The staff here went above and beyond to ensure my stay went well! A must return place!!
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Enjoyed the stay, really liked the closeness to the showerhouse and laundry. Would definite recommend to others.
Jul 15, 2014
A beautiful, well organized, clean, and quiet campground. One of the best we have ever visited.
Jul 15, 2014
My wife is very particular and I guess, that I did not communicate the need for pillows to her, plus it was difficult for her to share restroom facilities with others. I will need to find more modern facilities for her in the future, so that she can get some rest if there is a next time. Cleanliness was good and the food was plentiful and made good quality. Out door types will do better that wife.
Jul 15, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean Kabin and site. It did get quite dusty (cough, cough) when the speed limit was ignored.
Jul 14, 2014
We had one of the best sites in the campground and wish we could have stayed longer, the staff very gracious and honest and helpful. The jumping pad was great and the bathrooms were great. Hope to stay again soon!
Jul 14, 2014
Very friendly staff. Nice, level camp site, with good crushed rock base (kept our toes dry with the light rain that night)! Excellent chuckwagon breakfast option, too!
Jul 14, 2014
The camp was OK but not exceptional. I realize not all KOA camps have secure dog areas, but after our experience at the Badlands KOA this one was a little disappointing. The people here were nice, but the overall site seemed a little rundown. The bottom line here is that I would not just automatically go to this camp simply because it is a KOA, but would look around a bit.
Jul 14, 2014
It was wonderful. Very accommodating and clean.
Jul 14, 2014
We loved it.
Jul 14, 2014
Loved the staff, laundry facilities, jumping pillow, pool, nicely renovated shower rooms and everything about the Custer KOA.
Jul 14, 2014
Friendly and clean. Kids had a blast on the jumping pillow. Nice location and very clean cabins.
Jul 14, 2014
We loved our stay at your campground. The people running it were fabulous and very friendly. Very clean and reasonable. We would suggest this campground to anyone. Thanks again.
Jul 14, 2014
Our experience was a great one, I've never experienced such a nice shower house, kids loved the playground and jumping pillow, manager assisting me in some work on my trailer. Great people, great location.
Jul 14, 2014
My boys Riley and Xavier really loved Billy and his breakfast. Thank you guys for a great weekend.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
As novice campers, we were so glad for the KOA store and the availability of all those items we didn't even know we needed. The kids enjoyed the pool and pillow. Cabin was comfortable and we were glad for the ceiling fans. Thanks for a great stay.
Jul 14, 2014
Very helpful, friendly staff. Kamping Kabin was clean. Lots of birds and rabbits to entertain us.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Would have liked some advance notice emailed about road construction coming from the west would have planned a different route. Wifi could have been better. Campground wonderful clean hosts were very pleasant and helpful
Jul 13, 2014
Workers very friendly and helpful!
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Very friendly staff. Nice and peaceful surroundings. It was a great end to a great vacation!
Jul 12, 2014
The staff was very friendly. The facilities were well maintained, clean and stocked.
Jul 12, 2014
Thought is was great. Always enjoy staying at your little cabins; better than a stuffy old motel room any day in our view.
Jul 12, 2014
It was beautiful and we had a great time.
Jul 12, 2014
Very clean & very quiet. We stayed in a cabin which was perfect for 2 nights. Staff was very friendly & helpful.
Jul 12, 2014
We were too close to bathrooms. There was a lot of noise. People were fruendly and we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 12, 2014
The manager was great but the female employee was not very friendly. Plus we had to buy their firewood which was not very good. It smoked excessively and wouldn't stay lit.
Jul 11, 2014
Friendly staff, great facility. Would recommend to anybody staying in the area!
Jul 11, 2014
The kids really enjoyed the bouncing pillow, pool, and playground. The chuckwagon was good as well. The only downfall was that our site was in ther middle and did not have a lot of room. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 10, 2014
It was a great spot to make our home base. The only thing that kept me from giving top marks is the spots. They were very unlevel and it was a big challenge to get level when we parked. The staff was great and tge amenities were awesome. Level the spots and you will get 5 stars!
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
Sites extremely unlevel and in horrible condition. We were on a 2 month trip and all the KOA parks we stayed at were terrible. Will never stay at another KOA or recommend them.
Jul 09, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
Unimproved sights,host had limited knowlege of rotes and derecttions. Great chuck wagon breakfast.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.