Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
Very clean. Everybody was very friendly. We stayed in a Kabin and it was roomy and cozy.
Jul 19, 2015
no cable.. no over air antenna reception
Jul 19, 2015
On check-in we were welcomed as if we were family. The staff were all helpful and friendly. Campgrounds clean, all necessities available. Thank-you for a great holiday.
Jul 19, 2015
nice people had a great time
Jul 19, 2015
Bathroom facilities in sad shape. Was there 5 days no repairs. Laundry room washer problems. They said they knew no repairs. Table pads not level made cooking difficult. Not a good value for the $$$.
Jul 19, 2015
Nice clean campground. Friendly staff!! The bunnies entertained my child all week! Would stay again if we come back that way
Jul 19, 2015
Awesome staff and facility. Will definitely come back to this one.
Jul 19, 2015
My grandson loved all the extra activities you had for him. The inexpensive breakfast in the morning was also very good. The only thing that would have made my stay better is if you had bathrooms inside your cabins. It makes traveling with opposite gender children easier as you don't have to send them into public showers alone. Your staff was awesome.
Jul 19, 2015
The place was great. The roads were not clearly marked for which was up and which was a down lane. It was very confusing for us with narrow lanes to move large vehicles.
Jul 18, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff! We enjoyed a delicious breakfast with an enthusiastic chef!
Jul 18, 2015
Great place to stay,grandkids love the jump pillow
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
Our delux cabin was great except some of the lights didn't work. The public bathrooms/showers were awesome and everything was really clean. We did not like that the playground was far away from all the campsites and near vehicle traffic and no pool
Jul 18, 2015
Food was to pricy.
Jul 17, 2015
love the location, just far enough away from town, but convient to anything you need, so friendly and helpful like the two bath and shower area's
Jul 17, 2015
The bathrooms were very clean and the staff very friendly. We would have liked to have had an option of a cabin with a bathroom in it but they are not available at this campground. Also our cabin did not have an air conditioner which would have been miserable if it would have been hot. The kids loved the time rabbits and jumping on the blob! Also do not use your GPS to find this Campground
Jul 17, 2015
Excellent stay in K7! Chuck wagon breakfasts with Bill were great. Kids enjoyed the pool and jumping pad!
Jul 17, 2015
By far my favorite koa! They really go above and beyond to make your trip memorable! Great activities for the kids, and amazing breakfast (thanks Billy!). We will definitely stay here many many more times!
Jul 17, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Great KOA! Very clean grounds, friendly helpful staff. enjoyed our stay there and will be returning!
Jul 16, 2015
Very friendly staff and well kept campground
Jul 16, 2015
need tv in cabin small pool

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for the lack of TV. Cable is not available at our location as it is not run down the highway. Safe Travels
Jul 15, 2015
Nice camp ground we stayed in a cabin it behind the pool and close to the bathrooms. Bathrooms were clean and well maintained only thing lacking was no lighting in the shower area. The pool was small but clean. The staff were friendly, and Billy the cook made a great breakfast!
Jul 15, 2015
This was a great facility near all of the major attractions in SD. The staff was very friendly and very attentive. The kids had fun on the jumping pillow, in the playground, and at the pool. Our tent site was a bit sunny, but overall very nice.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Grounds were poorly maintained and equipment and piles of junk were kept in the front so it was the first thing we saw when we pulled in.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Very nice park and location. Very good service.
Jul 13, 2015
Thankful for late nite registration! Came in late and parked. My family enjoyed the nice location and overall park cleanliness. The chuck wagon breakfast was a nice plus since we had to hit the road for another 9 hrs driving. Thank you!
Jul 13, 2015
This is a nice and quiet campground. There were lots of trees. We had a full hookup spot in the back and it was a decent size. Kids loved the bunnies and the jumping pillow. The showers/restrooms were very clean and nice. Would love to see new fire pits there.
Jul 12, 2015
The campground was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The location of the campground was perfect for everything we had planned.
Jul 12, 2015
The RV sights are a little tight. You are right next to your neighbor. Friendly hosts! Nice morning breakfast!
Jul 12, 2015
Sites are wooded and large. Staff is terrific...just like being at home! This is the best KOA in the area!!
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
I would have given them a 5, but I booked a 50 amp full hook up site. I had to change our reservations and when they were changed the koa girls didn't make sure that we had 50 amp. We have 3 ac's and it was around 95, so we really needed the power. The owner of the koa was kind enough to lend us her adapter so we ran on one ac which got us through the night. Grounds were beautiful, people nice.
Jul 12, 2015
Helpful and friendly staff. Clean facilities.
Jul 12, 2015
Made the BIG mistake of being in South Dakota within few weeks of the 75th Sturgis Celebration. Not a good time for regular people to be in SD. There is no room in SD,NO ROOM at all. Will not go to stay in SD EVER AGAIN. NEVER EVER!! Wyoming,Montana,Idaho, Colorado are so much better/ friendlier.
Jul 11, 2015
great place to stay, nice and clean bathrooms, jumping pillow, playground and game room for kids and nice friendly staff...our kids did not want to leave!
Jul 11, 2015
Super Friendly Staff! Clean and nice spot. I just wish there where more showers, I had to wait at least 15+ minutes every time I went up there. other than that is was perfect
Jul 11, 2015
Very nice campground,central to everything we wanted to visit during our one week stay. Clean and updated bathrooms and laundry. Kids loved the jumping pillow and pool. Staff friendly and accommodating. The wild camp bunnies were a bonus!
Jul 11, 2015
We loved our time staying in the cabin. The staff was wonderful and so helpful! The whole camp sight was clean and well taken care of. The bathroom was very clean!!
Jul 11, 2015
The stay was wonderful and the location is awesome, the only issue was in the men's restroom the Urinal wasn't working so the men's restroom didn't seem that clean. But we loved our stay.
Jul 11, 2015
Great location, friendly and excellent staff and service. Lovely grounds, and very kid and family friendly. I had only three complaints; 1) quiet hours were not strictly enforced, though not a serious problem; 2) road noise; 3) one bundle of firewood sold to us was a bit green.
Jul 11, 2015
Roads need grading they need separate locked handicap restroom as people use shower because it is one of 2. Camp to big for so few shower.
Jul 11, 2015
Staff that guided to our spot was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and laundry very clean.
Jul 10, 2015
Our stay here was great. The bathrooms were clean and the staff was really helpful.
Jul 10, 2015
This is the place to stay. Everyone and everything was great. Close to all the things you want to see.
Jul 10, 2015
The people at this KOA made the stay outstanding. The facilities were all fine but eh staff made the difference.
Jul 10, 2015
we loved the area, the staff was friendly and helpful. the kids loved the "wild wabbits" would definalty stay there again.
Jul 10, 2015
Amazing!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.