Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 16, 2016
The hosts were very nice. Campground was kept very clean.
Sep 16, 2016
Personal were very friendly and helpful.
Sep 15, 2016
Very clean place and we loved seeing the friendly rabbits and squirrels during our stay. I wish we would have had more time so we could have enjoyed the pool.
Sep 15, 2016
Great place to stay. Hosts were helpful and friendly. Facilities were well maintained. Conveniently located for sight seeing and easy access to Custer. But no cable TV and only digital channels available were PBS children's and cooking shows. For the higher KOA rates cable is expected as part of full hookups. Otherwise no complaints.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for the lack of cable, but it is not available in our area.
Sep 14, 2016
This was our first time at a KOA and it did not disappoint. We will be staying at KOA's in the future. Thank you!
Sep 14, 2016
We were there late season so bathrooms pretty cool. Pretty sites but on side hill and harder to level trailer.If you pulled through as instructed the connections were at front of trailer. Because of deer in area you needed to watch where you walked
Sep 13, 2016
Friendly staff. Very clean, well-maintained shower house and laundry. Would definitely stay here again. Enjoyed our 3-day stay.
Sep 12, 2016
Great Place, great staff, great location.
Sep 11, 2016
Had a few novice problems here but the staff couldn't help me enough.
Sep 11, 2016
This is one of the worst KOAs I have ever stayed in. Their dump is right next to your site which we could not find a level spot for the trailer. If you have a dog stay away, the park is infested with rabbits which you get yelled at if your dog barks or chased. Other than the office lady that checked us in the atitude was really bad.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you were not happy with your stay. While we do have rabbits as most areas in the black hills do, our dump station is near no sites, being down by the dog park. Dog regulations are in place for your fellow campers first, as well as for the local wild life. Safe travels.
Sep 11, 2016
The campground was adequate, but all special services shut down for the season. No breakfasts, the pool was closed... With the reduction in services there was no reduction in the rates.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you were not happy. All pools in this area close Labor Day. As for the breakfast, this is not a free amenity, not included in the daily site charge. Safe Travels.
Sep 10, 2016
Great campground, good location, my wife liked the bounce pillow. John
Sep 10, 2016
Beautiful RV Park. Thanks for a great place to stay.
Sep 10, 2016
The campground was clean and well maintained, staff was helpful. Restrooms and showers were clean and modern
Sep 10, 2016
Very rustic, gravel pads, not terribly level, but the location and wildlife made up for it.
Sep 10, 2016
Sep 09, 2016
You couldn't ask for better staff! Great job you guys!
Sep 09, 2016
Great people
Sep 09, 2016
Best KOA I've stayed at! Great tent pad, Wi-Fi at site worked great, and showers/bathroom were clean and nice.
Sep 08, 2016
The campground was wonderful. The staff were awesome. They were so friendly and helpful. I can't remember all their names. But everyone was great and we will definitely be back.
Sep 07, 2016
Stayed in cabin. Arrived late and they were very helpful. Bathrooms were great. Central location.
Sep 07, 2016
All good
Sep 07, 2016
Clean facilities, but very poor, intermittent WiFi.
Sep 07, 2016
Nice Cabins, great staff, clean restrooms. Problems with wifi availability.
Sep 07, 2016
Great camp ground. Very clean and the workers and guests were friendly and great. Easy to find. My son (and I) really enjoyed the jumping pillow.
Sep 07, 2016
Nice and quiet. Clean restrooms and showers. Super friendly staff gave us a good-sized space for our large family tent. Gave an active duty military discount. Thanks!
Sep 06, 2016
Level is not a word in their dictionary. Good for Bighorn Sheep, bad for RV's.
Sep 06, 2016
Great campgrounds. Probably the nicest staff of any campground we've stayed at. Very clean facilities and orderly camp grounds. We highly recommend.
Sep 06, 2016
The hosts were so nice and caring! I honestly had an amazing time and would stay here again!
Sep 06, 2016
Very helpful staff!
Sep 05, 2016
Liked the park. Will try again. Our site (91 I think) had a very sloped sitting area but managed. Looked like end of season and projects happening. Sewer was a problem and kinda stinky. Unfortunately almost every time we came back to the site we had others parked in our site so they didn't have to walk to the bathroom. Mildly annoying. Loved the rabbits. Beautiful rustic setting.
Sep 05, 2016
Absolutely delightful! Beautiful site with trees and bunnies! Excellent restrooms and showers. Friendly and helpful staff.
Sep 05, 2016
nice park but fire pits too close to front of RV.
Sep 05, 2016
Great place first time at a KOA will stay again
Sep 05, 2016
Outstanding great staff
Sep 05, 2016
a nice farely quiet campground
Sep 03, 2016
Very good customer service! No charge for canceling one night late. Thank you so much for understanding!
Sep 03, 2016
Secluded and Quiet!
Sep 02, 2016
Great place to stay but still waiting for my membership fees that I cancelled because I accidentally paid for another membership
Sep 02, 2016
Great location. Great facilities. Can't wait to stay there again
Sep 02, 2016
Had a very peaceful stay thank you
Sep 02, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. Great location for touring the area.
Sep 01, 2016
Jimmy, Deb, Chick and staff are great people. They are very accommodating and thoughtful. The facilities are clean and updated. We have just completed our 7th year coming there and see many more years of spending our vacation staying there.
Sep 01, 2016
Sep 01, 2016
Great hosts, Long fairly level sites tucked in the trees. The resident bunny rabbits entertained us every day.
Sep 01, 2016
Nice park. Would stay here again.
Aug 31, 2016
Everything was well maintained and very clean.
Aug 31, 2016
Had not been charged for my morning cup of coffee before, but enjoyed my stay! Friendly, helpful hosts and very well kept facility! Thank you!!!
Aug 30, 2016
Campground is great! Right in the middle of all the sights in the black hills.
Aug 30, 2016
most of the staff were good. the spaces need improving when I said that I was not happy with my site I was told that I could have my money back and leave if I didn't like it
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award