Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 15, 2015
it a great base camp for Black Hills. Been at this KOA lots of times and it better each time I go there.
Aug 14, 2015
This was our second time staying here we cannot say enough about our stay every staff member was wonderful they made us feel like we were family. We love the campground, we will definitely go back again. we have stayed at other KOA campgrounds and by far this is the best. We ate the chuckwagon breakfeast every morning. Debbie and Jim do a great job with managing the campgrounds.
Aug 14, 2015
We had never stayed at a koa camp before but our stay was great and I will stay at koa again . I thought the staff excellent . Thanks Again Brian
Aug 13, 2015
Great campground in a nice area. The staff are superb and we will be staying here again in the future.
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful facilities! Great staff! Central to the sites!
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
this is the campground we will always stay at when in the area. wonderful folks friendly staff ...love the place
Aug 12, 2015
Fantastic!! The staff was GREAT! FRIENDLY and HELPFUL. perfect location to the various attractions in the area too.
Aug 12, 2015
Great staff. Rabbits everywhere! Clean. Reasonably close to everything.
Aug 12, 2015
nice stay except for the hail storm while we were there. Good breakfast
Aug 12, 2015
We were on a long trip and only stayed one night, but would recommend long stays to friends and family. Staff was very nice. Only complaint...we made reservation several months in advance, but were not booked in sites next to each other (?). If we were staying longer we might have asked to see if we could be together.
Aug 12, 2015
This was a great campground with great bathrooms (my primary criteria for campgrounds now), but just know the campsites are jammed in right next to each other. (As is typical with private campgrounds vs. State Parks, which tend to have more space in between the units.) It seemed like the awning from campers almost touched the next camper! Otherwise, super nice people working here!
Aug 12, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 11, 2015
Jim, Debi, and staff are great people and make you feel important and are there to help with any problems. The campground is well maintained and has a variety of amennities. We have been there annually for 7 years and will continue to spend a week with them yearly. We higly recommend this campground. Pete and Joan Gouge
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much! From the time we checked in until we checked out, we were treated like family and if we needed something, we had someone there in minutes and taken care of promptly. Thank you for a wonderful time and experience. We will definitely come back in the future.
Aug 11, 2015
I stayed here two nights to visit the Black Hills area. The owners were really helpful and friendly. Everything was clean and well maintained
Aug 11, 2015
Best breakfast menu and best staff! Fanciest and best maintained restrooms/shower. Tent sites were a bit steep but a great location!
Aug 11, 2015
Friendly staff, polite and courteous.
Aug 11, 2015
We came to this area to see Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial. We did see other stuff too. The campground was very clean. Our host was very polite and. Location was great too. Thank you.
Aug 11, 2015
We made a very late reservation for the Sturgis Bike Rally! And got lucky with a Camping cabin!! It was awesome! Our first KOA stay ever! Campground was beautifully maintained. Our camping cabin was so clean!! Everyone from Julie and Debbie to Brian and the owners and their son the cook were just the best! When we come back to Sturgis we will definitelt stay there!!
Aug 10, 2015
We are always treated like family; the staff and accommodations are excellent!
Aug 10, 2015
This is the 2nd time i stayed in this camp ground,it was very clean, personal was very friendly, i will recommend this KOA to all my friends and family
Aug 10, 2015
Friendly staff and very efficient. Breakfast was great and worth the price . Camping cabins very clean. Staff had maps of things to do in area. All in all it was fabulous
Aug 10, 2015
This was a great place to stay. It was close to Mt. Rushmore, Sylvan lake, and downtown Custer. Everyone was really nice and the kids loved feeding the bunnies carrots!!
Aug 10, 2015
Nice camp ground. Clean rest rooms. Organized camp sites. Great amenities. Friendly staff. Good location.
Aug 09, 2015
A very very good time, we will go back next time too,,,,,,
Aug 09, 2015
Friendly, clean, and quiet. Great location for exploring the Black Hills!
Aug 09, 2015
Nice clean campground, people very friendly, but not a lot of amenities at this particular KOA.
Aug 09, 2015
just had a few issues with WiFi in campground other than that great stay
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Friendly check-in. Clean cabin and restrooms. Well-stocked store.
Aug 08, 2015
We had a nice time and the staff was great.
Aug 08, 2015
Very well kept. Staff is very warm and nice.
Aug 08, 2015
Nice location, clean, nice staff, sites are a bit close together.
Aug 07, 2015
KOA Staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. Former sailor "Mark" and his wife were especially nice seeing that we are both Navy Veterans. The only improvement I can suggest is to redesign the shower facility in the back of the grounds to accommodate more users. The smaller of the 2 shower stalls appears to be an "after-thought" which I am sure was not intended. Overall very positive!!
Aug 07, 2015
Campground is very nice and clean. Staff are excellent! Very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay here again.
Aug 07, 2015
Very friendly family and clean loved the wild bunnies.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
Loved this KOA! The staff made our stay great. From Debi in the office to Alan who made sure we had fire wood, we were treated as valued guests. Campground was clean and well maintained and the chuckwagon breakfasts were great. Thanks to the staff at the Custer KOA for a great vacation!
Aug 06, 2015
Friendly staff and hosts. Very clean restrooms and shower house.
Aug 06, 2015
We had a great time. My daughter loved the giant inflatable balloon. Both kids loved the rabbits running around too. The central location to all the Black Hills has to offer was convenient for us too.
Aug 06, 2015
It was great everyone was very nice n helpful, loved the cooks. Took care of all our needs
Aug 06, 2015
One of our favorite campsites in the country! Staff is fabulous, great service, clean facilities. Close to Sturgis, Deadwood, Custer SP and Mt Rushmore. We camped in a pop up
Aug 05, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
Everything was perfect!
Aug 05, 2015
The campground and staff were awesome. I plan to return next year! A very great 4 day stay
Aug 05, 2015
Clean camp ground. Coffee should be free. Cable would be a nice addition. Friendly staff. Enjoyed our stay
Aug 05, 2015
It was okay, but very pricey. Yes, it was Sturgis week.
Aug 04, 2015
Great! Excellent in every way

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.