Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 30, 2017
The surrounding campgrounds have many more amenities. This campground was very messy and not well maintained. Disappointing
May 29, 2017
Best camping. Restrooms and showers very clean.
May 28, 2017
Other than a slight foul up in reserved facilities, this was an absolutely wonderful stay. Of all the KOAs we've stayed at, the uniqueness of the Custer KOA, the staff and the facility itself were much more than we expected.
May 27, 2017
The bathrooms were very clean and warm! The staff was very friendly. Overall it was great experience!
May 26, 2017
Friendly staff and nice facilities. View was something less than desirable.
May 26, 2017
Incredible facility! Very clean and so convenient to Mt. Rushmore.
May 25, 2017
Lovely setting, clean facilities, very cheerful and helpful staff. Location is perfect for Jewel Cave, Mt Rushmore and playing in the Black Hills. All the services you need are in Custer just 3 miles down the road. 👍
May 24, 2017
too short.
May 23, 2017
Nice quiet park with nice CLEAN bathrooms/showers. Our only fault was bathrooms weren't well enough heated for the time of year (mid-May)
May 23, 2017
Excellent!
May 21, 2017
Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Good location. Liked Custer better than Keystone. Excellent camp store. Staff member showed us to our site even after hours.
May 21, 2017
enjoyed that we were in a full hookup, but seemed more like a campground in the trees. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
May 20, 2017
So very clean and neat! Level spots with plenty of room to get in and out. Bathrooms were spotless, We both had to use the showers every day because the shower head in my trailer was broken. Every time I used the showers, they were clean! We loved the trees and we also loved how close this KOA was to everything! Everyone who worked here was pleasant and nice. Definitely coming back.
May 20, 2017
Friendly staff including the bunnies! Clean hot showers!
May 18, 2017
The place was great. Very nice staff.
May 18, 2017
Beautiful, clean, friendly place to stay. Manager, Debi, is the best!
May 17, 2017
Ya'll worked hard on the internet and we thank you.
May 17, 2017
Awesome staff and place. We will return.
May 17, 2017
Had a great time! We did get rained out one night from our tent and had to stay in a hotel for the night. I had just mentioned about getting rained out to the staff as we checked out to head home and they refunded us for that night. Vary nice of them to do that.
May 17, 2017
May 16, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff! Clean bathrooms, showers. Well kept grounds. Store has everything you could need. Near attractions and parks.
May 15, 2017
Very friendly, very quite and and wonderful plscr to stay!
May 15, 2017
The staff is friendly, the bathrooms are so nice & clean. With the bathrooms being so close to the road, it's nice to feel safe with a locking key code bathroom door. It's also nice to come into a cabin & not have to clean all the spiderwebs out before staying in it. Will be back again.
May 09, 2017
The people in the rececption where very kindfull and helpfull!!! There was no WiFI on the backside campsites
Oct 23, 2016
Very nice campground with plenty of trees! Sits back off the highway and is a perfect location to see many attractions, such as Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer National Park and the wild horses in Hot Springs. Very nice laundromat and super clean restrooms. ❤️
Oct 22, 2016
It was a nice campground with rabbits and deer. Could use a larger waste basket. Not fond of bathroom codes. When we needed ice it was unavailable at store. The cabin could use more hooks.
Oct 19, 2016
The stay was great. We enjoyed the location.
Oct 16, 2016
I very rarely give the highest rating to anything, but I just really liked everything about this campground, especially the deer and other wildlife roaming around every day. Was on a trip with things to do this year, but will put this on my list of places to go to for about a week next year and just chill!
Oct 15, 2016
very nice, well maintained campground with beautiful bathrooms
Oct 12, 2016
It was great, the people were friendly and accommodating. The wild life around the campground was fun to see.
Oct 12, 2016
Campsites were very uneven and needed significant leveling.
Oct 12, 2016
nice campground to stay.. felt like home, mgmt and guests were super..
Oct 08, 2016
Great location, surprisingly very quiet sites given location by the highway. Plenty of trees, excellent store, showers, toilets, laundry and nice sites. Would recommend and use this KOA again.
Oct 07, 2016
Great spot for home base while exploring the Black Hills! The staff was very helpful and friendly. Loved the rabbits and deer that inhabit the campground. Did not use the restroom or showers so I cannot comment on them. I would have given five stars except our site #101 was very tight - so tight, that the fire pit was just a few feet from our neighbors tow vehicle, did not have a fire.
Oct 06, 2016
Campground bathrooms were very clean. The campsite were way too narrow, and when our neighbor had a camp fire, felt it was way too close to our camper.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Our larger sites were all occupied when your reservation was made and the size of the site was explained at check in so you would be aware of what we had to offer at that time. Safe travels.
Oct 04, 2016
We want to thank the kind hosts of this campground for the excellent care that they give to the animals that call this KOA home. Deer and rabbits roam safe and unmolested. This is a beautiful campground with every amenity.
Oct 03, 2016
Oct 02, 2016
Very clean and well kept. We were very pleased
Oct 02, 2016
The owners and staff at this KOA did everything possible to make our visit pleasant and stress free. Our trip to the area was the best because of the people at Custer KOA
Oct 02, 2016
Awesome koa and staff. Very attentive and courteous. Thank you and can't wait until our next stay!!
Oct 02, 2016
We had an extremely unfortunate situation on the last night of the season. The party next to us was playing music and riding motorcycles until after 2 AM. Several parties asked them to stop and they just continued. I guess they thought they couldn't get thrown out the last night. Nice campground but the last night left a bad impression
Oct 02, 2016
You should not call both KOA in the area Mt Rushmore thought we reserved the one in Hill City Very disappointed with this one!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

When you arrived, we offered to refund the deposit so you could choose another KOA which you declined. All area KOA's were listed when you made your on line reservation. Sorry you were not happy. You made no mention of your disappointment when we talked at your departure. Safe travels.
Oct 01, 2016
Fantastic staff!!! We felt so welcome at this KOA! We felt like we where home. The staff was simply amazing to us! We have been to other KOA's and have never felt so welcome. The bathrooms where extremely clean. Hot water, always. We didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back. We highly recommend this KOA to everyone coming to Mount Rushmore/Custer.
Sep 30, 2016
Sep 30, 2016
We always stay at the Custer KOA when we travel each Fall with our 34 ft Airstream trailer. This year,we especially enjoyed the wildlife, with deer and many bunnies in the campground. The protective attitude of the owners toward the animals is great to see. Thank you!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the comments. We are proud to be located in the National Forest where campers can enjoy the natural surroundings of which the area wildlife is a large part of. We look forward to seeing you again. Safe travels.
Sep 29, 2016
Conveniently located, super clean, all staff are extremely friendly.
Sep 28, 2016
The staff was fantastic, the bathrooms were spotless, and my kids had a blast seeing the deer walk through the campground every evening. We will be back for sure. Thank you!
Sep 27, 2016
The personal was great friendly and helpful. We just intended to stay one night and wound up staying an extra night. Would go back again an stay there.
Sep 27, 2016
Very clean, attractive and organized. Our only issue was that our site was not level. Since we only stayed one night we didn't complain.
Sep 26, 2016
It's weird that even though the pool was closed and there were no more breakfast (or other) events, price remained the same as if it were high summer. Huh??
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award