Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2017
Great place to stay. Staff was outstanding especially Darrell who helped us out with an issue we had. The tour that was offered was outstanding!!!
Jul 31, 2017
To loud and not very clean for young families with kids.
Jul 31, 2017
Had a great time, small and clean perfect for a family vacation!
Jul 31, 2017
Awesome KOA to stay at! Everything about was awesome. Showers and bethrooms where very nice and looked pretty knew. The staff where always friendly and the location is great!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
My son really enjoyed the kid friendly activities at this site. The cabins were clean and spacious.
Jul 30, 2017
Great location, great staff, and clean environment. Was an awesome place to be able to see the local sights and have a spacious cabin site to come back to.
Jul 30, 2017
All info was present for a late check in which I appreciate, but the chuck wagon/cook is regularly not there 2 days a week. This is one of the reasons we booked was for this convenience. The website should state this. Disappointing b/c we had hungry kids in the morning with no packed food. Going to a restaurant in town is just not that easy when you're trying to enjoy the morning and then pack up.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our website and directory both state that breakfast is served on "weekends".
Jul 29, 2017
It was ok
Jul 28, 2017
Facilities were nice, but campground lay out is awful. Tent sites are at the bottom of hills so when it rained our tent was flooded.
Jul 28, 2017
Very clean bathrooms, great access to many attractions and very nice staff.
Jul 28, 2017
Very impressed with facilities and friendliness of the staff.
Jul 28, 2017
The staff was very nice and helpful. The showers and toilet areas need some TLC and upgrading. the laundry facilities could also use some upgrades, such as, painting cleaning and brighter lighting.
Jul 28, 2017
greAT
Jul 28, 2017
Its good for the price, we were on a slope so you slept down hill and the sewer hook up arent as ideal we were lucky we didnt have someone next to us but felt bad for the ones behind us cause our sewer hook up was about a foot from their picnic table if they wanted to eat outside, Its also not close to Mt Rushmore about 30 miles away and you can't evensee it from this campground so dont be mislead
Jul 28, 2017
Great location for seeing all the National Parks and Monuments. Very convenient to Custer, SD. Kind attention by the KOA staff; they offered a 50-39 amp converter on our arrival without hesitation. Great attention to detail and campground is clean with level, gravel sites.
Jul 28, 2017
Need a bigger doggie play area and spaces should be more level
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
Very nice campground. Convenient to area attractions. VERY clean and nice restroom with ceramic tile throughout! We had an awesome time and loved our cabin!
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
Our stay at your KOA campground was terrific! The whole staff was very friendly and helpful! The site was clean and the cabin we stayed in was just perfect! We had so much fun during our stay! The Wild Rabbits were fun to watch too!
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
It was nice and quiet except at the pool. Underage boys with no parents were out of control. Not the managements fault but that of the parents!
Jul 26, 2017
clean and friendly
Jul 26, 2017
Jul 26, 2017
Courteous staff, clean facility, good location
Jul 26, 2017
I hope to come back again and stay real soon. Only next time longer!
Jul 25, 2017
Great staff, super clean restrooms and nice central location to all that the Black Hills has to offer. The one small complaint would be the Wi-Fi kicked the kids off repeatedly forcing them to use their data....not a life changer for me but they were disappointed. I would completely recommend this KOA.
Jul 25, 2017
Nice facilities. Wish we were there longer.
Jul 25, 2017
one person at the front desk was pushy and not as friendly as the others. also she called after we left to state the key was not returned despite it being dropped off in the drop box. The manager politely apologized for the error after I called to confirm the key was dropped off
Jul 24, 2017
very friendly staff. Campground was kept clean, told us all the interesting places to see
Jul 24, 2017
Awesome! Very clean, nice shower/bathrooms Very nice pool. Very nice people. We will be back!!
Jul 24, 2017
Great AM staff very helpful and kind. Loved watching the kids bounce around and interact with each other on the huge bounce pillow. Plan on staying here in Sept.so I can catch what I missed this time.
Jul 23, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. Very clean and family friendly!
Jul 23, 2017
I had 0 place to place a single chair it was so steep.This place was not for me and I love KOA's
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
We had an excellent double site so were able to be with our daughter's family. It was also very private and we had trees behind us, very nice. Very centrally located for all our site-seeing and a good place to rest at the end of the day. Good showers and clean laundry facility. Helpful, friendly staff.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Staff was informative and campground very clean.
Jul 22, 2017
You need to widen your roads in the campground because when I was hooking up my camper I had to rush because there was another camper trying to get by me
Jul 22, 2017
Wonderfully clean and well kept showers and toilets. Swimming pool is in dire need of shade/awning.
Jul 22, 2017
Very Friendly staff. Bathrooms were clean and well stocked.
Jul 22, 2017
The campground is clean and the folks are friendly. Easy access to all the attractions.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
Staff was very helpful about local attractions. Breakfasts were very tasty.
Jul 21, 2017
This campground was the best! Very clean bathrooms and showers. My kids loved the jump pad and pool. What a great place! This was our 1st time camping at a KOA and we would definitely come again.
Jul 21, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award