Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2013
The campground is very nice and the people were very friendly. We especially liked the Breakfast meals.
Jul 30, 2013
Sites fairly small and stacked together. Very friendly staff. Billy is amazing! Pool kept very clean and jump pillow is great.
Jul 30, 2013
Great campground and great staff. Thank You !!! This is our favorite aas we stay in the Black Hills several times each year!!!
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the Custer KOA. The staff was friendly, the pool and jumping pillow were nice. The dog walk area was very large. The site was slightly un-level and even though we were right next to the tower the WIFI was very slow to the point of being nonfunctional.
Jul 29, 2013
Clean facilities and park. Our kids loved the bounce pillow & swimming pool. Campsites for RVs are pretty small and you're packed in pretty tight if you have neighbors. Wireless internet is completely worthless & they shouldn't advertise it.
Jul 29, 2013
Awesome place to stay! 3 nights. great service. Very quiet. Breakfast was amazing!
Jul 29, 2013
The people running the place were very nice. Very tight spaces and little grass. Somewhat expensive for what you get.
Jul 29, 2013
friendly people, very nice grounds, WiFi stinks
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
loved the location being central to everything we wanted to do. Liked that there were 2 bath areas
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Very nice and clean. Enjoyed our 5 day stay, grand kids had fun too.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Good overall campground. No running water at the dumping station was a problem.
Jul 28, 2013
Our family had a fantastic time. Your park has everything we needed for a great stay. Thank you!!
Jul 28, 2013
Extremely friendly staff. Very helpful and accommodating!
Jul 28, 2013
Debi was extremely friendly & helpful to me.I have stayed here MANY times & it's my 1st choice when I come to Custer.
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
We had a great time. The cabin was clean and the breakfast was wonderful. Best pancakes ever!!
Jul 27, 2013
very helpful and nice staff. but our slot was adjacent to the lavatory which was busy most nights- slots are luck of the draw i guess. But our kids loved the giant bouncy "pillow" (even though it cost extra, $1.50 per). Wore them out so they slept great.
Jul 27, 2013
The campground was OK but where we were backed in so tight together there should Not be fire pits. The Iowa folks next to us burned wood late into the night. Had to keep windows shut up due to smoke. Then they went to bed leaving the fire unattended both nights.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Friendly and a great place to camp.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Great location. Friendly staff.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Peaceful campground even though it's close to road. Only complaint is that my kabin was by a campground street light- very bright all night long. :(

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

While we cannot do anything about the utility company's street light, we will be tinting the affected windows to aid the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Happy kamping and hope we get to see you again in the future :)
Jul 25, 2013
We had a wonderful stay at the kampground! Great location very clean and the kids loved all the bunnies
Jul 24, 2013
Great location, very clean facility, extremely nice employees. We loved it. Thank you.
Jul 24, 2013
This was a great location for us to experience the Mount Rushmore area. Very pretty with trees and an early breakfast at the site, cooked every morning. Great idea.
Jul 24, 2013
Staff was very nice. Cabins were too close together.
Jul 24, 2013
Friendly folks, nice level site.
Jul 24, 2013
the owners were wonderful and helped us out on anything we needed. it is on a hill and sites are not level, and too close together.
Jul 24, 2013
This was a very nice place to stay. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was awesome.
Jul 24, 2013
Great staff friendly, nice camp ground, well maintained rest rooms.
Jul 24, 2013
This is a bigger campground than I usually stay at but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Just a little crowded for my tastes.
Jul 23, 2013
The Laundry needs to be updated.
Jul 23, 2013
Excellent location and staff. Washroom facilities are a 10 out of 10. Dog park was appreciated as well. Keep up the great work
Jul 23, 2013
A great place for kids! The bunnies about our cabin were an added plus!
Jul 23, 2013
Great environment. Far enough away from the tourist towns to enjoy.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Nice park. Very friendly staff. Clean bathrooms. Nice proximity to all the sites.
Jul 22, 2013
staff were very friendly and helpful. They knew the area well and were helpful giving directions and telling us about the various attractions in the area. Overall campsite was very clean, washrooms as well were kept clean. We found the campsite location excellent to park and drive to the attractions. The campsite was also very quiet.
Jul 22, 2013
My son loved it there! He made friends everyday & loved the bounce pillow. The cabin was great! Just wish the coffee was free :)
Jul 22, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.? The owners etc were very friendly and helpful. Only thing I would like to see different is that the camper next to us was so close.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.