Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2015
Staff very pleasant and helpful. Great breakfast and bathrooms. Cabins cozy but big enough.
Aug 17, 2015
Very nice KOA. The property is clean and orderly. Very nice amenities and great staff. We always stay at this location when visiting the Black Hills. From our standpoint, the only thing missing is a fenced K-9 facility.
Aug 17, 2015
Friendly people....clean bathrooms....beautiful spot. Only downfall is proximity to traffic noise, but I would definitely stay here again.
Aug 17, 2015
The people at this campground were nice and helpful. My son loved the jumpy pillow and the pool. Bathroom were nice and up to clean. The campsite was small and no grass! All gravel my dog had no where to run or move around.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Site improvement is an ongoing effort here at the campground. Every season more is done to make things better. We do have the quarter acre field for dogs to enjoy and will soon have another. Safe travels.
Aug 16, 2015
Nice campsites, friendly staff
Aug 16, 2015
Very comfortable, clean bathrooms, friendly people.
Aug 16, 2015
Our first time staying in a KOA cabin. Loved it! Very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the kids loved the jumping pillow and pool. Plus we loved the Custer location because it was very close to Custer State Park and all the other Black Hills activities for families!
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Some of the friendliest staff I've ever seen anywhere, bar none. Enjoyed my stay immensely.
Aug 16, 2015
Kids loved the jumping mat! Clean restrooms. Nice place
Aug 16, 2015
Campsites all dirt and dusty also way too small of sites for today's slideouts

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I know some of our campsites are small as we are an older park and every year we make improvements to make them better. However, you stayed in a camping cabin. Safe travels.
Aug 15, 2015
Site was spacious and partly shaded. The bathrooms were great. Our boys enjoyed the pool and the jump pillow.
Aug 15, 2015
it a great base camp for Black Hills. Been at this KOA lots of times and it better each time I go there.
Aug 14, 2015
This was our second time staying here we cannot say enough about our stay every staff member was wonderful they made us feel like we were family. We love the campground, we will definitely go back again. we have stayed at other KOA campgrounds and by far this is the best. We ate the chuckwagon breakfeast every morning. Debbie and Jim do a great job with managing the campgrounds.
Aug 14, 2015
We had never stayed at a koa camp before but our stay was great and I will stay at koa again . I thought the staff excellent . Thanks Again Brian
Aug 13, 2015
Great campground in a nice area. The staff are superb and we will be staying here again in the future.
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful facilities! Great staff! Central to the sites!
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
this is the campground we will always stay at when in the area. wonderful folks friendly staff ...love the place
Aug 12, 2015
Fantastic!! The staff was GREAT! FRIENDLY and HELPFUL. perfect location to the various attractions in the area too.
Aug 12, 2015
Great staff. Rabbits everywhere! Clean. Reasonably close to everything.
Aug 12, 2015
nice stay except for the hail storm while we were there. Good breakfast
Aug 12, 2015
We were on a long trip and only stayed one night, but would recommend long stays to friends and family. Staff was very nice. Only complaint...we made reservation several months in advance, but were not booked in sites next to each other (?). If we were staying longer we might have asked to see if we could be together.
Aug 12, 2015
This was a great campground with great bathrooms (my primary criteria for campgrounds now), but just know the campsites are jammed in right next to each other. (As is typical with private campgrounds vs. State Parks, which tend to have more space in between the units.) It seemed like the awning from campers almost touched the next camper! Otherwise, super nice people working here!
Aug 12, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 11, 2015
Jim, Debi, and staff are great people and make you feel important and are there to help with any problems. The campground is well maintained and has a variety of amennities. We have been there annually for 7 years and will continue to spend a week with them yearly. We higly recommend this campground. Pete and Joan Gouge
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much! From the time we checked in until we checked out, we were treated like family and if we needed something, we had someone there in minutes and taken care of promptly. Thank you for a wonderful time and experience. We will definitely come back in the future.
Aug 11, 2015
I stayed here two nights to visit the Black Hills area. The owners were really helpful and friendly. Everything was clean and well maintained
Aug 11, 2015
Best breakfast menu and best staff! Fanciest and best maintained restrooms/shower. Tent sites were a bit steep but a great location!
Aug 11, 2015
Friendly staff, polite and courteous.
Aug 11, 2015
We came to this area to see Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial. We did see other stuff too. The campground was very clean. Our host was very polite and. Location was great too. Thank you.
Aug 11, 2015
We made a very late reservation for the Sturgis Bike Rally! And got lucky with a Camping cabin!! It was awesome! Our first KOA stay ever! Campground was beautifully maintained. Our camping cabin was so clean!! Everyone from Julie and Debbie to Brian and the owners and their son the cook were just the best! When we come back to Sturgis we will definitelt stay there!!
Aug 10, 2015
We are always treated like family; the staff and accommodations are excellent!
Aug 10, 2015
This is the 2nd time i stayed in this camp ground,it was very clean, personal was very friendly, i will recommend this KOA to all my friends and family
Aug 10, 2015
Friendly staff and very efficient. Breakfast was great and worth the price . Camping cabins very clean. Staff had maps of things to do in area. All in all it was fabulous
Aug 10, 2015
This was a great place to stay. It was close to Mt. Rushmore, Sylvan lake, and downtown Custer. Everyone was really nice and the kids loved feeding the bunnies carrots!!
Aug 10, 2015
Nice camp ground. Clean rest rooms. Organized camp sites. Great amenities. Friendly staff. Good location.
Aug 09, 2015
A very very good time, we will go back next time too,,,,,,
Aug 09, 2015
Friendly, clean, and quiet. Great location for exploring the Black Hills!
Aug 09, 2015
Nice clean campground, people very friendly, but not a lot of amenities at this particular KOA.
Aug 09, 2015
just had a few issues with WiFi in campground other than that great stay
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Friendly check-in. Clean cabin and restrooms. Well-stocked store.
Aug 08, 2015
We had a nice time and the staff was great.
Aug 08, 2015
Very well kept. Staff is very warm and nice.
Aug 08, 2015
Nice location, clean, nice staff, sites are a bit close together.
Aug 07, 2015
KOA Staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. Former sailor "Mark" and his wife were especially nice seeing that we are both Navy Veterans. The only improvement I can suggest is to redesign the shower facility in the back of the grounds to accommodate more users. The smaller of the 2 shower stalls appears to be an "after-thought" which I am sure was not intended. Overall very positive!!
Aug 07, 2015
Campground is very nice and clean. Staff are excellent! Very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay here again.
Aug 07, 2015
Very friendly family and clean loved the wild bunnies.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award