Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Peaceful campground even though it's close to road. Only complaint is that my kabin was by a campground street light- very bright all night long. :(

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

While we cannot do anything about the utility company's street light, we will be tinting the affected windows to aid the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Happy kamping and hope we get to see you again in the future :)
Jul 25, 2013
We had a wonderful stay at the kampground! Great location very clean and the kids loved all the bunnies
Jul 24, 2013
Great location, very clean facility, extremely nice employees. We loved it. Thank you.
Jul 24, 2013
This was a great location for us to experience the Mount Rushmore area. Very pretty with trees and an early breakfast at the site, cooked every morning. Great idea.
Jul 24, 2013
Staff was very nice. Cabins were too close together.
Jul 24, 2013
Friendly folks, nice level site.
Jul 24, 2013
the owners were wonderful and helped us out on anything we needed. it is on a hill and sites are not level, and too close together.
Jul 24, 2013
This was a very nice place to stay. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was awesome.
Jul 24, 2013
Great staff friendly, nice camp ground, well maintained rest rooms.
Jul 24, 2013
This is a bigger campground than I usually stay at but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Just a little crowded for my tastes.
Jul 23, 2013
The Laundry needs to be updated.
Jul 23, 2013
Excellent location and staff. Washroom facilities are a 10 out of 10. Dog park was appreciated as well. Keep up the great work
Jul 23, 2013
A great place for kids! The bunnies about our cabin were an added plus!
Jul 23, 2013
Great environment. Far enough away from the tourist towns to enjoy.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Nice park. Very friendly staff. Clean bathrooms. Nice proximity to all the sites.
Jul 22, 2013
staff were very friendly and helpful. They knew the area well and were helpful giving directions and telling us about the various attractions in the area. Overall campsite was very clean, washrooms as well were kept clean. We found the campsite location excellent to park and drive to the attractions. The campsite was also very quiet.
Jul 22, 2013
My son loved it there! He made friends everyday & loved the bounce pillow. The cabin was great! Just wish the coffee was free :)
Jul 22, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.? The owners etc were very friendly and helpful. Only thing I would like to see different is that the camper next to us was so close.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
The camp was very clean and staff all friendly. The pool was small but nice for the kids, jumping pillow was also great for the kids! quiet, relaxed atmosphere :)
Jul 21, 2013
Really like this kamp. It's a great hub for visiting all the great places in the Black Hills. Food at breakfast filled with unpleasant tastes. WiFi so weak it was useless, and we were in direct line of site with the antena. Mgr said he would reboot routers. If he did it did not help. If you stay here you will love Custer state park. We saw the 1300 strong Buffalo herd. It was fantastic.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Site was not level.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Great location -- beautiful place to stay -- close to Custer, Mount Rushmore, the fantastic Black Hills!
Jul 20, 2013
Great job
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
I loved this KOA. The staff were friendly, the sites were clean and well taken care of, and the bunnies were a lot of fun to watch.
Jul 19, 2013
No cable tv
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Billy is very good with campers!
Jul 19, 2013
Everything was great. I have already recommended this KOA to someone at our latest stop.
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Very accommodating. Bathrooms were a little old school. Take flip flops! The Kabin was amazing! Porch swing, nice picnic table, the works!
Jul 18, 2013
Very quiet, pleasant experience in a Pine forest setting. Highly recommend.
Jul 18, 2013
Clean facility, conveniently located. Our RV spot was very close to the next spot.
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
GREAT PLACE TO STAY ! FRIENLY PEOPLE , I LIKED THE BREAKFAST AT THE CHUCK WAGON EVERY MORNING! VERY CLEAN!
Jul 17, 2013
Too piled on top of each other. Poor sight. had to lower tongue to ground to make level. Campground clean, as were all facilities. I had people visit us and they tent camped and the rate for their sight was twenty eight bucks. No anything on the sight. Not even grass. Dirt and rocks that's way too high.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Sites were too close together. Closest I've ever seen. Makes it pretty obvious that it's all about the real estate and not visitor comfort. You would have to light a candle and place it in the fire ring for a campfire, anything bigger and somebody's trailer would have been scorched. Other than that it was clean and well maintained.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Our stay was great, and the staff was very helpful, we had some annoying neighbors at the end of our stay but the staff took care of it right away!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.