Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2013
HAD A GREAT TIME, NICE FRIENDLY KOA WORKERS
Aug 25, 2013
Loved the pines clean bathrooms quiet at night cabins were nice
Aug 25, 2013
Friendly folks, nice facilities, and cute bunnies everywhere. We loved it!
Aug 24, 2013
This the ideal place to stay when in Custer. We have stayed in other campgrounds here and would absolutely stay at this over all the others. Thanks. We loved it.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
NOT kid friendly. Ray was very good with kids. Pool was very warm and clean. Jumping pillow was a blast for kids. Bathrooms NEEDS a lot of work. Mold grows in the showers. Right next to the hair that's in large clumps on wall and floor. Dumpsters were full to the brim. You had to squeeze between the fence and lift bag over your head to throw. Washers don't spin out. Dryers 1.75 2 start! SEND HELP!
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
It was a great place, great location. A bit too cold for us but we enjoy the place
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
Loved it, we extended our stay twice as the kids didn't want to leave. The best part was the ATV rental, didn't even have to leave the campground. Centrally located, only about 15 minutes to Mt. Rushmore. Loved the outdoor grilling station with fresh herbs. Would suggest they could improve on the night time entertainment though. I would definitely stay here again.
Aug 22, 2013
very quiet.
Aug 22, 2013
Beautiful and clean bathrooms. Well maintained
Aug 22, 2013
This is second time we have stayed here and again it was excellent. Nice shady roomy spots for our 40' motorhome, nice pool & activities for kids, and the breakfast was excellent.
Aug 21, 2013
Under the circumstances (Sturgis Biker Rally) they did a great job.
Aug 20, 2013
We had the best site in the park. It was actually extra wide, and backed on to a greenbelt. We were the gathering spot for our friends. Very nice, would stay again.
Aug 20, 2013
Hosts were great providing places to eat. Easy check in and extended our stay an extra day, used as 'home base'. Would stay again.
Aug 20, 2013
Great place to stay, one night or longer.
Aug 19, 2013
Great stay, clean place, fun pool! However, soap dispensers in the bathroom were too high for my kids to reach and the paper towels were very hard to get out with wet hands. Otherwise a perfect stay!
Aug 19, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff/management. From the minute we made our reservation the were communicating via email and accommodated our traveling group. Wonderful people! Thanks
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Friendly and clean.The kids were so entertained by the bunnies. Only complaint is cabins are a bit close together and close to hiway. Would like a bit more privacy and quiet.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
I wish the cabins would of had air conditioning.THe pool would of stayed open longer than 8:30PM.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Very friendly staff and clean facilities!
Aug 18, 2013
They are very friendly when you come in and all paper work done and quick check in after hard day of driving.
Aug 18, 2013
The couple from PA working there are awesome and very helpful.. Thanks
Aug 18, 2013
The pool could have been cleaner. The bunnies were great. I will send you the pictures.
Aug 17, 2013
Ray and Linda are the best KOA staff ever! Superior service and great, friendly attitude. My kids loved them! Also, the place is awesome!
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Deb and her staff were great, site was great showeres great, This was our first stay at a KOA we stayed and two others while on our vacation and none compared to this campground. Great job.
Aug 15, 2013
we had a great experience at custer/mt. rushmore koa. we loved our tent site. the staff was excellent. the bathrooms were clean. we enjoyed watching several families of bunnies. can't wait to visit again.
Aug 15, 2013
WE GREATLY ENJOYED THE CAMPGROUND. THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY, THE FACILITIES CLEAN AND IN ORDER AND THE LOCATION WAS PERFECT FOR SEEING ALL THE BLACK HILLS AREA HAS TO OFFER. THANK YOU FOR A GREAT STAY!!
Aug 14, 2013
Got charged an extra $91 that I was told wouldn't be charged to my account. Will not stay again and will not tell anyone to stay here.
Aug 12, 2013
Personnel was very courteous and helpful. Restrooms were clean snd overall campground in good shape. Didn't have a cooking fire pit at our spot and they didn't have any available.
Aug 12, 2013
Super friendly staff...very helpful on all my needs during our stay!
Aug 12, 2013
Stayed at this site 3 times its a great place
Aug 12, 2013
IT was just fine
Aug 12, 2013
They were very accommodating. I made several changes to my stay, and they worked it in without a hitch. Great service.
Aug 11, 2013
friendly staff, great location
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
The price was to high for tent site with no water or electrical I paid 39 dollars a night and it was to high down the road I paid 22 dollars and had both water and electrical you need to come down on price
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
It was a great Kampground and the staff was so friendly. The service we received was outstanding. Looking forward to next years vacation up there. Thank You.
Aug 10, 2013
Jimmie, Debi, and Billie with the rest of the crew were great. They were very accommodating in every way. Lots of great updates in the campground, much more user friendly especially for those of us who have larger toyhaulers. We have stayed there now 4 years during Sturgis week and plan on returning again and again.
Aug 10, 2013
All I can say we had a very good time,and we will be there next year, thank you for every thing.
Aug 10, 2013
Could not ask for better host. They are as great as the come.
Aug 10, 2013
This was my fifth stay and I will be staying here when I come to the Black Hills.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.