Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 16, 2014
Everybody was extremely helpful and cared. Far enough away to seem secluded. We stayed in a cabin and had a great time with my boys.
Aug 15, 2014
Very nice, clean park. It is several miles out from Carlsbad, but they have a small kitchen that serves very nice meals. A great place to stay.
Aug 15, 2014
We stayed here last year on our way to Colorado. Everything was perfect so we came back for another perfect stay. And it Was!
Aug 13, 2014
Stayed here in MH on day 48 of 60 with kids. This was the nicest of the 6 KOA's so far. They have ALL been clean and well run but this was a step above. As an example of the parks excellent management- We had some big storms come through and with three hours they had regraded the road, eliminating puddles and potholes caused by the rain.
Aug 13, 2014
Overall a great facility. Clean facility and friendly staff.
Aug 12, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Site was level and clean. Bathrooms were clean. Only reason for 4 stars and not 5 was I wished the site had some shade trees. I would stay there again when in the area over other locations.
Aug 12, 2014
Very clean KOA. Friendly staff. Staff always cleaning and keeping eye on the park. Nice amenities. All campsites are great. Have already recommended this KOA to friends. Will be back. Also, BBQ was really good and delivered to campsite. Thanks. Ricky & Betty Ward
Aug 11, 2014
It was nice. The area is nice a few more bugs than were used to. Most of the staff was nice. The front desk staff was really nice. Our screen was ripped on our cabin door and there was hole in the back side underneath that we saw an animal scurry under. Enjoyed our stay.
Aug 11, 2014
Having our grandsons with us in very hot weather your facility was the answer. Indoor & outdoor play areas, movie and good barbecue made the stay very pleasant.
Aug 11, 2014
Wonderful stay. Clean and very friendly owners and staff. Fun activities for children.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Had a really great time. Very nice campground with an extremely congenial staff.
Aug 10, 2014
A lot of permanent oil/gas riggers staying at the park...not sure how better to handle it, but doesn't give the park a vacationer feel...... Everyone was great, all was quiet and orderly...service staff tremendous. We felt safe, comfortable and well taken care of during our stay.
Aug 10, 2014
Actually the tent area with elect was so close to others that it was too loud. Esp at 2 am!!! Rude people that were asked to keep it down quite a few times. T5 was the spot.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Stopped over in our RV to visit the caverns. My son's family joined us and stayed in a cabin. We both enjoyed our stay, the friendly staff and the features of the park. We would certainly recommend the park to our friends.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Comfortable, clean and friendly
Aug 08, 2014
Staff friendly, BUT- our "premium" site was dirty with sand, grass clippings and bird poop on the old table and benches. Needs a good sweeping with a broom - not blower! Seems like lots of permanent residents. One resident feeds the pigeons each night. Trash way overflowing and with birds picking. Also, BBQ(nicely delivered) seemed re-heated. Ribs were saw off the bone bad.
Aug 07, 2014
Nice place with friendly staff and well laid out campsites. Bathrooms were very nice but there were a couple problem shower heads on the women's side.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
My family and I were only going to stay one night, But the KOA and Carlsbad had so much for us to do, we stayed our whole vacation.
Aug 07, 2014
Wonderful place to stay! Thanks
Aug 07, 2014
The staff are great and friendly. We had the grandkids visit for the afternoon and they loved the pool.
Aug 06, 2014
One night stay. Grandchildren found amenities excellent with choices. However did not get to use them as our trip was long and tired.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
This is a well kept campground, however it is 50 miles away from Carlsbad Caverns. I would rate it higher, however the wifi is useless for all intents and purposes. I could not even check and respond to emails.
Aug 05, 2014
We found this KOA to be the best one that we have ever stayed in. Clean, friendly, dog friendly, etc. Others can learn a lot from these owners.
Aug 05, 2014
Great staff, excellent food. Internet seems to be problematic. Sadly, the nearby gas fields also causing problems with smells.
Aug 05, 2014
Tout fut très bien. Un peu d'ombre sur les tent sites serait à créer Accueil cordial et attentionné
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Very clean, attractive, well-managed, well-supplied, well laid out, with a good variety of overnight sites/Kabins. Two small downsides: Lobo Kabin very close to it's neighbor Kabin. (Appreciate the good parking nearby!) Need a way to lock the Kabin & leave the key securely for early departure. Thank you and if we are ever back in that area, we will stay with you again!
Aug 04, 2014
Facility, services, and staff were great. Internet access was better than I had previously read in a review. It slowed down after about 8:30am. I predominantly used it early morning before family was up. The only negative was the oil well/gas smell that was significant a couple of mornings. It made me check all the RV dials.I don't know if there is a way to get around it in that area though
Aug 04, 2014
I've stayed at a lot of great KOA campgrounds, but this one lacked in customer service. It was very clean, but the customer survice was poor. We asked the person at the main desk why the pool was locked at 7:00 instead of 8:00. She said she would send someone.15 minutes later still nobody had came. We went back to the office and she said there was lightning. Personally I think it was laszeness!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Took a 9 week cross country trip tenting and hotels. Stayed in 17 KOA's in 12 states; 3 in NM. This place has it all. Location to sites, Clean, Great Recreation room that saved me. Only tough point - Tent Village site 4 (I think) has tough western exposure in the heat.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
First visit and thought the KOA was terrific. Next time we are close to Carlsbad we will stay again. Nicest restrooms I have ever seen in a campground!!
Aug 02, 2014
The camp sight was clean and very accessible from the highway. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We stayed in one of the cabins, which was great for our family. It was clean and was exactly what we needed for our stay there. Our kids enjoyed it very much. I would recommend this KOA to anyone traveling in this area of New Mexico. Thank You.
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Very well organized, exceptionally clean sites and restrooms. Very helpful staff who really care.
Jul 31, 2014
Excellent park, nice and clean facilities,,,, large, wide sites,,,,, every employee was friendly and extremely courteous, ,,, can't wait to go back......
Jul 30, 2014
We didn't get to stay long, just passing thru. It was a very nice cabin and getting in and out was a breeze.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Friendly people(WorKampers), park is nicely laid out, well-maintained (again, by the WorKampers). Overpriced, like all KOA's. I paid $10 less the next night at a luxury resort that was better than any KOA. Sorry....I guess this one won't be KOA.com :)
Jul 29, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Everything was clean and nice, staff was very friendly and helpful with information about area sights.
Jul 28, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.