Carlsbad KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

Email

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Mar 21, 2017
Well laid out, level and roomy sites. Friendly and helpful staff. A little distance from the area attractions but worth it for the peaceful ambiance.
Mar 21, 2017
Mar 21, 2017
Great facilities with great amenities. Very friendly staff. Even a nightly menu that can be ordered and delivered to your site!
Mar 21, 2017
The grounds were nice and clean and quiet. Staff was friendly. It was about 55 miles to the Caverns but it was a quick and pleasant drive. Take bottled water with you. Made awful coffee. No problems getting in and out with our 24 ft trailer.
Mar 20, 2017
Great experience! We even had an escort guide us into our site and acted as a spotter as we drove in. Will stay again if in the area!
Mar 20, 2017
I must say the camp is very clean, but when I think of camping, I do not think of an organized tent city being on top of your neighbor. Additionally, we were packed up and out of our site, just finishing up some little stuff at the vehicle and was told we needed to leave as it was like a hotel, when you check out you leave. No one was there, not sure what the big deal was,but it felt pushy/rude
Mar 20, 2017
Great place. Clean, quiet, lot of amenities. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice to have a good place to stay close to our granddaughters!
Mar 20, 2017
Mar 20, 2017
This was our first stay at a KOA. Not only were the location and facilities top notch, the owner and staff were beyond helpful and accommodating.
Mar 20, 2017
The cabin was great, and I loved the area the site was in. Although, it smelled like farts at night.
Mar 20, 2017
Wonderful staff, very clean sites and nice facilities. Family friendly. Definitely recommend!
Mar 20, 2017
Very nice, but we don't have kids so we are paying for a lot of amenities we will never use. That's why we don't stay at KOA more often. We are full-time RVers.
Mar 19, 2017
Absolutely Excellent. All staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We are new at RV'ing, and the staff was more than helpful when we had questions. Everything was clean, well maintained, showers/bathroom were excellent. Could not have asked for a better park to be at for Spring Break. We stayed a whole week, and will be back. It will be hard to outdo this KOA Park!
Mar 19, 2017
Campground clean,, pet area down a rocky incline so hard for handicapped people to get to, nice walking/running trail next to park, sandwiches edible but not the best, clean restrooms and showers, ok for a few day stop while seeing the Caverns
Mar 19, 2017
We have stayed here before. Everything is clean, the grounds tidy, and the workers friendly. The only negative is that I wish it were closer to Carlsbad. But then the night skies wouldn't be as pretty or the campgrounds so quite.
Mar 19, 2017
This KOA has a great at-home feel to it. The staff is extremely friendly, the bathrooms are very clean, and the campground itself is kept tidy. The location was also great. It was close to the caverns and the city of Carlsbad, but not close enough for city noise. That being said, you don't even need to go to the city, their store has everything you need! 10/10 for this tent camper.
Mar 19, 2017
really enjoyed it
Mar 19, 2017
Wonderful host. Clean park.
Mar 19, 2017
Campground was great. On one hand, I would prefer that the tent sites were darker. On the other hand, the proximity to the showers, game room, and bathrooms were perfect because I was camping with small kids. All in all, this was a great stay and probably the best campground near Carlsbad Cavern.
Mar 19, 2017
I would only say - recycling please - really.
Mar 18, 2017
Very nice campground with lots to do for the kids. Staff was very helpful in combining our reservations so that we did not have to move spots.
Mar 18, 2017
First time to stay at at KOA. A little pricey but really nice facilities. I gave 4 stars because of the price. I stayed at another campground in Arizona (not a KOA) for $25 a night with similar facilities and a year round heated pool.
Mar 18, 2017
very clean and pleasant! would recommend without hesitation
Mar 18, 2017
This campsite was wonderful! The staff was so incredibly friendly, the sites were very nice, and the bathrooms were very clean and nicely kept! Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Mar 17, 2017
We've stayed here for spring break a couple of times. We love that it's far enough away from town that you can see the stars at night but close enough to get supplies. Beautiful wide open spaces surrounded this KOA. The park employees are helpful and kind. Great park!
Mar 17, 2017
Well organized,friendly KOA. something for all ages. Only suggestion would be more trash dumpsters.
Mar 17, 2017
I made the mistake of not looking at a map before I made the reservations, this is an hour away from Carlsbad Caverns! Way too far. Next time we'll stay at the RV park at the entrance to the Caverns. Free Wi-Fi was a good feature, but we were told it might be a little slow because they're booked... it wasn't slow because it wasn't even available. Big downer :-(
Mar 17, 2017
Mar 17, 2017
my only complaint is that the grass was so dry which allowed for a lot of dust kicking up in the tent area, but we had a great time and the staff was fantastic!!!
Mar 16, 2017
Mar 16, 2017
Very nice. Great place to stay
Mar 16, 2017
Mar 15, 2017
A long ways from the Caverns Good BBQ dinners
Mar 15, 2017
The cabin and facilities were very clean and comfortable, and the people were friendly. My husband found our grill tools on a maintenance cart, which was odd. We stayed two nights and when we got back from our first day out, our grill tools were missing. He asked the front desk if they had been turned in, and they said no; he later found them on a maintenance cart. I'm sure it was just a mix-u
Mar 15, 2017
Roads were wide, sites easy to get into. Friendly staff. Didn't care for the taste of the water.
Mar 15, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Mar 15, 2017
EVERYTHING was great here, nice BIG spots, good location!!
Mar 15, 2017
People were friendly and help and facilities were clean and well maintained. I'd definitely stay here again
Mar 14, 2017
Very nice campground. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Mar 14, 2017
First time staying at a koa in 25 years, and it was as nice and we kept as I remember. The staff was very nice and helpful. We had a very enjoyable visit
Mar 14, 2017
excellent! everything was first class!
Mar 13, 2017
Mar 13, 2017
The owners were so nice, the sites well kept, and the BBQ is really good! I used the laundromat and all was so clean and well kelp. They have a nice gathering room with an incredible fish tank. Best KOA we've stayed at!
Mar 13, 2017
Large spaces with a very helpful staff.
Mar 13, 2017
Mickey was great! He needs a raise!
Mar 12, 2017
Mar 12, 2017
Wonderful park! Great barbeque!!
Mar 11, 2017
I would have given it a 10 and a 5 star but the internet is non existent. You shouldn't advertise that you have it if you can't get it at the camps but only at the office. Seems to be a recurring theme as I had the same problem at Kerrville.
Mar 11, 2017
Very welcoming staff. Beautiful park. TV Cable and WIFI were a joke. We were not able to stay connected to the WIFI more than 3 minutes. Very frustrating! Had only 6 channels on the Cable. Really?
Mar 09, 2017
Campsite and grounds are well taken care of. Pet friendly and their home made BBQ is spectacular?
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps