Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
The hosts and staff were very helpful and caring. The cabin was clean, cozy and comfortable. The entire campground was incredibly well maintained and had all the amenities one needs on a trip.
Aug 24, 2015
Great koa. Awesome staff and very plesant
Aug 24, 2015
The kids had fun in the pool. The hosts were friendly.
Aug 23, 2015
Great base camp for attractions both north (Roswell, Artesia) and south (Carlsbad Caverns, Sitting Bull Falls). The Tent Village was great for our extended stay with electric and water. The facilities were well-maintained and the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the surrounding areas.
Aug 23, 2015
Bathrooms were clean and we had a great dinner the first night of our two night stay.
Aug 23, 2015
We're new to KOA camping. This past ten days we stayed at KOA Kingman, KOA Carlsbad, and KOA Tucson. They were all very nice and we'll be back. Carlsbad had nice restrooms and showers, though I wish they were a little flexible on the cleaning time. The people were friendly and though we really didn't use the amenities other than shower and laundry, they had a nice pool and plenty of security.
Aug 23, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. We will enjoy returning to count rabbits again.
Aug 22, 2015
Fine for overnight stay, location looks a little creepy, get used to rooster crowing and trains, didn't bother us. Owners seemed very nice. Didn't use facilities, but pool and playground looked clean.
Aug 22, 2015
We have a large family, and this is how we will travel from now on. This KOA was really great. The staff was so friendly! The cabins were perfect!
Aug 22, 2015
Great bed! and that is so important. Wonderful staff. Food was the best ever. Thank you so very much for our beautiful stay in our clean comfortable room.
Aug 22, 2015
Ad stated short distance to Carlsbad caverns 40+miles is not short
Aug 21, 2015
Great campground! Very clean and well maintained. Enjoyed the covered patio area at our site, as well as the swimming pool. Also enjoyed the BBQ dinners that were delivered straight to your site...delicious! And the star watching activity was fun for everyone. Thanks for a great stay!
Aug 20, 2015
I had a great time at your campground....clean park, clean restrooms, and friendly staff!
Aug 20, 2015
Great staff and clean park. Could not have been a better place to stay!
Aug 19, 2015
We loved everything about the Carlsbad KOA. The staff was outstanding! Very friendly, courteous and helpful. The bathrooms and pool were clean and well kept. The BBQ sandwiches that they sell were delicious. It was great after driving all day then setting up the camper not to worry about what we were having for dinner. They even offered to deliver the BBQ to our campsite. Our dogs loved the dog pa
Aug 19, 2015
First time we stayed at a KOA and loved it! Will definitely be planning another trip back there.
Aug 19, 2015
Our stay was fantastic and we have already recommended it to people! Great place!
Aug 19, 2015
Good location for visiting the caverns, about 40 min away.
Aug 19, 2015
The bathrooms were clean and the people were nice. The sites were clean, and it was dog friendly. But the Internet was horribly slow. Also, it really shouldn't be called the Carlsbad KOA as it was quite a drive out of the city and 45 minutes from the caves.
Aug 19, 2015
BEST KOA campsite we have ever stayed at. The cabin was so clean and they even turned the air on before we got there so it would be cool. Talk about some good BBQ, and they even delivered it to us! Loved our stay here and will definitely be coming back!!
Aug 19, 2015
Staff was very friendly and knowledgable. I liked that you offered movie night and food delivered to campsite. Wish we had time to take advantage. Only complaint would be that one of the womens showers was out of order.
Aug 19, 2015
Dual K9 areas and very large lots. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
Aug 18, 2015
awesome
Aug 18, 2015
Staff was friendly, helpful, and help make our stay great. Facilities, bathrooms, and pool are well maintained and clean. Great spots each with a nice shade tree. LOVE the dog yards with sitting bench and shade trees. Excellent stay.
Aug 18, 2015
Indoor activity room but the kitchen made it smell. The pool was closed for the entire afternoon b/c thunder sounded once. Way too far from Carlsbad. Very nice playgrounds with shades. Bathrooms nice too. Terrible gas smell all night and in the morning.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
A great camp ground. Slot of extras. Very little trees. When it's hot it would be nice to have some shade at your camp site
Aug 17, 2015
Very welcoming! The cabin was very cute and accommodated my big family. Cabin could've been a little cleaner for what the price per night is; thick cobwebs in almost every room that I cleaned myself, spiders everywhere, some pots had dead bugs in them, and we found mouse droppings. We asked to check out a little late and we were told absolutely not. Cute place, but has some quirks.
Aug 17, 2015
Staff is very friendly and willing to help if any problems! My stay was great, would definately come back again! Very nice enviroment!
Aug 16, 2015
The cabin was clean and perfect size for our stay and the price was even a better surprise. Pet friendly with 2 doggy parks that were well lit at night . We felt very safe and secure at all times . The staff was very good at what they do . We will come back .
Aug 16, 2015
Let me start out by saying the property was great and the people that were working were great. We booked our stay for one night. 8-14-8-15. But we decided to leave. The cabin we got was very cute and In great condition. But immediately as soon as we got inside I could smell urine. I did think it was possibly the air conditioner. But either way the smell was really bad. My husband made up the twi
Aug 16, 2015
Very nice campground. It is landscaped beautifully.Everything worked. The staff was extremely helpful and gracious. 107 degree weather was bad, but not fault of campground. Will definitely stay here again when in the area.
Aug 15, 2015
We called ahead about our late night arrival and the staff accommodated us very nicely. The staff was friendly. This was our first time at a KOA and we were very impressed with the cleanliness of the cabin and grounds and all the amenities and available activities. If we ever pass through the Carlsbad area again we will definitely stay here.
Aug 14, 2015
Friendly staff, nice amenities with the AC and wifi, and clean nearby restrooms.
Aug 14, 2015
Clean, frienly with large pull through spaces and yummy bbq delivered to your rig!
Aug 14, 2015
Could not have been better! Loved this KOA
Aug 14, 2015
We liked the quiet clean RV park, and the staff was great. Very nice and helpful. I appreciate all the help we had there.
Aug 14, 2015
Great views, nice cool pool. No trees, but that's not unusual for west Texas. Signs were confusing because this campground is no longer KOA. But I signed up through KOA. Weird.
Aug 14, 2015
very well kept camp grounds and quiet. Loved seeing the fish pond in a most unlikely area of the country
Aug 14, 2015
Loved the tenting area! Friendly welcome, very clean baths. Will recommend to all I know who travel to the region.
Aug 13, 2015
Awesome.
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Upgraded cabin, very friendly staff.
Aug 12, 2015
Nice little kampground. The typical amenities you're accustomed to with KOA. We were tent camping with 2 kids so can't speak for the RV setups. Fire pits and water. Grass was not kept up well so most of our site was hard packed dirt. The real disappointment was the exterior lighting. We hoped to enjoy the night sky but were blinded by halogen lights on the building right next to the tents.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
The cabin we stayed in was clean, cozy and nicely appointed. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. The grounds were well maintained and we felt very safe. Kids enjoyed the pool and rental bikes. We ordered a bbq meal in our day of arrival which was delicious. Thank you for a great stay.
Aug 10, 2015
Great efforts to provide guests a great time. Thank you!
Aug 10, 2015
The campground is great but a little to far from town.
Aug 10, 2015
The tent village is an awesome concept. It provides power and shelter to tenters. However, the location of the tent village is not good. It sits right on the entry/exit for the park. Every time someone drove out of the park in the middle of the night, their lights shined right into our tent the sound was extremely loud. We got hardly any sleep. We left and went to a hotel for the second night.
Aug 10, 2015
We had trouble with the cable TV hook up and they fixed it on the spot. Very clean showers and restrooms.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.