Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

RV Reviews

Oct 27, 2014
Had a great time and the staff was very helpful and accomodating.
Oct 25, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
We came, we ate, we slept, we left. It was everything we planned.
Oct 23, 2014
The campground is brautiful, the BBQ ribs yummy and the staff the best! Loved meeting you all and sharing stories!
Oct 20, 2014
This campground is listed as being 13 miles N of Carlsbad. It is 22 miles which makes it 52 miles from the caverns! The smell of natural gas is horrific & constant. Do not come here!
Oct 20, 2014
The park is maintained perfectly and the spaces for the big rigs are huge. Make sure the you order dinner from the park. The BBQ is delicious!! Will absolutely stay again.
Oct 20, 2014
Clean bathrooms and shower. Great playground. Excellent care to make sure site was clean at arrival.
Oct 20, 2014
Fantastic,
Oct 19, 2014
Bob, made our stay extra special. We were renting an RV and new to the whole experience and Bob took the time to answer our questions about hooking up and certain RV etiquette. If all the KOA Campgrounds have someone as nice and truly helpful as Bob you are doing great!
Oct 19, 2014
It was so great two weeks ago, we stayed again and will be back, I am sure.
Oct 17, 2014
This park is very hard to rate. The park is excellent in almost everything, but at 8 pm at night both nights we stayed there was a persistent horrible stink throughout the whole park. I don't know if it was sewer or oil refinery. Without this smell this is near a 10 park. With smell it is a zero. Verify when you book that the smell is gone.
Oct 16, 2014
Staff is very friendly and helpful and amenities are top notch.
Oct 16, 2014
It is a very nice KOA. A little too far from town.
Oct 16, 2014
Courteous folks at the Carlsbad KOA. Although we only stayed one night on our sojourn it was rely nice. Without a doubt 5 star showers!!! Grounds were nice.
Oct 16, 2014
expensive
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
the park was great but the gnat problem was terrible! we left our windows open the first night and the gnats came in through the screens and we spent the rest of our 4 day stay trying to get rid of them and never did. this had to be a known issue and it sure would have been nice to get some notice about it from the desk.
Oct 14, 2014
The place is very nice but, unfortunately, the surrounding oil fields release very unpleasant and strong odors that are felt during the evening. What a pity!
Oct 14, 2014
A little farther from town then description made it seem.
Oct 13, 2014
Very nice wide open sites.far enough from the highway to be quiet at night. Would stay again.
Oct 13, 2014
Nice location, but, the biggest problem we had was that they couldn't seem to figure out how to use my points. When I checked in, she couldn't figure it out, so charged me the two nights and said she'd work with someone the following day to change to points instead of charging me. However, after site seeing we returned and she said they just decided to charge me instead. What?
Oct 12, 2014
Staff accommodating & pleasant. Campsites were nice. No complaints.
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
Places is clean spaces are large and easy to get into Store has a lot of good items to buy
Oct 11, 2014
Really nice park and many miles north of Carsbad, so Quiet ! Had dinners delivered to our RV which they prepared. Ever in the area, we will stay there again. Stayed 2 nights in our Airstream.
Oct 11, 2014
Nice large level campground. I give it a 4 instead of 5 because of dust from roads in campground. People were polite and did drive slow.
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 09, 2014
Very clean bathrooms. One of the nicest KOAs we've stayed at.
Oct 08, 2014
REALLY nice for a desert location with nice large level sites, but NO DUMP STATION. Stinky petroleum facilities VERY nearby. Lots of oil workers living there leaving for work at 5am with VERY LOUD vehicles. Nice enough looking place but won't stay there again.
Oct 08, 2014
Excellent site size; nicely graveled roads wide enough to maneuver easily; well-stocked office/store; VERY quiet; staff VERY nice & helpful. Only negative feature was the water taste and/or chemical content: possibly affected by local oil refineries?
Oct 08, 2014
Enjoyed the stay.
Oct 06, 2014
It was pricey for as far out as it was, the pool had quite a lot of bugs in it, and it should be told that at night there is a terrible smell from oil wells. The drinking water was awful; ended up buying my own water.
Oct 06, 2014
Nice people, terrible smell and real problem with flys.
Oct 06, 2014
Especially enjoyed having a meal prepared for dine-in or camp site delivery. The bath facilities were large and clean, just like home. Parking, staff, views were all Great! Yes, we enjoyed our stay!
Oct 04, 2014
Nice park and very friendly staff. Only draw back is it's location so far from Carlsbad.
Oct 01, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
the campground was okay but over $40 for dirt roads, large rock gravel spaces, long grass, "the hardest well water in the valley" (according to a worker)and the smell of crude oil 24/7 is too much to pay. KOAs tend to be in worse neighborhoods than others. this one was 12 miles out of town which was nice but still, $40 plus is way too high for the accommodations.
Oct 01, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Friendly staff. Great camping site. Nice dog play area. Plenty of areas for walking dogs.
Sep 30, 2014
This is a beautiful and quiet location with excellent amenities. The drive to Carlsbad Caverns is about 40 minutes, so it's important to take that into consideration if you have just one day to make your visit to the caverns. Otherwise, I would certainly recommend this KOA to others.
Sep 29, 2014
the staff is wonderful, the sites are large and having food delivered to your site was a great perk!. The only downside is the distance from Carlsbad Caverns National Park and the very strong odor from the oil wells when the wind calmed at night
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
Campground was very clean. Staff was friendly and informative. Restrooms were clean and I was comfortable taking a shower. Lots of room. Had a great stay. This KOA was better than most.owner made the atmosphere attractive. This KOA was fully staffed with people who cared.
Sep 26, 2014
Sep 26, 2014
Super clean, level sites, easy to find.
Sep 25, 2014
Excellent park, friendly staff.
Sep 24, 2014
Sep 24, 2014
Very clean facility
Sep 23, 2014
Nice camp to visit the attractions around it. Nice and clean facilities.
Sep 21, 2014
We always stay there on a trip. It's such a nice park an we like the long sites . We like staying there
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.