Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Apr 17, 2014
Great facilities and the nicest staff you could ever wish for.
Apr 08, 2014
Good campground, bad location. It's in the middle of nowhere. We stayed in the tent village and the bathrooms were too far away for my comfort. Guest service was exceptional.
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 27, 2014
We had a great time tenting at the KOA in Carlsbad. The bathrooms were very nice & clean. The whole facility was clean & well maintained. My only complaint is the hot water would run out in the showers by 9 or so. There were several mornings we had to settle for lukewarm showers. Which encouraged us to get up early to beat the rush. :)
Mar 20, 2014
Mar 19, 2014
This was a night stop on a road trip from Texas to California. We had stayed at this KOA on previous trips. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The facilities were clean, and the stay was restful.
Mar 16, 2014
Very friendly, helpful staff
Feb 18, 2014
There are floodlights from the restrooms/laundry facility that shine right on the entire tenting area all night. That, combined with the oil refineries smell, make this KOA, for me, an only-if-there's-nothing-else stop (which it was). On the up side, the restrooms/showers are impeccably clean and the grounds are well-kept.
Nov 15, 2013
What a great campground. The staff was supper friendly and very helpful. Thank you for a wonderful time.
Nov 15, 2013
We had a problem with the showers in the Womens restroom. The fine spray, although hot at the shower head, was cold by the time it reached a five foot tall body. It was a cold day and and a cold shower made us reluctant to rate this KOA as high as we did. Everything else was great.
Nov 08, 2013
Nov 02, 2013
Oct 26, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
Tent campers BEWARE. If you want to pay $32 to literally pitch your tent in the parking lot right next to the showers/laundry and entrance to the park then this is the place for you. Your tent will be lit up the entire night by lights, and you will get to hear every truck and RV as they enter/leave the park ALL NIGHT; they drive right by your tent. TENT CAMPERS, AVOID THIS KOA AT ALL COST!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We aren't quite sure why this guest felt the tenting area was in the parking lot. We do have lighting for security. Since the park is "out in the boonies" it would be extremely dark without any lights. Although we do have workers that arrive home late and leave early, it certainly isn't all night.
Oct 01, 2013
Nice park with plenty of amenities. Clean upgraded restrooms. Extensive gift shop. Tent site had trees but not much grass. Overall I was pleased with this KOA.
Sep 25, 2013
Great visit - friendly staff; clean, comfortable, quiet setting. I'd never stayed at a KOA before, but I now look forward to doing it again. Thanks!
Sep 22, 2013
Great, clean and most modern facilities found this trip. An outstanding KOA.
Sep 20, 2013
Great facilities but rather noisy from early hours in the morning at tent sites.
Sep 07, 2013
Wonderful, staff was awesome, helped us even after hours. Clean restrooms and showers. Had a great stay.
Aug 26, 2013
The campground was great and the people working there were extremely nice. My only complaint was that most of southern new mexico smelled like sulfur from all of the gas mines, but that is hardly anything the KOA could change. Great place, would definitely stay there again.
Aug 26, 2013
very nice facilities and great staff and food
Aug 24, 2013
Campgrounds and bathrooms clean. Friendly staff. Shower walls a bit dirty. Great location - it's quiet and dark.
Aug 23, 2013
Trucks driving past the campground area made it impossible to sleep past 5:30 a.m. water tastes terrible, oil well smell not pleasant.
Aug 18, 2013
I think the people in charge knew there was a problem with the flies before our stay but they have done nothing to get rid of them. Our campsite was infested with flies and we never even cooked there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Flies are a nuisance during certain times of the season. Wish we could solve the problem for our guests, but time is the only solution!
Aug 14, 2013
This koa was great. Bring yard guard spray (or some kind of fly repellent) for the flies if using a tent.
Aug 13, 2013
The only drawback I found was the flies inside the bathrooms.
Aug 12, 2013
Well, nice staff, and the clean facilities, but it is the loudest "campground" we have ever tried to sleep at. There are lights on all night long, the traffic from the road is loud and goes on all night long, and with all of the oilfield workers staying there, yes they get up at 4:00 AM to leave for work! Yes vehicles driving by your tent at 4:00. Oh, and the smell from refineries is great too!
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Not enough shade for non electric vehicle stays. Internet was extremely slow when I could get it to even to connect to the Internet. I could connect to the router without an issue.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The internet is the best we can get in our location. We are working on more shade, but it is difficult in the desert.
Aug 08, 2013
Tent sites were wide and open. Lots of fun activities for young and old alike.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We stayed at the Tent Village for two nights. Having access to water/electricity as well as close Showers/RR was great. It was the best "tenting" experience we've had. We'll definately be repeat customers.
Jul 31, 2013
Clean facilities, nice location, friendly caretakers.
Jul 31, 2013
This KOA is really geared towards campers with RV's. We tent-camped. We found the facilities to be clean and our kids had a great time in the pool, on the basketball court, and eating smores. However, the tent sites provided little in the way of privacy and quiet. For the first night, we stayed in the large field and awoke at 4:00 to what seemed like trucks on the verge of running through our tent
Jul 30, 2013
The campground was very clean and the caretakers were extremely friendly. We will definitely camp there again when we visit Carlsbad.
Jul 30, 2013
Nice facilities and very friendly staff, but we did not know that this campground was an hour from the national park.
Jul 30, 2013
The staff was superb and the campground was very nice but we stayed in a tent and were awakened at 4:30 am by a parade of diesel trucks exiting the campground and never did get back to sleep so I couldn't recommend this campground if you are tenting on a week night.
Jul 29, 2013
Nice, quiet campground with extremely friendly staff!
Jul 29, 2013
Wonderful campground. We were with a Boy Scout Troop and we used tent camping and cabins. Both were excellent!
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
We stayed in tent village. Extremely nice sites. Charged a bit more for a tent site than I thought should be charged.
Jul 22, 2013
This was the 1st KOA that I had ever stayed at. The people were very nice and friendly. The tent village was great. It was exceptionally clean, even the bathroom and shower. I am a fan and will stay at KOA on all of my vacations.
Jul 21, 2013
A family of 5 traveling with 2 adults and 3 kids, ages 3-8. We thought the employees at the campground were very kind, courteous and helpful. The pool was clean and cool. The park was very clean and felt secure. Bathrooms were exceptionally clean. The only drawback we felt was the layout of the park. We were glad we opted for the tent village because the tent sites were out in the open with no c
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
It's a wonderful place. Though something has to be done about the long term people that work from there. Having all the 0430-0530 work traffic drive out in their diesel trucks on a gravel road past every camper and especially those in their head lights in Tent Village is just wrong. As camper I will not return. This is the second trip to NM I've stayed there, but not again.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
We stayed in the tent village. It was everything we were hoping for, and extremely comfortable for our family. Our parking spot was right in front of our tent site, and it site was very clean.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.