Carlsbad KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

Email

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 15, 2017
The barbeque ribs were amazing and the staff super friendly and helpful
Aug 11, 2017
The campsites for tent campers where placed on the road that ever car drives in and out on. So at 1 am when a car drives 5 feet from your head you wake up. And there are plenty of people leaving all night long.Also the tent camping is placed right next to the load building which has big led lights shining right at the tent sites, so it was bright all night.
Aug 10, 2017
Easy checking in. Very clean campgrounds and facilities.
Aug 10, 2017
Really nice facilities and close to lake. Tent sites are close to camp ground entrance and are loud with foot traffic and RVs leaving camp.
Aug 09, 2017
The place is awesome. One thing we were a little upset about is that no one told us that the sprinklers would go off at night and to turn the button off so some of our things got soaked.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
The campground was very clean. We really liked the tent village. Nice restrooms as well.
Aug 07, 2017
Excellent facilities, very clean and well kept, fun and interesting activities as well. They do need to be more careful about putting families with very young children next to adult couples.
Aug 05, 2017
Helpful staff, clean facility and not too crowded. I definitely recommend staying at this location.
Aug 05, 2017
Overall our first experience staying at a KOA was not great. Covered tent site was poorly maintained. Bathrooms/showers were clean. Pool and office closed too early. Carlsbad Caverns located 35+ miles away. KOA should really be named Seven Rivers KOA. This was misleading. In short, it's better to stay in a hotel rather than camping if planning on going to CCNP.
Aug 02, 2017
Better than any hotel
Aug 01, 2017
Clean facilities, friendly staff
Aug 01, 2017
We have stayed at many KOAs and this is the cleanest one yet. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and the staff were extremely friendly. Thanks for making our stay very comfortable.
Jul 29, 2017
Facilities were clean, staff was very friendly. However as a camper, we were extremely disappointed. We have stayed in dozens of campsites across the country and this was the only one that we couldn't sleep at. All of the campsites are in the same small unshaded area directly next to the main gravel road and floodlights for the compound. This is not a campground that caters to campers.
Jul 27, 2017
Staff is clearly good at what they do. Camp barbecue was spot on. Tent site was okay, about what I expected for desert location.
Jul 27, 2017
Fun! Clean! Friendly!
Jul 24, 2017
Love the idea of the tent village. The six sided structure was great for privacy, but some campers tended to ignore the quiet time. Bathrooms were clean and modern and the store had a good selection. Staff was very helpful. Got there at closing time, but they were still busy, but not rushing folks.
Jul 24, 2017
Very clean Bathrooms, and I am talking about the men's, so I can only imagine the women's was just as nice if not nicer. A very friendly staff and very well kept campgrounds!
Jul 22, 2017
I loved the tent village. What a great idea! The game room was fun, but closed a little too early for us. The bathrooms were clean, though the dumpsters were overflowing.
Jul 16, 2017
Nice park. Tent village was great with covered area, electrical and water and a light which helps setting up in the dark.
Jul 13, 2017
We absolutely loved our stay at your campground! It was private (stayed in the divided tent shelter), clean (really nice bathrooms and well-maintained showers), had a well-stocked store and the staff was kind and helpful.
Jul 13, 2017
Clean restrooms and showers. Camp store was well stocked. I would recommend sweeping the cement pads in the tent village covered areas on a regular basis. Staff all very courteous - Thank you!
Jul 13, 2017
The staff is very accommodating and caring! We had a wind storm and had to sleep in the recreation room. The staff made sure everyone was comfortable and supplied us with sheets, pillows. They did not leave our site until everyone was settled and comfortable.
Jul 12, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
Camp ground was clean and staff was very friendly. We had a wonderful time staying at the Carlsbad KOA.
Jul 06, 2017
Staff was super friendly and helpful. Game room, laundry room and other amenities are excellent. Tent sites are not that great as they are located in a very busy area (right next to basketball court and tether ball) Sites are loud even after "quiet hours" so makes sleeping, especially for kids difficult.
Jul 06, 2017
Staff was amazing and they care about your camping experience. Shelly went out of her way to help my family of 6 to keep us safe and comfortable!
Jul 04, 2017
Great place. I tent camped and would like to see more grass and shade on the tent area. Everything else is great.
Jul 03, 2017
The amenities were nice. Bathrooms were clean, laundry facility had everything working. Could make they tent sites a little softer.
Jul 03, 2017
I want to thank all the personal that helped us feel better and safe thru out the dust Storm.
Jun 30, 2017
Our only complaint was that the very bright lights on the backside of the office building were aimed at the tent sites making sleep VERY difficult. Everything else was great
Jun 25, 2017
Bathrooms were clean, lawn-size checkers were fun, needed 2 or 3 horsehoe pits... 1 was just not enough. Quiet at night and the star gazing was beautiful. They also had a retired NASA engineer with a large telescope the night we were there. He gave a good presentation and let everyone look through his telescope. Very cool!
Jun 22, 2017
Jun 22, 2017
Great, friendly staff. Pool was essential in100+ defree days. Great recommendations for things tondo close by. Wish all the tent sites had shade.
Jun 19, 2017
Great site, group activities were a nice bonus.
Jun 16, 2017
The people and staff were very nice. All areas were very clean. More flies than I wanted to see. Had to buy fly tape and a fly swatter to keep them at bay.
Jun 15, 2017
Clean, friendly will be back
Jun 14, 2017
Stayed two nights in the tent village. The employees were so welcoming and made you feel like you were home. My kids enjoyed spending down time in the rec room and at the pool. It's about a 40 minute drive to the Caverns but it was totally worth it. We'd definitely come back!
Jun 14, 2017
The tent village was set up in a neat way, but our noisy neighbors made it slightly annoying. We did enjoy the spot and all the amenities though including the game room, wifi, laundry and pool. The staff was very friendly.
Jun 10, 2017
Great campsite with wonderful amenities, especially the showers
Jun 07, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
There were some really nice amenities at this KOA. We enjoyed the clean pool, basketball courts, Gameroom, clean bathrooms, General Store and friendly staff. The main issue for us was that we were in a tent and the gas smell combined with some loud Machinery near the tent area made it really difficult to sleep. I think if you are in a camper away from the office, it would great.
Jun 06, 2017
Extremely friendly staff. Couldn't be happier. This is our second stay here in the last year and we will be back again. Great job all!
Jun 05, 2017
We had such a great time the staff was super friendly and helpful
Jun 04, 2017
Very friendly staff !!
Jun 03, 2017
GREAT PLACE TO STAY. CLEAN FACILITIES, FREINDLY, HELPFUL STAFF AND BEAUTIFUL VIEW
Jun 02, 2017
Tent camped for three nights. Site was fine, staff were great! Only complaint is the location. It was 17 miles from Carlsbad and close to one hour away from the Caverns. Back and forth , back and forth.
Jun 01, 2017
Clean, friendly, best spot in the area for tent sites with real showers and clean bathrooms
May 31, 2017
Camp allowed loud music played by one camper to invade the privacy of many others.
May 31, 2017
My family and I really enjoy staying at koa's. We have stayed at numerous ones in many different states and have enjoyed them all and we always look for one to stay in whenever weI travel. I have to say all of them have been wonderful. I only have had one bad experience and that is at the koa in Alamogordo, New Mexico; the staff and manager were very rude and not friendly at all.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award