Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Jun 25, 2015
Best tent camping at a KOA we've experienced. Clean and well maintained
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
This was our second stay at the Carlsbad, NM KOA. This is a great site that is well maintained, with friendly staff, and close to lots of fun activities. We'd definitely stay here again.
Jun 22, 2015
Bathrooms were clean but very cold. Grounds were nice but bring your own coffee they want $2.00 for a $.50 keurig cup. Be sure to bring ear plugs because people are driving in at all hours and they have birds that like to serenade you with songs at 0200. The staff is very friendly and informative.
Jun 20, 2015
Nice campground and mostly nice campground personal however, the general store had every little reall food and the BBQ food served on grounds was pre made and re heated in the microwave. The bathrooms/showers did not feel clean and smelled like smoked BBQ all the time.
Jun 20, 2015
Wonderful experience... Staff, facility,and the BBQ! Our sincere thanks... Will try additional KOA's in the future.
Jun 18, 2015
Friendly and safe
Jun 17, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Great facilities for kids & families.
Jun 14, 2015
Friendly staff. Very nice restroom and shower facilities. Nice place to pitch a tent.
Jun 14, 2015
Very budget friendly, & the staff members were all very friendly & helpful. The campgrounds & shared facilities were well-maintained & easily accessible. The location was perfectly situated within almost equal distances of the major area attractions. My teenage boys said this was the best vacation we've ever taken, & I must agree! We look forward to visiting more KOA Kampgrounds in the future!
Jun 12, 2015
We appreciated the always very clean restrooms and neat grounds. Also accamodations for tenters was great.
Jun 08, 2015
Excellent facilities, beautiful views, extremely nice and friendly staff.
Jun 08, 2015
Ya'll were great!! Thank you again for toasting our bagels!!
Jun 07, 2015
Nice clean safe campground not too far from Carsbad caverns.
Jun 07, 2015
This is the best KOA I have ever stayed. The bathrooms are the best.
Jun 07, 2015
Nice place to stay.
Jun 04, 2015
This is a great place to stay, but too far away from Carlsbad Caverns. There are several places closer if you're going for the caverns. If you're visiting the surrounding area (which I hear is beautiful with many sights to explore), this is a great location!
Jun 03, 2015
Campground was nice, but the grass at the tent village was virtually non-existent. There were several campers and one group allowed their dogs to run free around the area. Another group arrived after midnight and were hammering in tent stakes at the late hour. Would be nice if the campsite cleaned the cobwebs and dirt from the storage area and picnic tables regularly
May 29, 2015
Great place, clean,convenient and the staff could not have been nicer. So good I would work here!
May 27, 2015
Very nice & quiet. Staff was very friendly. Really enjoyed our stay
May 26, 2015
Friendly n helpful staff , extreamley clean, awesome amenities, could not be more impressed
May 24, 2015
Very clean,nice people, only complaint was there wasn't any hot water when I took a shower at 8 in the morning
May 23, 2015
A one night stay! All staff members were very friendly and helpful and all of my questions were answered quickly and professionally. An added bonus was the fantastic BBQ that was prepared onsite! All of the facilities were clean and well maintained.
May 18, 2015
The staff is very friendly and the facilities are clean. The campsites are nice and it is well run. It is a nice starting point to go to Carlsbad Caverns. However, it is close to the highway and a little noisy. It is also close to oil pumps and one can smell the sulfur almost every night.
May 14, 2015
Nice place - great barbecue and nice staff. Our only suggestion would be to have a toilet at the Tent Village for in the middle of the night. It's a long walk to the big restroom in the dark. Only needs to be a small toilet.
May 11, 2015
Great place to stay! Staff was very friendly, the entire site was very clean and taken care of. I also liked the fact that the campsite was patrolled regularly.
May 02, 2015
The unique tent village was the perfect tent site and I would happily camp there again.
Apr 25, 2015
Carlsbad koa was very nice to stay at, we really liked thir tent city. The staff were kind & helpful.
Apr 19, 2015
Apr 17, 2015
Excellent! Loved the tent village and the barbecue dinner! Lovely restrooms and laundry facility also liked the car vacuum as we checked out!
Apr 15, 2015
The BBQ dinner was really good!!
Apr 13, 2015
Apr 12, 2015
Staff and facilities are great. Very helpful in all areas. The park is extremely clean and well laid out and my grandson enjoyed the bunnies.
Apr 11, 2015
The campground was very clean and well maintained. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly.
Apr 09, 2015
Wonderful campsite. Friendly and clean. Really enjoyed it.
Apr 08, 2015
Friendly staff, nice and clean facilities! Just a little farther from Carlsbad than I thought, and a little oilfield stink depending on the direction of the wind (but that's the smell of money, right?)
Apr 05, 2015
The roadway is to close to the tents area.
Apr 04, 2015
Great restrooms!
Mar 29, 2015
Mar 20, 2015
Thank you for having a dog park. My puppy loved it. I have two suggestions, 1 build bathrooms closer to tent city, have more activities like game nights or movie nights etc. Store was a little skimpy.
Mar 16, 2015
Staff was great we always have fun staying here. See you soon :)
Mar 15, 2015
Not a good choice for tent camping. We had paid for the fancier tent spots unaware that they would actually be closer to the very loud highway, and the "privacy fence" would amplify the sound of the trucks passing all night long, as well as force other campers into tight proximity. The location of the deluxe sites was also further from the bathroom facilities and well out of wifi range.
Mar 11, 2015
This was a particularly nice campground, even compared to other KOAs! The people there were extremely helpful and friendly!
Mar 05, 2015
Very helpful staff who gave good advice on routes to travel/avoid. Although location was isolated, everything at campground was well-organized and efficient. Staff very helpful with all we needed.
Feb 22, 2015
Over priced rip off 280 dollars for one week of camping is a joke.
Feb 17, 2015
Feb 11, 2015
I am super impressed with my entire KOA experience. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I liked it so much I stayed at another KOA the next night on my trip.
Oct 29, 2014
Nice KOA. Has electrical outlets for tent camping which is great. Farther away from the caverns than we thought it would be.
Oct 26, 2014
For tent camping this campground was very noisy as travelers drove in and out close to the tents. Otherwise the bathrooms were exceptionally clean and the area felt secure. It was further away from the Caverns than we expected.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.