Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Jul 29, 2015
Awesome campground and fantastic staff! Have the bbq!!!!
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
very good
Jul 24, 2015
We were disappointed that the tent site was not covered as it appeared in the picture online. We also thought that it would be closer to our destination of the Carlsbad Caverns. Because of our late return from The caverns we were unable to use the pool.
Jul 22, 2015
Very friendly and helpful. Assisted us with providing an extension cord as our was not long enough. Very clean, beautifully kept and even had food service. Only thing was women's shower - had a very cool shower due to not enough hot water. But place is impeccable and very friendly!
Jul 21, 2015
Lots of space. Quiet. Far enough away from the main highway. I did not like how the tenting area was right next to the main entrance. I could not sleep in my truck camper in the tenting area (no "pull-in" tent area with electric was available). I ended up parking in the main parking lot and sleeping there. The main building was too industrial looking.
Jul 20, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay and thought the kampgrounds were well maintained. There were many things at the site and in the area we didn't explore and so are planning to come back the first chance we get! By the way, what does 7RCRV on the back of all the chairs in the game room stand for? Thanks!!
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Worst stay ever.Its right beside a gas processing plant and smells horrible. Tent sites are beside gravel road, waking sleepers with every vehicle passing. We had 2 adults/5 kids, but sites "could only allow for 6", so we had to rent 2 sites...even though there was plenty of room. Pool closed with sight of clouds, and staff refused to open. Showers are horrible too.
Jul 18, 2015
Friendly helpful staff- especially Sorche! Pool is wonderful. Grounds clean. Well-stocked store. Free ping-pong, TV/DVD player in activity room.
Jul 17, 2015
Although our stay was cut short due to unforeseen circumstances, they were tremendously helpful and considerate in dealing with the crisis and offering their emotional support and assistance. Thank you all!
Jul 13, 2015
Great facility and friendly staff. Loved the tent village for our family stay.
Jul 13, 2015
The campground itself was fine. We had a horrible experience with very loud, disrespectful people. There didn't seem to be any enforcement of quiet hours, so there was music blaring and people screaming well past 11pm. I've decided that we're just not KOA people.
Jul 13, 2015
Great facilities, friendly staff who were extremely organized. First-rate service!
Jul 13, 2015
Too much noise.
Jul 13, 2015
Sobepasó mis expecativas. Le hicieron falta algunos detalles como instalaciones para lavar platos y sartenes pero el resto de las instalaciones muy limppias y el personal muy atento y amigable. Si lo recomiendo!!
Jul 12, 2015
It was great. Nice showers, wifi, helpful staff. The sites for tents are really close together which is my only complaint.
Jul 11, 2015
Love the koi pond and bikes. Bathrooms support clean and smell nice! Wish the pool was bigger.
Jul 10, 2015
Upon arrival the staff was so friendly and welcoming! We even had our names on the Welcome Board, which was pretty neat. We were personally driven to our camp sight, and also given a map with an explanation of where everything else was located. The whole facility was extremely clean! We purchased goods from the campground store which was reasonably priced, the pool was refreshing! Loved our stay!
Jul 07, 2015
The staff was very helpful and friendly...thank you!
Jul 07, 2015
I had a quick overnight camp with my daughters and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the facilities and people were. They had everything we needed: clean showers, rec room, BBQ, store, laundry. Go to place for Carlsbad Caverns rest stop.
Jul 07, 2015
Great campground. Friendly staff, clean restrooms, will stay here again.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
Huge thank you to the staff warning me about some area road conditions!! Very clean facility.
Jul 02, 2015
Wish it were a bit closer to the caverns, but it was a good place to stay. Liked the Friday-night smores.
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Staff was personable and helpful. Services were more than adequate. Our site was very reasonable for our camping experience. Thank you!
Jul 01, 2015
The "Tent village" is a nice idea, but not properly portrayed on the website when reserving. Never was I aware that I would be sleeping 4 feet from other families who let their screaming children play outside the tent and around the camp area at 10PM.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Anna and the staff made us feel welcomed and like family. Site VERY clean. Looking forward to visiting again!
Jun 29, 2015
Easy to find! Friendly people!
Jun 25, 2015
Best tent camping at a KOA we've experienced. Clean and well maintained
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
This was our second stay at the Carlsbad, NM KOA. This is a great site that is well maintained, with friendly staff, and close to lots of fun activities. We'd definitely stay here again.
Jun 22, 2015
Bathrooms were clean but very cold. Grounds were nice but bring your own coffee they want $2.00 for a $.50 keurig cup. Be sure to bring ear plugs because people are driving in at all hours and they have birds that like to serenade you with songs at 0200. The staff is very friendly and informative.
Jun 20, 2015
Nice campground and mostly nice campground personal however, the general store had every little reall food and the BBQ food served on grounds was pre made and re heated in the microwave. The bathrooms/showers did not feel clean and smelled like smoked BBQ all the time.
Jun 20, 2015
Wonderful experience... Staff, facility,and the BBQ! Our sincere thanks... Will try additional KOA's in the future.
Jun 18, 2015
Friendly and safe
Jun 17, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Great facilities for kids & families.
Jun 14, 2015
Friendly staff. Very nice restroom and shower facilities. Nice place to pitch a tent.
Jun 14, 2015
Very budget friendly, & the staff members were all very friendly & helpful. The campgrounds & shared facilities were well-maintained & easily accessible. The location was perfectly situated within almost equal distances of the major area attractions. My teenage boys said this was the best vacation we've ever taken, & I must agree! We look forward to visiting more KOA Kampgrounds in the future!
Jun 12, 2015
We appreciated the always very clean restrooms and neat grounds. Also accamodations for tenters was great.
Jun 08, 2015
Excellent facilities, beautiful views, extremely nice and friendly staff.
Jun 08, 2015
Ya'll were great!! Thank you again for toasting our bagels!!
Jun 07, 2015
Nice clean safe campground not too far from Carsbad caverns.
Jun 07, 2015
This is the best KOA I have ever stayed. The bathrooms are the best.
Jun 07, 2015
Nice place to stay.
Jun 04, 2015
This is a great place to stay, but too far away from Carlsbad Caverns. There are several places closer if you're going for the caverns. If you're visiting the surrounding area (which I hear is beautiful with many sights to explore), this is a great location!
Jun 03, 2015
Campground was nice, but the grass at the tent village was virtually non-existent. There were several campers and one group allowed their dogs to run free around the area. Another group arrived after midnight and were hammering in tent stakes at the late hour. Would be nice if the campsite cleaned the cobwebs and dirt from the storage area and picnic tables regularly
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.