Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Aug 30, 2015
Wonderful staff! Very nice tent area, clean bathrooms, nice pool, would 100% recommend!!
Aug 29, 2015
friendly, helpful staff. provided useful information. accommodated me.
Aug 28, 2015
nice peapol ,and very educated and very clean service area
Aug 27, 2015
Very nice and helpful staff. Clean grounds and showers.
Aug 23, 2015
Great base camp for attractions both north (Roswell, Artesia) and south (Carlsbad Caverns, Sitting Bull Falls). The Tent Village was great for our extended stay with electric and water. The facilities were well-maintained and the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the surrounding areas.
Aug 23, 2015
Bathrooms were clean and we had a great dinner the first night of our two night stay.
Aug 23, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. We will enjoy returning to count rabbits again.
Aug 19, 2015
Staff was very friendly and knowledgable. I liked that you offered movie night and food delivered to campsite. Wish we had time to take advantage. Only complaint would be that one of the womens showers was out of order.
Aug 18, 2015
Indoor activity room but the kitchen made it smell. The pool was closed for the entire afternoon b/c thunder sounded once. Way too far from Carlsbad. Very nice playgrounds with shades. Bathrooms nice too. Terrible gas smell all night and in the morning.
Aug 14, 2015
Loved the tenting area! Friendly welcome, very clean baths. Will recommend to all I know who travel to the region.
Aug 12, 2015
Nice little kampground. The typical amenities you're accustomed to with KOA. We were tent camping with 2 kids so can't speak for the RV setups. Fire pits and water. Grass was not kept up well so most of our site was hard packed dirt. The real disappointment was the exterior lighting. We hoped to enjoy the night sky but were blinded by halogen lights on the building right next to the tents.
Aug 10, 2015
The tent village is an awesome concept. It provides power and shelter to tenters. However, the location of the tent village is not good. It sits right on the entry/exit for the park. Every time someone drove out of the park in the middle of the night, their lights shined right into our tent the sound was extremely loud. We got hardly any sleep. We left and went to a hotel for the second night.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
Clean campground and friendly staff. Facilities close astonishingly early. Cannot use game room or pool after 7:45 - puts a real damper on evening possibilities. Also, hard to sleep as a tenter. Bright light over (locked) gameroom door floods tent sites, and proximity to exit road feels like sleeping next to a highway.
Aug 07, 2015
Friendly staff made this solo traveler feel right at home! ALso, the BBQ dinner was an excellent added perk!
Aug 05, 2015
Being in a tent, the nearby highway was busy and loud. Plus there was vehicle traffic driving in the campsite at all hours. This was my first KOA experience and I did not like how close the tent sites were to each other. Felt like I was camping with the other people.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Clean. Quiet. Safe. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. We actually locked out keys in our car when trying to leave and they did all they could to help us find a locksmith who would come all the way out there on a Sunday morning. Not a single complaint.
Aug 01, 2015
Very friendly staff, clean grounds and facilities. This is not a"rugged" camping experience.
Jul 29, 2015
Awesome campground and fantastic staff! Have the bbq!!!!
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
very good
Jul 24, 2015
We were disappointed that the tent site was not covered as it appeared in the picture online. We also thought that it would be closer to our destination of the Carlsbad Caverns. Because of our late return from The caverns we were unable to use the pool.
Jul 22, 2015
Very friendly and helpful. Assisted us with providing an extension cord as our was not long enough. Very clean, beautifully kept and even had food service. Only thing was women's shower - had a very cool shower due to not enough hot water. But place is impeccable and very friendly!
Jul 21, 2015
Lots of space. Quiet. Far enough away from the main highway. I did not like how the tenting area was right next to the main entrance. I could not sleep in my truck camper in the tenting area (no "pull-in" tent area with electric was available). I ended up parking in the main parking lot and sleeping there. The main building was too industrial looking.
Jul 20, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay and thought the kampgrounds were well maintained. There were many things at the site and in the area we didn't explore and so are planning to come back the first chance we get! By the way, what does 7RCRV on the back of all the chairs in the game room stand for? Thanks!!
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Worst stay ever.Its right beside a gas processing plant and smells horrible. Tent sites are beside gravel road, waking sleepers with every vehicle passing. We had 2 adults/5 kids, but sites "could only allow for 6", so we had to rent 2 sites...even though there was plenty of room. Pool closed with sight of clouds, and staff refused to open. Showers are horrible too.
Jul 18, 2015
Friendly helpful staff- especially Sorche! Pool is wonderful. Grounds clean. Well-stocked store. Free ping-pong, TV/DVD player in activity room.
Jul 17, 2015
Although our stay was cut short due to unforeseen circumstances, they were tremendously helpful and considerate in dealing with the crisis and offering their emotional support and assistance. Thank you all!
Jul 13, 2015
Great facility and friendly staff. Loved the tent village for our family stay.
Jul 13, 2015
The campground itself was fine. We had a horrible experience with very loud, disrespectful people. There didn't seem to be any enforcement of quiet hours, so there was music blaring and people screaming well past 11pm. I've decided that we're just not KOA people.
Jul 13, 2015
Great facilities, friendly staff who were extremely organized. First-rate service!
Jul 13, 2015
Too much noise.
Jul 13, 2015
Sobepasó mis expecativas. Le hicieron falta algunos detalles como instalaciones para lavar platos y sartenes pero el resto de las instalaciones muy limppias y el personal muy atento y amigable. Si lo recomiendo!!
Jul 12, 2015
It was great. Nice showers, wifi, helpful staff. The sites for tents are really close together which is my only complaint.
Jul 11, 2015
Love the koi pond and bikes. Bathrooms support clean and smell nice! Wish the pool was bigger.
Jul 10, 2015
Upon arrival the staff was so friendly and welcoming! We even had our names on the Welcome Board, which was pretty neat. We were personally driven to our camp sight, and also given a map with an explanation of where everything else was located. The whole facility was extremely clean! We purchased goods from the campground store which was reasonably priced, the pool was refreshing! Loved our stay!
Jul 07, 2015
The staff was very helpful and friendly...thank you!
Jul 07, 2015
I had a quick overnight camp with my daughters and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the facilities and people were. They had everything we needed: clean showers, rec room, BBQ, store, laundry. Go to place for Carlsbad Caverns rest stop.
Jul 07, 2015
Great campground. Friendly staff, clean restrooms, will stay here again.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
Huge thank you to the staff warning me about some area road conditions!! Very clean facility.
Jul 02, 2015
Wish it were a bit closer to the caverns, but it was a good place to stay. Liked the Friday-night smores.
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Staff was personable and helpful. Services were more than adequate. Our site was very reasonable for our camping experience. Thank you!
Jul 01, 2015
The "Tent village" is a nice idea, but not properly portrayed on the website when reserving. Never was I aware that I would be sleeping 4 feet from other families who let their screaming children play outside the tent and around the camp area at 10PM.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Anna and the staff made us feel welcomed and like family. Site VERY clean. Looking forward to visiting again!
Jun 29, 2015
Easy to find! Friendly people!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.