Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Jul 15, 2014
Nice place. We actually stayed an extra night here.
Jul 13, 2014
This is a great campground even by KOA standards. It's very clean (bathrooms, pool area, campsites etc...). The employees were helpful and friendly. Tip: If you are tent camping sites 1 & 2 are shadier then the others and perfect for side-by-side tenting.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
everyone working at this KOA was incredibly sweet. had a really nice time staying here
Jul 03, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Very nice place to stay. Everything was clean and well kept up. The only 2 downfalls were that the primitive camping area had very few trees and the staff was a bit rude. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay so long as you avoided having to speak to employees any more than absolutely necessary and if you are staying in the primitive areas be prepared and have a canopy of some sort.
Jul 01, 2014
It was a much nicer experience than I was expecting! I've never stayed at a KOA before, but I will definitely stay again! Our campsite was right next to the bathrooms and not far from the pool. The bathrooms were very spacious and clean! They also had several outlets along a ledge, which was convenient! Even though we were sleeping outside, it felt safer than a hotel!
Jun 30, 2014
It was hottttttttt this weekend, but everyone in our group had a great time. Glad there was a pool and the staff was very friendly and accomodating.
Jun 29, 2014
Ad for this koa was misrepresented. It was clean, but the tent sites were at best poor
Jun 26, 2014
Everyone was kind and helpful. The facilities were clean and easy to use.
Jun 23, 2014
A great camp ground. Play ground for the kids would have been nice.
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 21, 2014
The people were friendly and helpful with information we needed.
Jun 17, 2014
Good access to the restrooms which were very clean.
Jun 16, 2014
Clean camp ground. Well marked with highway signs. Fairly priced.
Jun 15, 2014
Nice place but, customer service problems. When I was not able to connect to the internet I was told that it was my issue. Finally was told by maintenance not to expect much from the internet. Pool closed at 7p when packed with people. Common room closed at 7p also. Line of people needing things in the morning, but nothing opened until 9, after everybody left.
Jun 14, 2014
Clean and enjoyable
Jun 10, 2014
beautiful stars I've ever seen at night.
Jun 09, 2014
Friendly staff and clean environment. Only downside was the luke warm shower in the morning. Other than that a wonderful and enjoyable experience. Thanks KOA
Jun 07, 2014
The water/electric camping sites were in a pie shaped area extremely close to one another. Myself and my girlfriend were kept awake till around 230am by 6 20 something military kids. The police arrived at the campsite to confront the 6 but when they found out that they were military they handled them with kid gloves and instead buddied up to them. The result was no sleep for either of us. Ripoff
Jun 03, 2014
The campgound is very nice, restrooms clean. The only issue we had is the sprinkler system on our tent-site going off in the middle of the night making all our gear and sleeping bags inside the tent soaking wet. Because of that our neigbours had a bad night too. Without that I would rated this campgrond a 4
Jun 02, 2014
Although the location is fairly remote and not in a great place, the staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.
Jun 02, 2014
May 30, 2014
with where the tent camping is located, it made it near impossible to get a good night sleep because of all the traffic driving by at all hours of the night.
May 28, 2014
Thanks for a wonderful stay. Fabulous staff and great accommodations.
May 28, 2014
Location is away from light pollution from the city, which is good. Noise level was an issue due to Trek America being a reoccurring visitor which are normally young adults. Only four showers for women when Trek America is visiting equals hot water shortage. Very friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable prices. Tent sites too close to entrance which means road noise. Nature is all around!
May 27, 2014
May 26, 2014
Had a fantastic time! Facilities were clean and the staff went above and beyond when we had weather related challenges with our tent. We will definitely recommend this property to anyone traveling to the Carlsbad area!
May 24, 2014
May 22, 2014
Clean, wonderful, sweet people and the rabbits made my son's day.
May 21, 2014
The staff was great, but the smell from the gas/ oil fields when you are in a tent affects your stay. Nice feature is private, fenced in tent sites that helped with wind. Enjoyed bunnies, birds and ground squirrels. Snakes were not yet awake! Far to the bathroom from the sheltered tent sites (a bike ride away).
May 18, 2014
Campground was clean, people nice. But internet was almost non-exsitent, important when you've been on the road. the one Bathroom they had was quite a distance
May 11, 2014
Everything was perfect. The grounds were clean and well maintained. The employees/staff made a big impact towards the awesome experience we had! Thank you all!
May 03, 2014
Wind blew down my tent, so I slept in the car. Tenters should be aware that it gets windy in the spring there. Restrooms were the best I have ever seen- look brand new.
Apr 23, 2014
If you plan on actually tent camping here, DO NOT DO IT!!!! The tent area is small and cramped, the noise ordinance is not enforced and you are on top of eachother. The ladies inside are RUDE. Not helpful and di not opt in for the horrible bbq. It's disgusting and waaaay overpriced.
Apr 18, 2014
Stayed specifically to see the cavers and they were spectacular. Campground and staff were great.
Apr 17, 2014
Great facilities and the nicest staff you could ever wish for.
Apr 08, 2014
Good campground, bad location. It's in the middle of nowhere. We stayed in the tent village and the bathrooms were too far away for my comfort. Guest service was exceptional.
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 27, 2014
We had a great time tenting at the KOA in Carlsbad. The bathrooms were very nice & clean. The whole facility was clean & well maintained. My only complaint is the hot water would run out in the showers by 9 or so. There were several mornings we had to settle for lukewarm showers. Which encouraged us to get up early to beat the rush. :)
Mar 20, 2014
Mar 19, 2014
This was a night stop on a road trip from Texas to California. We had stayed at this KOA on previous trips. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The facilities were clean, and the stay was restful.
Mar 16, 2014
Very friendly, helpful staff
Feb 18, 2014
There are floodlights from the restrooms/laundry facility that shine right on the entire tenting area all night. That, combined with the oil refineries smell, make this KOA, for me, an only-if-there's-nothing-else stop (which it was). On the up side, the restrooms/showers are impeccably clean and the grounds are well-kept.
Nov 15, 2013
What a great campground. The staff was supper friendly and very helpful. Thank you for a wonderful time.
Nov 15, 2013
We had a problem with the showers in the Womens restroom. The fine spray, although hot at the shower head, was cold by the time it reached a five foot tall body. It was a cold day and and a cold shower made us reluctant to rate this KOA as high as we did. Everything else was great.
Nov 08, 2013
Nov 02, 2013
Oct 26, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.