Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 02, 2013
Cabin was beautiful and very clean. As was the rest of the campground. Staff was very friendly. Will more than likely be staying here again.
Jun 02, 2013
Stayed only for one night with tent, nice sight but ground was pretty hard to get the nails in, close to restrooms, which were clean and functioning good, and shop as well as pool. A bit further away from the caverns then we thought (about one hr drive one way)
Jun 02, 2013
Jun 02, 2013
Jun 02, 2013
Everything was fine.
Jun 02, 2013
Very dirty. Poorly maintained. All dirt--no gravel. Close by, MASSIVE security lights shined in all night. We love KOA's. This is one of the 2 worst we've been to--the other one was at Jackson Hole.
Jun 02, 2013
The only minor hiccup in our stay was sprinklers coming on and soaking us in our tent. However, we did arrive late and didn't know there was a shutoff. Found it quickly at 2am. Otherwise, loved our stay and hope to stay again in the near future. Best KOA bathrooms we have ever been in. We also loved the innovative tent area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We appreciated our guest's patience with the sprinkler issue. We are working hard to be sure this doesn't happen to anyone else.
Jun 01, 2013
The KOA was great it was just further from Carlsbad Caverns than I expected. I loved the cabin and being away from town however. The staff was awesome, the facilities were very clean. Loved having the barbeque dinner delivered directly to the cabin. I would definitely stay here again. We looked around the area and this is definitely the best camping and RV park that I saw in the area.
Jun 01, 2013
Very clean, nice stay people were helpful and friendly. Would stay again if I was in the area.
Jun 01, 2013
People were very friendly and the park very clean.We stayed here to go to Carlsbad caverns and it was farther away than we thought but worth the drive especialy after looking at the other parks.Would come back.
May 31, 2013
Very expensive for being so far away from the Caverns. And for that price we would have at least liked some shade trees for relief from the heat and a reasonably close garbage can
May 31, 2013
Very nice.
May 31, 2013
We were very impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed the stay.
May 30, 2013
Although a brief stay, we liked the camp design and very much enjoyed the BarBQ dinner!Everyone was very friendly.
May 30, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Almost no shady area to get out of extreme heat/wind. Tent site was large & had a fire pit (which was great), the pool was great to cool off, disappointed with the dinners we bought both nights (kinda pricey for what we got) NOISY with traffic leaving at 4:30am both mornings. Not 100% sure we will be back....
May 30, 2013
May 30, 2013
May 29, 2013
we will be back
May 29, 2013
May 29, 2013
As expected, the staff is always exceptional, the camp sites clean and comfortable and the amenities really good. Particularly like the delivered BBQ meals (great food) and breakfast every morning in the community hall. Can't wait to go back!
May 29, 2013
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
Cute cabin, very clean. Convenient to have food prepared for us. Swung on front porch to watch sunset & stars. Liked the feeling of being out in the middle of nowhere, yet all the amenities.
May 28, 2013
Extremely helpful & friendly. Very clean & good food.
May 28, 2013
Great place to stay to visit the caverns. Wi-Fi connectivity could have been a lot better.
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
The campground was very nice. We really enjoyed the pool and the clean, quiet atmosphere.
May 28, 2013
Friendly atmosphere and very quiet campsite.
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
We stayed in the tent village which has fences around each site. The kids from the other sites kept entering ours. The sites in that area are too close together. The all you can eat pancake breakfast included 2 pancakes. The system needs to managed better. It is an hour drive from the caverns and a 40 min drive from Sitting Bull Falls, so it's a bit out of the way. Very clean facilities.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for any miscommunication; although the pancakes are huge, the "all you can eat" pancakes are truly that. We wish our guest had indicated they wanted more, and unless we were closing for the morning, we would certainly have accommodated them.
May 27, 2013
The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Our cabin was wonderful and the kids loved the bunk beds. the food available for delivery at the campground was good and it was very nice to be able to borrow games and such from the front office. We will definitely be back! A special thank you to Diane for all your help and your smiling face.
May 27, 2013
The deluxe cabin was amazingly comfortable, clean, and reasonably priced. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pancake breakfast was delicious!!! Thanks for a wonderful stay.
May 27, 2013
Staff was outstanding. Loved Boss. Water was extremely hard and there was little shade.
May 26, 2013
Modern showers, spacious tent spaces, quiet environment, friendly people. Excellent stay!
May 26, 2013
Outlying restroom was not AC. I took a shower there and needed another by the time I was through. BBQ dinner was a great extra.
May 25, 2013
The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to tell us about all the great things to do in the area. We also had barbecue, it was awesome.
May 25, 2013
Very beautiful in a desolate way. Convenient to the caverns as well as Artesia and Roswell. It smells a bit funky sometimes at night (oil fields and sulpher). Very nice people.
May 24, 2013
Loved the campground, pull-in RV sites, and especially the dog park!
May 24, 2013
One of the nicest campgrounds I have ever stayed at. All the employees where very friendly and helpful. Thank You
May 24, 2013
absolutely beautiful campground. WIFI was more like WOE FI. Great pool and bathrooms.
May 24, 2013
Very nice facility and staff. The barbaque dinner was super
May 24, 2013
A little far from the caverns. Otherwise, it was nice.
May 23, 2013
Wonderful Campground-Great People-Delicious Dinner-We look forward to making a return visit.
May 22, 2013
Only problem being it's a long way to the dumpster!!
May 22, 2013
Camp sites are nice clean, people are nice . Food is great.
May 22, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.