Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 22, 2013
Jun 22, 2013
Great campground. Love the dog kennel. Ideal central location for all the great sights around Carlsbad. Folks that run this KOA are very nice and helpful. It's nice to be greeted with a smile after traveling all day. We've stayed here several times and the courtesy is consistent.
Jun 22, 2013
While the cabin was very nice, none of the "peripherals" worked. for example, the wi-fi didn't work, nor did the tv. Every tv channel was nothing but snow.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The wifi is the best we can get out in this area between Artesia and Carlsbad. The cable issue has been fixed.
Jun 21, 2013
Nothing but a big dust bowl. False advertising saying you are in Carlsbad when you are not close to town and even further from the caverns. The trash dumpsters were overflowing with trash. The man who drove us in was rude. The water bowl at the dog park had green slime. The only bright spot in our stay was the lady at the front desk. Power kept going off which meant we also had no water.
Jun 21, 2013
Advertising was misleading. Park is 15 miles outside Carlsbad on the opposite side from the Caverns. The garbage dumpsters were filled to over the top rim, water in dog park was filthy, the only friendly staff member we encountered was the woman who checked us in, and lastly, park lost power and water due to wind in afternoon and at night.
Jun 21, 2013
Jun 21, 2013
Always good.
Jun 21, 2013
Staff was great. Restrooms were immaculate and very well done. Pool was OK but too warm. Too far from Caverns I will stay closer to Carlsbad next time.
Jun 20, 2013
This Koa was easy to get to and was beautifully maintained and very quiet. I would definitely recommend it to anyone whether staying in an RV or one of the cabins.
Jun 20, 2013
if I am ever in that area again I will make sure and stay there
Jun 19, 2013
The cabins were clean and very nice. Held up well during the weather too. The pool is nice and warm and the staff is very friendly. I will definately be back!
Jun 18, 2013
Staff and facilities - WONDERFUL!!!!! Many thanks!!!
Jun 18, 2013
Angela was able to fix a problem I had for 3 years with my rewards card!! Friendly helpful staff! Beautiful campsites.
Jun 18, 2013
Camp and Staff were friendly and efficient. Camp was well maintained, would stay again without question......
Jun 18, 2013
An outstanding property! Absolutely no complaints. The best customer service I have had at any campground in a long time.
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
when we called to make reservations, they answered the phone right away .. was not put on hold or answer machine! Very Important to us to make sure we have a place to stay ahead of us! Very helpful staff and friendly! easy access to camp and large enough for big rigs.
Jun 16, 2013
Jun 16, 2013
The Carlsbad was so great. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, the pool was perfect for the hot desert! I would definitely recommend.
Jun 15, 2013
Excellent customer service, great place and location
Jun 15, 2013
Jun 15, 2013
Very pleasant, except for the weather! Very clean. Friendly staff. Thank you!
Jun 15, 2013
Would definitely go back, great park and awesome people there
Jun 15, 2013
Love this campground. Clean, friendly. Great layout for the pad. Can't wait to come back and stay longer.
Jun 15, 2013
Loved this KOA brought back so many childhood memories of running around and playing and meeting people from all over! Loved the little cabin and staff was very kind and helpful! Great location to the caverns a must see!
Jun 14, 2013
Jun 14, 2013
Jun 14, 2013
Jun 14, 2013
Jun 13, 2013
We just stayed 2 nights while visiting the caverns & Roswell.The pull through we had was large and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our kids liked the pool and playground. Overall a nice place to stay.
Jun 13, 2013
Very helpful employees Clean, cute cabin Fun playground Loved this place!
Jun 13, 2013
Jun 13, 2013
good overnight stop
Jun 12, 2013
Everything about our stay here was awesome. Everyone that works here was extremely nice
Jun 12, 2013
We were happy with this KOA. The pool was clean and the employees were friendly. The dumpster is very far from the sites. The pet area was a good size however there seemed to be a number of guests who don't know how to pick up after their pets even though you offered rake and shovel and bags.
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
We stayed @ the KOA in Carlsbad despite the bad reviews & I got to say our experience was GREAT! Checked in was guided to our tent site. Staff was pleasant & helpful. Bathrooms were very clean. Will stay again =)
Jun 11, 2013
the evening food delivery to our Trailer was a very nice service. the facility was very organized and clean. I will return! thanks for having us... Frank & kaethe Myers Ruidoso, NM
Jun 10, 2013
The only disadvantage is staying in the TV sites, due to the gravel when cars come or go early or late, it is disturbing for light sleepers. Otherwise Carlsbad KOA is wonderful. Been there multiple times and will return.
Jun 10, 2013
Not well ran. Too many chiefs and not enough indians. "Home Cooked" food for the most part was store bought, microwaved and VERY expensive. Out in middle of nowhere. 20 miles to anywhere. 1 hour to the caverns. Very friendly upon arrival, extremely rude on departure. Would not stay here again and would not recommend at all.
Jun 10, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
Great stay Clean Nice people .
Jun 08, 2013
Luv this RV park. Our site had a covered swing and table. So nice to hav coffee in AM in the swing, and a glass of wine in PM. Nice, nice folks run the park and gift shop.
Jun 08, 2013
This might seem unimportant to others, but there was an air-freshener in the camping cabins that was pretty strong smelling and made a sound about every half hour. The sound actually woke me up several times during the night and the smell was just too strong. That combined with several campers leaving/arriving at late hours didn't make for a very restful night. Otherwise, facilities nice overall.
Jun 07, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay, the staff was friendly, the facilities clean, and the pool was refreshing......as it was over a 100 almost every day! It was windy but that's not the campgrounds fault! oh and the star viewing was awesome! we had a great 5 nights. This was one of the nicest KOA's we have stayed at, it shows they take pride in their park!
Jun 07, 2013
Excellent park! Great showers and friendly, helpful staff. We had a great time.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.