Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 09, 2013
Excellent facility with all amenities, including ice cream social and excellent bbq. Little bit far from Carlsbad Caverns, but well worth the extra miles.
Jul 09, 2013
Everything was clean and well maintained. Staff was super friendly!
Jul 08, 2013
Stay was quick. Flat sites with simple hook-ups are always the best. No change dispenser in the laundry room did not help us at all. So did the dryer that didn't work. But other than that, it was reasonably well taken care of.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
This was are first time! And we loved it. The cabin was very nice and the staff was very nice & Helpful. We will never stay in a hotel ever again. KOA is the best!!!
Jul 08, 2013
the food was not that great
Jul 08, 2013
It was great, but a little far from the city and caverns of Carlsbad.
Jul 08, 2013
Was far from the caverns. Thought it would be in Carlsbad and not the outer skirts. Was a bit deceiving. The growing itself was outstanding. Don't think there is enough signage on highway to get to the campground especially at night. We missed it 2 times.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
One of the best ! Staff friendly and sites huge. Improvement to wifi is needed as in many KOA. Thank you !
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
I was verbally abused by one of the employees under the tacit approval of the owner. I was afraid to call the police because of fear of harm to my Airstream or myself. I suspect this male employee has anger management or psychiatric issues and would highly recommend a background check be performed. Other reviews have focused on the rude staff and this should be investigated ASAP.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We regret that our guest felt threatened; however, she was driving at least 25 mph through our park, endangering our other guests and, more specifically, the children. Our employee felt it was his duty to ensure that she understood the seriousness of her actions.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
THE GOOD: The cabin was clean and everything worked. The overall campground was well kept. THE BAD: There was an almost constant sewage odor in the air outside. I think it was coming from the large lake of sewage at the back of the property and we had the rotten luck of being down wind of it. The cabin, while nice, is very over-priced. The food they offer was also very over-priced.
Jul 07, 2013
Campgrounds are extra clean and organized, staff are extremely helpful and polite.. and a pretty well stocked store, and activities on the patio are a lot of fun and a great way to meet travelers from around the country..
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
VERY much enjoyed our stay. The folks working there were most friendly and the grounds were fantastic. Only thing that prevents me from giving 5 stars was the location (wish it was closer to the caverns) and the gravel...we prefer concrete/asphalt sites for our rig. Neither of these are big enough concerns to prevent us from coming back - we loved this place!
Jul 07, 2013
This place is incredible! I wish we could stay here for our entire trip! The park is very clean and beautiful! The people that work here really want to be here and are so nice. Thank you for making our trip to the caverns great!!
Jul 06, 2013
Pool hours are unrealistic. You get back to your campsite after a day of sightseeing about 6PM, have dinner, then want to go swimming, but you can't! The pool closes at 7PM!!! Way too early!!!!!!
Jul 06, 2013
It was just great!!! The people running it were awesome!! Thank
Jul 06, 2013
Excellent customer service and extra clean facilities.
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
Awesome KOA. All the services you could ask for and great workers.
Jul 06, 2013
Fantastic place to stay if you are going to the Caverns and Living Zoo. Friendliest staff I have ever met. Ursula was a big help when I had to keep changing my reservations due to engine trouble. Pool a bit small but kids didn't care. Will gladly stay here again. Parked here in a Travel Trailer.
Jul 06, 2013
Best camping experience I have ever had. Definately proud we purchased the membership card.
Jul 05, 2013
The bathroom/showers/laundry were very nice. The campsites themselves were too close to each other.
Jul 05, 2013
The park was clean and well maintained, but my cabin was a long walk from the bathhouse. too far for a late night walk. The campground was to far out from any town, both ways.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
This is a place that needs to fire the manager and then close it's doors and I'm one person that will gladly help this to happen I have stayed at many KOA' s over the years but never one this sorry. Some of our friends also stayed here and experienced much of the same crap that we did. I cannot say one good thing about this place. NOT ONE!!!! It needs to just close it's doors and go away !!
Jul 03, 2013
Great staff, informative and professional. Always smiling.
Jul 02, 2013
Pleasant and friendly staff. Knowledgeable of local attractions..
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Super-clean and friendly! Last time we were here the Red Fire truck was up and running.
Jul 02, 2013
Great amenities, clean, and flexible for late arrival.
Jul 01, 2013
We loved the setting, and security. The Bat Cave needs a little maintenance--gas cooktop and faucets, etc!
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Mostly it was top rate! There was a small ant problem in our deluxe lodge and the wi-fi was very slow to the point of unusable (except in the rec room). But the accommodations were awesome, the people were very friendly and helpful, pool was clean and refreshing, and the grounds were shockingly quiet,even during the daytime. Loved the dog park, but the grass outside of the dog area cut his paws.A-
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
We had a wonderful experience at the Carlsbad KOA. Everyone on staff was helpful and friendly. The facilities were clean and well kept up. We were in their premium tent sites and loved the access to electricity, but also enjoyed the privacy fence. We would definitely stay there again when we visit the area.
Jun 30, 2013
Staff were awesome. Sites were large and clean. Pulled pork was to dry to eat. I had to return it. Smell from the smoker all night was annoying. My rating would be 10 if not for the food and smell.
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Wonderful park!!!!!!
Jun 28, 2013
Tv had bad reception could not get on wifi cabin was good host was nice
Jun 28, 2013
Clean, staff was very nice, but location was too far from everything.
Jun 27, 2013
Too HOT
Jun 27, 2013
spacious lots - you don't feel like "next door" is looking in . good dinner.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.