Carlsbad KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

Email

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2015
Very nice clean site. Staff very friendly. Only two issues. 1.The wifi is only usable if your site is near the main building. 2. Be prepared for all the vehicles driving out on the gravel road in 5 minute intervals starting at about 4:30 AM. I think it is people working on the pipelines
Jul 22, 2015
Very friendly and helpful. Assisted us with providing an extension cord as our was not long enough. Very clean, beautifully kept and even had food service. Only thing was women's shower - had a very cool shower due to not enough hot water. But place is impeccable and very friendly!
Jul 22, 2015
gppd
Jul 21, 2015
Great place. BBQ was excellent! Didn't spend a lot of time there; spent most of our time at the Caverns. Don't miss Carlsbad Caverns if you stay here. Excellent! Bat flight was amazing. A+ campground.
Jul 21, 2015
We were quite surprised that every time we walked outside it smelled like sulfur (like somebody was dumping their black tank). Therefore, we stayed inside the majority of the time. Also, the shower in the women's bathroom was freezing cold. When I mentioned it to the lady at check out she said,"oh, yeah, you aren't the first to mention this".
Jul 21, 2015
It is a very nice and clean campground; enjoyed my stay.
Jul 21, 2015
Loved our stay here!
Jul 21, 2015
Lots of space. Quiet. Far enough away from the main highway. I did not like how the tenting area was right next to the main entrance. I could not sleep in my truck camper in the tenting area (no "pull-in" tent area with electric was available). I ended up parking in the main parking lot and sleeping there. The main building was too industrial looking.
Jul 20, 2015
Very friendly staff, neat and very clean. Well stocked store.
Jul 20, 2015
great staff, very helpful
Jul 20, 2015
Huge campground, friendly staff. Terrible ant problem at our site. Also they close the pool 15 minutes earlier than posted time. Everyone was kicked out at 7:45.
Jul 20, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay and thought the kampgrounds were well maintained. There were many things at the site and in the area we didn't explore and so are planning to come back the first chance we get! By the way, what does 7RCRV on the back of all the chairs in the game room stand for? Thanks!!
Jul 20, 2015
A drive from the caverns, but a great place to stay! Loved all the activities they had for kids and the staff was very friendly! It was quiet at night. We were very happy with the cabin we rented.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Worst stay ever.Its right beside a gas processing plant and smells horrible. Tent sites are beside gravel road, waking sleepers with every vehicle passing. We had 2 adults/5 kids, but sites "could only allow for 6", so we had to rent 2 sites...even though there was plenty of room. Pool closed with sight of clouds, and staff refused to open. Showers are horrible too.
Jul 19, 2015
We liked that it was clean and that the staff was friendly.
Jul 19, 2015
Very friendly staff, extremely clean and pretty campsite.
Jul 19, 2015
Some of the other campers were rude, and some of the staff short with kids, but the grounds were beautiful. Other staff members were so kind, they made up for the rude ones.
Jul 18, 2015
Overall nice facility. Bathrooms need to be cleaned more often. Toothpaste was on counters showers muddy. Sighs posted cleaned 1 to 3pm daily but a touch up in the mornings would have been welcome.
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
Friendly helpful staff- especially Sorche! Pool is wonderful. Grounds clean. Well-stocked store. Free ping-pong, TV/DVD player in activity room.
Jul 18, 2015
Great, clean campgrounds. Very friendly and knowledgable staff. Easy in and out.
Jul 18, 2015
Nice folks runs the place, it is clean and RV sites are not cramped on top of one another. But if anyone had told us about the odor from the oil field/natural gas/refinery operations, we would not have stayed here. When we first arrived we thought there was a problem with their sewer system but it's an industrial problem. Not a good location for a KOA. And an hour's drive from the Caverns.
Jul 18, 2015
Beautiful place. Friendly, clean. My only complaint was when I showered at 10pm the water never got warm. Had to take a freezing cold shower. It was awful. Women's rr.
Jul 17, 2015
Clean and very pet friendly. Kept up to date and our favorite KOA so far.
Jul 17, 2015
Nice KOA, a bit dusty and far from town but well maintained.
Jul 17, 2015
Although our stay was cut short due to unforeseen circumstances, they were tremendously helpful and considerate in dealing with the crisis and offering their emotional support and assistance. Thank you all!
Jul 17, 2015
Cabins without bathrooms are farther from the bathroom than cabins with bathrooms. Quite a way further from Caverns than Web site seemed to indicate.
Jul 17, 2015
No matter where we walked to within the KOA it always smelled like sewer.
Jul 16, 2015
Friendly and clean.
Jul 16, 2015
The staff is very friendly, the grounds are clean & well kept. The camp is a bit far from the caverns but doable. The grandkids loved the pool.
Jul 15, 2015
Always a nice place to stay.
Jul 14, 2015
Very pleasant and helpful staff. Nice activities, but if you are having a movie night you might do it a little later than 5:30 and please "close" the foosball and ping pong tables. Good facilities though my daughter said the water in the shower sin the main building took a long time to warm up. Thanks!
Jul 14, 2015
Other KOA's should come and see how it's done. Sites are large. Landscaping is beautiful. Staff are all welcoming and helpful. They have daily activities for the kids. Pool was clean and warm. It's 45 minutes to the caverns but well worth taking that drive to stay there. After a day of touring the caverns you can order dinner and they will deliver it to your site. It was yummie! Clean bathrooms
Jul 14, 2015
We always have a great time when we stay here. This is the 4th time we have stayed at the Carlsbad KOA, and are already planning another trip there before school starts again. FYI: best BBQ I've had in a long time!
Jul 14, 2015
Staff very helpful. Sites and facilities excellent. Campground a bit far from caverns (about 45 min drive).
Jul 14, 2015
Clean, well kept and very nice people
Jul 14, 2015
The campground and facilities were very clean staff was friendly a great place to stay. We will definitely stay again.
Jul 14, 2015
Staff so helfpful and pleasant to deal with. BBQ dinner was outstanding. Our rat terrier enjoyed the pet run area. Facility very clean.
Jul 14, 2015
Enjoyed every bit of our stay. Great advice from the staff on going to different places and our site was great.
Jul 13, 2015
Great facility and friendly staff. Loved the tent village for our family stay.
Jul 13, 2015
The campground itself was fine. We had a horrible experience with very loud, disrespectful people. There didn't seem to be any enforcement of quiet hours, so there was music blaring and people screaming well past 11pm. I've decided that we're just not KOA people.
Jul 13, 2015
Great facilities, friendly staff who were extremely organized. First-rate service!
Jul 13, 2015
Not a big KOA camping fan, but this KOA is really nice. Very friendly and helpful staff as well as ample space in sites. Very good stay.
Jul 13, 2015
Very nice facilities and and the staff was outstanding! Enjoyed our stay very much and we be back again!
Jul 13, 2015
Too much noise.
Jul 13, 2015
We had a wonderful time at the campgrounds. Office personnel were friendly. Very quiet. We loved it.
Jul 13, 2015
Sobepasó mis expecativas. Le hicieron falta algunos detalles como instalaciones para lavar platos y sartenes pero el resto de las instalaciones muy limppias y el personal muy atento y amigable. Si lo recomiendo!!
Jul 12, 2015
This was the worst experience at a koa campground. Rude people running this establishment. Never ever stay here. Horrible
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award