Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 02, 2013
Pleasant and friendly staff. Knowledgeable of local attractions..
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Super-clean and friendly! Last time we were here the Red Fire truck was up and running.
Jul 02, 2013
Great amenities, clean, and flexible for late arrival.
Jul 01, 2013
We loved the setting, and security. The Bat Cave needs a little maintenance--gas cooktop and faucets, etc!
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Mostly it was top rate! There was a small ant problem in our deluxe lodge and the wi-fi was very slow to the point of unusable (except in the rec room). But the accommodations were awesome, the people were very friendly and helpful, pool was clean and refreshing, and the grounds were shockingly quiet,even during the daytime. Loved the dog park, but the grass outside of the dog area cut his paws.A-
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
We had a wonderful experience at the Carlsbad KOA. Everyone on staff was helpful and friendly. The facilities were clean and well kept up. We were in their premium tent sites and loved the access to electricity, but also enjoyed the privacy fence. We would definitely stay there again when we visit the area.
Jun 30, 2013
Staff were awesome. Sites were large and clean. Pulled pork was to dry to eat. I had to return it. Smell from the smoker all night was annoying. My rating would be 10 if not for the food and smell.
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Wonderful park!!!!!!
Jun 28, 2013
Tv had bad reception could not get on wifi cabin was good host was nice
Jun 28, 2013
Clean, staff was very nice, but location was too far from everything.
Jun 27, 2013
Too HOT
Jun 27, 2013
spacious lots - you don't feel like "next door" is looking in . good dinner.
Jun 26, 2013
Hosts very welcoming and accommodating. Showers clean.
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
My only comment is.....hot tub down with no indication of when it would be up. Also, Sunday breakfast advertised but not delivered. Otherwise a very nice place.
Jun 25, 2013
Wish the pool was open later than 7:00.
Jun 25, 2013
The staff was great about letting us in early because my husband was sick. But when we went to sleep that night these small black long gated bugs came out and was crawling all over us so we left at 10 that night and went to find a motel. If you know what these bugs were please let us know
Jun 25, 2013
it was great, we love to camp and normally a tent works perfect for us, but now we are spoiled and want this service all the time
Jun 25, 2013
All the staff were freindly and courteous, a special thank-you to Diana. And we didn't blow away in the wind!!!
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
I stayed there with a group of middle school kids as part of a science club. Campground was nice but was told game room would remain open and then was kicked out. The kids were extremely disappointed. Management needs communication skills.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The guest was correct; this was a miscommunication by staff. We hope to do better next time.
Jun 24, 2013
Staff was friendly. campground was clean. Pool was great.
Jun 24, 2013
The pool hours are inconvenient - it closed shortly after we arrived and opened after we left. The cabin that we rented was very hot. The air conditioner did not work, and we couldn't open the windows.
Jun 24, 2013
Staff was amazing. Helping with future reservations and travel plans. Pay attention, its not in town so you have to drive to get anywhere.
Jun 24, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Everyone was so friendly.
Jun 24, 2013
Friendly staff. Extremely clean,neat well kept park. It was 103 and very windy in afternoons & evening. The pool was just what we needed. Good store.
Jun 23, 2013
Diane on front desk may the stay even more enjoyable. What a great attitude. John
Jun 23, 2013
The campground was very nice. I love the dog park and very nice showers and restrooms. Loved the personalized touch on having our name on the arrival board. The only thing I didn't like was the distance to the caverns. But will definitely stay again if in the area.
Jun 23, 2013
This place was so friendly and fun! Thank you
Jun 22, 2013
Nice area. Close to everything. One of the nicer koa's I've stayed at.
Jun 22, 2013
It would be nice if they expanded the hours the pool is open.
Jun 22, 2013
Great stay, clean cabins family very happy. Thx
Jun 22, 2013
Well, the grounds were great and the staff was very nice. However we had to abandon our tent camp site prematurely and didn't get to sleep over due to extremely high winds. We would use a KOA again but hopefully our planning for bad weather would be better!
Jun 22, 2013
Jun 22, 2013
Jun 22, 2013
Enjoyed the stay and campground was clean,and the personnel were very friendly. The campground was a little expensive. A little disappointed that they couldn't control the weather.
Jun 22, 2013
Jun 22, 2013
Great campground. Love the dog kennel. Ideal central location for all the great sights around Carlsbad. Folks that run this KOA are very nice and helpful. It's nice to be greeted with a smile after traveling all day. We've stayed here several times and the courtesy is consistent.
Jun 22, 2013
While the cabin was very nice, none of the "peripherals" worked. for example, the wi-fi didn't work, nor did the tv. Every tv channel was nothing but snow.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The wifi is the best we can get out in this area between Artesia and Carlsbad. The cable issue has been fixed.
Jun 21, 2013
Nothing but a big dust bowl. False advertising saying you are in Carlsbad when you are not close to town and even further from the caverns. The trash dumpsters were overflowing with trash. The man who drove us in was rude. The water bowl at the dog park had green slime. The only bright spot in our stay was the lady at the front desk. Power kept going off which meant we also had no water.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.