Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Very clean and friendly staff
Jul 15, 2013
Facilities were above and beyond...the staff was very friendly and helpful...campground was well maintained
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Wonderful campground!
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
We were disappointed at the distance this KOA was from the Caverns. Having to drive 45 mins through town to get the was farther than we would have liked. Other than that, the pool was great, the facility was clean, the dog run was great and the people were extremely friendly.
Jul 15, 2013
very clean, neat, friendly staff...
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
The location is poor if you plan to visit the Caverns, which are 1 hr. and 15 minutes away. (It is halfway to Artesia.) The baths are hot and humid in the summer. The "high speed WIFI" is anything but. Otherwise, the staff were wonderful, the pool great, and the grounds very nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was unfortunate that the A/C was under repair in our restrooms while this guest was visiting us, and our internet is the best we can do in our location. Sometimes it is fine and other times it is very slow.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Excellent facility with friendly staff. Would highly recommend to travelers pass through. Looking forward to another visit. Thanks for your hospitality.
Jul 12, 2013
So great - really enjoyed our stay here. Had a rough trip getting to campground and did not want to cook. Great menu available right here. Laundry was clean and super convenient. There is a TV in there if you want to hang out with your clothes. Pool was beautiful. Great advice on local svcs and dining from the staff. We could not have had a better experience!
Jul 12, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay, very clean and very nice people. We Loved that it haf a dog park. Thanks
Jul 12, 2013
Facilities are clean and quiet. Rates are good. Internet is not. Should not advertise as "high speed internet". Half the time couldn't get on at all due to so many people using the connection.
Jul 12, 2013
Considering the location, the campground was very nice. Office staff was very friendly, the cabin we stayed at was clean and comfortable, other facilities were in top notch condition. The only downside was that the bathroom was not ventilated enough so it was extremely hot and humid in it.
Jul 12, 2013
best of all
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Friendly staff, clean & spacious site. A++++
Jul 10, 2013
Staff is so very friendly and helpful! Great BBQ! Clean, orderly grounds. Only negative... restroom & shower facilities need A/C!
Jul 10, 2013
Gorgeous exceptionally well maintained campground. Sites are very large with grass. Excellent area for dogs to run. General store very nice. Staff extremely pleasant. I would definitely stay here again.
Jul 10, 2013
We stayed in the tent village. It was everything we were hoping for, and extremely comfortable for our family. Our parking spot was right in front of our tent site, and it site was very clean.
Jul 10, 2013
It was our first time at a KOA and we couldn't have been happier with our choice! Sue and Janet were so sweet to entertain my squirmy toddler while I took care of details. Everyone was fantastic!
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
The park was very clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful (the man with the maltese was great!). We were a little surprised by the distance away from Carlsbad Caverns, but after driving by the closer alternatives we were very happy that we made our reservations at this KOA.
Jul 09, 2013
Stayed in one of their cabins that had a bathroom. Super friendly staff. Really nice cabin- nicely maintained and clean. Good rates when compared to the hotel rates in neighboring Carlsbad.
Jul 09, 2013
I absolutely loved your campground! Beautiful!
Jul 09, 2013
First time at a KOA we thought it was a great time.
Jul 09, 2013
Excellent facility with all amenities, including ice cream social and excellent bbq. Little bit far from Carlsbad Caverns, but well worth the extra miles.
Jul 09, 2013
Everything was clean and well maintained. Staff was super friendly!
Jul 08, 2013
Stay was quick. Flat sites with simple hook-ups are always the best. No change dispenser in the laundry room did not help us at all. So did the dryer that didn't work. But other than that, it was reasonably well taken care of.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
This was are first time! And we loved it. The cabin was very nice and the staff was very nice & Helpful. We will never stay in a hotel ever again. KOA is the best!!!
Jul 08, 2013
the food was not that great
Jul 08, 2013
It was great, but a little far from the city and caverns of Carlsbad.
Jul 08, 2013
Was far from the caverns. Thought it would be in Carlsbad and not the outer skirts. Was a bit deceiving. The growing itself was outstanding. Don't think there is enough signage on highway to get to the campground especially at night. We missed it 2 times.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
One of the best ! Staff friendly and sites huge. Improvement to wifi is needed as in many KOA. Thank you !
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
I was verbally abused by one of the employees under the tacit approval of the owner. I was afraid to call the police because of fear of harm to my Airstream or myself. I suspect this male employee has anger management or psychiatric issues and would highly recommend a background check be performed. Other reviews have focused on the rude staff and this should be investigated ASAP.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We regret that our guest felt threatened; however, she was driving at least 25 mph through our park, endangering our other guests and, more specifically, the children. Our employee felt it was his duty to ensure that she understood the seriousness of her actions.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
THE GOOD: The cabin was clean and everything worked. The overall campground was well kept. THE BAD: There was an almost constant sewage odor in the air outside. I think it was coming from the large lake of sewage at the back of the property and we had the rotten luck of being down wind of it. The cabin, while nice, is very over-priced. The food they offer was also very over-priced.
Jul 07, 2013
Campgrounds are extra clean and organized, staff are extremely helpful and polite.. and a pretty well stocked store, and activities on the patio are a lot of fun and a great way to meet travelers from around the country..
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
VERY much enjoyed our stay. The folks working there were most friendly and the grounds were fantastic. Only thing that prevents me from giving 5 stars was the location (wish it was closer to the caverns) and the gravel...we prefer concrete/asphalt sites for our rig. Neither of these are big enough concerns to prevent us from coming back - we loved this place!
Jul 07, 2013
This place is incredible! I wish we could stay here for our entire trip! The park is very clean and beautiful! The people that work here really want to be here and are so nice. Thank you for making our trip to the caverns great!!
Jul 06, 2013
Pool hours are unrealistic. You get back to your campsite after a day of sightseeing about 6PM, have dinner, then want to go swimming, but you can't! The pool closes at 7PM!!! Way too early!!!!!!
Jul 06, 2013
It was just great!!! The people running it were awesome!! Thank
Jul 06, 2013
Excellent customer service and extra clean facilities.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.