Carlsbad KOA

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Dec 24, 2013
Dec 24, 2013
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very nice campground; we traveled in a motor home and slept very well!
Dec 23, 2013
Super clean bathrooms!
Dec 23, 2013
Dec 21, 2013
The staff was very friendly and helpful. But the water was very hard and you could smell the sewer water from the rear of the property when the wind was blowing from that direction. It would have been nice to have a social gathering, maybe once a week, to meet the other guest. I give this KOA site a 4 out of 5.
Dec 21, 2013
Dec 21, 2013
Dec 20, 2013
friendly staff; spacious sites. drawback: a bit far out of town.
Dec 16, 2013
The staff was pleasant and the cabin and park grounds were very clean.
Dec 15, 2013
Only negative is the abundance of MOLD on the tile grout in the shower stalls. Otherwise a very good campground.
Dec 13, 2013
The campground was well-maintained, and all the staff I met were extremely hospitable. The cabin, which was clean and in order upon arrival, was a nice alternative to a hotel. When there was a problem with the cabin's water system, staff promptly resolved the situation. Located well outside of town and far enough off the highway, it was very quiet and peaceful, especially for sleeping.
Dec 09, 2013
Lovely campground (even encased in ice!), very friendly owners and impeccably clean rest rooms. A great place to camp!
Dec 03, 2013
Dec 03, 2013
Unsatisfactory for 2 reasons. Water quality is HORRID! We had to empty and flush our water tank and system after using it there. Calcium so high that dishes were totally clouded and windshield/windiwa a mess! Also, we were told the spa was shut down due to ADA regulations. Very easy search of ADA online shows this is NOT TRUE. Poorly maintained KOA, and dishonest operators! Never go back!!!
Dec 03, 2013
Spent a very restful night at this campground; very little highway noise. The personal are always very friendly and helpful. We especially like the fact that they have a worker escort you to your site and help with any hookup problems if they surface. We have stopped here several times and will continue to do so.
Dec 02, 2013
Wonderful stay other than the grass needing to be dethatched. The seeds were getting all over everything. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Dec 01, 2013
Our stay was very comfortable. The people there were very nice and the facility was very well kept. We will definitely be back.
Dec 01, 2013
Nov 30, 2013
Nov 30, 2013
GREAT park. Met the owners at Naples KOA last winter. Decided to visit them on our way to Arizona this year.Friendly staff,clean facilities.One of the nicest parks we have ever been in.A real tribute to KOA.
Nov 28, 2013
Nov 28, 2013
Nov 27, 2013
Nov 27, 2013
Nov 21, 2013
Excellent customer services,campground are in excellent condition and bathrooms always clean.
Nov 21, 2013
Clean. On p.m. of arrival the staff on that shift were INCREDIBLE & friendly. The staff the remaining days/nights were not as welcoming, especially when it came to children. But, we took it upon ourselves to make ourselves as home. Kids' playground area-could use improvement. Kids loved the playroom! Enjoyed the swing on porch, nice to sit/relax. Bathrooms BEYOND clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are terribly sorry this guest did not feel our staff was welcoming regarding their children during part of their stay. We love kids here! Not sure what happened.
Nov 19, 2013
Good service but a little to far from Carlsbad and the Caverns
Nov 19, 2013
Nov 18, 2013
Nov 15, 2013
What a great campground. The staff was supper friendly and very helpful. Thank you for a wonderful time.
Nov 15, 2013
We had a problem with the showers in the Womens restroom. The fine spray, although hot at the shower head, was cold by the time it reached a five foot tall body. It was a cold day and and a cold shower made us reluctant to rate this KOA as high as we did. Everything else was great.
Nov 12, 2013
Great place to stay, best in New Mexico
Nov 11, 2013
Nov 10, 2013
Did enjoy the location,it was very clean and very friendly,it also had facilities that were very convenience from groceries to propane for your trailer I really enjoyed my stay I will recommend to my friends and family,the staff was very friendly and helpful
Nov 10, 2013
Nov 10, 2013
Nov 10, 2013
Nice clean and spacious. Dianne was very helpful getting our 2 rigs close by when we extended our visit!
Nov 08, 2013
Love this park, the only complaint of course is the smell at night. Other than that the location is great and the staff is too.
Nov 08, 2013
Nov 08, 2013
Absolutely the best KOA experience we have ever had. The camp was very clean, easy to move about in and staffed by friendly, professional folks. The BBQ delivered to the door was astonishing!! The dog park was a BIG bonus!!!
Nov 06, 2013
Great service at desk. Clean site including bathrooms. Supper delivered right to RV was great
Nov 06, 2013
Travelled from San Francisco to Houston, now headed back, these are the cleanest, nicest bathrooms/showers I've seen on the whole trip! Nicely organized and maintained park, thanks!
Nov 04, 2013
water really needs attention as it smells awful

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our water is very hard with lots of minerals. Although less than ideal, the water is certainly potable.
Nov 04, 2013
The only problem we had was the smell and the water. We made ice the night we got there and it had a fowl smell. Other than that is was ok.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The smell in the air comes from the oil fields in the area. The water is very hard with lots of minerals. Certainly potable however. Unfortunately we can't control either one. We are happy our guest enjoyed everything else.
Nov 04, 2013
Nice and clean and quiet. A little misleading on the distance to the caverns however

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry our guest felt we were misleading. Our address is a Carlsbad address, but Google maps will correctly show our location right in between Carlsbad and Artesia. There is no attempt at hiding this information.
Nov 02, 2013
Wish it was closer to the caverns so we didn't have to back track, but a beautiful campground.
Nov 02, 2013
Nov 02, 2013
The nicest restrooms and showers of all the koa's that we stayed on our travels.
Nov 02, 2013
The only complaint I had was that there were quite a number of vehicles leaving the campground very early (0500-0600) each morning that woke us up. I understand they were oil rig workers and the staff had no control of the situation, but it did take away from what was otherwise a pleasant stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Nov 02, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.