Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Jul 24, 2013
We had a fabulous 4 night stay - we loved the pool, the jumping pillow, the beach and waves. - if tent or pop-up camping, be prepared for some heavy winds.
Jul 24, 2013
Sites are a little small. The cost is a little high. Other than that it was a great place to stay. The pool was great for the kids. The ocean was really close.
Jul 24, 2013
Très belle emplacement. Par la mesure des chose il faut savoir que l'on se retrouve sur une ile alors très venteux en après-midi. Endroit très propre. De St-Jérôme
Jul 23, 2013
Very nice campground. My only complaint is the allowing of children in the hot tub.
Jul 23, 2013
made reservations in March for oceanfront and got worst site. asked to move when open and told no..site sat empty the entire time. missed opportunity to make wife bday even better. staff rushed and seemed bothered. I a day early.
Jul 23, 2013
Very nice fixed facilities (pool, laundry, store, snack bar). Great location. Sites were small, rocky and not well maintained compared to other campsite "deluxe" spots. Wifi was unusable. Cable was snowy. Most dumpster locations were empty and it was difficult to find places to trow trash away. Overall well below average for the many KOAs we've stayed at across the country.
Jul 23, 2013
To be fair, the sites are close together, and there is (you are at the beach) nothing in the way of shade... but if you expect that (which we did), I can honestly say it is one of the better KOA experiences I have had. The staff is friendly, helpful, the facility (thanks to hurricane Irene) is brand new... the only issue I had was wifi.
Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Great location, large lot and friendly staff Cons: high grass on lot 1/2 of stay, intermitent hot water at shower house and strong dog urine smell from cabin lot next to us
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
The best vacation ever!! Not only because of the fantastic campsites, but also because at sunset, 8:17pm on our first night there, July 18, 2013 my soulmate proposed to me on the beach!! A night I will never forget & it all happened at KOA!! :-) Christa Reavis
Jul 23, 2013
This was my second trip this year to your campground. You advertise free Wi-Fi. I never got it once. It cost me an extra $80.00 each trip to add megabyte's on my Verizon phones. Mike the manager never made any move to make this right. A lot of other campers are also dissatisfied. I feel KOA owes me $ 160.00. Don't advertise something you don't have. I felt like I got swindled.
Jul 22, 2013
we have been coming cape hattrras koa for 21 years and it get nicer all the time.the new improvments are great. the next step should be the electric,so we have power all the time. thank you
Jul 22, 2013
We arrived on the fourth of july and the power was out in our site 329 and surrounding sites the electrical utilities are in bad need of replacement and also the site areas need to be more level, we heard a rumor that they were going to upgrade to concrete pads this does not need to be done only level areas with more gravel would be okay, Also the employees are very overworked cleaning of resrooms
Jul 22, 2013
bath houses not kept clean; park maintenance, for example grass cutting poorly kept; WIFI only works intermittend;cable tv out on regular basis;office staff overwhelmed, and at times not very pleasant;this KOA has declined in my opinion, as we have seen this over the last 10 years of coming to that park.
Jul 22, 2013
We've been here for 15 years. We really love the place. I think it is not necessary to have a fire ring on the site. You should put on your rules, no bikes after 9pm. I will be here for the next two weeks. Like every years we use to make our reservation for the next year. Nobody really understand the reason why. I hope you will take in consideration our long stay and your regular campers.
Jul 22, 2013
Great location and a great facility. If the Cape Hatteras KOA isn't already the flagship KOA resorts, it will be! Thanks for a great vacation!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
The campground is on the beach that is very great, but the staff is not helpfull and some of them are rude. I ask a lady at the desk about the landry et ahe told me that she never go on the landry at the campground and can't help me. The laundry was at the same bulding that the shower but nothing was write on the door to say that is the laundry.
Jul 22, 2013
As usual, a very plesant place to stay! Lots of improvements made since last year! My only negative comment is that I do not think you should charge to empty holding tanks since all of your sites are not full hook-up and we are paying a decent price for the site to begin with. Would definitely stay here again though!!
Jul 22, 2013
Loved all the upgrades this year!
Jul 22, 2013
As my 6 year old stated as we walked from the pool back to our campsite (after spending time at the beach first), "My wish for the best camping trip ever came true!" We had an amazing stay. It was perfect for our family. The facilities were wonderful and our 4 kids(ages 2-9) were busy the whole time, which meant very little fighting and all night sleepers! We will definitely be returning!
Jul 22, 2013
Some of the staff re very friendly others not so mucho the younger staff was very professional
Jul 22, 2013
Campground is wonderful. did rate higher bc there was a miscommunication on their end reguarding price. some people travel a ling way to visit..need to be sure everyone is given the correct info. and bathrooms had a very strong urine smell. other than that...it was awesome.
Jul 21, 2013
The people were rude on several occasions, the grass was high. Out of 15 yrs this was the worst. The manager seem to be un affected by our concerns. Made plans for the campground next door as well as 4 of our friends. We hope things change. We will miss this KOA campground
Jul 21, 2013
We've gone to the Cape Hatteras KOA for more than 30 years - this is 1st time I had a barely satisfact experience. With the exception of Renee and Bren, no staff person went out of his or her way to be friendly. One staff person, Marissa to be very rude and extremely unhelpful more than once. For the 1st time were unable to make RSVP for next July. Grounds clean & well-kept is the best I can say.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
The new office and pool is great, the bathrooms were clean. Just need to work on the wifi to work around the whole campground.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
WOW... EXCELLENT KOA :)
Jul 21, 2013
My family and I really enjoyed this campground. Facilities were clean and nice. Only two draw backs that we encountered. One was that there aren't any trees/shade if you wanted to get out of the intense sun(which is not the campgrounds fault) and two was that we did not like the showers. We would have preferred there to be a male female shower area but there isn't.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Super kamping, mais avec une connexion internet plus que médiocre. Dommage.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Staff was extremely helpful. We had a problem with our camper and they did all they could to help and checked on us the next day to make sure all was well. Bathrooms are nice but can get very messy but that would change if people would clean up after themselves. Site was nice and decent size although sewer hookup was too high so we had to lift our line to empty our camper.
Jul 20, 2013
Loved The New Facility. Design Of Bathroom Floor Was Not Great For Drainage. Would Like To See Recycling At Each Comfort Station. Would Like To See More Than One Foot Shower At Beach. All Staff Very Friendly And Courteous.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Wow, nice pool and deck area. The main building was the nicest I've ever seen for a campground. Very convenient to the beach. I would recommend a sign on the door for the laundry in the smaller building and a gutter on the roof on the walkway to the bathroom.
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
My family had a wonderful time. We stay at many koa durning the year and although we had a great time we feel this koa is missing the small touches that mak koa great places to stay. There is not much staff present at this campground and real felt it was a bit of a free for all. Staff seemed a bit overwhelmed in camp store and not rude but , but not very knowledgeable. We will return
Jul 18, 2013
great stay plan on coming back in augest
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
When we arrived they told us that there was no campsites with a full hookup but right behind the site thay gave us sat 2 full hookup sites for the whole time we were there. Didnt think this was a good thing. Someone wasn't paying attention.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Clean facilities. Great amenities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Thank you for a great 10 days!!!
Jul 17, 2013
Kampground on the beach WOW!! Could use more bath/shower houses
Jul 17, 2013
My family loves the Cape Hatteras KOA. We have stayed many times both before and after the destruction brought by hurricane Irene. The new pool and welcome center are fantastic. This is the best campground pool we have ever seen. The location is awesome. The waves are great for surfing and the beach is lovely. Stronger, more visible managerial presence would make this place perfect.
Jul 17, 2013
Clubhouse, registration office and pool are great. New and well taken care of. The campground is a different story. Most of the roads and site parking are gravel and dusty. Lots of pot holes and lots of mud holes when it rains. You have to carry your own trash to the dumpsters. The park attendants, what few there are, do not pick it up when they go by. Restrooms are nice and newly remodeled but.
Jul 17, 2013
Very new and nice KOA. Bathrooms need attention, bad design, they were clean but, not one trip to the facilities when the floors were not soaked with water! Great staff! Great pool! Nice ocean access. Definitely a five star if the bathroom issue is dealt with.
Jul 16, 2013
Very nice place and a great camp ground A little disapointed that we couldn't reserve a space for next year

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.