Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Nov 05, 2013
Extremly overcrowded, septic leaking into the road, bathrooms were nasty, showers were nastier.
Oct 26, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
Brand new, clean, and well kept. Really enjoyed my stay there.
Oct 03, 2013
This is one of the nicer KOA's that I have stayed at. I arrived on a motorcycle, without a reservation, looking for a place to put up my tent for the night. No problem, unlike some other KOA's, they have many tent sites available and they are all on nice grassy spots. The tean was placed withing easy walking distance to the ocean as well as the fully stocked camp store.
Sep 18, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Enjoyed the location, facilities and activities. Family friendly and very nice staff.
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay overall but we like to make a few suggestions. There is a need to maintain the bathroom facilities more frequently. They appeared to be unattended and the shower areas where very dirty. There is also a great need for more shade.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
My reservation was not in the night box as I requested and ended up waiting till it opened. Well as koas go the one in Ashville nc is the best.
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
The location and facility are both beautiful! However, were crammed into a tight tent camping spots when there were plenty of open spots still open throughout the park. If the spots are available, it would have been nice to have more space.
Aug 26, 2013
Great place! Perfect for a quick get-away.
Aug 25, 2013
Had a great time. Staff very friendly and helpful. We ended up staying an extra day.
Aug 25, 2013
Except for the rain everything was PERFECT!!!
Aug 25, 2013
Friendly Staff, great location, my only complaint is how close the camp sites are stacked.
Aug 25, 2013
As always we had a great stay at KOA. the staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the up grades that have been done to the camp site. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Aug 19, 2013
I had a good time ,the tent.area got flooded so I would suggest it be moved to the soccer field on higher ground thanks
Aug 19, 2013
Our "neighbors" were playing very loud music throughout the day and into the evening. The music contained graphic profanity and the individuals were using profanity in a loud manner as well. Not so good for those trying to relax, especially with children. I am not sure what, if anything, the staff did to correct this problem. Other than that, it was a great stay!
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Great new facility, nice pool, store and decent food in the cafe. You don't ever have to leave as its on the beach and you can find everything in the camp store you'll ever need. It is rather windy in the summer and humid hot. No shade so be prepared. Nice cabins and cottages for rent with AC too. Overall a super place. Just wish they would clean the bathrooms more.
Aug 14, 2013
The campground was clean and maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Kids loved the pool/playgrounds and beach access/and amenities were great. the shower curtains were moldy, and they could just get rid of them since the showers have doors that lock. Dare county mosquito sprayers came by (didn't help), and they didn't warn you or tell what was being sprayed. Overall great stay.
Aug 13, 2013
Les salles de bains pourraient être lavées plus souvent.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Vastly improved
Aug 11, 2013
Excellent location and facilities!!! Super kid friendly and great sunsets on the sound.
Aug 09, 2013
Check in was easy. Amenities were family oriented and well maintained. The bathhouse could have used more frequent attention, why would the cafe be closed on Wednesdays? The staff were friendly and attentive. Overall a great experience and we will be back. Sunsets over the sound and sunrises over te Atlantic were spectacular. Minimal light pollution offered wonderful star gazing.
Aug 06, 2013
New store/cafe and pool are really nice. Not enough showers, especially with large groups that were there. Showers small, broken handles, doors not locking, dirty, low water pressure, either too hot or too cold during each shower.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Great campground. Had dispute with fellow camper because fire rings and picnic tables are scattered around or removed from area. Made my stay unpleasant. Please inspect tent campsites and arrange tables and fire rings after campers leave. Explain how it works at check in.
Aug 04, 2013
Bathrooms, dishwashing sinks & laundry areas were dirty. Hot water was often lacking. The employees, especially younger ones, were eager to serve, but seemed lacking in training. The site we were 1st assigned did not match reservation, nor verbal info I had confirmed 2 times. New facilities are great but not being maintained.
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Bathrooms, bathrooms, Bathrooms. They need to be cleaner. Everthing was great except the bathrooms were too
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
The place is very clean and offered a lot of activities. My only complaint is the doors to the shower rooms did not lock or work correctly for some.
Jul 28, 2013
Facilities were nice, but we had a toddler with us and the campground was too loud at night. Dogs barking, people walking by and big RVs/trucks driving by our campsite at midnight. The sites were too close to each other. Next time we will use the state camp ground for more space and more quiet.
Jul 27, 2013
So we went for 2 days in a tent and stayed 8...moving sites 3 times and it was worth every effort - see my other reviews. If you think there's a better place at Hatteras, or anywhere on the East Coast to camp with kids I challenge you to show me, I'll pay for both of our families. The staff made this the best vacation we've ever had hands down, unless you've got them you're wasting your time.
Jul 26, 2013
My family had an awesome time ! The kids really enjoyed the bounce pillow and the pool . I enjoyed being so close to the ocean . As expected the family shower floor can be a little muddy from sand next time i will just bring an old towel to put down . Bathrooms were large and very close to our tent site so that was definately a plus with two kids . Already planning our next trip !
Jul 25, 2013
It was good. I saw someone there with a portable generator, I hope they would not be allowed to use it. That would have ruined the experience.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
I LOVE this place!! So much to do for adults and kids. The new beach access and pool are great.
Jul 18, 2013
Our troop had a great time but there were several drunk people who kept cutting through our campground which made the girls scared to sleep. We also had several girls get hurt on the bouncy pillow because there were too many teenagers rough housing and hurting them so we couldn't really use that to play on. The bathroom and shower facilities were very nice and the view was spectacular.
Jul 17, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay @ the OBX KOA, very relaxing & peaceful. Only suggestion would be to have bathrooms/showers cleaned more often. While busy, the staff seemed overwhelmed with the upkeep of the bathroom/shower buildings. Also, we noticed a lot of people speeding around the campground not adhering to 5 mph. I actually witnessed a near collision with a car vs a bicyclist.
Jul 17, 2013
nice park, friendly people and awesome pool
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.