Barstow / Calico KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0059

Info: 760-904-3069

Email

35250 Outer Highway 15 North

Yermo, CA 92398

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 17, 2017
Friendly staff, booked a premium shaded place and found myself in a bare wooden box with a tiny roof on one side, norhing to feel comfortable, and 100 degrees hot and loud because of the highway right next to the campground
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
very enjoyable stay, clean bathrooms and free showers. thank you.
Aug 14, 2017
I loved it just didn't like the bathrooms they never had paper and it gets hot in there
Aug 07, 2017
Easy late-check-in process. Friendly, active staff. Very comfortable visit. Can't wait to return!
Aug 07, 2017
Bathrooms dirty and unbearably hot. No air conditioning and bad smell
Jul 30, 2017
Toilets and showers were not standard compared with other KOAs. Tent sites were not very clean and prepared well.
Jul 27, 2017
Pretty disappointed with this KOA. I am a Mama traveling with kids and I called ahead the day of my reservation to confirm what to do with a late arrival...they put me on hold and then never answered the phone and when I tried to call back I got voicemail. Our campsite was full of cigarette butts and a little trash. The fella who did our late night check in was however very friendly.
Jul 25, 2017
I really like this KOA campground. It is really close to Calico Ghost Town. The pool was clean and refreshing. Nice play ground for the kids and game room. Bathrooms were clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the toilet paper was not replenished. It seems like they stocked it once a day then did not check back to make sure there was enough.
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 09, 2017
Hmm...hut wasn't really clean. One toilet was blocked, no one seemed too concerned with fixing it. Some of the showers were out of order. Some of the showers you had to pay for, which really should be inclusive in price. Pool was good. Rec room was pretty disgraceful and hardly useable. Free wifi only worked next to the pool. Some of the huts had aircon, but ours didn't. It was very hot inside.
Jul 07, 2017
The bathroom and club room are disgustingly dirty. My six year old walked in and said "oh, yuck...it smells like when our dog had puppies". It was awful, we left after being there for 10 hours. It was the worst KOA we have stayed in.
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
Good. Friendly and helpful
Jun 26, 2017
Excellent campground
Jun 25, 2017
Safari tent was full of dust, disarray about our reservation change, poor communication on the phone about the rate. Pool table surface unusable, swamp coolers need to be replaced. On a positive note, the pool was very refreshing & bathrooms at main office were nice while campsite toilets have their floors pulled but no indication that they are being replaced. Not what I expect from a KOA
Jun 23, 2017
It was nice place to be. But to windy. Nice people.
Jun 20, 2017
it was perfect. thank you especially the lady at the check in process... she is awasome!!!
Jun 17, 2017
This is the noisiest KOA with horribly close camping spaces. There was no park security asking people to put their fires out or keep the noise down. There were fired and parties going into the morning after 2am. I would rather sleep in my car in a truck stop than stay there again. The shower was in disrepair.
Jun 16, 2017
Very good service. Clean bathroom and showers.
Jun 16, 2017
Very nice park and friendly staff
Jun 02, 2017
Too close to the highway. Facilities are in great shape but it's hard to sleep.
May 30, 2017
Awesome
May 16, 2017
we were placed in a site second to the last. feels like we were discriminated
May 09, 2017
During high winds, flaps on safari tent banged loudly during the night. Would not recommend staying there if it's windy. Also bathrooms were kind of grungy.
May 08, 2017
It was just what we needed to park and rest before continuing the rest of our journey. Friendly staff and nice amenities. We'll be stopping there from now on.
Apr 25, 2017
We always feel welcomed and are treated like family. Clean facilities and the grounds are keep up well. 2017 was the 6th year my four wheel club has chosen Calico KOA for our annual event. Thanks for having us. 5 Stars to you CALICO
Apr 25, 2017
Ily and crew were outstanding for our group's, Scouts West, visit. Thank you
Apr 24, 2017
The staff were great. Noting that our tent site is under renovation and had no shade, they supplied ice through the weekend for our coolers. They also provide a firepit and wood, and a BBQ for our neighbors to cook on. We'll definitely be back.
Apr 24, 2017
We were there for a large off or meet up. It was a lot less parking than there was last year 4 the show part with the vehicles.
Apr 21, 2017
some staff more than just helpful others not so much. employees some are just there for the paycheck.
Apr 17, 2017
Apr 15, 2017
Staff very nice and extremely helpful. Clean site, lots of activities available.
Apr 10, 2017
This is a pretty bleak place - right next to I-40 and the railroad. The wind blew in 40MPH gusts the whole time we were there. It's probably ok if you are driving an RV and find yourself needing to sleep in Barstow, but I would not recommend it for tents. If Frodo and Samwise had stayed in a KOA campground on their way to Mordor, it would have looked like this.
Apr 03, 2017
Staff is friendly, but the pool was under construction.
Mar 15, 2017
Nos encanta Koa! Sin embargo en este campamento la señora del registro es muy antipática. Nos quedamos solo una noche y fue la única persona con la que tuvimos contacto de Koa, lástima porque no nos hizo sentir bienvenidos.
Dec 15, 2016
Dec 06, 2016
Everything was very nice here the only thing I'm finding out at most of the KOAs are they do not have very good Wifi. That is the only issue I would have.
Nov 29, 2016
We came to this site to check it out for a future stay with a Girl Scout group. We found it nice, friendly and clean. Hope to see you in the spring.
Nov 14, 2016
The staff was wonderful and the bathrooms (and other facilities) were nice and clean. However, we were tent camping and the highway noise was just too much. We had planned on staying 2 nights, but went home for the second night. Also, the advertised bounce pad (a big factor in our decision) was not working.
Nov 02, 2016
I was impressed with how the calico koa is investing in improving the campsite. We loved the tent site improvements and the addition of mini trailors are a great addition. We look forward to going back.
Nov 01, 2016
I arrived on Friday with a tent. Reservations were made two months in advance and paid for in full. When I arrived they charged me for another night and then would not refund the money. Their rates increased from the time I reserved and the time I arrived and they tried to collect the difference.I planned to attend there Saturday morning pancake breakfast but it was canceled without notification
Oct 30, 2016
Sites are close together. Lucky that we had quiet neighbors like ourselves. If we had stayed by the campers that brought their outdoor speakers and karaoke set, I would not have been happy. Wish every tent site had a grill of some sort. Luckily we have a camp stove. We already recommended this place to friends, especially visiting during October so you can go to Calico Ghost Town Halloween events.
Oct 24, 2016
Very nice amenities. I had a great time and made a good use of the game room, the hammocks, the pool, archery, and the playground.
Oct 23, 2016
Oct 14, 2016
Staff friendly and helpful. Facilities clean and well maintained.
Oct 10, 2016
Very very tiny tent sites, no fire pits only grill.. Tent site was mainky a dusty patch with a picnic table covered in bird poop and a grill.. The entire site was about the size of my bedroom.
Sep 19, 2016
great time
Sep 16, 2016
too loud because of near highway
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals