Barstow / Calico KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0059

Info: 760-904-3069

Email

35250 Outer Highway 15 North

Yermo, CA 92398

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Nov 29, 2016
We came to this site to check it out for a future stay with a Girl Scout group. We found it nice, friendly and clean. Hope to see you in the spring.
Nov 14, 2016
The staff was wonderful and the bathrooms (and other facilities) were nice and clean. However, we were tent camping and the highway noise was just too much. We had planned on staying 2 nights, but went home for the second night. Also, the advertised bounce pad (a big factor in our decision) was not working.
Nov 02, 2016
I was impressed with how the calico koa is investing in improving the campsite. We loved the tent site improvements and the addition of mini trailors are a great addition. We look forward to going back.
Nov 01, 2016
I arrived on Friday with a tent. Reservations were made two months in advance and paid for in full. When I arrived they charged me for another night and then would not refund the money. Their rates increased from the time I reserved and the time I arrived and they tried to collect the difference.I planned to attend there Saturday morning pancake breakfast but it was canceled without notification
Oct 30, 2016
Sites are close together. Lucky that we had quiet neighbors like ourselves. If we had stayed by the campers that brought their outdoor speakers and karaoke set, I would not have been happy. Wish every tent site had a grill of some sort. Luckily we have a camp stove. We already recommended this place to friends, especially visiting during October so you can go to Calico Ghost Town Halloween events.
Oct 24, 2016
Very nice amenities. I had a great time and made a good use of the game room, the hammocks, the pool, archery, and the playground.
Oct 23, 2016
Oct 14, 2016
Staff friendly and helpful. Facilities clean and well maintained.
Oct 10, 2016
Very very tiny tent sites, no fire pits only grill.. Tent site was mainky a dusty patch with a picnic table covered in bird poop and a grill.. The entire site was about the size of my bedroom.
Sep 19, 2016
great time
Sep 16, 2016
too loud because of near highway
Sep 16, 2016
Not very friendly at the reception no information.in the deluxe tent no chair no possibility to lay something on.
Sep 07, 2016
My first stop across the US. The property is right next to the freeway making it very noisy at night. Also I'm in a tent, the ground was almost impossible to use stakes. The campers next to me used weights in lieu of stakes? The pool area was the only highlight.
Sep 06, 2016
It was a great place to stay...we enjoyed it.
Sep 04, 2016
Although our stay was only for one night. The place was quiet and very accommodating. The play area for kids was great and had lots of choices including a caboose to enjoy.
Sep 02, 2016
We didn't get to enjoy the amenities! Everything was well maintained and bathrooms are clean. We came in late and had to leave early. Next time hopefully we can get there earlier!! Thank you for your hospitality!!
Aug 15, 2016
A proximité de l'autoroute Très bruyant A éviter
Aug 11, 2016
A bit understaffed and run down, though the staff was courteous and upbeat. The pool was a lifesaver because it was 110, but it left my kids with mild chlorine burns. We were not prepared to have to pay for our showers. We had not experienced this at any of our other KOA stays. It is right on the freeway so it was noisy. The WI-FI was excellent, which was nice.
Aug 10, 2016
Really surprised by the amount of road noise but also general status of the showers - clean but not in good maintained order.
Aug 08, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Although the santa clarita fire sort of messed up the evening, the place is awesome, the pool is fantastic, the folks are amazing. Great place! thanks!
Jul 21, 2016
Lot of noise from interstate
Jul 19, 2016
Bugs in my tent as. And just to hot out
Jul 11, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
Besides the fact that it's Barstow.... This KOA was dirty and overpriced.
Jun 13, 2016
Helpful and friendly staff. Conveniently location. It's right next to an interstate, but I didn't have any trouble sleeping. There was no ventilation in the shower, which can get stuffy in the desert. That and the wifi signal didn't reach to the back of the KOA where my tent site was. However, I'd stay here again if I'm in the area.
Jun 09, 2016
Our time here was great! Nice to have the lovely pool after a few days of camping in the Mojave. One thing would be helpful - if the Kamp would pay out the money for the plastic bottles - we are not CA residents and not familiar with the redemption. Perhaps you could reimburse campers and then take the plastics for the deposits - as a service? Thanks!
May 25, 2016
Great campgrond for it's intended purpose. Pretty clean facility, but looks like maintenance is falling behind. It would take much to make this place nice, why not do it?
May 22, 2016
I have always enjoyed my stay at KOA from the Keys to California. The only issue on this stay was the person who checked me in was unfriendly.
May 20, 2016
passing through the area and only stayed one night, but facilities clean, quiet, and in good repair
May 11, 2016
Had a good time.
May 11, 2016
It was close to where I wanted to be (Death Valley) and Calico was a good way to spend a few hours just wandering around and learning about the mining in the area. The staff was helpful and friendly and the place was clean. I was given a great site for my large tent. I guess my wish would be for all campgrounds to have raised tent sites which are level and easy to stake a tent down.
May 10, 2016
This is one of two of our favorites. Close to our family, but Far enough away from the city. Great warm climate. Just a little ants. Plenty of showers and restrooms. Shower doors do lock. Clean grounds and restrooms.
May 04, 2016
A little oasis in the middle of no where, enjoy staying here.
Apr 25, 2016
Everything is clean and well kept, even the guests were well mannered and quiet at night. The front desk gals went out of their way to help with whatever they could, I will definitely go back as we had a great time. :)
Apr 18, 2016
Great facility. This was a very busy weekend at the campground and some additional staff members would have been helpful.
Apr 18, 2016
Great place to camp if your looking for RV hookups. They have a pool too.
Apr 18, 2016
Our 4x4 group, Scouts West, sponsors an annual trip, IHWR which is also a charity fundraiser. The team at Calico KOA really takes care of and works with us to make this event special for all attendees. While still taking care of those who are staying there but not part of our group. We love the staff and all they do.
Apr 11, 2016
The campground was very well maintained. Picnic table and BBQ pit made it easy to prep all my meals. Friendly staff and the Showers/Bathroom were immaculate. And you can't beat the view of the mountains in the back drop.
Mar 30, 2016
We camp in tents and the wind was so terrible that we had to leave a day early. Therefore we had to Forfeit what we had already paid and because of the wind we also had to Forfeit the two bundles of wood that we had purchased. This leads me to believe that it is better to pay day by day then to make actual reservations. We were the only people there in tents.
Mar 15, 2016
We reserved two tent sites, but here was not enough space for our party of 12. The owner upgraded us to a tent cabin. Excellent customer service!
Feb 17, 2016
Great KOA.. Have stayed several times. Love the Safari Tent's !
Jan 26, 2016
Our favorite place to stay while visiting Calico. Friendly Staff, clean amenities
Nov 30, 2015
The campground was clean and well organized, I enjoyed my stay very much. They even blew up the bounce pad early for my kids.
Nov 30, 2015
While I felt the cashier was somewhat rude and unaccommodating, I enjoyed my overnight stay. The main reason I would recommend this spot is that it appeared well kept, lots of security lighting and free showers. We tent camped.
Nov 30, 2015
I liked how everything was so clean and the staff so friendly.
Nov 06, 2015
Too close to road for tent camping. Facility was nice but the road noise was intense.
Nov 02, 2015
Helpful,friendly staff and lots to entertain all family members!
Nov 02, 2015
Strategic location between Vegas and San Diego. Small camp. Clean restrooms in main building and unfortunately less clean ones in the back of the campground.
Oct 30, 2015
I think KOA is over priced for what you get. Some of the people that were camped there were very noisy, the noise curfew was not enforced at all. Other than that it was pretty nice. I will not stay there again.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy