Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 11, 2017
Very nice campground. Will definitely go back. Relaxing and quiet.
Jul 11, 2017
Explored campgrounds in the Badlands online before booking. We made a great choice. Nestled between a creek and the White River the shady campground was much cooler than others we saw once we arrived in the area. The staff was friendly and helpful. The place was neat and clean. We would stay here again - absolutely.
Jul 10, 2017
The facility and the staff are great but the guests are very noisy making it hard to rest due to the constant noise
Jul 10, 2017
Very friendly staff and a nice, laid back campground. Great for families.
Jul 10, 2017
Staff, facilities, and the scenery were all 10/10. Loved staying at the Badlands KOA
Jul 10, 2017
Second time here, love the grounds and the hosts are special people.
Jul 10, 2017
Campground was nice. Food/meals were highly overpriced for what you get. Skip the "breakfast burrito" its tiny. The wood we bought didn't do much but smoke and was hard to cook with. Showers, were muggy and pointless they should have better ventilation or A/C. The pool was nice and staff very defensive when confronted with a problem, instead of helping. Store, $4 for a loaf of bread.
Jul 09, 2017
Nice, quiet campground, although the wifi didn't reach our tent site. We had to go closer to the office to get reception.
Jul 09, 2017
We chose this campground so we could have a campfire and be close to the Badlands, and it was great! Restrooms were in good shape. We stayed in a deluxe tent site which had its pros (lots of storage, sink, place to keep things dry) and cons (not much privacy, too close to neighbors, not much of a 'camping' feel). We'd definitely stay at this KOA again if we're camping in the Badlands.
Jul 09, 2017
Jul 09, 2017
Had fun here and the lightning thunder storm you provided for free was AWESOME. Loved the active present of the Koa staff during the storm and just general buzzing around making sure nobody needed anything
Jul 08, 2017
Nice option having breakfast and dinner cooked for you. Bathrooms were very clean, well maintained.
Jul 08, 2017
The deluxe tent sites were dirty in the sink area, flies everywhere. A weekly wash down would do wonders. Also bathrooms could use some thorough cleaning.
Jul 07, 2017
Stayed in the teepee. Great experience - something different !
Jul 07, 2017
This is the best KOA I have ever visited. The campgrounds are well maintained. The staff was super friendly. The food they served was delicious and a good value. Could not recommend this place enough. Well done
Jul 07, 2017
Thanks!
Jul 07, 2017
It was a great stop over spot while visiting the Badlands. It was clean and well kept. It was super hot when we stayed so bonus points for having a pool! My only complaint would be the firepit is too deep to start a fire and the firewood at the store was horrible! Otherwise all else was great!
Jul 07, 2017
Sweet little campground in super convenient location to the sites. Surprisingly decent food a cute little pool too. Friendly staff.
Jul 07, 2017
Nice and clean, trouble with late arriving early leaving noisy guests but otherwise a good place to stay.
Jul 07, 2017
Nice clean campground with accommodating staff. We only go KOA now!
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
I had a wonderful time staying at the Badlands KOA! The amenities were convenient and well-maintained, the campground was clean and comfortable, and the atmosphere was fun and convivial. It really made my stay in the Badlands that much better.
Jul 07, 2017
Bathrooms and showers were dirty both times used.. morning and evening.
Jul 06, 2017
Jul 06, 2017
We love it here! Family friendly. Dog friendly. Great food and cook! It is clean and every year we see improvements! The pool is wonderful! Thank you!
Jul 06, 2017
Disappointing. One shower stall and one toilet stall were down... in a campground that is already too large for available facilities. Dated and worn out. Time for a facelift.
Jul 05, 2017
Not as clean as others we've stayed in- bathrooms were too far away from tent site, and too many maintenance issues.
Jul 05, 2017
Awesome place!
Jul 05, 2017
A great stay, great owners, very accommodating for telescopers!
Jul 05, 2017
The fire pit was a bit disappointing, it wasn't a true fire pit. It was more like some sort of half grill and it made it difficult to keep a fire going. In comparison to the other KOAs we have stayed at it was a small site. The breakfast though was by far the best we have had at a KOA and we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 05, 2017
Attentive staffing, perfect locations, very clean.
Jul 04, 2017
Great Hosts! Tent sites and Cabins spaced nicely, I stayed in both. Very Nice Stay! Thanks!
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
Wonderful place. Bob and his staff are real professionals. Great food shack, good coffee all the time, and friendly conversation!
Jul 02, 2017
Jul 02, 2017
Second time to stay here while traveling across the country and would happily do so again!
Jul 01, 2017
Nice place to stay. Wish there could be a change machine (for laundry machines) and maybe some vending machines for when the store is closed. The showers need some major attention-they sprayed willy-nilly and the blue tape on the the heads didn't do a thing to prevent that-even to the point of spraying into the other shower areas. But, probably the nicest camp in this area.
Jun 28, 2017
It was fun.
Jun 28, 2017
We had an awesome time!
Jun 28, 2017
The stay was fine. I wish that it wasn't advertised on the web site that the tent sites by the river had Wi-Fi when they didn't. Or that the river was completely dry, which is obviously not the fault of the campground, but it wasn't mentioned in the details.
Jun 27, 2017
We stayed in a tipi and the place was excellent. The stars at night are amazing.
Jun 26, 2017
We spent 2 nights there at the beginning of our week, and when our vacation plans changed, we decided to spend our last 2 vacation nights there. The owners/staff are very friendly and helpful. The sites are nicely shaded. They serve meals there that can be ordered, but we left touring early in the morning and got back late so we weren't able to make use of that option
Jun 24, 2017
What gracious hosts! I recommend the tent sites that have a sink- super handy! The new pool is beautiful.
Jun 24, 2017
Great place to pitch a tent for the night!
Jun 23, 2017
Stay was good. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. The sites were nice and the facilities pretty well maintained. The main bathrooms near us were under construction and that was NOT good. We have two kids with sensory processing issues and it was a challenge for them. Additionally, though we really liked that there was a pool and it was clean, the liner was slippery and dangerous. Food=C
Jun 23, 2017
Clean. Friendly. Comfortable surroundings.
Jun 22, 2017
It was very packed, not very much privacy, and the quiet hours were not respected in the morning (the number of car doors that were slammed before 6am was ridiculous).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This is the vacation season. We expect to have full campgrounds this time of year. We are sorry your neighbors were noisy in the morning. Did you speak to anyone about this? We would have been happy to interact with those who were bothering you.
Jun 21, 2017
Very convenient to Badlands park entrance, Nice people and easy service to check in. No view of the park from camp site but otherwise great for anyone visiting the Badlands
Jun 21, 2017
Great campsite! Campground was very nice! Clean faculties! Everything was just wonderful!!
Jun 20, 2017
Staff was great ,park is friendly
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award