Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jun 20, 2014
Mosquitos were horrible and bathrooms were unclean. Food was great and kampground was nice and organized.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry that you had a problem with mosquitos. That can be an issue in the outdoors during a rainy spring. We are spraying when it is safe to do so and taking other measures to mitigate mosquitos. Our cleaning staff will be made aware of your comment
Jun 18, 2014
The camp is a lot nicer than it was ten years ago. Nice work Steve and Marci!
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Good overall. It was nice that it was quiet and dark at night. Our only issue was that the Wi-Fi was spotty.
Jun 14, 2014
Great hospitality. Very clean. Best place to stay in the Badlands!
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 12, 2014
Nice shade. Wish they would space campers out more if campground not full. Clean, we'll manicured CG. Would come again.
Jun 09, 2014
The nicest campgrounds owners and mgrs I've ever met! Absolutely the most beautiful, cleanest, friendliest KOA I've ever stayed at. 5 Stars!
Jun 06, 2014
Beautiful campground! Would stay again in a heartbeat.
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
The KOA and staff were awesome, very receptive to needs. I was in a tent. Unfortunately, none of the tent sights are close to a bathroom without being disturbed by the RVs who don't turn off their generators like they're required to do (w/electricity!). However, any disturbances by the RVs were handled very professionally and extremely quickly. I would highly recommend this KOA!
May 31, 2014
May 31, 2014
Friendly Employees, Clean facilties
May 26, 2014
May 26, 2014
Best campground in the area. Only improvement would be more privacy between tenting spaces. Other than that, don't miss this place.
May 18, 2014
Everything was great. Nice place. Friendly staff.
Sep 29, 2013
Perfect location to start out a day at the Badlands. If you're tent camping, bring an air mattress. The ground is pretty much solid rock and not comfortable without some sort of padding.
Sep 26, 2013
I really enjoyed staying there in a tent.It is quiet, a beautiful site with trees and so close to theBadlands.
Sep 22, 2013
The campground was absolutely beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. We would definitely stay here again!
Sep 20, 2013
Hard to find campground at night. Need more lights in front by the road. Also put lights or reflectors on the sign at the junctions 4 miles from the campground.Very difficult to find after dark.
Sep 14, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Out in the middle of nowhere, but a very nice campground. Didn't like the sewage smell, otherwise it was great.
Sep 06, 2013
Staying with these folks and staff is like staying with family. They truly care about your comfort and your stay with them.The campground and facilities are always tidy and clean. I have stayed with them before and will stay again.
Sep 05, 2013
We had a wonderful stay, people joked about roughing it at KOA, but the Badlands KOA seemed to me more remote and secluded than the nearby campgrounds.
Sep 02, 2013
Staff was great. There was some road noise but not bad. Our only complaint was our tent camping neighbor who had four dogs that barked all evening. Between the dogs barking and the owners yelling at them it was kind of crappy.
Aug 29, 2013
It was a nice, basic KOA. I would suggest it to anyone planning to stay in the area.
Aug 29, 2013
The flies in the campsite were absolutely unbearable. Also, some other campers left a disgusting mess in the camper kitchen located next to us. The people working there were great and extremely friendly and helpful.
Aug 29, 2013
Nice location. But.....this place was completely swarming, and I mean swarming with flies. We stayed in the tent village and did enjoy the quiet and break from the flies while in our tent....But during the time out of our tent it was almost unbearable. Also, the smell of the septic system was rather close to the tent area! I would avoid this KOA.
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Great place!
Aug 25, 2013
Good clean campground very close to the Badlands. The amenities are excellent for a campground and the staff friendly. I stayed at this campground in 1995 on a family vacation, it was just like a remembered it, but even better.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
I liked it a lot but the mosquitoes was a big problem
Aug 20, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious and quite camp sites. Good activities for the kids and they loved the fun bikes.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Beautiful area, pool was nice with the hot weather, having food available as an option to cooking was nice.
Aug 13, 2013
very friendly staff and owners. super clean bath house and laundry area. the entire grounds were very clean and well groomed. i recommend this campground 100%. thanks for a great experience
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The tent pads were great. Wood framed and filled with small round rocks that made a smooth surface and didn't let water collect under tent.
Aug 11, 2013
Great place to stay! It was a treat to go thru the Badlands to reach to the KOA. The pool was refreshing plus they have dinner and breakfast served if you don't feel like cooking.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
nice place, good facility, clean pool and bathrooms. We wish the "pancake breakfast" would go until 10 am :(... we missed it because they stop stop accepting at 9am.
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
This KOA is very clean the folks there are super friendly and always ready to help.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Nice quaint site with beautiful views! Would love to stay longer next time.
Aug 03, 2013
Camped in tent on ground. Clean, well maintained, good availability of services. A suggestion for improvement is to add reflectors to edge of road to assist in navigating dark roads.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.