Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 07, 2013
The site was ok. We did like that it was so close to the Badlands. If you decide to camp on the river, realize the river is not big and you can't even see it from the campsite. Lots of bugs in the pool. Unlike other KOAs, mini golf is not free here.
Jul 06, 2013
Had a great time! Our site was nice, pool and bathrooms clean. The whole Kampground was well cared for. We would stay with you again!
Jul 06, 2013
friendly professional staff. beautiful grounds clean shower and bath areas we enjoyed our stay greatly
Jul 05, 2013
NIce stay, plenty spacious site. Only negative is that the drinking water was pretty bad though!
Jul 05, 2013
It was clean and well maintained. Camping areas were nicely spaced. We checked in around 8:45 PM. The staff member that checked us in was short with us and made us clearly aware she was done for the day and they were closing. Big difference from the warm, helpful welcome we received at our last KOA, the night before, in Cody, WY.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Our family get together at the KOA was wonderful. The location next to the Badlands made visiting the park very easy. The camp grounds were clean, but it was difficult to find a trash can near our camp site. Overall this campground was comfortable and enjoyable.
Jul 02, 2013
Overall, a great stay! One recommendation would be for ceiling fans in the restrooms.
Jul 02, 2013
Staff were friendly and helpful, and the facilities and camp sites were clean with plenty of shade. We would definitely stay here on a future trip to the SD badlands.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Past owners let us shoot bows at targets. New owners are anti hunters.
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
We showed just prior to a rain storm and could not get a fire started for dinner. Good thing they had indian tacos for dinner and was able to eat under a metal shelter. This was great as it was our first night camping for our week vacation.... rest went well after due to weather but great to have KOA available previously.
Jun 24, 2013
Everything was clean and the staff was warm and friendly.
Jun 24, 2013
Nice, Thanks
Jun 22, 2013
Our stay was great. The campground was clean, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast and dinner was a nice touch.
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
We had a wonderful time! It was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The only frustrating thing was that we did not have a BBQ grill at our site and had to buy a grill to put over the put which made it difficult to cook. I would definitely stay here again!!!
Jun 19, 2013
Nice campsite, clean
Jun 18, 2013
It was nice...woken up early by dog barking...not thrilled with that. You should separate pet owners from not non pet visitors.
Jun 17, 2013
Loved the site. Very quite, shaded and spread out. Great dog park.
Jun 17, 2013
Nice playground. Friendly staff.
Jun 17, 2013
We go back to the Badlands/White River KOA every year, because we've had great experiences there every single time we've gone. The staff is friendly and helpful. The campground is kept up very well, both the grounds and the facilities. There are lots of things for the kids to do. The meals from the Kookhouse are excellent, and a great value. We'll be back again.
Jun 14, 2013
This campground is one our favorites. It is so peaceful and relaxing; away from the hustle and bustle. The staff members are extremely helpful and friendly. My wife and I make it a point to stay at this campground every time we pass the Badlands.
Jun 08, 2013
Jun 05, 2013
Jun 05, 2013
Our campsite backed up to the White River and was nice and shady. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, and the putt-putt golf course was great! Sites were roomy, bathrooms were clean, and the showers were hot!
Jun 04, 2013
What a friendly staff, the bathrooms were clean and the tent city site was terrific for my needs. I didn't get a chance to check out the Indian Tacos, but next time through, I'll have to give them a try.
Jun 02, 2013
May 29, 2013
Great staff, great food, great value!
May 13, 2013
KOA camping doesn't really feel like camping. I like the amenities, but the atmosphere is more like a mobile home parking area. We were tent camping and had trailers and campers all around us. Some better remote sites would be benifitial.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. We do have a number of more primitive tent sites that are along the river and away from RV sites for guests who prefer fewer amenities.
Sep 25, 2012
The family that operates this campground was warm, gracious and extended themselves in so many helpful ways. In an impersonal business world, the people that operate the Badlands/White River KOA kindly treat their guests like family.
Sep 24, 2012
My wife and I hoped to stay in the "Tent City". But, it was closed for the season when we arrived. Regardless, the campground and all of its facilities were well maintained, clean and the management attentive and friendly. We'll recommend this campground to everyone we know who camps and plans to visit the South Dakota Badlands!
Sep 23, 2012
Sep 20, 2012
Sep 17, 2012
This KOA is the Best, always! Great People, good rates and a pleasure to stay there!
Sep 12, 2012
The owners told us the site we were given was not the best... it was large and a good site! The kids enjoyed the pool. The campsite is perfect on the White River and to the Badlands!
Sep 10, 2012
We stayed in Tent Village and it was perfect!
Sep 10, 2012
We only stayed one night and it was not very busy but we enjoyed it a lot. We hope to do it again next year.
Sep 07, 2012
Sep 03, 2012
Sep 03, 2012
Very hot evening, but very nice place. Highly recommend over park campground!
Aug 31, 2012
Good location, but was more expensive than other KOAs I've stayed at. Good directions and reassurance signs on nearby highways, it was easy to find even in the dark. Internet did not work!
Aug 29, 2012
This campground was fantastic! The pool area was clean and fun, the shower area was clean and well taken care of and the staff was very accommodating and fun. We will definitely stay again if we are in the area!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.