Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Jul 28, 2014
Our stay was wonderful. We appreciated the friendly staff and clean campground. Our tent site had plenty of shade, which was very comfortable.
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Our family of 5 stayed at this KOA for 3 nights. The staff was super helpful and friendly. The whole place was clean. As tenters the dishwashing station was very helpful. We had two tents for my wife and I and our three kids. The staff helped us find a site that would work well with having two tents. We'd stay here again.
Jul 23, 2014
Very clean. Very hot amd not a lot of shade in our site.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Very nice campground although our site had an issue with ants. Despite having dryers, I wish they could allow us to use clotheslines.
Jul 23, 2014
It was nice. But compared to Erie not nearly as kept up. And not the koas fault but the bathrooms were misused at night and made a very unpleasant experience leaving. Mosquitos seem uncontrolled.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry that you experienced an issue in the restrooms. As soon as we were made aware of the situation, our cleaning staff took care of it. We have had significant improvement in the mosquitos in recent weeks due to drier weather and our mitigation efforts.
Jul 22, 2014
Everything is there what you need
Jul 19, 2014
Very pleasant campground. Beautiful setting, staff was helpful, pancakes were delicious, and bathrooms were clean.
Jul 18, 2014
Great location, tent sites were a really good size and close to the bathrooms with great views of the river.
Jul 16, 2014
Enjoyed our stay at this very clean campground. We stayed at the tent village, something I have never seen before, and loved it! There is enough room to pitch a tent. We had our own private gazebo area with table and a counter to cook our meals. There was also an cupboard you could put a padlock on to secure your belongings under the counter We had privacy but were a part of the campground.
Jul 16, 2014
Great stop on our way to Mt. Rusmore. Clean facilities, great site, and the Indian tacos and pancakes were delicious!
Jul 16, 2014
Nice, pretty quiet, fairly clean.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Great campground standing alone. However, after staying in the area for several days, this is EASILY the best place to stay compared to other locations.
Jul 10, 2014
One of our favorite places to stop, always nice! Ron E.
Jul 06, 2014
Very nice campground in a convenient and peaceful location. Lots of room around sites and clean, well maintained facilities.
Jul 06, 2014
Not a user friendly campground. Very few signs, therefore hard to find things without a map. Tent camping area on the lower end of the site next to a stagnant water area. Mosquitoes were thick. Spent a lot of our time spraying repellent and yard guard around the tent. Poor arrangement of facilities.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry that you experienced a problem in finding us. Generally, campers find our signs along the way adequate and our staff would have been happy to provide you with directions. I'm not sure what standing water you encountered unless it had just rained.
Jul 05, 2014
Very nice with lots of activities for the kids. We enjoyed it.
Jul 04, 2014
I have never stayed at a KOA but this campsite was clean, had very clean bathrooms & showers. Our site had a great tent pad and nice campfire pit.the site was quiet and campers seemed to enjoy the amenities. I felt the food (breakfast) they offered was way over priced. My only "complaint". I would stay here again and I would recommend to others!
Jul 04, 2014
nice place, average
Jul 04, 2014
We had a nice private campsite in the back...very relaxing. The mosquitoes were bad-even though they had sprayed. It was a wet year for them, so this is propbably why. Nice pool and very friendly people!
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
too many mosquitoes!
Jul 01, 2014
The staff was wonderful and friendly. The only thing we did not like about this KOA was the distance from the Badlands, which I realize cannot be helped. Otherwise it was awesome!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
Great stay, very nice camp. Everything was amazing but you need to watch out for mosquitoes. Bring a sweater and pants and wear extra bug spray. We asked for it when we booked a tent site right next to the river. I would stay there again, no doubt.
Jun 28, 2014
We were provided a great campsite for our Boy Scout Troop on very short notice. The staff was excellent.
Jun 26, 2014
Loved our stay at Badlands KOA! Friendly staff, reasonable prices, clean bathrooms, and great location. Bring bug spray and be ready for a great stay.
Jun 25, 2014
We stayed for two days and would recommend this location to anyone. The staff are not necessarily personable but are cordial and efficient. We were at a tent site right behind the pool-great location for us to keep an eye on the kids as the playground was to the left of the pool. Bathrooms were clean, water pressure and temperature better than some we've KOA's we've stayed at.
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 20, 2014
Mosquitos were horrible and bathrooms were unclean. Food was great and kampground was nice and organized.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry that you had a problem with mosquitos. That can be an issue in the outdoors during a rainy spring. We are spraying when it is safe to do so and taking other measures to mitigate mosquitos. Our cleaning staff will be made aware of your comment
Jun 18, 2014
The camp is a lot nicer than it was ten years ago. Nice work Steve and Marci!
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Good overall. It was nice that it was quiet and dark at night. Our only issue was that the Wi-Fi was spotty.
Jun 14, 2014
Great hospitality. Very clean. Best place to stay in the Badlands!
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 12, 2014
Nice shade. Wish they would space campers out more if campground not full. Clean, we'll manicured CG. Would come again.
Jun 09, 2014
The nicest campgrounds owners and mgrs I've ever met! Absolutely the most beautiful, cleanest, friendliest KOA I've ever stayed at. 5 Stars!
Jun 06, 2014
Beautiful campground! Would stay again in a heartbeat.
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
The KOA and staff were awesome, very receptive to needs. I was in a tent. Unfortunately, none of the tent sights are close to a bathroom without being disturbed by the RVs who don't turn off their generators like they're required to do (w/electricity!). However, any disturbances by the RVs were handled very professionally and extremely quickly. I would highly recommend this KOA!
May 31, 2014
May 31, 2014
Friendly Employees, Clean facilties
May 26, 2014
May 26, 2014
Best campground in the area. Only improvement would be more privacy between tenting spaces. Other than that, don't miss this place.
May 18, 2014
Everything was great. Nice place. Friendly staff.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.