Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 18, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
Nice camp ground with trees and well maintained. The slot they put out 5th wheel in was a little short and we had to angle the truck. There is no cell phone service in the area, but they have a phone booth.
Sep 18, 2014
Beautiful trees and shade in the middle of the garlands. Worth the extra 4 minute drive from the other campgrounds..
Sep 17, 2014
Owners live on site and are constantly working to keep everything pristine. We were there after Labor Day so not all amenities were available. The campground is filled with huge cottonwood trees near the White River providing ample shade. With fire ring lit, the night skies with bright stars and coyotes singing made our stay special.
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
we had a great time we like the little cafe too
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 14, 2014
This is definately a gem in the badlands,with it's location in a wooded setting next to the white river. The campground was VERY clean with updated and clean bathrooms/showers. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with local information. We stayed off season and just used the campgrounds as home base for sightseeing in the Badland's area. Looks like they have loads of activities during season.
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 13, 2014
campsites were very clean . KOA was close to Badlands. No cell phone service but did have Wifi. Fenced dog walk. Would return and recommend to others.
Sep 13, 2014
great place and location! Thumbs up!
Sep 13, 2014
Sep 13, 2014
Sep 13, 2014
very clean and friendly place!
Sep 13, 2014
Wonderful campground. Neat, clean and very scenic. And friendly helpful staff. A "must" stay for anyone heading from or to the black hills. The badlands are unique and beautiful.
Sep 13, 2014
Sep 12, 2014
Loved this campground and loved the Badlands.
Sep 12, 2014
Immaculate cabins, bathrooms, and showers. Also, the owners were so helpful when we looked for places to eat. Would definitely stay here again!
Sep 11, 2014
The only negative thing I have to say is about the camping "pads" that they have tent campers use. The pebbles make it hard to secure the stakes for the tent, and therefore the tent is not as secure in inclement weather. My tent came down twice in a thunderstorm because of this. It has withstood stronger storms and the only difference was the rock pads. Otherwise, everything was great!
Sep 11, 2014
Beautiful, spacious campgrounds in the Bad Lands. Nice big rig sites; friendly and helpful staff; facilities very well maintained.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 11, 2014
Nice place to stay
Sep 11, 2014
very nice, quiet relaxing KOA with great owner/operator who were great assisting us with some travel problems.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Wonderful campground. Although nearing the end of their season, the owners were exceptionallly responsive to guest requests. Very well maintained, great shade and large open areas, too. Best campground from which to visit the Badlands!!!
Sep 09, 2014
Pretty good experience at this campground- helpful, efficient staff, level grassy sites, but can get quite windy!
Sep 09, 2014
IT IS A NICE CAMPGROUND AND VERY NICE PEOPLE WORKING THERE. I WILL GO BACK AGAIN NEXT YEAR!!!
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
We always stay at the Badlands KOA when we're in this area. We love the location near the White River and the shady site. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and the facilities are clean and welcoming. We've recommended this place to several people as the best place to camp in the Badlands.
Sep 08, 2014
Excellent campground! The hosts and their staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and well maintained - the grounds, the rest rooms, the laundry - everything! One of the best run campgrounds I have ever visited.
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
Camping propre et accueillant.
Sep 07, 2014
Sep 06, 2014
Kind of "out of the way" you have to go through Badlands National Park to get to the campground. Facilities are dated but functional. There is little in the way of restruant or fuel in the area so plan ahead. Very pleasant and helpful staff!
Sep 06, 2014
Wow! Pulled in after many miles. Check-in was a snap (nice people). Followed a cart to site. Sites were level and cable and WiFi signals were strong. Quiet, clean and appealing grounds. Propane service and extra help with directions enhanced our trip. Location was perfect for visiting the Badlands.
Sep 06, 2014
Much nicer than I was there 5 yes ago
Sep 06, 2014
Nice staff and great location!
Sep 06, 2014
This KOA is one that is at the top of our list. Quiet and peaceful surroundings and great personnel. It was nice to be in pleasant surroundings and nice to be out of cell range. We will recommend this KOA and will be back next year.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
This park is very clean and nice. Facilities were very clean and everything work great. Site was level and shady. Will stay again.. Camped in fifth wheel
Sep 05, 2014
Very peaceful and quiet. Too bad half the restroom/laundry facilities and the pool got closed for the season, our vacation time doesn't end on Labor Day. Very friendly staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We know that many folks are traveling after Labor Day and keep as much of our facilities open as possible. However, winter will be here before we know it and it is necessary for us to begin to winterize some of our buildings to protect the water lines.
Sep 05, 2014
We arrived late and sites were limited. Our site was literally impossible to do electric and water/sewer. Wife was unhappy with shower. Clogged drain/water valve fell off. Staff was very nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're sorry that we did not have a site available for you that met your needs. We do appreciate that you informed us of the issue with the shower so that we could take care of it quickly.
Sep 04, 2014
Staff extremely friendly and very clean!!
Sep 03, 2014
Very nice location. Thank you
Sep 03, 2014
Great location and the staff was nice. Michael is a member of the staff and he was great. He gave us great advise on things to do, places to shop and great viewing spots in the Badlands. He really knew the surrounding area. Workers like him made our trip even better.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.