Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Tent Reviews

Aug 01, 2015
The host was so friendly and accommodating with our last minute reservation when our original plans to camp elsewhere fell through! The vanload of twenty somethings that pulled in and set up camp at midnight with headlights blaring in my tent...not so great. But hey, that's camping.
Jul 31, 2015
We stayed one night in a tent site after a day of hiking in the Badlands. The site was a nice size and well-shaded; the bathrooms and laundry room were convenient and clean. There were cows across the road mooing loudly but otherwise it was very quiet and also did not have glaring lights (a problem at some campgrounds). If we get back to the Badlands we'd stay there again.
Jul 31, 2015
Surprisingly this KOA was located in an all shaded area which is a huge advantage in the beautiful, but hot badlands of South Dakota. The other campsites we drove by were all exposed without shade. Karen, who was working the front desk, was extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this KOA to any of our family/friends who were in the area!
Jul 31, 2015
Overall, i dont like KOA's but i must say this is the best i have stayed at to date. Someone answered the phone after 6pm so we could book late and know there were available sites before arriving. Tipi was nice. Spacious sites, which was the best part.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
Good location for going to the Badlands. Amenities are the standard for all KOAs that I have been to. Good place to stay.
Jul 28, 2015
Decent campground staff was nice. Wi-Fi only worked a quarter of the time. Other than that was a nice stay
Jul 27, 2015
We will see you again next year!!
Jul 27, 2015
Great campground. A little bit of road noise, but it could have certainly been way worse! Enjoyed our experience overall!
Jul 27, 2015
So impressed with the cleanliness of the facilities and the beauty of the property. Staff were helpful and friendly. The guests were so quiet and respectful. We loved our two night stay in the gorgeous tipi. It was a dream come to life. Thank you so much.
Jul 27, 2015
Great staff. Bathroom was not clean and had one broken toilet.
Jul 25, 2015
Loved the free Wifi. Good proximity to the Badlands. Friendly staff and clean facilities. Good tent spots with shade.
Jul 25, 2015
Staff nice and helpful.
Jul 25, 2015
The facilities and staff were great. The location for this time of year had swarms of flies that were everywhere. This would be the reason I wouldn't recommend for this season.
Jul 25, 2015
So nice we stayed twice! Thanks for the great hospitality. We were warmly greeted and told the scoop. Our cabin and site were clean and orderly. Thanks for all you do to keep such a great place!
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
We had a Tipi, a totally interesting experience. Although we arrived very late, there was staff around to help us get settled. The area is beautiful, the campground well kept. We would have liked to be able to boil some water or make toast.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
We felt price gouged on food.
Jul 20, 2015
Best koa I've ever stayed at.
Jul 20, 2015
This was a wonderful campground just outside of the Badlands. The owners were very friendly and attentive to all our needs. We stayed in a "primitive" tent site which was nice and shady. We are planning a trip out to Yellowstone and Jackson Hole next summer and plan to stop back at this KOA on our way.
Jul 19, 2015
Great!
Jul 19, 2015
A nice place to stay near the Badlands. Our two boys had a wonderful time!
Jul 18, 2015
This is my third time at this KOA. Always a nice stop.
Jul 18, 2015
It's was a clean campground and everyone seemed friendly. This was a smaller site than other Koa sites so everything was close.
Jul 17, 2015
Great place with great people.
Jul 16, 2015
Loved the Kamp kitchen. Great stay. Would stay here over Rushmore, even with the drive. Mosquitos/biting flies were quite annoying this time of year. Maybe let us know when we are checking in so we can get the right stuff to combat those flying demons.
Jul 15, 2015
We stayed in tipi 130, we swam in the pool, ate dinner there, and had a great time. Friendly staff and clean grounds. Thanks!
Jul 15, 2015
The campground is in the perfect location to explore the Badlands. Seeing mature trees after a long hot drive was an oasis. Camp sit was along the White River, which was dried up to the point of being a swamp. Got eaten alive by mosquitos. My only complaint, which is not the KOA's fault. Nice grounds, friendly people, good pool. Sketchy wi-fi. Never could connect.
Jul 13, 2015
Great owners trying to run this campground and consider their guests first
Jul 13, 2015
Our family stayed in one of the teepees on site, and it was a fun adventure. The campground is clean and well maintained, with a pool and playground equipment for kids. Great facilities, and even a cook shanty where you can order food. We loved our night at the KOA Badlands/White River, SD!
Jul 13, 2015
Great experience, once again. This was my second time staying here. Will definitely be back. Only complaint is that I wish there was a cut-off for how late someone can arrive. 5 vans pulled up right next to us at 1:00 a.m. with headlights shining. Other than that, great time.
Jul 13, 2015
The campground and facilities were clean. The proximity to the Badlands was perfect.
Jul 13, 2015
This is my second stay at the Badlands/White River KOA. Both times have been fantastic! The camp is very clean and well kept. The hosts are exceptionally friendly and very welcoming. I would highly recommend this KOA to anyone visiting the Badlands area. As a bonus, the camp has some of the best birding in the area! We added several new birds to our life lists during our stay. Five stars for sure!
Jul 13, 2015
When I called to book a site the female who answered was very friendly and helpful. The campground and facilities were clean and just what was expected.
Jul 12, 2015
Great place. Our hosts were wonderful and the breakfast and dinner offerings were very tasty!!
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Stayed in a tent site - it was level. Hot showers. Nice owners.
Jul 11, 2015
It was good. Should have a sign in front or at the dest that breatfast and dinner tickets need to be bought in the office and drinks are stored in the office. Looked like some improvements were being made eg the cement. People were nice.
Jul 10, 2015
We have stayed at many KOA'S, but this one was special. Karen and Bob made an effort to know each person staying with them. We had a flat tire on our car and Karen went out of her way to give us a person who could fix it for us. My family enjoyed this KOA so much that we stayed an extra night. Lots of things for the kids to do also. Great place and thanks so much Karen and Bob. Dow's-WI
Jul 10, 2015
Jul 10, 2015
Extremely clean and well run. The owners are very involved and personable. They really care that you have a good stay and it shows!!
Jul 09, 2015
Campground host Bob and Karen very nice.
Jul 08, 2015
Friendly staff, lots of things to do. Bugs became horrible though!
Jul 07, 2015
Very nice KOA.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
...SUPER...KOA... Clean...! Well Stocked with supplies! Great tent sites. Thanks jimmy
Jul 06, 2015
Great vacation!
Jul 06, 2015
My family has come here for years and now I come with my family and friends. The setting beautiful and peaceful. The sites all have beautiful trees which are wonderful in the July sun and heat! Bob and Karen were great and we will be back again!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.