Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 22 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 27, 2016
Make sure if you sleep in the teepee you know what the weather is like. It was super hot then super cold at night.
Aug 24, 2016
people friendly; sites nice
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
Great stay !
Aug 18, 2016
Great location, well run campground.
Aug 17, 2016
We had a great time in our teepee. The owners really take care of the campground and we're very welcoming. The only reason not to give this a 5 star is the location. It's very remote with very few options for entertainment for the kids. It was great for my husband and me, very quiet with lots of collared doves in the trees. Sitting at our campfire listening to the coyotes howl was awesome.
Aug 17, 2016
What a spectacular place! Beautiful location. Well run, clean, well marked. If I ever pass through again, I will ABSOLUTELY stay here.
Aug 15, 2016
This was a great camping experience. We stayed in a tent and received personal attention from the lovely Lowell. The kindness and personality of your staff (Lowell) made our nigh even more fun. Thanks Lowell!
Aug 13, 2016
Perfect Badlands location. Very friendly KOA staff. Abundant shade and great tent site.
Aug 13, 2016
Wonderfully kind and helpful people. Clean Campground. Thank you so much!
Aug 12, 2016
Beautiful Kampsite. Everyone was so very friendly and accommodating.
Aug 11, 2016
Great clean camp. Restrooms / showers. Friendly staff. Great Badlands location
Aug 11, 2016
Extremely helpful and courteous staff, very clean and well kept campground. Will return
Aug 10, 2016
Aug 10, 2016
Aug 10, 2016
This KOA is the perfect 'base camp' for a few days of day hiking in the Badlands. Clean, friendly, and pancakes as big as your head. Decent shower facilities and pretty quiet starting at 10 PM (an important feature when you're hiking all day). And unlike the NP Cedar Pass campground the KOA lets you have a campfire; a nice feature for cooking and friendly chatting at the end of the day.
Aug 10, 2016
We arrived at 8:30 pm, were checked in quickly and with a little help (had to ask), as it was dark, found our deluxe tent site. There was a nice level pad for a tent, table, electricity, and a small roof over the sink with running water. A light on the roof would have been nice for setting up (neighbor loned us a lantern till I got to my own). Free Wi-Fi was rather slow (cell data unavailable).
Aug 09, 2016
I enjoyed staying at this campground - good campsites and friendly staff. The only thing that wasn't great was the bugs - they were terrible!
Aug 08, 2016
Excellent campground. We stayed in one of the deluxe tent sites which had its own sink, electric, and a covered pavilion area. Very nice.
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
We liked it 10 years ago, and so chose it again for this trip!
Aug 05, 2016
Amazing location! We stayed in a deluxe tent site and couldn't be happier. Great amenities, the pool was needed after the 100+ degree days. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We can't wait to come back!
Aug 04, 2016
It was a little packed for us but not bad at all, thank you for your hospitality.
Aug 04, 2016
Aug 04, 2016
Excellent place to stay while visiting the Badlands. Minor issue with black flies but acceptable with a good breeze.
Aug 03, 2016
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The pizza was delicious, too.
Aug 03, 2016
Super friendly staff.
Aug 02, 2016
Great stay, loved the cabin.
Aug 02, 2016
The campground was great!!! Friendly staff, clean restrooms, spacious camp sites and lots of wonderful shade!!! It was very peaceful and relaxing!! We very much enjoyed ourselves and plan to visit again in the future!! Thank you so much for having us!!
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
We liked the food and we like the people that work there very much. Our only small complaint is that the pool had debris in it. Other than that, we saw at the site we tent camping was perfect in every way.
Jul 30, 2016
Very nice place. I was here yrs ago but has gotten ALOT BETTER witj nice amenities.FRIENDLY STAFF as well. I'll be back.
Jul 28, 2016
This particular camp site is a great place to stay and I would definitely stay again.The one downside to all these koa campsites is the wifiIve stayed at four in the last three weeks and they all suffer from the lack of wifi especially in the tented areas .For me personally I needed to stay in touch with family members and have access to online banking and so forth and this wasn't possible
Jul 27, 2016
Great experience. This was the first time my family has ever stayed at a KOA. Great experience. Will look into staying at other KOAs in the future. Clean campground, friendly staff.
Jul 26, 2016
I had a very unpleasant experience while staying here. I returned to my site from getting dinner only to find a large van parked right in front of my tent where I was supposed to park, with the lights on and a man passed out inside the van. There were several other people in the site next to me, and at 6am they were incredibly loud.
Jul 24, 2016
Overcome by "houseflies" due to sewage lagoon, should not have tent sites near this - smelled septic odor entire tome, staff not overly friendly, cold showers two nights in a row. Not on par with other KOAs we've stayed at.
Jul 20, 2016
Bathrooms nice and clean. Didn't like the wooden fences separating us in the wagon wheel area (I think that's what it was called)so would request a different spot next time.
Jul 20, 2016
This was our first experience at a KOA and it was amazing!! Great service, amazing location, and great staff truly made our trip! Thank you for your outstanding service!
Jul 19, 2016
stayed in tipi - had a very nice night; bathrooms a little far for an older couple with knee problems but worth the distance since the grandkids loved the tipi; nice location; appeared well-maintained; employees helpful & courteous
Jul 18, 2016
Easy after-hours check in. Basic tent camping campsites were clean and well maintained. They had a manicured area for the tent, no roots or rocks to contend with. Facilities were clean. Overall, great stay. Highly recommend KOA.
Jul 18, 2016
Beautiful spot, extremely well managed, near National Park.
Jul 18, 2016
Great stay! We arrived late at night and check in was a breeze, amenities were clean, and the people were friendly. Would definitely recommend
Jul 17, 2016
love the amenities: pool, clean restrooms, camp sink. However, the sites are so close to one another. Firewood is only $6 and the $1 fire starters are excellent. They were very flexible with us and changed our original cabin reservation to a tent, and then when severe weather was moving in, they let us change our last night to a cabin. Nice location to the Badlands.
Jul 17, 2016
I stayed at a deluxe tent site and it was fantastic. It had a shaded area complete with electric and a sink that actually had hot water! Never had hot water at my tent site before. I arrived for a late check in and the staff was courteous enough to leave a camp site map with the directions drawn on the map to my site. it made things so much easier in the dark.
Jul 16, 2016
Great location. Clean facilities, excellent food. We really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 15, 2016
Bob and Karen were great, the entirety of the staff was very helpful. It was my first time staying at a KOA, and it definitely won't be my last time. Thank you guys very much.
Jul 14, 2016
Very nice folks running this campground. We loved swimming in the pool.
Jul 14, 2016
Friendly staff
Jul 13, 2016
Had a great time at this KOA.
Jul 13, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award