Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 22 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 20, 2016
Bathrooms nice and clean. Didn't like the wooden fences separating us in the wagon wheel area (I think that's what it was called)so would request a different spot next time.
Jul 20, 2016
This was our first experience at a KOA and it was amazing!! Great service, amazing location, and great staff truly made our trip! Thank you for your outstanding service!
Jul 19, 2016
stayed in tipi - had a very nice night; bathrooms a little far for an older couple with knee problems but worth the distance since the grandkids loved the tipi; nice location; appeared well-maintained; employees helpful & courteous
Jul 18, 2016
Easy after-hours check in. Basic tent camping campsites were clean and well maintained. They had a manicured area for the tent, no roots or rocks to contend with. Facilities were clean. Overall, great stay. Highly recommend KOA.
Jul 18, 2016
Beautiful spot, extremely well managed, near National Park.
Jul 18, 2016
Great stay! We arrived late at night and check in was a breeze, amenities were clean, and the people were friendly. Would definitely recommend
Jul 17, 2016
love the amenities: pool, clean restrooms, camp sink. However, the sites are so close to one another. Firewood is only $6 and the $1 fire starters are excellent. They were very flexible with us and changed our original cabin reservation to a tent, and then when severe weather was moving in, they let us change our last night to a cabin. Nice location to the Badlands.
Jul 17, 2016
I stayed at a deluxe tent site and it was fantastic. It had a shaded area complete with electric and a sink that actually had hot water! Never had hot water at my tent site before. I arrived for a late check in and the staff was courteous enough to leave a camp site map with the directions drawn on the map to my site. it made things so much easier in the dark.
Jul 16, 2016
Great location. Clean facilities, excellent food. We really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 15, 2016
Bob and Karen were great, the entirety of the staff was very helpful. It was my first time staying at a KOA, and it definitely won't be my last time. Thank you guys very much.
Jul 14, 2016
Very nice folks running this campground. We loved swimming in the pool.
Jul 14, 2016
Friendly staff
Jul 13, 2016
Had a great time at this KOA.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
This was a fine place to stay.
Jul 12, 2016
Campground personnel were friendly and courteous. It was nicely located to Badlands NP, Minuteman Missile NM and Wall. The deluxe was perfect with the shelter over electrical outlets, water basin and picnic table. We don't know if we'll ever make it back to South Dakota but this KOA will always be an option.
Jul 12, 2016
The showers are cold, you are way too close to your neighbors at your site. I could not stand the awful smell of dead fish. The only positive thing I could say is the staff, are very friendly.
Jul 11, 2016
The deluxe campsite on its own was very nice. However had I known it was configured in a circle with close neighbors I would have chosen some other site. The sink and fence were great, but it was in a circle RIGHT next to two neighbors! The campground in general was very nice.
Jul 11, 2016
It was a very nice campground. The staff was very nice and welcoming. Thanks for a great stay!
Jul 11, 2016
Perfect - will stay there again when we head to the Badlands!
Jul 10, 2016
My husband and I are not expert campers but this first time using a koa made us firm believers that koa is the way to go.the campground was very clean orerly and a pleasant stay. All facilities were close and many conveniencis that we would have at home was here at this campground. We would stay again if in the area. Friendly check in just like family.
Jul 09, 2016
Comfortable, quiet, safe. Beautiful setting. Convenient snack bar with good food.
Jul 08, 2016
Excellent park, great amenities and facilities. Would recommend for sure. Great location to the Badlands
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
Hard to find anything negative about our stay. The campground was well maintained and the hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this campground to friends.
Jul 05, 2016
We stayed in the TeePee's and had a great time. Kids loved it. The beds were not so good in the Tee Pee but we moved it aside and used our own.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
I had a nice stay. Rest rooms were fairly clean. One of the soap dispensers was out of soap. Laundry room was very clean. Staff was real nice.
Jul 05, 2016
The campground was fantastic. The amentities were great, and the campground had everything our family could possibly need during our visit to the Badlands.
Jul 03, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
We spent only one night but we were very pleased with the campgrounds, staff, and facilities. It was a very nice experience and we will definitely do it again!
Jun 30, 2016
Nice campground. Tight fits for campers but it was very clean and the workers were pleasant.
Jun 28, 2016
Nice clean & quiet. Great pancakes.
Jun 22, 2016
Campsites were very spacious and appealing- staff was great and friendly, beautiful campground right next to the badlands! Had no expectations but I was pleasantly surprised. Will definitely stay here again!
Jun 21, 2016
There was a lot of room to tent. The ground was rather hard to get stakes into, but the ground was flat and the facilities were excellent
Jun 14, 2016
We had a great time tent camping at the KOA!
Jun 14, 2016
It's a beautiful campground. The layout is awesome. My only dislike was no easy parking at office, and the bathrooms.Need serious bathroom updates and toilets the flush properly and effectively- barely any water pressure.
Jun 14, 2016
I have had " camping in the Badlands" on my bucket list for over 30 years. It was everything I dreamed of. Peaceful and quiet with stars like diamonds.!
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great time!
Jun 10, 2016
Nice location, close to the the Badlands. We used a camping site with small kids. Make sure they don't try to put rocks in their mouth.
Jun 09, 2016
Very nice staff. Beautiful area. Quiet. Fenced dog play area. Nice tent area. Would return!!
Jun 04, 2016
Excellent stay - bought some wood and stayed up late watching the fire.
Jun 03, 2016
We had a wonderful stay at the Badlands KOA. It was quiet, clean, and just a cool place to camp.
Jun 01, 2016
Nice locale. I know it's hard to put budget in place of landscape but I always encourage camps to put in more space and trees especially in the tent areas.
May 31, 2016
We loved the location. Just outside the park it was beautiful. Nice and quiet. We will be back.
May 31, 2016
The hosts were not very friendly. The cotton trees were linting all over the campground and it was tracking all over the tent and impossible to sit out and eat due to the amount blowing around. Our tent was in the direct sun in the heat of the day. There was no hot water to shower with Monday morning. And the shower rooms were closed for cleaning in the morning when they are the busiest for shower
May 29, 2016
May 28, 2016
We loved staying in a tipi for the night. Thanks for the memories made!
May 26, 2016
This was a very nice campground that is in the Badlands. We stayed there for only one night on May 21st. I was very impressed with how clean the grounds, bathrooms, showers, etc. They also had free wifi in the camp which was nice. Best of all the staff were overly helpful and kind people that made you feel like you were at home and they were your neighbors. I'd highly recommend staying there!
May 23, 2016
This was my first time staying at a campground and I plan to do it again! The experience was great; the staff was friendly and helpful. An added bonus was it was very affordable. This was probably the best way to see the Badlands!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award