Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jun 21, 2017
Jun 20, 2017
Perfect! Lovely, quiet, many amenities.
Jun 20, 2017
Jun 20, 2017
A bit overpriced. Very clean & quiet. Renovations to one of the bathrooms/shower houses - the signs needed to be not only in English but other languages for the many overseas travelers who were confused.
Jun 19, 2017
Staff at White River KOA is the BEST!! Thanks so much for a great visit to the area and clean, affordable kabins :)
Jun 18, 2017
I had to make two last minute switches to my stay. I knew that when I made one change I would not be able to get the site I wanted but that was ok. Then the day of check in I decided to rent a cabin instead and one was available! Ilwe did camp during non peak season which I'm sure helped. But the campground was nice!. I loved hearing the owls. The staff was great!!!!
Jun 17, 2017
I think the cabin is overpriced. It smelled strongly of wood varnish and it was kind of difficult to sleep well and enjoy the surrounding natural air and sounds because of that. Staff was very nice and the campground is generally pleasant. Very pretty area. I'm not ruling out staying at KOA again, but this cabin experience definitely did not make it enticing to come back.
Jun 16, 2017
Best KOA I've ever been to. Staff was great and facilities were top notch!
Jun 14, 2017
Quiet, beautiful and friendly location! Would love to go back soon.
Jun 12, 2017
This KOA is a bit crowded and the bath houses could use some improvement. One of the bathhouses was under construction as was the swimming pool. It is on the river but no access to it.
Jun 12, 2017
You could have some more food options and a longer periods of when food is available.
Jun 12, 2017
Jun 11, 2017
Great location to the park. Nice and clean facilities. Friendly staff. We didn't have a chance to use the pool, but it looked nice. My only complaint was that there really wasn't a view of the river at all.
Jun 10, 2017
I have stayed at this KOA several times over the last 20+ years, it is awesome to see all the great changes over the years. The one thing that is consistent is how wonderful the staff is and how clean the camp grounds are. We always recommend this stop to anyone traveling to the Badlands, and will continue to! Thank you for a wonderful experience and we hope to see you again soon!
Jun 07, 2017
Lifesavers! We had planned to tent camp,but had been outrunning a storm all day! You're cabin kept us safe & dry!
Jun 06, 2017
Jun 06, 2017
All the necessities for a successful and enjoyable visit are here at the Badlands/ White River KOA.
Jun 03, 2017
Nice campground with lots of family activities. However, the bathroom closest to us and the pool were closed for repairs while we were there. We had also stayed at another KOA with a mini gold course that was free of charge and the one at the Badlands charges $5 per adult and somewhat less for the kids. The playground equipment is also a little small and run down.
May 31, 2017
The Campground has all you Need. We stay in a cabin for two nights. The Campground is absolut near to the Badlands Nationalpark. The cabin has a verry good bed and the camposts are verry friendly and helpfull.
May 30, 2017
We won't stay anywhere else in the Badlands but pleeeeease finish the pool!
May 30, 2017
I've stayed at many kOA's across the country. This one is one of the cleanest and one of my favorites. This was my second time here and I couldn't have been happier I got to bring my family this time and show them how amazing it was. Thank you so much for amazing stay and I can't wait till next time
May 30, 2017
A cabin should be stocked with coffee and soaps as a hotel room would be. The front desk employee did not seem to care that I expected soaps and shampoo in the room and implied that I was asking too much.
May 30, 2017
Wonderful
May 18, 2017
Wonderfully quiet but friendly campground. Staff are very helpful, and my stay in the cabin was more than I had hoped for! Cabins are very clean and do not smell funny at all. An AC and heater make the stay comfortable. Would definitely recommend this little gem of a campground outside of Interior!
May 15, 2017
The owners were SO nice and the area was close to everything but still very peaceful.
May 04, 2017
Hosts are incredibly friendly and helpful. The place is extremely clean and well organized. I LOVE the Badlands and this KOA makes it highly accessible and it's a GREAT place to stay. This was my 3rd visit and I'll keep coming back!
Nov 21, 2016
Lovely area and great cabins. Get the accommodations of bathroom in the cabin along with microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. Excellent prices. A truly wonderfully comfortable stay.
Oct 22, 2016
We missed having a chair in the cabin. We couldn't get a decent radio station either. The bathrooms were just average and better lighting in the cabin would be nice. There were too many flies outside at the table and the water was quite soft when washing your hair. The whole area we found to be quite expensive.
Oct 15, 2016
Bathrooms nasty and not cleaned

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry you were disappointed. Perhaps you were not aware that the campground was officially closed during your stay, and the facilities are not maintained as often as when the campground is open. Please come see us during our regular season: May 1 to Sept 30. Thanks.
Oct 10, 2016
This is the best KOA's I've ever been too. What makes it the best, might be it's location. But even still, sites are big and clean. Lots of room for tent camping. It serves, I think, all three meals under a very nice covered picnic area. Never ate there, but I'm sure it's good and fun for a family.
Oct 09, 2016
The owners are very nice
Oct 06, 2016
This KOA was great! Our Kabin was secluded and located in an unexpectedly shaded and private location in the middle of the desert close to the White River. The owners/caretakers couldn't be nicer and offered to upgrade our Kabin at a fraction of the regular cost. We took a short walk with our dog to the White River and it was SO beautiful! Then we drove thru the Badlands... MIND BLO
Oct 05, 2016
Oct 03, 2016
The owners were great. Love this campground, it has been my favorite for years.
Sep 30, 2016
This is our 5th year in a row. Last year they added the upgraded deluxe cabins and they are awesome. End of September is the best because of fewer people and cooler temperatures, however, next year we are thinking of going over the 4th of July weekend.
Sep 27, 2016
This KOA was great! Hosts are friendly and helpful, the setting is lovely, and the grounds are well kept. Fall colors were beautiful. Really enjoyed my stay here. Just what I was looking for!
Sep 26, 2016
A wonderful campground with super friendly staff and clean and well kept facilities. Would strongly recommend to anyone that asked! Thank you!
Sep 24, 2016
Great staff and the cabin was AMAZING!!! We'll be back for sure!
Sep 21, 2016
We stayed in the deluxe cabin, it was very clean and enjoyed the get away. Would recommend it to others.
Sep 20, 2016
everything was fantastic. had cabin with bathroom. everything very clean. was very quite even with orher cabins occupied. would definitely stay again when visiting badlands
Sep 20, 2016
We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin. The cabin had a small dorm fridge, coffee maker, & paper products. We enjoyed our outdoor patio set, charcoal grill, & fire pit. The Deluxe Cabins had a semi-private fence. We were charged a flat fee for the cabin in addition paid per person and additional vehicle fees. These cabins are the cleanest and had the best rates in the area.
Sep 19, 2016
Very nice, quiet. Clean. Had a lovely campfire, only needed more firewood.
Sep 19, 2016
Awesome stay and fantastic owners. The campground was in great condition and is in a great location, just a few miles way from Badlands National Park! Thanks again!!
Sep 18, 2016
Very relaxing and friendly place! Nice store too; they had pizza. Would stay in their camping cabins again.
Sep 17, 2016
Another great stay..thanks Badlands KOA!
Sep 17, 2016
Our favorite KOA so far! Large shade trees, clean accommodations, and a river out back to go wading. The kids loved it!
Sep 12, 2016
Not the most friendly owners
Sep 09, 2016
The cabins were very clean. The grounds were well kept and everyone was very friendly.
Sep 09, 2016
The staff were great. We loved the mini golf and playground area for the kids.
Sep 07, 2016
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award