Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 20, 2017
The KOA in the Badlands was a bit of an oasis for us. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed relaxing at the pool after a long day, the store was stocked with anything you may need and the Snack bar was very good! We stayed in a deluxe cabin and the owners thought of everything, extra coffee filters, paper towels and I loved that we had a patio table and umbrella.
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
The trees dotted around the campground make it wonderful, (many KOA's do not not have trees) great location , and very clean.
Aug 16, 2017
We enjoyed a CABIN this trip, rolled in late....and it was raining, so we were DOUBLY glad to have booked the cabin and not need to pull out the tent, and then deal with a wet tent in the morning as well. Wonderful stay!
Aug 16, 2017
Stayed in a deluxe cabin. Everything was great. Staff was great. Hope to come back.
Aug 16, 2017
The staff was very friendly, the cabin was great! Having the breakfast/dinner option on site was nice. We loved it. Would definitely recommend it. Very close to the Badlands National Park
Aug 15, 2017
Average, kids had fun but not many kid activities. We stayed at another KOA in SD where al out all the kid activities were I c,used in the price rather than being charged extra for them.
Aug 15, 2017
The staff was friendly helpful and like family, the cabin we were in was the cleanest facility we have stayed in. Great value. I have already suggested to other families this is THE PLACE to stay at the Badlands.
Aug 15, 2017
Stayed one night so didn't get to do much on site but what we did do was perfect. The camping cabin was clean and comfortable. The owners and staff are very friendly and will chat your ear off if they weren't so busy. Great people.
Aug 15, 2017
Very clean and quiet
Aug 14, 2017
Great time, no issues
Aug 11, 2017
Wonderful spot on my drive across country and just as advertised.
Aug 11, 2017
First time in a cabin and we enjoyed our stay very much!
Aug 10, 2017
very nice for the price!
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was decent and convenient for the stay. Everything was clean and neat which is not always the case.
Aug 09, 2017
Enjoyed the cabin and location
Aug 09, 2017
Poor communication. Website should clearly state you pay to go thru the Badlands Park. If you are not planning to go to Badlands National Park, stay elsewhere. Otherwise, directions online were good. Why would you leave that out? I had booked a 2 room cabin, and got 1. I could not get a straight answer to if they even have them. Kind of rude. Could be reservation program glitch.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were charged for going through the National Park when you did not plan to visit it. There are alternate routes to get here, and the park gate is usually accommodating to not charge when you explain you are not here for the park, but only the KOA. We have some two room deluxe cabins, which are described online. All camping cabins are one-room.
Aug 08, 2017
Nice cabin. Only downside was flies, flies, flies.
Aug 07, 2017
Loved the location. Loved breakfast. Great hospitality.
Aug 06, 2017
Everything top, gladly again!
Aug 06, 2017
Clean and friendly campground. Fun bikes to rent for the kids. Extra fee for mini-golf which was poorly maintained. Pool is small, for such a large campground.
Aug 06, 2017
Super nice people at this campground, but seemed like facilities were a little older than other KOA's I've been at. Overall, okay experience.
Aug 06, 2017
The camp ground was quiet and clean. I rented a cabin and it was clean. The bathrooms/showers were very clean as well.
Aug 05, 2017
Deluxe cabin very nice. Suggest more hooks in bathroom. Also, website needs to be clear regarding linens, dishes and outdoor chairs. I inquired about all of this but received conflicting information. Was told the unit only had swing, but it has patio table and chairs also. Was told it had basic dishes, it had none. Was told the linens were an extra charge but they were not. It was all okay.
Aug 05, 2017
Our first stay in a KOA:) We had a camping cabin and liked the convenience of it as we weren't there long enough to tent camp and fully enjoy the amenities. Loved Kookie's breakfast and recommend dinner at the Lodge in the Badlands.
Aug 04, 2017
The employees were friendly and our cabin was very comfortable and clean. It was full of flies when we arrived however. I think housekeeping may have left the doors open when cleaning. Also, it would have been nice if the air would have been turned in when we arrived. It should be noted somewhere on the website that alcohol is not sold at this KOA due to the fact that they are on the reservation.
Aug 03, 2017
Never been to this KOA before it was a great experience.
Aug 03, 2017
This was my first time staying at a KOA so I didn't really understand how they worked and the staff was friendly and understanding with me.
Aug 02, 2017
This is one of the best KOA's I've been to. I don't know if being in the Badlands makes it so good, but we stay here every time we travel out west. I love it.
Aug 02, 2017
Nice campgrounf
Jul 31, 2017
We had a wonderful time! Our cabin was beautiful and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our kids loved the pool, mini golf and teather ball. Our teenage daughter said she wished we were staying longer! It was a delight and we appreciate all you do to make it a wonderful destination for our family.
Jul 31, 2017
very friendly and helpful host
Jul 31, 2017
Nice clean bathrooms, and the AC in our cabin worked great! We are supper from the food stand near the office - the Indian Taco was fantastic!
Jul 31, 2017
The dog park was awesome, the cabin was spotless, the employees wonderful, the food yummy. Such a nice, quiet place to relax and enjoy the evening after a very long day of travel. :-)
Jul 30, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very nice and accommodating.
Jul 29, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
Best campground ever! Beautiful cabins and pool.
Jul 25, 2017
was disappointed in "deluxe camping cabin" as compared to the one we stayed at near rapid city. No TV, less than intermittent wifi, cabin too, too small small, no kitchenette (only microwave and college size frig) all that seemed to have been done to a regular cabin was to add bathroom, microwave and very small frig; have pictures of the deluxe cabin near rapid city, it you want to see them.
Jul 25, 2017
bathrooms

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have recently updated the bathrooms in the main building. This renovation included replacing all the fixtures and the stall walls. We have the other bathroom slated for renovation next year.
Jul 24, 2017
Staff were kind, took the time to answer all my questions, bathrooms were cleaned, they even had the air conditioner on when we arrived late into the night!!!!! Thank you!!!
Jul 23, 2017
Pretty campground w nice air conditioned cabin. The chicades singing was a new experience and kind of excotic. The only minus was the bathrooms were a little over used and not so clean.
Jul 23, 2017
Great location all necessary amenities, nice people.
Jul 22, 2017
Super staff and owners. Very personable. Great location to explore the area. Stayed two nights, but wished we could stay longer. Clean, friendly even though it was super busy and triple digit temps. Would certainly come back! Love it here.
Jul 21, 2017
Great pancakes, great indian tacos, nice people! I will be back!
Jul 20, 2017
we've stayed here many times over the years. this year we arrived after closing and left before they opened, so really can't judge on much.
Jul 20, 2017
It was very convenient to Badlands NP. Our cabin AC didn't work very well, but staff put a fan in cabin to help circulate and that helped. Bathrooms and pool were clean. Beds were comfortable for KOA cabins.
Jul 19, 2017
Perfect spot for a visit to Badlands - everyone was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Dinner was great and the price couldn't be beat.
Jul 19, 2017
The staff and owners were all very friendly and helpful. They even brought us a new ac unit when ours stopped working well. It was a great experience!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award