Wytheville KOA

231 KOA Road

Wytheville, VA 24382

Reserve: 800-562-3380

Info: 276-228-2601

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Sep 30, 2013
Great place to stay for our one night stay while passing thru - Thanks!
Sep 29, 2013
We stayed in one of the cabins and ended up at a hotel at 2:30 in the morning. We awoke to bugs on us and our bedding. We came back the next morning and they gave us a full refund and apologized to us and we did appreciate that. They were apparently bat bugs and they have had trouble with them before in that cabin. We ended up throwing our bedding in the trash.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do apologize for the trouble you had during your stay. We are a certified wildlife habitat and do have issues from time to time with our wildlife friends. We have contacted an expert to relocate the bats and the cabin was treated for the pests.
Sep 22, 2013
The accomodations were fine and the layout of the deluxe cabin was great. The carpets and area rugs were really dirty--I was cleaner getting in the shower than when I stepped out. The floors were really dirty--people hair balls, food, and dog bones were easily visible.
Sep 10, 2013
best staff anywhere and tons of activities. we are already planning another stay.
Sep 06, 2013
WE had a wonderful weekend! The staff was so friendly and welcoming!
Sep 04, 2013
The staff were super freindly and very helpful.If was a pleasure to stay. Facilities need some improvements that will be coming soon Im told. Looking forward to staying there again.
Sep 03, 2013
The cabin felt damp and had a musty smell that did not go away even after we turned the air conditioner on. We set an air freshner out and the smell was still there. One positive thing is the mattress was more comfortable than most. The staff was friendly and there is a better than average game room and a nice pool.
Sep 03, 2013
Thr staff was excellent and helpful... grounds were clean and well maintained... kids loved pool and acticvites ... owner was absolutley by far the best!
Sep 03, 2013
This was my families first stay at a KOA. We found the staff to be courteous, kind and very helpful!!! And the site was very clean. I only have two suggestions for this 'Kamp Ground'. First, extend WiFi service to the upper level of the Kamp. Perhaps by putting transmitters in the upper bathhouse and/or Kabins. Second, put a couple exterior electrical outlets on the Kabin porch/deck.
Sep 03, 2013
it was wonderful the only suggestion i have is that for the cabins having linens in there for the guest
Sep 03, 2013
We've always loved staying here but usually tent camp. This time we were just passing thru & booked a Kabin. While the Kabin was nice ~ It needed a much needed sweeping out ~ looked like it hadn't been done in a while ~ also the mattress needed cleaned off ~ it had covered in sand/dirt & some sticky stuff on it ~ we cleaned it up & had a good time here but the Kabins just needed some attention
Sep 02, 2013
Stayed in one of your Kabins this time passing thru. Just needed a place for the night. The pool was an added bonus.
Aug 28, 2013
Absolutely wonderful!!! staff was amazing ! love everything about our family honeymoon trip at this koa we will be back! cant put into words how wonderful !
Aug 27, 2013
Improve wifi range. Upper area is out-of-range & has no wifi. Unexceptable. Add small lamp & chair to cabins. There's no place to sit inside & big light has to always be on. Dont clean upper bathroom @ 10-11 am - it's prime morning time to use toilet, brush teeth, shower, etc. Try 1-2pm. Remove sand on trails. Cabin & car floors full of sand. Why is it there? Staff was nice & helpful!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us. Our two room cabins and lodges have chairs for extra seating. Would be too crowded in one rooms. All cabins have a porch swing and exterior seating. There is sand everywhere because we are located on Sand Mountain, entire mountain made of sand.
Aug 26, 2013
We have been there for 3 years straight. We basically come and stay for race weekend, so we're only looking for a roof over our heads that's cool and to sleep. Our cabin, #88, was very nice. Upper bath house was greatly improved over last year, much nicer, thanks. Every staff member was very nice.
Aug 26, 2013
Bathroom floors could have been a bit cleaner. There was sand and dirt on floors.
Aug 20, 2013
What an amazing campground. My family had a wonderful time. The pool was amazing and the pond was so much fun to fish in. All around best campground we have stayed in and will definitely stay again.
Aug 12, 2013
We love this KOA! It is a wonderful stopping point for when we travel to North Carolina. We really love the decks on the cabins. We will return.
Aug 09, 2013
Nice place, good people, well run.
Aug 07, 2013
A nice campground but some areas need improvement...upper showers/restroom. WiFi was very poor for the upper kabins. All in all a good stay.
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Perfect stay. Nice people.
Jul 29, 2013
It was nice. Kept up. I was in deluze kottage, all was nice in there.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Kamping Kabin Great. Very clean and the upper area very quiet.
Jul 23, 2013
our son loves the kabins so we will be return customers and look forward to the improvements the site says they will make this winter and hopefully they will see the need for a bigger staff to help with the upkeep and cleaning that could use a little improvment but overall had a nice time
Jul 23, 2013
Our family had a great time at the pool with the slide and the staff was very friendly and helpful!
Jul 20, 2013
The staff was sweet, but only two in size. The "game room", well, not as described. Technically there were a few places to insert a coin and play a video game, the rest was not accessible without staff.Our cabin reeked of urine. I am a nurse and have a very high tolerance but it was truly unacceptable.The pool was GREAT!!!Very expensive for the amenities.
Jul 20, 2013
Loved the dog yards, loved the porches and ramps on camping cabins. pool above average. play yards and amenities well cared for. Traveling with my two dogs. This was a relaxing stay - no fridge or tv - cable hook up available.
Jul 17, 2013
super friendly staff in the form of landon--in particular-- helpful accommodating friendly location great central to everything- the sites could use a bit more refreshing-- general clean up -
Jul 11, 2013
Staff were great. Area very nice. My only issues were that I wasn't able to log onto the FREE wifi from my cabin, even outside. The other was that I used the laundry and there were only four dryers but only two of them worked.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
We only stayed for one day and night but the staff was very friendly and the campground was very nice.
Jul 01, 2013
We stayed from Monday 6-24-13 until Saturday 6-29-13. We had the deluxe cabin and we loved it, we were very comfortable, and it had everything we needed. The owner is fantastic, very nice and extremely helpful. I stayed with my kids and dogs and we all had a great time. They have alot of ammenities to keep everyone happy,even the dogs. Will go back again, thank you James, family and staff.
Jun 30, 2013
Wytheville was our 4th night in a KOA cabin and the best of all 4. It was quiet and clean and nicely furnished!
Jun 29, 2013
Our family spent the night here as a stop in the middle of our trip to Myrtle Beach. We never had time to enjoy all the amenities, but the staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
The walkway from the cabin to the restroom had tree roots exposed. This made it difficult to walk to the restroom at night. There was also a lack of toilet tissue in the ladies restroom
Jun 24, 2013
We had a wonderful time. The staff was nice and helpful. The pool with the slide was our favorite.
Jun 22, 2013
Everything was broken,batting cage,basketball hoop,putt putt,we paid one hundred ans fifty dollars and we could not even get a towel.
Jun 17, 2013
So great and kid friendly. It was my toddler's first camping trip and she loved it. The deluxe cabin was comfortable, clean and cozy. We had the best time for Father's Day weekend!
Jun 13, 2013
The employees were wonderful and went out of their way to make our stay great. Cleanest restrooms we saw on our vacation (4 KOAs). Beautiful setting.
Jun 12, 2013
Cabin was in nice wooded area. NIce campground to stay at. Also campground nice and clean
Jun 10, 2013
We had an excellent time at this campground! My Girl Scout Troop enjoyed our time here on our way to and from Savannah, Ga from our home in Ohio. The staff went out of their way to help us feel welcomed after a long day on the road. We will definitely be telling other troops that make this trip about this location, as well as ALL KOAs.
Jun 10, 2013
We had a wonderful time on the campsite, and the staff was very friendly. The only complaint any of us had was that the bathrooms were only clean once a day. They were cleaned at 10 AM and by late in the evening the toilet paper was out and the bathrooms were gross. When you have a camp site that people will be using the bathrooms 24/7, you should have the rooms cleaned at least twice a day.
Jun 10, 2013
It was nicely wooded and convenient to civilization. Negatives---No toilet paper Sunday morning. No entertainment as promised. Overall nice location.
Jun 10, 2013
The staff was very friendly, the bath house was clean and easily accessible, the cabins were clean and quaint. Will definitely stay again!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.