Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 23, 2013
Great new park. Will stay here again if in the area.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
This is a new campground & in the coming years it may turn out to be awesome. However, at this time our stay was less than stellar. The entire location is extremely dusty and dirty, with very little lush grassy areas. The camp store is a LONG way from most sites & even though we wanted to go shop there, we were not about to make the long hike there. Also, they do not escort you to your site.
Jul 22, 2013
We stayed in numerous KOA's over the last 10-12 days and Waterloo's was BY FAR the BEST one - so many things right there for us - loved having fuel available!! And the help was so wonderful - Ben S was so pleasant - give him a slap on the back for being so accommodating!!!! We will be back for sure!!!
Jul 22, 2013
Will be a really nice place to stay when the trees grow, or there are more shade options. Very hot in Iowa in the summer. Seems to be a little high priced. Everyone was very nice and extremely helpful.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Everything was very nice and clean; however we are rating it lower because the shower facilities had no ventilation and was very hot (no air conditioning) so that you were hot & sweaty after your shower. :-(
Jul 19, 2013
This new KOA is impressive! I can't give it 5 stars due to lack of shade. In 20 years when the trees mature and offer shade, this place will be beautiful! Lots of amenities. Wish the bathhouse was air conditioned and the automatic temp in the showers almost gave me scalp burn...way too hot! The kids loved the beach and playground equipment!
Jul 17, 2013
Site was easy in and out but because it was next to main entrance road it had a lot of traffic in and out at all hours.
Jul 17, 2013
New but a lot of potential. Workers very friendly and polite. Loved the beach and trail around the lake. Very young trees so little shade. Big hill covers most of the campground so biking for kids was interesting. One mediocre playground, another should be installed on top of the hill. Confusing layout with one-way and two-way roads. Some sites a little cramped.
Jul 16, 2013
Our kids LOVE this KOA! We want to meet our friends here next year and the year after to watch this new KOA grow.
Jul 16, 2013
It was wonderful. Very clean and friendly staff. Will definitely stay there again.
Jul 15, 2013
I know this is a brand new KOA, but once the grass is fully established, and with the great staff you have, this could possibly be the best Kamp in the system. Thanks for a great weekend. The Carlsons
Jul 15, 2013
Nice Place
Jul 15, 2013
We don't live near Iowa so we probably won't have a reason to return. We thought the campgrounds were clean and the store well equipped. Our biggest complaint is that there is not enough shade, but I understand this is a new KOA and future landscaping will probably be done. Also, more nearby direction signs would help. Thanks.
Jul 15, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay... Even though we had rain in the afternoon of our arrival we enjoyed our stay at this new KOA. Great trail around the lake, and the $4 breakfast served by the staff was an unexpected treat. Issues due to being brand new were minor. We will be back.
Jul 13, 2013
The people at the campground were very helpful and very nice. There were problems with the site. The water pressure was very high. It was a pull-thru but the sewer was located way at the back of the space. I needed 3 sections of hose, plus it was hard to get a decent fall. Several of the sites had the utilities is strange locations.
Jul 13, 2013
Waterloo KOA overall was very good, we enjoyed the lake, beach, and trail. The sand volleyball and frisbee golf are very cool, our kids liked the free wi-fi. The campsite and restroom facilities were very clean. It is a beautiful and relaxing area. Our only complaint is that it is pricey, we can camp at state parks for $16.00 night. Would have stayed another night or two, if rates were lower.
Jul 10, 2013
sites to close together in some areas. We were placed at the very back of the campgrounds when there were lots of open site closer to the front of the grounds
Jul 10, 2013
Nice, new campground. The staff was fantastic! No trees yet and the ground is really bumpy with crevices from groundwater runoff but we really enjoyed our stay there.
Jul 10, 2013
Very nice place...relaxing....some gold carts for local mobility will help...
Jul 09, 2013
Nice locations. Convenient to everything. Grass needs lots of work, especially in the dog run where it is mostly mowed weeds and very hard walking.
Jul 09, 2013
It was easy to get to and close to the water park. The staff was excellent, they were very friendly and helped us with anything we needed. I can't say enough about the staff and campground. Very, very happy and we will stay there again when we are in the area.
Jul 09, 2013
We realy liked it, the only thing that we did'nt like is the shower water was too hot. Besides that everything was pretty good.
Jul 09, 2013
New campground. VERY dusty. This will be a fantastic place in about 10 years. Need to water grass and trees. Was very disappointed with no escort to our camping location as this is a very large campground.
Jul 09, 2013
Very dissapointed in the showers. For the price of a cheap hotel I would expect a real shower head. I also think it may be beneficial to have the gravel sprayed when it is so dry. Otherwise, we had a great time.
Jul 08, 2013
A new campground still under construction. Great personnel. Enjoyed the beach and paddle boats. A great location close to many activities in the Cedar Valley and easy to get to just off the interstate.
Jul 08, 2013
Loved the campground, did not like being right in front of the playground.
Jul 08, 2013
Great new campground only issue is all the dirt from the dirt roads.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
We had a great time w/friends on the 4th of July week. The bathrooms were clean, store was nice & weather was great. Changes I'd make are cabin check-in @ 12 & checkout @ 10, garbage cans on beach, park, island so people don't throw trash all over. Our site was pretty messy when we showed up & definately more beach chairs on beach because we ended up hauling our own down there which was a pain.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Extremely friendly staff. Great stay!
Jul 07, 2013
Maybe need to offer discount tickets to the water park or mention in your ad that KOA is separate from the park or at least the hours of the park. We arrived at 3 and the park closes at 5.
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
The spot we had reserved had no grass and was just a patio surrounded by mud. Luckily we were able to move another site. The freebie golf course hadn't been mowed for several weeks so was unusable. The showers didn't allow you to adjust the temp. so we weren't able to shower our kids as the water was just too hot and too much pressure. Won't spend the money to stay again.
Jul 02, 2013
While the campground has some great qualities (playground, lake, bathrooms, laundry, close to waterpark & shopping)they are very new. There was some confusion when requested to be next to friends; other long-term campers who were assigned to another site took it upon themselves to move into our site and we were unable to be next to our friends.
Jul 02, 2013
Electric hook ups were in the front - our cord came out the back - the sewer connection was in the back - our sewer came out the front - the site was almost too small for our camper.. The convenience store was great!!
Jul 02, 2013
It's hard to get clean if the shore is not clean. I realize that you had a lot of rain, but there was dried mud on the men's room floor whe I cme in and there still was dirt on the floor when I left. While I was showering someone came in to mop up - with a dirty mop! Secondly, the showerhead really isn't a showerhead. It shoots out a solid stream quite like an inch and a half fire hose
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
The facilities and Staff are top notch. Even though I live here in Waterloo, staying for the weekend was still a great get a way with all the amenities available either inside or close to the Kampground.
Jul 01, 2013
Store was out of staples like bread. Need to seed the grass extensively as many bare spots. Need to put change machines in laundry rooms. Need sign in laundry room advising time for wash and dryer cycles. Beach area was nice. Should also have a heated pool on site as well.
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
poor custmer service, no help finding a site, no picnic table,and felt prices in store wrer too hih eg.$8.15 for propane botlle
Jun 27, 2013
Sewage location on most lots is in rear corner. Most trailers, MH and 5th wheels can't park unless they have extra hose. Too new, rain turned soil to black mud. Will be nice next year.
Jun 25, 2013
Attending Grand Opening weekend in Waterloo, IA.
Jun 24, 2013
The beach and swimming area was large and very nice. The general store and gas station were also very convenient. The downside is that the grass is very thin and has not matured. There are very few trees, and the worse part is the sites turn to mud when it rains. They really could improve the camping by adding a couple of inches of gravel to the sites.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.