Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485


4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 26, 2016
This is one of the best KOA's that I have stayed at, over the years that I have been a KOA member.
Sep 07, 2016
Would be great for rv camping but not for tents. No trees or shade, like a parking lot. Our tent site was not level, nor the other two beside us. Tent sites were an after thought. For rv camping, you should be fine.
Sep 06, 2016
Really great camp with park and beach close to tent sites!
Sep 06, 2016
Very nice campground with lots of amenities!! Only drawback is no shade
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
We absolutely loved it. It was a little pricey for a campsite. But we enjoyed it very much we go to lost island every year and look forward to coming back next year!! The campsite was clean and very well taken care of!
Aug 09, 2016
This was a relaxing weekend. The place is awesome. We have been in some other Koa campgrounds and it has always been a great experience. It lacks of kids area games though.No pool was also something we miss. The big jumping pillows of other KOAs is something my kids were looking for. The only place to play was the lake but the water was disgusting with death fish close to the beach .
Aug 08, 2016
The Rec committee was awesome with having fun things to do though I wish we could have seen the schedule of events beforehand as we would have planned differently.
Aug 08, 2016
So much to do for the family at the campground plus close to other activities like the Waterpark.
Jul 20, 2016
Very nice place but in the morning the people working were unfriendly and rude. When we checked in the 2 young ladies were wonderful. They do not deliver your firewood....almost all other KOA'S DO!
Jul 19, 2016
We enjoyed the roomy tent site, the walking path around the lake, and the movie that was projected on the side of a white building in the evening.
Jul 08, 2016
The Waterloo Iowa koa is a great campground. The tent site we had was a good size and the staff was excellent! My fiancé and I will be returning to this koa next summer..
Jul 07, 2016
Dirty: trash in fire pit, unflushed toilets, dirty showers, shower stall doors did not latch. Free wifi did not work.
Apr 26, 2016
Well kept facilities and grounds. Staff are very friendly and eager to please.
Sep 24, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
It was a great KOA. very nice sites, that were convenient. Plenty of room and beautiful views. Really excellent staff made me feel very at home.
Sep 11, 2015
Arrived after dark but found a very open office and courteous staffers. Nice touch having a full convenience store and gas pumps.
Sep 05, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
The site was a good size. Clean bathrooms and laundry. Would have been nice to have rec room open longer because of the rain while we stayed. Other than the weather, it was a great place to stay.
Aug 25, 2015
Traveling 16 days, 12 states and 8 KOAs with 20 Girls Scouts. I can't say enough about the Waterloo KOA. The staff, the sites and the facilities were great. But mother nature cut our trip short. We were prepared for the rain but with the extreme wind conditions, we lost three tents and three canopies and they are beyond repair.
Aug 17, 2015
Not enough shade. Tent sites were not flat enough.The beach was like a giant litter box and had to many weeds in the swiming area.
Aug 12, 2015
The facilities are clean, well maintained, and everything looks so new. I wish that we could have stayed longer to really enjoy all the things that the park had to offer (lake with island, disc-golf, and playground).
Aug 11, 2015
Nice facility, and I appreciated the full convenience store and later office hours. My ranking is based on the fact that we were tent camping. It's a facility really geared for RVs and campers, so tent camping wasn't as good for us here as at some KOAs. The tent sites were close to the highway and morning traffic was quite loud--a few yards down the slope would have been quieter.
Aug 10, 2015
We loved the campground and all of the amenities. The shower facilites were excellent but wish you could control the water temperature. Other downsides is the tent site is small, the fire pit was 2 feet away from the electrical box and the lack of shade. We'd come again but we'd rent a cabin or an RV.
Aug 08, 2015
Beautiful campground, but bathrooms are full of hairballs and not all showers work.
Aug 06, 2015
Very nice campground. Tenting area could be flatter. Conveniently close to waterpark. Familyhad a great time camping. We will be back.
Aug 04, 2015
Fantastic camp site, friendly staff and extremely clean. Would definitely stay again !
Aug 03, 2015
Convenient location. Friendly staff. The traffic noise from the highway was a little loud during the night.
Jul 30, 2015
Nice family atmosphere.
Jul 26, 2015
Very helpful accommodating staff for our camping experience with young girls. They allowed us to have multiple tents near each other.
Jul 25, 2015
Lovely wooded area nice grass and very friendly staff. My only complaint is that in order to use the fire pit for cooking you have to purchase a grate😒
Jul 14, 2015
Stayed here to have family gathering and go to water park. No shade; very hot; wet slippery floors in shower house; deluxe site had utility hookups such that you could not camp next patio so it was a waste of money
Jul 14, 2015
Since this is a newer park there is very little shade if you are a tent camper like us. Also, wish all the tent sites were next to the park instead of just 3 of them. With all the RV's around you can not set up your tent and let the children play at the park and keep a watchful eye on them.
Jul 13, 2015
Our stay was good overall! There was a lot of seaweed in the water also on the paddle boats was hard at times with all the seaweed! The bathrooms were always clean!!!! :)
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Waterloo/Lost island is a very clean well run resort. Bathrooms were clean and staff were friendly and helpful.
Jul 02, 2015
The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Our camp sites didn't quite work for the needs of our group. Thanks to Carl and Pam we were able to move our group to sites that made us more comfortable. The lake could use a good dredging, but that isn't enough to lose my 5 marshmallow rating!
Jun 29, 2015
Everything was nice except the water was very full of seaweed which was find of gross! Other then that very nice park.
Jun 29, 2015
I think this campground needs to put a closing time on the park itself. It was almost 11:30pm/12am and a large diesel pickup came right by our tent. If there was a gate and closing time that wouldn't have happened. Overall the facilities we clean and nice. We came for the waterpark next door and had a great time. The $$ off was great! Thanks Kelly
Jun 23, 2015
Everything was great. Campground was good. We weren't far from the bathroom. Was quiet and enjoyable. Looking forward to coming back a lot in the future.
Jun 23, 2015
It's very nice but experienced a few problems when we arrived didn't know where our tent sight was a lot of noise late at night and very restless stay but nice place
Oct 27, 2014
Unfortunately I arrived during the off-season. I can see this place being a lot of fun during the height of summer. Very handy having a petrol station as part of the site.
Sep 02, 2014
first time guest it was just a great place to stay fun activities looking forward to staying again.loved the way they cater to the guest.thanks
Aug 15, 2014
ground was uneven at and lacked grass at the tent site. play ground was a little small. would be nice if they added swings. beach was very nice. shower house/ bathrooms were very nice and clean!
Aug 13, 2014

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy