Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Sep 02, 2014
first time guest it was just a great place to stay fun activities looking forward to staying again.loved the way they cater to the guest.thanks
Aug 15, 2014
ground was uneven at and lacked grass at the tent site. play ground was a little small. would be nice if they added swings. beach was very nice. shower house/ bathrooms were very nice and clean!
Aug 13, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Good facilities and ammendities camp sites are a little close for my taste and very little shade available. Overall good experience. Could be very nice in the future
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Great campground. It did seem strange that there was no dishwashing sink anywhere nearby (or it was not pointed out to us). Pretty inconvenient just to use the pump.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
IT WAS A PERFECT WEEKEND TO SPEND TIME WITH FRIENDS. NICE AND CONVIENENT TO THE WATERPARK, LOCAL STORES AND UNFORTUNATELY THE HOSPITAL
Jul 02, 2014
Great campground! Lots of fun stuff for families, including those with dogs (they have a dog park with obstacle course - BONUS)
May 28, 2014
There was little to complain about. 1) The restrooms were not cleaned daily from 12-1. (2) They ran out of firewood and the ice machine was on the fritz. It did not affect us much, but could have been a big problem at the height of vacation season. These were minor things and we would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.
May 27, 2014
The showers were clean and well kept. The dog park was a plus. It was close to everything we needed. The view of the lake was very nice. We would definitely stay there again.
May 27, 2014
Sep 27, 2013
The tent area could use a lot of improvement. The patchs of weeds made it very lumpy
Aug 28, 2013
We showed up late at night and they didn't leave any information for us even though we had pre-registered and told them we'd be arriving very late. The tent area was lumpy and uneven (not good for a tent) and the showers where cold and had no pressure.
Aug 14, 2013
Thanks
Aug 05, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
It clean but very small tent sights to close together could hear the other people next to us and flashlights shining input tent...I liked how close to the water park it was.
Jul 28, 2013
The campground was very clean and well kept. The site was spacious and located near the necessary facilities. Thanks for a great stay!
Jul 27, 2013
We loved everything about our stay We ended up having a terrible storm and with 2 small childern decided it was best to leave went back up next day to pack up was shocked they refunded our money for the one night we were not staying, that sealed the deal for me for camping at KOA the only down side is the tent site we were at was hilly and very runty those sites really need to be more level
Jul 22, 2013
The fish like to nibble during swimming..little to no shade..other than that it was great.
Jul 15, 2013
The beach was great for two small children. Tent campsites not the best quality, washed out and not flat. Beach had little trash here and there. New campground and I am sure it will be great in the future. I hope that the management keeps it clean and well kept. Clean shower house. Water temp was too hot at first, but cooled down.
Jul 15, 2013
Staff was courteous and helpful. I think the camp was quite new. The campsite was quite barren. A lot of young trees the feel was not secluded.
Jul 15, 2013
It will be great once trees mature for shade and grass really grows in.
Jul 12, 2013
I think the campground is great! Although I had a tent site that was absolutely horrible. There was great big holes and hardly any grass! I had to leave and buy air matresses because you couldn't just use a sleeping blanket as we planned. I also had my young children which my two year old fell constantly.
Jul 09, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at Waterloo. This was our first time camping at a KOA and were impressed. I understand this is a new facility but if we could recommend anything it would be that something needs to be done about the traffic near the tent sites...always too fast and causing terrible dust clouds that covered everything and everyone. Also, more LEVEL tent sites would be nice.
Jul 07, 2013
great had a fun time very clean and new Its like a job to take a shower though.
Jul 05, 2013
Very unique and new site! We really liked the track around the pond - good idea! Problems we encountered were it is not easily seen to find, thin TP, we didn't know why picnic tables are placed in the site's driveways?, shower door doesn't close with wall-seat down. Good luck with new site, it's good to see KOA expanding!
Jul 01, 2013
We tent camped on site 3 and didnt like the lack of space to put our tent because it was hilly,rocky and rutted out from the rain. The bathrooms and rest of camp ground was in good condition though.
Jul 01, 2013
Only downfall was the noise of the highway in the middle of the night. Other wise it was great!
Jul 01, 2013
We had a magical weekend @ the Waterloo KOA and plan on staying there as often as possible. Staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities were all very clean and operating well. Great showers and restrooms... Ben took great care of us. My girlfriend and kids were all very happy, too. A great location, near water park and mall, and places to eat. Thank You & keep up the good work...
Jun 23, 2013
The campground was very clean and nice. The bathrooms and showers were cleaned daily. The beach was very child friendly with a large shallow area for children that can't swim to play in.The close proximity of the Lost Island Waterpark and stores was very convenient. The only bad thing was that the campground just opened so there wasn't any mature shade trees to get out of the sun.
Jun 20, 2013
First off there tent camping sites are horrible the first site we were assingned to was a little steep grassy hill smaller than my car the other sites better have an air mattress to sleep on cuz there is deep ridges in ground from heavy equipment tires. Our site did not have a picnic table or fire ring. Showerhouse the water blasts out freezing cold water then turns to scolding hot water.
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
We enjoyed the campground a lot, ut we thought it wasn't cool that some spots did not have a picnic table or a firepit on them & they still had people on those sites. Some of the tent sites were not level either. But overall OUR stay was great! :)
Jul 24, 2012
We were the first to camp there. It will be very nice when completed. It should be the model for new koa's .

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.