Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Aug 31, 2015
The site was a good size. Clean bathrooms and laundry. Would have been nice to have rec room open longer because of the rain while we stayed. Other than the weather, it was a great place to stay.
Aug 25, 2015
Traveling 16 days, 12 states and 8 KOAs with 20 Girls Scouts. I can't say enough about the Waterloo KOA. The staff, the sites and the facilities were great. But mother nature cut our trip short. We were prepared for the rain but with the extreme wind conditions, we lost three tents and three canopies and they are beyond repair.
Aug 17, 2015
Not enough shade. Tent sites were not flat enough.The beach was like a giant litter box and had to many weeds in the swiming area.
Aug 12, 2015
The facilities are clean, well maintained, and everything looks so new. I wish that we could have stayed longer to really enjoy all the things that the park had to offer (lake with island, disc-golf, and playground).
Aug 11, 2015
Nice facility, and I appreciated the full convenience store and later office hours. My ranking is based on the fact that we were tent camping. It's a facility really geared for RVs and campers, so tent camping wasn't as good for us here as at some KOAs. The tent sites were close to the highway and morning traffic was quite loud--a few yards down the slope would have been quieter.
Aug 10, 2015
We loved the campground and all of the amenities. The shower facilites were excellent but wish you could control the water temperature. Other downsides is the tent site is small, the fire pit was 2 feet away from the electrical box and the lack of shade. We'd come again but we'd rent a cabin or an RV.
Aug 08, 2015
Beautiful campground, but bathrooms are full of hairballs and not all showers work.
Aug 06, 2015
Very nice campground. Tenting area could be flatter. Conveniently close to waterpark. Familyhad a great time camping. We will be back.
Aug 04, 2015
Fantastic camp site, friendly staff and extremely clean. Would definitely stay again !
Aug 03, 2015
Convenient location. Friendly staff. The traffic noise from the highway was a little loud during the night.
Jul 30, 2015
Nice family atmosphere.
Jul 26, 2015
Very helpful accommodating staff for our camping experience with young girls. They allowed us to have multiple tents near each other.
Jul 25, 2015
Lovely wooded area nice grass and very friendly staff. My only complaint is that in order to use the fire pit for cooking you have to purchase a grate😒
Jul 14, 2015
Stayed here to have family gathering and go to water park. No shade; very hot; wet slippery floors in shower house; deluxe site had utility hookups such that you could not camp next patio so it was a waste of money
Jul 14, 2015
Since this is a newer park there is very little shade if you are a tent camper like us. Also, wish all the tent sites were next to the park instead of just 3 of them. With all the RV's around you can not set up your tent and let the children play at the park and keep a watchful eye on them.
Jul 13, 2015
Our stay was good overall! There was a lot of seaweed in the water also on the paddle boats was hard at times with all the seaweed! The bathrooms were always clean!!!! :)
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Waterloo/Lost island is a very clean well run resort. Bathrooms were clean and staff were friendly and helpful.
Jul 02, 2015
The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Our camp sites didn't quite work for the needs of our group. Thanks to Carl and Pam we were able to move our group to sites that made us more comfortable. The lake could use a good dredging, but that isn't enough to lose my 5 marshmallow rating!
Jun 29, 2015
Everything was nice except the water was very full of seaweed which was find of gross! Other then that very nice park.
Jun 29, 2015
I think this campground needs to put a closing time on the park itself. It was almost 11:30pm/12am and a large diesel pickup came right by our tent. If there was a gate and closing time that wouldn't have happened. Overall the facilities we clean and nice. We came for the waterpark next door and had a great time. The $$ off was great! Thanks Kelly
Jun 23, 2015
Everything was great. Campground was good. We weren't far from the bathroom. Was quiet and enjoyable. Looking forward to coming back a lot in the future.
Jun 23, 2015
It's very nice but experienced a few problems when we arrived didn't know where our tent sight was a lot of noise late at night and very restless stay but nice place
Oct 27, 2014
Unfortunately I arrived during the off-season. I can see this place being a lot of fun during the height of summer. Very handy having a petrol station as part of the site.
Sep 02, 2014
first time guest it was just a great place to stay fun activities looking forward to staying again.loved the way they cater to the guest.thanks
Aug 15, 2014
ground was uneven at and lacked grass at the tent site. play ground was a little small. would be nice if they added swings. beach was very nice. shower house/ bathrooms were very nice and clean!
Aug 13, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Good facilities and ammendities camp sites are a little close for my taste and very little shade available. Overall good experience. Could be very nice in the future
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Great campground. It did seem strange that there was no dishwashing sink anywhere nearby (or it was not pointed out to us). Pretty inconvenient just to use the pump.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
IT WAS A PERFECT WEEKEND TO SPEND TIME WITH FRIENDS. NICE AND CONVIENENT TO THE WATERPARK, LOCAL STORES AND UNFORTUNATELY THE HOSPITAL
Jul 02, 2014
Great campground! Lots of fun stuff for families, including those with dogs (they have a dog park with obstacle course - BONUS)
May 28, 2014
There was little to complain about. 1) The restrooms were not cleaned daily from 12-1. (2) They ran out of firewood and the ice machine was on the fritz. It did not affect us much, but could have been a big problem at the height of vacation season. These were minor things and we would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.
May 27, 2014
The showers were clean and well kept. The dog park was a plus. It was close to everything we needed. The view of the lake was very nice. We would definitely stay there again.
May 27, 2014
Sep 27, 2013
The tent area could use a lot of improvement. The patchs of weeds made it very lumpy
Aug 28, 2013
We showed up late at night and they didn't leave any information for us even though we had pre-registered and told them we'd be arriving very late. The tent area was lumpy and uneven (not good for a tent) and the showers where cold and had no pressure.
Aug 14, 2013
Thanks
Aug 05, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
It clean but very small tent sights to close together could hear the other people next to us and flashlights shining input tent...I liked how close to the water park it was.
Jul 28, 2013
The campground was very clean and well kept. The site was spacious and located near the necessary facilities. Thanks for a great stay!
Jul 27, 2013
We loved everything about our stay We ended up having a terrible storm and with 2 small childern decided it was best to leave went back up next day to pack up was shocked they refunded our money for the one night we were not staying, that sealed the deal for me for camping at KOA the only down side is the tent site we were at was hilly and very runty those sites really need to be more level
Jul 22, 2013
The fish like to nibble during swimming..little to no shade..other than that it was great.
Jul 15, 2013
The beach was great for two small children. Tent campsites not the best quality, washed out and not flat. Beach had little trash here and there. New campground and I am sure it will be great in the future. I hope that the management keeps it clean and well kept. Clean shower house. Water temp was too hot at first, but cooled down.
Jul 15, 2013
Staff was courteous and helpful. I think the camp was quite new. The campsite was quite barren. A lot of young trees the feel was not secluded.
Jul 15, 2013
It will be great once trees mature for shade and grass really grows in.
Jul 12, 2013
I think the campground is great! Although I had a tent site that was absolutely horrible. There was great big holes and hardly any grass! I had to leave and buy air matresses because you couldn't just use a sleeping blanket as we planned. I also had my young children which my two year old fell constantly.
Jul 09, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at Waterloo. This was our first time camping at a KOA and were impressed. I understand this is a new facility but if we could recommend anything it would be that something needs to be done about the traffic near the tent sites...always too fast and causing terrible dust clouds that covered everything and everyone. Also, more LEVEL tent sites would be nice.
Jul 07, 2013
great had a fun time very clean and new Its like a job to take a shower though.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.