Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8

RV Reviews

Aug 18, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Very nice campground, the restroom and shower facilities were excellent. The staff very accommodating and helpful. The weekend we were there they had activities for all. Will recommend to others.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
It was a great stay, but the geese waste was some what annoying the ground or grass was kind rough or uneven for the elderly.
Aug 15, 2014
Great Place
Aug 13, 2014
The campground is very nice. Lots of activities for the kids to do... beach, fishing, paddle boats to rent at a very affordable rate, a play ground and a great bike/walking path around the lake. What made our stay less than desirable was the other campers. No one keeps their dogs on a leash or cleans up after them (even when its on campsite!) and the shuttle to the waterpark never showed up!
Aug 12, 2014
Just about everything was excellant. Staff was friendlya nd helpful. The beach there was no so plesant. A lot of geese poop on the beach and the site we were at the sewer line ran up hill so the water from my trailer not run out all that well. Other than that the shower house was clean and in well condition and my dog like the dog play area.
Aug 12, 2014
Beautiful campground with lots of things to do!
Aug 12, 2014
Small trash not picked up at campsite. Not attractive, looks so unfinished.
Aug 12, 2014
Litter at site, Had 2 call for firepit cleaning, store staff was bothered by anyone coming in,,this has happened before, internet spotty, cable basic, beach nice, kids n dog area nice, for $50 a nite, not again,
Aug 12, 2014
This was a great place to stay, what more could you want!!!
Aug 12, 2014
Needs to improve road signage leading to the CG.
Aug 12, 2014
the staff were very friendly and the store was great. very nice and gas pumps too! cant wait to come back for a longer stay:)
Aug 11, 2014
our site was close to bath house & park and to waterpark which was nice but too much goose poo by swim area..gross. its bad enough there is just a dinky/shallow area to swim in. Needs some work on grass(its all weeds & thistles)& bad ruts. friendly staff..
Aug 11, 2014
great place to stay, friendly staff, roomy, very relaxing campgrounds
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
The staff was very nice and helpful. Very convenient location. Bathrooms were clean and well taken care of. Beach had a lot of Geese droppings and with little children it was hard to try and keep them away from it. Overall though great place and will definitely be back.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
nice. should be a 5 star when the trees mature and the grass fills in.
Aug 07, 2014
Campgrounds where clean and personal friendly. Only concern water pressure was on the low side.
Aug 07, 2014
This is a new KOA. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They have paddle, boats, kayaks, swimming beach, dog park and Frisbee golf. It is very close to the waterpark, go karts, mini golf and zip line park. They have very nice cabins however we did not stay in them we pulled a 5th wheel camper. We loved this KOA and would defiantly stay again. They were still working on the grassy areas.
Aug 07, 2014
We enjoy camping at this koa. The only thing that we would like to see is some swings! We have a 3yr old that loves to swing!
Aug 07, 2014
We only stopped for a few hours passing through to Ohio. The grounds were a little sparse but the lake looked inviting.
Aug 06, 2014
Large, level sites with bench and fire pit. Fuel station on premises with fair prices. Verizon voice and data excellent. Visual is nice and large. Should not advertise free wifi, as it is useless. Two dog parks that need grass (weed) cutting. Basically not useable for small dogs. Grass (weeds) need lots of work just to be able to walk on it. Very clumpy.
Aug 06, 2014
It is a Beautiful setting
Aug 06, 2014
The deluxe sites were great, the beach could be cleaned up a bit, a lot of goose droppings. Would get a 5 star if they had a pool and a shuttle to the water park.
Aug 05, 2014
Wish we could have stayed more than the one night on our itinerary. All the staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Store was well-stocked and had a great variety, but get there early for the best selection of donuts! We loved the on-site gas station - very convenient. Doggie park was large, fenced, and divided for different sized dogs. Will definitely return when back in the area.
Aug 05, 2014
We travel with our 2 med sized dogs and 3 kids. thanks for the dog park & allowing dogs to remain in our camper while we explored the local area. High 5 to you for a real handicap bathroom with a drop down shower head. one small complaint a path to the bathroom would be great ground very uneven with the new grass, but we already have plans to stay again. We give a big thumbs up. :)
Aug 05, 2014
My only complaint is the lack of internet access.
Aug 05, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay here. Clean campground and very friendly staff. We will be back and enjoy the campground again. We did have a good laugh at all the goose poop you had to dodge when walking by the lake, but no big deal!Beach was nice,also and being able to bring a floatie is something we will do next time because we didn't know you could have them in the beach. All-in-all nice stay.
Aug 04, 2014
We enjoyed our stay, The bathrooms/showers were extremely clean & the staff was very friendly & helpful. My only concern was the grounds - so very uneven. We really had to watch where we were stepping so as to not twist an ankle. The park could use a little work on that. The dog park is nice but had to stop running our dog due to the uneven hurtful ground.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
nice set up great staff
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
The staff at the campground were helpful and friendly. I appreciated the shop and the gas station on site. We all enjoyed kayaking and using the paddle boats. The beach was ruined by goose poop. It wasn't possible to swim or play on the beach.
Aug 02, 2014
Nice park. Lot of room between soaces
Jul 30, 2014
Great staff. Working to keep place like new. Some lots have sewer connections that are hard to reach if your in the middle of the lot. They are too far away. over 15ft. most people do not carry that much hose. water an electric is fine. Voltage is good. Water is good. Easy access. Should ban ATV use in park. Staff if great, helpfull, and polite. Overall a very nice park.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Great newer campground with full hookups, clean facilities and lots of things to do for the kids and grandkids.
Jul 29, 2014
This is a pretty new KOA, I think as the grounds develop, it will be much better. The grass is not easy to walk over, as it is lumpy. Watch out, you could twist an ankle, fall. The lake is really nice with the path around it, but watch out for the goose droppings covering most of the path. The staff are very friendly. Just needs to be better developed. Especially the grass.
Jul 29, 2014
Very nice campground, some spots appear to be a bit difficult to sit around a fire since they are at a slant, but there were plenty flat site to choose from too! Was able to take our kayaks on the lake for a little float. Wasn't able to enjoy the beach since we went to the waterpark all day Saturday. A little more costly than the local state/county parks, but will still come back.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Love the place, going back again this weekend.
Jul 29, 2014
Personnel tres accueillant,douche tres propre.Beau terrain,tres propre
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
The site is convenient to relatives but have some flaws especially the sewer connections which are too high and sometimes uphill. This makes for drainage problems.
Jul 25, 2014
Very nice new park. Great wi-fi, better than most parks we have been in.
Jul 24, 2014
Loved this campground!
Jul 24, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.