Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

RV Reviews

Aug 26, 2015
Our first KOA visit ever. This is a somewhat new park so no shade. Bathrooms are very nice as is the camp store. WiFi (free) was spotty; good, basic cable. Sites are generally level. Nice swim beach with trail around large lake (pond). Please continue to keep the geese away!
Aug 25, 2015
Very clean. Really liked it. Will be back.
Aug 25, 2015
Clean, Quiet and very well kept.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Great location, nice level sites, clean restrooms, great showers.
Aug 25, 2015
Nice facilities, well maintained. Off leash dog area was an unexpected and welcome bonus. Nice playground for the kids.
Aug 23, 2015
well greeted and served
Aug 22, 2015
It was great. We had a level site view of lake plenty of room. The best so far on our journey West.
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Wide open park. Cute facilities. Clean and easy to drive our 45' RV around.
Aug 21, 2015
A nice new campground, but with all the sites available we were put right next to a garbage dump of a trailer that either housed the homeless or a group of careless contractors. If you stop there, ask to see the site first - there are a lot of trailers in this condition there...
Aug 20, 2015
Enjoyed our stay and our dog loved the dog park.
Aug 20, 2015
Only stayed one night, just passing through. Nice campground.
Aug 20, 2015
Nice campground. A lot of time and effort has been put into making this a premium campground. I agree with one of the posters that the sanitary on the lot I was on was too far away from the camper. I had to use three sanitary hoses to reach. (Luckly I had them)
Aug 20, 2015
long trek to office/store and watercraft facilities no pool great showers etc
Aug 19, 2015
Very nice campground, with friendly staff. Lots of amenities, especially for kids.
Aug 18, 2015
The campground had very nice amenities and the staff was friendly.
Aug 17, 2015
I had reserved a site and paid for it 2 months in advance for a reunion and was not given my site as someone else was there and refused to move. So I was moved down 10 spots away from the reunion. Other than that is was a very nice campground!
Aug 17, 2015
Very nice campground. Can't wait til the trees grow so there is some shade
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
We where very happy :) thanks.
Aug 17, 2015
Close to waterpark, nice beach area with volleyball. Kayaking rental was good. Lots are small and need more trees. A little too commercialized in camping area but would stay again.
Aug 17, 2015
Staff was nice. Place is huge with lots over people and very small trees. Sites were poorly marked from approaching side. Sewer connection on our site was higher up hill than our discharge sp totally unusable. If you like lots of people with a water park and casino close by then this is the place. Only stayed one night on our way out to Yellowstone.
Aug 17, 2015
KOA at this site was fantastic! We will stay at this site every AUG for a week for our family reunions.
Aug 17, 2015
Lake/beach needs attention. Very nice staff at check-in. Store was nice.
Aug 17, 2015
awesome place, unfortunate that we were just passing thru for home.
Aug 16, 2015
It was neat clean only one thing we didn't like was the camp site we had was right on a hill not much room with out go down hill would take a different site when we come again not B8 thanks keep up the good work
Aug 16, 2015
Loved this park!!!
Aug 15, 2015
very nice great for kids
Aug 15, 2015
Beautiful campground!
Aug 15, 2015
Clean, quiet family oriented not for us but very nice
Aug 14, 2015
Close to office but no Wifi connection. Bath room too far away!
Aug 14, 2015
Too big and too nice to be located here. Great place to stay. It is a little difficult to find; even using Magellan.
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Awesome
Aug 12, 2015
The most spreadout KOA we've visited.
Aug 11, 2015
Wonderful place to stay, has a lot of nice amenities. Very clean bathrooms.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
well maintained and very clean,staff professional and courteous, they dont pick up tras and show you to your site. but will not think twice about visiting again
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Excellent park!
Aug 10, 2015
Hard Working Staff with a friendly attitude. Our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. One of the better Campgrounds by far.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Convenient to I-90, loved the theme decorating of the entranceway, the cabins, etc.;didn't like the water miser showers; nice that you offered fuel onsite, but your diesel was .08 more per gallon than a nearby station.
Aug 08, 2015
The park is clean and staff is very friendly. Great access to the water park across the street. A couple if issues I have are 1) The toilet paper was out in the mens restroom for two days, never filled after cleaning and 2) all the sites are not level for the seating or picnic areas and the sewer outlets are all uphill.
Aug 08, 2015
This is a great KOA. Lots of room to pull in and out. Nice sites. Have stayed here before and will be back again. We stayed in a 40 foot 5th wheel
Aug 08, 2015
New campground, everything was very clean and nice. Check in was quick and easy. Campground is quite large so it spreads people out nicely.
Aug 08, 2015
I enjoyed the campground. The Wi-Fi is an excellent touch. The playground needs to be fixed. The vines had kids climbing and standing at heights that should not be at. They look cool but kids are going to get hurt.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.