Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 06, 2013
All the guys were extremely nice and helpful!Only one girl seemed to work there and she could probably do a bit better on her customer service. The park was amazing! loved the cabin and how clean it was. I would recommend a filter some how in the lake to prevent high bacteria levels.Five of the kids with us became very ill after swimming in the lake.Just wondering if the bacteria levels get checke
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
We took our grandson and stayed in a cabin. Very nice. Will do it again. The campground was very kid friendly.
Aug 02, 2013
We loved it the nicest cabins ever
Aug 01, 2013
We stayed in cabin 4 and absolutly loved our stay and view. The staff was very polite as well. Thank you so much!
Aug 01, 2013
Loved the cabins. Very friendly & helpful staff. Clean campground.
Jul 31, 2013
We had a wonderful time! Beautiful grounds and cabins, very clean!!! Will definitely stay again. Management was awesome to work with. Best campgrounds we have ever stayed at!!!
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
We had a great experience. The staff was very friendly and accommodated any need we had.
Jul 29, 2013
The asst. manager Ben was very friendly, he told me if I needed anything to call him, well I did, my battery went dead and he brought me the tools I needed to replace it and directed me to the auto parts store. Only took an hour of my morning to replace it. Thank you
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
It is a perfect place for a large family vacation. something for every age. treated very well by the staff.
Jul 26, 2013
For a start up, very good. Need better litter control, fry pans in smaller cabins would be a plus, firendly staff, Look forwqrd to continuous improvement in this place for next time I bring the grandkids here.
Jul 24, 2013
We had a wonderful time - the perfect setting for a getaway with the grandchildren. The 8 person cabin was well equipped and comfortable.
Jul 22, 2013
This was our first visit here. We were very pleased & had a wonderful time. DEFINATELY will be back! My only complaints are the miscommunication at the time I made my reservation. I wasn't told about a security deposit. I was told there were pots, pans, dishes, silverware, etc. & that all I had to bring was food & clothing. We had nothing to cook with in our cabin. Thank goodness for my grill!
Jul 19, 2013
The cabin was great! better than I ever expected:) The manager helped us build a fire to make smores the wood that was in the firepit was wet from the spinkler so he found some dry wood and made our fire for us:) Thankyou for the great time and winderful experience we will be back again foresure:)
Jul 18, 2013
If koa is part of the water park u should get better discounts. And watch who comes in the park just to swim withouthaving a place there! The one day iI was there the whole beach was taken over by dirt balls who were not staying there and my daughter wouldn't even go on the beach it sucked they thru trash on the ground in the sand etc!!!!!!!
Jul 15, 2013
Cabins are wonderful! Very nice stay for family. Lake and beach were fantastic. Playground perfect for young children. Close to lots of shopping if you forget anything. Only issue was shower water temp was very difficult to manage. Minor issue so I have already recommended this campground to many people. Once trees grow with age it will be perfect.
Jul 15, 2013
We stayed in an 8-person cabin...had all the grandkids ranging in age from 3-14. Everyone had a blast. Beach was fantastic. Not yet fully equipped with kitchen utensils but we made due. Bath house was extremely clean. Playground equipment was awesome per the grandkids. Only suggestion would be to have a dvd player on one of the TV's. Kids wanted to stay up longer and watch a movie.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
This was our first time at a KOA and we had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and helpful!! The grounds and cabins were so clean and neat. We already told family/friends what a great experience it was. The kids want to come back next year!! Thank you for everything, we loved it!
Jul 12, 2013
This was a great place to stay. Everyone had a great time in and around the campground. We had friends staying in a hotel down the road who were all jealous when they saw where we were staying. Prices are reasonable.
Jul 10, 2013
we stayed in a 4 person cabin, there was no kitchen sink to wash dishes in, also understand a very busy week end lots of campers the place was full for 4th of july would have been nice if there were some festivities, for that night,also not a big fan of dogs on the beach swimming in same area as people, the nicest beach ever for a camp ground, but had a lovely stay, all ready booking for next year
Jul 07, 2013
Love the cabins; new campground, so missed mature trees. We will be back next year.
Jul 05, 2013
everything about this KOA was great - very disappointed that you could not supply bath soap. Luckily I had some. Also, no dish soap, and you wanted us to wash dishes? How sanitary was that? Stripping my bed seemed a bit over the top, we paid a nice amount to stay. Housekeeping could do their job.
Jul 04, 2013
Nokids activities, nightly stuff, pancake b'fast on Sun or other events. Cabin very nice but no place to wash dishes unless the large hall with sink???? Other KOA's set up much better.
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
It was a very fun and relaxing weekend. The help is so friendly and everything is very clean. Thank you!
Jun 20, 2013
very good time some people dont respect public rest rooms
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
Staff at the check-in ROCK. Helpful and courteous. Great time had by all.
May 31, 2013
nice campground. the layout is good and its a little hilly which makes the landscape look nice.the cabins are very nice and cute. the lake is very big. has a great swimming beach and play ground. the assistant manager is very friendly and has great customer service skills. we will definately be back!!
May 29, 2013
This KOA has a huge amount of potential and has a great start as a young KOA. Lots of things need to be established, but the owners have done a great job at moving quickly. The cabins are wonderful and fully-featured, the staff is warm, friendly, and helpful, and you can just see all the things that are being done.
May 29, 2013
Being a new KOA my only comment is better roads that can withstand rain, otherwise the kampground and cabins are great, and the staff are more than accomodating to make sure your stay was the best it possibly could be. So I would rate this KOA GREAT.
May 28, 2013
I was put off by the fact that the pond was empty and pictures online showed a full pond and it is brand new?? Well anyway it rained all weekend so wasn't that enjoyable but not the campgrounds fault.
May 15, 2013
we had a wonderful mothers day weekend, the only bad thing was that there was no water, lake, it was being repaired and mother nature was not very nice that week-end it was sooo coild and windy but we had fun I've tried to book 2 more times but all full need more 6-8 ppl. cabins, thanks had a great time and the staff that week-end were great, fun, fun, fun,
Apr 10, 2013
The new cabins are really cute. I like the supplied linen and towels. My cabin had issues with front door lock and the toilet running after flush. Sadly the big pond has a nasty smell. I know you will fix-it. Kindest regards
Mar 20, 2013
Cabin was great. Road was terrible. Soft and muddy- almost got stuck.
Feb 19, 2013
The staff is friendly and very responsive to all requests! Cabins are clean & mostly comfortable. The beds are a little uncomfortable especially when staying multiple nights, but tolerable.
Jan 01, 2013
Dec 13, 2012
Everyone was nice and help with all of needs
Sep 25, 2012
We had a great stay. Staff was extremly helpful. Looking forward to our next visit
Sep 18, 2012
we had a great time in waterloo Ia, our cabin was so nice and clean, they mad every effort to make our stay wonderful, on Fri. night I stayed with my twin 5 year olds, they loved the bunk beds and the little window that they could slide open, hope to stay there again real soon nice and quiet, and sat, stayed by my self what a great 2 nights. thanks check-out and in was so easy too.
Sep 17, 2012
Great place, even though it just opened I was very impressed!!! I am a local business owner two miles from this campground , I will be spreading the word, what a great little get away so close to home!!!! A++++++
Sep 17, 2012
Aug 27, 2012
mirowave in the Kabin a good idea but a bench top out side where you can cook would be better
Aug 13, 2012
Had a great time! The cabin was awesome - cannot wait until everything is open.
Aug 12, 2012
Peaceful stay.. would love to come back again. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.