Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Jul 29, 2013
Wonderful time. Pool was great. Clean family atmosphere.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Located just down the road from a entrance to the Smokie's. Very quiet atmosphere. A lot of families with kids. Located a distance from the hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Staff were friendly and helpful - circuit break blew on hookup at 10:45 PM, left a message with desk and by 8 AM it was fixed. Sites were a little tight - seen more than one camper struggle but staff helped
Jul 29, 2013
The staff was very kind and helpful, my only complaint was the sites were small.
Jul 29, 2013
I was in site 62, could have been larger. But everyone was very helpful. Thank-you.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
We love Townsend KOA
Jul 28, 2013
We had a great time and it was the kids first camping trip. They loved tubing. The personal treated us very well.
Jul 28, 2013
Great people at this KOA has had us coming back year after year. Everything is well maintained and everyone is ready to accommodate your every need no matter how small. I am ready to come back again!
Jul 28, 2013
Very clean! Lots of fun things for the kids to do. We will be back again next year!
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Camped in a travel trailer with full-hook ups. Absolutely fantastic location - just a few miles down the road from the park entrance to the Smokies. Very clean facility - pool & grounds are well maintained. Word of advice - if you want quiet - book the sites off of the river only. Also: beware of tics!!!!
Jul 27, 2013
A wonderful place to stay year after year!
Jul 27, 2013
Staff members very helpful and welcoming. Very impressed with the riverfront accessibility and new cabins. Keep up the great job you're doing!
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Great staff. Truly a campers campground. Enjoyed our stay a lot. A full service campground.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Our trip to KOA was just what we needed. Our children loved the Day Camps and we loved the family gatherings. It is great to go to an establishment that still allows God to be present. Thank you for a wonderful and relaxing trip. The facilities and sites are clean and everyone was nice and welcoming. We will be back!
Jul 23, 2013
Beautiful with great staff but sites are too close together.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
We had one of the worst trailer sites and the manager made it right by giving an additional discount. We LOVE this KOA. It's so much fun and a great location for those of us who want the Smokies without the tourist traps!
Jul 23, 2013
Great time, day camp was AWSOME !! Very kid friendly place. Staff all very nice & helpful. Highly recommend to families !
Jul 22, 2013
A great place to camp.Puts Cherokee KOA to shame !
Jul 22, 2013
Everything was good except I have one recommendation. Please encourage people to respect their neighbors and remember the Quiet Time. No one likes being wakened up at 5:30 in the morning. A gentle reminder could be made upon check in. Other than that everything was good.
Jul 22, 2013
Everyone was very helpful, we had a great time. Thanks for allowing us to work with CHARM at your camp ground. Everything was kept up nice.
Jul 22, 2013
This is one of the most beautiful cqmpgrounds we have stayed at. Clean, easy in and out, river access, miles of bike trails, and very close to the National Park entrance. You can count on us returning! We had a fantastic time.
Jul 22, 2013
Great campground, all employees were awesome. Anytime we needed help they were there. We made reservation before we left to come back.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We were very pleased with our stay. This was our first camping experience. We were so impressed with how friendly and helpful all of the staff was. It made our first camping experience a very good one. We will recommend this campground to anyone looking to stay in the Townsend area and will be sure and return to this campground whenever we visit Townsend!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Camp sites are very small...feels like a trailer park. Staff very nice and helpful.
Jul 21, 2013
We loved that our campsite was on the river. However, I was disappointed that the KOA staff recommended our family do the rough part of the river to go tubing. They did not even mention that there was a much safer side to do. I also was disappointed that they charged a few for my grandparents to visit for one hour.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
The campground was clean and the workers were helpful and friendly. We especially liked he kid friendly atmosphere and the daily activities for the kids. We plan to be back next year!
Jul 20, 2013
We loved our trip even though I had to run back and forth to the hospital due my husband being sick. I think Daisy needs to work on her kindness skills with children, most of the campers there had children! They are going to run and play and be loud! Other than that we loved it as always!!! See you in August!
Jul 20, 2013
Great location, great service and nice facilities!
Jul 20, 2013
We enjoyed it very much..I would recommend it to my friends, especially those who have kids or grandchildren...a little pricey, but all considered a great campground.
Jul 19, 2013
Mark and staff are always friendly and accommodating. Look forward to many more visits. Considering a trip in the fall.
Jul 19, 2013
Entire stay was great, the staff Mark and the rest were very helpful and always seen working. I'll return again!
Jul 17, 2013
Go hear every year. Love this campground with so much to do !
Jul 17, 2013
Campsites are a little close but everything was clean and wonderful!
Jul 16, 2013
We had a wonderful time and wish we could have stayed longer. Have stayed there many times over the past 20 some years and seen many changes, all of them good. Hope to be able to stay longer next time. Thanks for your help while we were there. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. Thanks
Jul 16, 2013
Everyone was very nice and helpful.
Jul 15, 2013
friendly, hardworking staff. we loved tent camping at the townsend KOA!!!
Jul 15, 2013
KOA Townsend is my grandchildren's favorite place to camp.
Jul 15, 2013
Loved the campground. It was not overly crowded and is close enough to get to several area attractions, but still have some privacy. Thanks

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.