Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jun 29, 2015
My son and I had a great weekend despite challenging weather. The KOA team really do all they can to make our stays highly enjoyable. Thanks!
Jun 29, 2015
We had a great time at this KOA! It was our first experience staying at a KOA and we will be back again. I am giving this review 5 stars because overall everything was great. I would recommend to the staff that the portable toilet facilities are cleaned out more often. I don't mind using one, but we had to walk to the bath facilities due to them being so full.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 27, 2015
We loved staying here! Our two small children had a blast on their first camping trip which really made our stay. The playground was great fun for them, although it is geared toward older children than my 1.5 and 2.5 year olds. The pool and close access to the river kept us cooled off. The bath houses were well maintained and clean despite the amount of people in the campground. We will be back!
Jun 25, 2015
The staff is friendly and grounds well kept. Facilities were on par with 4 star hotels.
Jun 18, 2015
The tent sites were just too close together. We booked for two nights and only stayed one night. There were little kids in the camp site next to us that were up talking all night and we couldn't get any sleep. We had a cabin 10 feet bhind us, a tent ten feet to our left and another tent 40 feet to our right. It didn't feel like real camping. The bathrooms were so far away so we had to use outhouse
Jun 16, 2015
Everything was good except wifi reception at the tent camping area was non-existent.
Jun 15, 2015
Wifi at spot 99 was poor at best. Disappointing! Are the bath fans in the showers supposed to work? Shower #1 was not. A bits of a steam shower. Sweat a bunch after your shower, not fun!
Jun 15, 2015
The grounds were located in an awesome spot and were top notch. The staff were incredible. Great family spot!
Jun 14, 2015
Everything went well until the last night. From 10 pm to 1 am there was children riding bicycles screaming cuss words and being obnoxious. Hard to sleep when children and their parents are screaming and lighting firecrackers. This only started happening on a Friday night. The rest of our stay was fairly uneventful except for one child riding through our campsite midday.
Jun 13, 2015
Great stay. The campground is nice, clean, and the employees are very friendly. My only complaint was that a large raccoon got into/tried to get into our food several nights.
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
This campground gets better and better! We stay here 3-4 times each year- we will definitely be back soon!
Jun 08, 2015
The campground itself was really nice. The bathrooms were VERY nice and clean and the staff was super friendly. The playground was a huge hit with our 6 year old. With all that said, the campsites are so close together that it wasn't really camping. The photos on the website made it look much more secluded than it really was. We were 10 feet from the next tent and the place was packed with trailer
Jun 04, 2015
Possibly the best campground showers we've seen. The location of our tent site was great (right by the river) but the site was almost too long and narrow for our tent, and it was way too rocky. The cost for a tent site with no water or electric was a little high, but we still had a great stay. Very good campground overall, and we will be back again soon.
Jun 03, 2015
One of the highest compliments people can get is they are nice. The personnel at the Townsend KOA all were very nice. Thank You!
Jun 02, 2015
Very clean and very kid oriented! Love it! The movie was great!
Jun 02, 2015
The grounds are neat and clean, the staff is super friendly and willing to do anything u need-they even gave my battery a jump after I let it die. Great place for kids and pets!!
Jun 02, 2015
A wonderful family experience! Great amenities, fun activities and very friendly staff.
May 29, 2015
Very clean park, friendly staff, close to everything. The Grandkids had lots of fun in pool, at playground, playing bingo and LOVED the outdoor movies. We will be back!!
May 28, 2015
May 28, 2015
May 26, 2015
Our stay was fantasic. I wish the bathrooms were a tiny bit closer to the tent sites rather than the rv sites but Everything else was great
May 26, 2015
AAA+++ Rated best stay ever in my opinion. Cleanest campground I have ever visited.
May 23, 2015
Love the tent site on the river!
May 19, 2015
My brother and I were very impressed with everything. They had everything we could possibly want, and the place is so clean!
May 18, 2015
Staff was not friendly at all. Couldn't get one of them to wave all weekend. The grounds were great though. Very nice. Better staff and it would be best place in smokies.
May 11, 2015
great
May 09, 2015
excellent
May 06, 2015
Nice peaceful . love listing to the river hope to return soon.
May 01, 2015
The Campsite we get every year is the best. In fact, this Campsite is one of the best. We have been coming for years since it was The Little River Campground before KOA purchased. My wife grew up camping here and introduced it to me. Now our two girls will have fond memories camping here too. It would be nice to have shelves in the showers to put soap/shampoo on as well hooks for towe
Apr 28, 2015
Great stay. Friendly and close to the park.
Apr 27, 2015
This is our favorite KOA! The location is the best for a mountain vacation.
Apr 27, 2015
I enjoyed my stay. And as always the staff is very friendly. I brought my neighbors 8:year old son with me and he had a great time. I wish the activities that you offer for the kids were started already. I'm looking forward to my stay in may with my friends.
Apr 20, 2015
I didnt like my stay at all. We got there late and could not find our campground so we just pick a site and ask to.move that didnt bother me at all but the man was rude and yelled at us and we didnt understand why we calmly told him our situation but still he was rude. I called the night beofre we stay there if it was alright if we showed up late because we had prom and they said that it was ok
Apr 15, 2015
The tent site on the river was awesome. Saw a bald eagle, river otters, geese and other of God's creation's.
Apr 15, 2015
We loved it! The campgrounds were clean and we had an awesome tent sight. You can't beat sleeping with the sound of the river in the background.
Apr 10, 2015
Apr 10, 2015
Staff was great and super friendly. Kids had a great time. Huge plus for clean nice bathrooms and showers!
Apr 09, 2015
Beautiful campground and extremely clean! The restrooms and showers were way better than I expected. Staff was friendly and the kids lo ed the playground, basketball goal and arcade. Will definitely be back. Thanks!
Apr 09, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean and beautiful kampground. Appreciated the brand new showers!
Apr 06, 2015
very nice place and very professionally run. We will definitely be back!
Mar 19, 2015
The stay was good except that the water was turned off at most of the spigots most of our stay. We also had to walk to the far bathroom because of renovations to the closer bathroom. Really, a bathroom even closer to our sight than the out of service one would be great. It is too far to get little ones to the potty!
Mar 17, 2015
The entire KOA staff was wonderful......!
Oct 31, 2014
Nice campground. Clean restrooms, friendly staff, close to the park
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
I chose this campground because of the location, and was actually worried because I thought it might be too commercial. Boy, was I wrong! It was a great, quiet, private spot right in the best location to explore the Smokies. We had a tent site on the river, and it was great. The staff was helpful and friendly, and facilities CLEAN. Our only issue was that the camp store closed at 6:00! Plan ahead!
Oct 22, 2014
What a great campground! Everyone is nice and helpful and the facilities are so clean! Must try the fudge at the sweet shoppe. We did tent camping by the river, can't wait to try a cabin.
Oct 21, 2014
My husband and I love the way there is privacy even with so many people around. The family atmosphere is wonderful. We are already planning our stay next year, as well as planning on bringing our family in the future!
Oct 20, 2014
Wonderful stay with welcoming staff. This camp ground was well thought out and pet friendly. With dog run which was helpful and wonderful for my dog. First time here and will be returning
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.