Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Oct 31, 2014
Nice campground. Clean restrooms, friendly staff, close to the park
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
I chose this campground because of the location, and was actually worried because I thought it might be too commercial. Boy, was I wrong! It was a great, quiet, private spot right in the best location to explore the Smokies. We had a tent site on the river, and it was great. The staff was helpful and friendly, and facilities CLEAN. Our only issue was that the camp store closed at 6:00! Plan ahead!
Oct 22, 2014
What a great campground! Everyone is nice and helpful and the facilities are so clean! Must try the fudge at the sweet shoppe. We did tent camping by the river, can't wait to try a cabin.
Oct 21, 2014
My husband and I love the way there is privacy even with so many people around. The family atmosphere is wonderful. We are already planning our stay next year, as well as planning on bringing our family in the future!
Oct 20, 2014
Wonderful stay with welcoming staff. This camp ground was well thought out and pet friendly. With dog run which was helpful and wonderful for my dog. First time here and will be returning
Oct 19, 2014
This was perfect. We booked this because we couldn't get a spot at the National Park camp area but this ended up being WAY better. Thank you! Welcoming staff and David Dalton are awesome!
Oct 09, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Our stay was fantastic the only concern that we have is for parking we were at site 129 and there was no place to park our vehicle except in the road that went around the campground other than that we had a fabulous time and thank you and yes we will recommend to family and friends the KOA thank you again
Oct 08, 2014
Clean bathrooms and showers, beautiful creek-side tent sites, convenient location with nearby camp stores but not too busy/noisy.
Oct 05, 2014
Stayed there with my 2 buddies (3 motorcycles) on a recent motorcycle tour. We arrived late, picked a site and stayed 2 nights. Campground was great, our site was dynamite, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I am a KOA member and will stay at this site again if I'm in the area.
Oct 01, 2014
On Sat night a gruop of campers were loud till around 12 am and sun night some capers who rented a cabin were loud till 2 am and started a truck which was loud and then turned his lights in our tents. Management has no way of controlling their rules of no noises after 10pm.
Sep 30, 2014
it was great, the koa people were friendly and very helpfull.also the place was very clean.
Sep 30, 2014
We love staying here except for the noises of other campers at night. There is a lot of loud parties that happen way to late into the night. Their should be some kind of quite time enforcement after 10 p.m. and security should make sure it happens.
Sep 29, 2014
Great location and well-kept facilities. I'd suggest adding a smaller full bathroom on the far side of the campground.
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
I wouldn't stay anywhere else!!! Great for kids!
Sep 22, 2014
The only reason I didn't give you 5 stars is because I did not agree with how an incident was handled Saturday night. I feel the campers should of been escorted out by the police. The final straw was when she screamed out she was going to blow their head off. I was very scared to even sleep in fear of hearing gun shots.
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Very clean and safe Thank you KOA
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
My tent site was soggy and muddy. The 'drive' thru the camp is not clearly marked. I almost drove into a lot while I was leaving. Otherwise, it is a nice site.
Sep 04, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
Had a wonderful time. Place was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Can't wait to come back!
Aug 23, 2014
Thanks for the help!
Aug 18, 2014
Location and facilities are very nice. Campsites are a little too close together but the downside for me was the customer service. I was charged an extra $20 over the price quoted that the two gentlemen at the desk could not explain to me. They simply said it was what the lady who made my reservation said they should charge me, and my records on my account did not match to what they said.
Aug 10, 2014
Great time great people
Aug 08, 2014
Nice campground if you stay on the river but a bit pricey.
Aug 02, 2014
Site right on the river was nice, unfortunately had to have mgmt remove several campers who decided to park themselves on the river bank in front of our site to watch the tubers coming down the rapids. Other campers cutting thru our site happened often in our 6 day stay.....perhaps mgmt should inform all campers to respect the other campers sites upon checkin. Kids loved the playground.
Jul 27, 2014
Great location, clean facility,and friendly staff. Loved the camps put on by the ministry.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Loved it! Will be back.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
It was just a little noisier than usual this time. Kids out running around being loud after dusk and the leaf blower early in the morning kind of took away the peaceful part of our stay.
Jun 29, 2014
We always enjoy staying at koa in Townsend.the site was great,the bath house was clean and showers were also.my family loves the family time at nite with charm, what a great ministry.
Jun 27, 2014
Here are the comments from the boy scouts and adults. Fun pool, clean and roomy bathroom and showers, nice patio furniture on the electric site we had, a lot of room for the tents on the tent site, quite, and had fun at the evening activity (auction). The staff was very accommodating when I need to use an electric outlet in the office during the day so my battery pack for my CPAP would charge.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay the only problem we had was we didn't have very much privacy at the spot we were placed at. Other than that we had a blast and will defiantly be back.
Jun 15, 2014
Super friendly. Super location. Clean and plentiful restrooms. Awesome activities and playground for the kids!!!! Looking forward to returning!!!!!!!
Jun 15, 2014
We really enjoyed the campground. We plan on staying again next year!
Jun 09, 2014
Very friendly staff. A safe and secure campground. Clean and well maintained.
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
The stay was wonderful. My only complaint would be the tent camp sites are VERY SMALL. You are right on top of other campers. Would like to have a little more space.
May 14, 2014
May 11, 2014
It was a Nice, Clean campground. We had a lot of trouble the first night with a crazy neighbor. He kept throwing rocks at our tent and shinning his light in it. I also do not like it that this campground allows dogs there. They bark all night long!! It is not very quiet and pleasant when dogs are barking! That was my complaint!!
May 10, 2014
camp site was very good except parking for that site. we were not able to get our car close. too steep for our small car. will bring jeep next time.!! Having a shower each night was wonderful. the weather was perfect.
Apr 28, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Pleasant
Apr 28, 2014
I thought the campground was clean and well-run. But the 5-star rating shows that they go above and beyond. I had a problem with a noisy neighbor. They offered me an alternate site, which I declined because I was going to be there only one more night, So they gave me a bundle of firewood to make it up to me. They go out of their way to make you love your stay. Thanks all!
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.