Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 16, 2017
Always a great stay at our favorite local campground. Great staff, well run
Aug 15, 2017
We will deffently be back.
Aug 14, 2017
Other than the rain (which no one could do anything about), we had a WONDERFUL stay. The campground staff were phenomenal; every one of them. Our tent site was perfect. We'll definitely be back.
Aug 11, 2017
I love this campground- Great people! Great facilites! I am concerned that more and more river rafters kept coming on my site-' And acted like it was theirs! Even people camping at KOA kept coming on our site... Otherwise, best camping spot ever!
Aug 08, 2017
Beautiful campground. We always love staying there. We were there on July 4th, and it was VERY busy! We stayed on the river and people were constantly walking and running through our campsite. We were OK with this, but if noise and children running through your spot all day bothers you, pick a site that is not right on the water.
Aug 03, 2017
This was our first time camping at a Koa and the Townsend location was wonderful. The bathhouse and bathrooms were very clean and updated. The pool and playground was great for our family. We loved the peaceful site by the river. We will definitely come back.
Aug 03, 2017
We had a great time. We just camped out in a tent and it was quiet and peaceful. The bathrooms were very clean. Would highly recommend for others and will definetely come back.
Jul 28, 2017
You will not find a nicer campground anywhere, top notch facility and people.
Jul 22, 2017
Beautifully maintained campground. Great location. Secluded, near the entrance of the National Park, but close to tons of activities for the whole family. River tubing was a blast. Can't wait to visit again.
Jul 20, 2017
Our favorite campground!
Jul 17, 2017
Fantastic stay! The campsite on the river was perfect! From exploring to the campfire to all the campground provided, my 5 year had a great time!
Jul 17, 2017
We had a party of 11 people stay at the KOA Townsend and had an extremely amazing weekend. We were able to book tent sites right next to each other and had to leave a little later than the actual check-out time and were not charged for being late. They have amazing amenities and wonderful staff. They offered family friendly activities during the day and evenings. We will definitely be returning!!
Jul 12, 2017
We had tent site 124/125 by the river. It was beautiful. we did have a lot of people go to the water thru our site but u just have to deal with it. The staff was very helpful. We worked with them on these reservations for 6 months to plan this perfect weekend. The bathrooms and showers were nice too. Loved the bingo night And movie night. Deff will recommend and want to stay again in the future.
Jul 10, 2017
We stayed in a tent site and had a wonderful time! The campsite was clean and so well kept. Every staff member we saw was friendly and more then ready to help if we needed anything. All in all it was a wonderful stay here!
Jul 07, 2017
We stay here every year and have for almost 20 years even before it was a KOA property.
Jul 04, 2017
There used to be a port-o-potty near the river sites. You removed them and replaced with nice bathroom. Problem, nice bathroom is at the other side of the campground.Because of health issues, we are having to walk across campground 10 times a day. We could camp near the bathrooms, but we came to camp near the river. Yall put in a pump station where the portopots where. Why can't you put a bathroom
Jul 03, 2017
Was wonderful even with it being 4th of July weekend. The Grounds, bathrooms, and showers where always clean! We are coming back!
Jun 28, 2017
Great
Jun 28, 2017
Thought it was great
Jun 26, 2017
I had a great time at both camp grounds. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Beats the places I've been to.
Jun 23, 2017
This was our first tent camping trip with our 2 year old son. We had only booked 2 nights, but everything went so well we ended up staying 4 nights. The front desk staff made it so we didn't have to change sites. The staff was friendly and awesome. Thanks for a clean and safe place to stay. We love KOA camp grounds!
Jun 20, 2017
We loved our tent site right on the river. The campground was clean and staff were super We will definitely be staying here again
Jun 19, 2017
This KOA is very nice. We bring our boy scout troop here every year for the tubing. They have one of the best teams here. The showers our clean and very nice, and I do mean nice. Our boys really like the movie night. We will see you guys again next year. Keep up the good work.
Jun 13, 2017
Ladies in front office are angry and bitter. They are busy yet cant answer phone. We happened to arrive late and i have cancer i couldnt get up and out of cabin on time we were moving to a tent slipbut because of mean women we left koa. And i wasnot credited my tent spot of 40$. I will not recomend although sites are great front office lost you my fam8lys trips
Jun 12, 2017
My friends and I went up to Townsend for The Crawl and the mini bikes. We had such a phenomenal experience! All of the employees went above and beyond for us the entire time, even when registering for the camp site. They stopped to chat with us about our bikes and we all really bonded. The site was beautiful and everything was clean and the showers are fantastic! We'll be back again next year!
Jun 12, 2017
We visited this campground with 3 motorcycles and we were treated like children and watched our whole trip. Couldn't enjoy our stay with staff breathing down our neck the whole time.
Jun 05, 2017
Love the riverfront site. Staff friendly and helpful. Enjoy the family activities, wish they had more!
Jun 05, 2017
The staff was extremely helpful! Our first time camping and it was a wonderful experience.
Jun 04, 2017
We love staying here. We have been going there for 26 years. The staff is great and love seeing them every year. We love the fact that they have family fun things. They let Charms come in and do a children's day camp and family events nightly.
Jun 04, 2017
Jun 02, 2017
Great staff! First time at a KOA campground and we had a tent site that was great. The facilities and showers were always clean. The store has everything you need. Great place!
May 30, 2017
May 22, 2017
This was our first family camping trip with our son and it was amazing. Very clean, beautiful views and the staff was wonderful.
May 22, 2017
Beautiful setting on a river, friendly and helpful staff, large clean showers, bike trails accessible from campground, near entrance to Smoky Mountains park and 10 minutes from Cade's Cove. I'll be staying here next time.
May 14, 2017
I believe it was the wrong time of the year for some quiet fishing. college students the first night partying until 3 am and then the following night a family with 5 children throwing rocks at everything. will I stay again yes but will pick my timing better
May 06, 2017
Beautiful campground and very clean. Staff was very friendly. Only complaint is they need another bathroom on the opposite side. We camped far from the entrance, where the only bathroom was located.
Apr 25, 2017
Very nice staff, clean showers, well kept tent sites. enjoyed my stay very much.
Apr 18, 2017
A little noisy but quiet after 10. Great service at store and registration. Firewood great. Bathrooms and showers very clean. Mulch made a nice pad for tents. Need a hot tub:) We really enjoy our KOA stays all over the country.
Apr 17, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your campground. Everyone was very nice, our spot was beautiful, and the facilities were well maintained. The only negative thing I have to say is for a primitive spot, it was extremely expensive. We would be able to come more if it wasn't so expensive!
Apr 11, 2017
Please keep the tent sites!
Apr 11, 2017
Good points: clean, clean, clean! Very nice tent site RIGHT ON THE RIVER! I enjoyed the easy access to the Smoky Mountains and Cades Cove. The Tuckaleechee Caverns were also great! Bad points: Very, very pricey for a tent site. $54? Ouch, in my book. It was the only negative.
Apr 03, 2017
Warm showers and bathrooms are a plus!
Feb 27, 2017
Great camp site. Very friendly and helpful staff. A beautiful campground.We love staying here and we will return.
Jan 17, 2017
We love this place! We had a tent site on the river and love to hear the water at night. Went hiking and horse-back riding nearby. Staff is always friendly, and the store is great for anything we forgot (we always do!)
Nov 14, 2016
Wonderful experience. Great amenities for tent campers. Fire wood cost was extremely high so we could only afford one nights worth ($21 + tax for 3 small bundles that lasted maybe 6 hours) and had to leave the next day due to cold temps, but the one night we stayed was great.
Nov 07, 2016
Campground was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Definitely worth the the stay and we will stay again!!!
Oct 31, 2016
The facilities are great, however I stayed over Halloween weekend, and they decked the entire campground in scary decor and had people with chainsaws chasing children down to scare them. They gave no foresight this would happen during booking. Completely inappropriate. I will never bring my child to this place. Displayed a serious lack of consideration for those with small children. ZERO stars.
Oct 31, 2016
It was very nice and clean but overpriced otherwise I would have given 5 stars. 57.00 is to high for tent camping without Electric to charge your devices.
Oct 30, 2016
Great staff very helpful.
Oct 30, 2016
Overly aggressive older guys in golf carts fussing at my grown children about parking even though I paid EXTRA for parking one additional car in site. Stayed here for YEARS before KOA. Little River Campground which had property before knew how to take care of guest. Now aggressive retirees!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award