Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 25, 2016
Beautiful place. Can't wait to come back.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
The best part of this campground is the river! The campground is situated along the riverbank with several campsites and cabins overlooking the river. There are a few places you can get in the river with your tube, float or chair to relax or float. If you rent a tube at the campground through Cowboy Tubin' they will pick you up further down the river and shuttle you back to the KOA.
Jul 25, 2016
Excellent facilities and friendly staff
Jul 25, 2016
Great setting! Great people! We make a point to come here each summer to meet up with family and friends. Always a wonderful time!
Jul 25, 2016
Great place to stay! Staff was friendly and cabins clean. Worth every penny! We always camped at Cades Cove, but will only camp at KOA now.
Jul 25, 2016
We love the Townsend KOA!!! I can't say enough good things about the park and staff. They always go above and beyond to make sure everyone is happy and safe! We look forward to visiting again in the fall!!
Jul 25, 2016
Love the campground and the location - needs more parking!!
Jul 24, 2016
Wonderful campground. 4th year we have taken grandkids camping there and they love it!
Jul 24, 2016
My kids love the pool area and river. The cabin spaces are way too small and not enough parking. We had told them had two vehicles and on our last night they made us move one across the street... we checked out a day early due to this issue not being resolved by management. We stay with koa usually 2 times a year. But probably not be back to Townsend due to this issue.
Jul 24, 2016
Cabin clean, staff helpful and friendly.
Jul 23, 2016
Family gathering & perfect place!
Jul 23, 2016
Nice, clean campground with a float rivrr.
Jul 23, 2016
We enjoyed it very much. The staff was very accommodating. We'll probably be back next year
Jul 22, 2016
Had a great stay. Loved our spot on the river.The day camp is wonderful, the kids loved it. Everything about the place is wonderful!!!!!
Jul 22, 2016
fun fun fun
Jul 21, 2016
Great time but too pricy.
Jul 21, 2016
Everyone was nice and helpful. The hours on the pool and playground were perfect since we arrived late.
Jul 21, 2016
We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was so helpful and friendly. First time campers and was amazed how attentive KOA staff was. We will definitately stay here again. The bath facilities were clean and close enough. We enjoyed the campground vibe. The pool, biking, the hay ride it made the trip great. Our family had three spots and we just had the best vacation. Very impressed!!!!!
Jul 21, 2016
Beautiful clean quiet park near the Smokies. Friendly office staff. Wonderful pool and river!!! Definitely coming back!
Jul 21, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helped us in or moved to another campsite. One huge disappointment was that the campers next to us, on 77, claimed that they were told that the river and beach in front of them was for their use only and blocked it from my 2 year old. The actual path lead from our site. We would love to know if that is the fact. They even blocked the river about 30'into the water
Jul 20, 2016
We just love staying with you guys. We really feel welcome and love how the staff treats us like family. Most important is we feel safe while we are there. Not only do we feel safe, we feel like we dont have to worry so much about our stuff when we leave. Thank you for the most absolute awesome time. We can't wait to go back.
Jul 20, 2016
Very friendly, family oriented park. Nicely situated along the Little River and close to Smokies Park
Jul 19, 2016
Mark runs a great campground! Had another great stay this year. Stayed on site 121, which was very nice! Adam was a great help and very polite! This was the eleventh time coming back, see ya soon!👍
Jul 19, 2016
Great people. We enjoyed the river and our time at the Townsend KOA.
Jul 19, 2016
Best campground we ever stayed at! The people that worked there were fantastic, the campground is in great shape and the kids had fun with the activities. We are looking forward to returning in the future.
Jul 19, 2016
My wife and I agree this is one of the nicest campgrounds we've been to in over ten years of camping. It is well kept with plenty of staff. I noticed two employees walking the grounds picking up trash, something you don't see much of. We also especially liked the stone patio and fire pit. We will definitely recommend and return.
Jul 19, 2016
Campground was very well maintained. Staff was very helpful and friendly . We were very happy. They had lots of activities for the children! That was very helpful!!!
Jul 19, 2016
We had such a wonderful weekend! I loved tubing down the river, tie-dying shirts, and all the wonderful nature trails!
Jul 18, 2016
love it up here in Townsend If I could afford the cabin I would be up here more often not just once a year
Jul 18, 2016
VERY CLEAN AND WE HAD A GREAT SPOT!! ADAM IS THE BEST!! WOULD RECOMMEND THIS CAMPGROUND TO ANYONE!!
Jul 18, 2016
This is the friendliest KOA! They have lots of fun activities and the facilities are clean. Loved the day camp for kids. Our kids had a blast. We will return here again!
Jul 18, 2016
Rework fire pits for tent sites,thought to be a non alcohol environment, otherwise fantastic stay.
Jul 18, 2016
We had so much fun!! The camp ground was super clean and the facilities( restrooms and bath house) was unbelievably clean and the staff was super nice and accommodating. We would most definitely stay here again and really already have the next trip in plans. Wonderfully relaxing and beautiful!!!
Jul 17, 2016
We love camping here! We'll be back again ! Love the friendly staff, especially Adam!
Jul 17, 2016
Always a fun and memorable experience!
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice stay in our cabin! They even made a tye dye shirt for my daughter who could not be there on the weekend, and would not be able to do it herself due to her disability. It was very thoughtful! Thank you!
Jul 17, 2016
This is our favorite KOA. A destination we look forward to each year and travel 900+ miles to visit a cabin on the river at the base of the smokies.
Jul 17, 2016
Our favorite place to stay. We invited our family this year and everyone loved it!! We already booked for next year. You can't go wrong with Townsend KOA!!!
Jul 17, 2016
Great grandkids had a great time
Jul 17, 2016
We come every year!! We took our kids to Disney at the beginning of summer and came to Townsend at the end of summer and the kids said that this was a lot more fun than Disney! We have already made our reservations for next year...
Jul 17, 2016
Patio Site was very nice for 34' motorhome. Tubing in river was a fun experience for the teens and parents.
Jul 16, 2016
Had a great stay looking forward to coming back in September.
Jul 16, 2016
Great accommodations and friendly staff. The cabins were well maintained and cooled down when we arrived.
Jul 16, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. Sites were great and clean. Made reservations to return next year!!!!
Jul 16, 2016
Great stay. Friendly staff. We had a great visit and will be returning.
Jul 16, 2016
We had a great stay. Amazing site on the river, super clean bathrooms/showers and very nice staff.
Jul 14, 2016
I have camped at this KOA in July for many years. We love this place and the staff is fantastic!! KOA has made super improvements to this campground and i already have reservations for next year. Love it
Jul 13, 2016
Love, love, love the location. We come back for the tubing and quick access to the national park and Gatlinburg.
Jul 13, 2016
We had a GREAT TIME!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award