Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Great campground, terrific staff. Best place to stay while visiting the great Smokey Mountains.
Oct 27, 2014
This KOA is for people with kids. If don't mind kids running through your campsite or all the screaming, then this is the campground for you. If not, recommend you go elsewhere. Also, the spacing between sites is very tight. Bathrooms were nice and clean. Workers and management are very friendly.
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
I chose this campground because of the location, and was actually worried because I thought it might be too commercial. Boy, was I wrong! It was a great, quiet, private spot right in the best location to explore the Smokies. We had a tent site on the river, and it was great. The staff was helpful and friendly, and facilities CLEAN. Our only issue was that the camp store closed at 6:00! Plan ahead!
Oct 27, 2014
We had a great time - 1st time there and we will be back in the future. We needed a bigger site, but since we made last minute plans, it worked for us. Thanks to the friendly staff.
Oct 27, 2014
The staff was the best,and the place was very clean. Loved it and will return.
Oct 27, 2014
Nice campsite on the river!!! Very peaceful atmosphere and friendly staff. Will definitely come back to this site in the future.
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
For the price we paid, too far from bathhouse, no sewage hookup, somebody left at 5 am and were trying to wake everybody with noise and lights. All the people we dealt with were very friendly.
Oct 26, 2014
We had a fantastic stay. This KOA is very peaceful and relaxing. The camp ground is clean and well maintained. We already made our reservations for May and October of next year.
Oct 26, 2014
Oct 26, 2014
Second time staying here
Oct 26, 2014
We enjoyed our time and relaxed so much. The weather was great and the colors were awesome.
Oct 25, 2014
This was an awesome vacation getaway--we will come back again to this campground--so much better than staying at a motel.
Oct 25, 2014
Great campground. Great staff. Nice quiet location to the Great Smokey Mountains. We have been camping here for 30 years!
Oct 25, 2014
Mark thanks for all your travel advice. The fort was awesome
Oct 25, 2014
Very clean. Friendly staff, very helpful. We will be back.
Oct 24, 2014
Friendly staff, close to Cades Cove in the Smokies, Nice clean restrooms, stayed in a 30' 5th wheel. We will be back.
Oct 24, 2014
We stayed at site 87. Probably one of the prettiest site we had ever stay at. We have stayed here many times over the past ten years and have enjoyed our stay every time. We did however have a few downers. The first was the group getting loud directly across from us(west of site 87 across the grass area between us,way passed 10:00! Also,the dumping of sewage next to us during our breakfast!:(
Oct 24, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. The campgrounds are very well taken care of, everyone was very friendly. Only downside is that the sites are just too close together.
Oct 24, 2014
Oct 24, 2014
The staff was super friendly and helpful.
Oct 23, 2014
Location was good. I reserved site over 2 months in advance only to be placed on a campsite barely big enough for 28 ft. RV with no place to park vehicle. The more spacious lots are given to larger RVs and ones with slides. Rates were too high for the experience I had. Won't camp there again.
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
What a great campground! Everyone is nice and helpful and the facilities are so clean! Must try the fudge at the sweet shoppe. We did tent camping by the river, can't wait to try a cabin.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Nice staff, neat location. Water leak at site made for messy unhook.
Oct 21, 2014
My husband and I love the way there is privacy even with so many people around. The family atmosphere is wonderful. We are already planning our stay next year, as well as planning on bringing our family in the future!
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
everyone was very friendly! it was our second stay!
Oct 20, 2014
Our main complaint is the tightness of the campsites. We had a 40 foot camper beside us which completely obstructed our view. It made us feel very cramped. The vehicles also surrounded us to match.
Oct 20, 2014
We always enjoy staying at KOA Townsend
Oct 20, 2014
Prices keep going up and up. Lots of complaints from other campers. There are other options. I hope they realize that.
Oct 20, 2014
Sites too tight. Hard to get in and out. No here to park your truck once your camper is set up.
Oct 20, 2014
We reported to the office at least three times that the toilet was leaking around the seal and we had to keep cleaning it up. With no avail did we get it fixed. Also, the office check in staff was friendly except for one lady I did not get a name. She was very strick a firm with no hospitable welcoming at all.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Would like to see shelves in showers.Staff was very friendly and helpful
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
It was a short stay but I enjoyed it. Great time an place thanks
Oct 20, 2014
Wonderful stay with welcoming staff. This camp ground was well thought out and pet friendly. With dog run which was helpful and wonderful for my dog. First time here and will be returning
Oct 20, 2014
Seemed well taken care of. All staff were helpful and friendly. Impressed with the cleanliness of restrooms and showers.
Oct 20, 2014
The employees sat in a golf cart right next to our site and stared at us until we left. We hadn't even pulled out of the site all the way before they started blowing it off for the next people. I wasn't too happy about it.
Oct 20, 2014
Great campground. Extremely friendly and accomodating staff. Only complaint is that when it fills up wireless coverage gets terrible more because of signal blockage by the additional RV's than additional usage. You can walk up to the front and get on fine. Additional hotspots on the fringes would help!
Oct 20, 2014
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! The campgrounds and cabins were in excellent condition and clean as well as the restrooms/showers. We had a blast as well as a perfect place to bring our grandkids! Thank you! Stephanie
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 19, 2014
Great clean campground with lots of stuff on site. However, wi-go signal that was advertised was non existent. Should not be able to to advertise wi-if when it NEVER works.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.