Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
I have found TN to be so un-dog friendly I travel with a service dog and this was the only one in TN that allowed us knowing a service dog was in tow and when told it did not matter...it was the only one I found in TN "Dog Friendly",a fee for clean up ($20)when even told it was a service animal...airlines are not even allowed to do that...I will contact KOA HQ on this matter. I won't stay in TN.
Jul 19, 2014
Loved it! Will be back.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
My family loves to stay here! We love the clean bath houses and friendly employees. We've been numerous times and have loved every trip!
Jul 18, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed out stay in Space 86. Especially enjoyed the ministries that had Bible School for our kiddos. They were wonderful! Also enjoyed the improvements you have made to the area we were in....the privacy bushes, etc. it is really nice, and helped make our visit enjoyable. Thanks again!
Jul 17, 2014
While in the campground office, I overheard a conversation that concerned me: a woman with an Eastern Europe accent entered the office; she was told there were no sites available. The woman said, "I just saw on the website that there are sites available." She was asked, "Do you want one on the river?" She said yes. She was told none avail. on the river. River site 121 was avail.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
We enjoyed camping close to the river! The grandchildren really enjoyed the day camp and we had a blast with Family nite activities. The camp site was clean and well laid out. I wish that there was a building with flush toilets where they had the portable toilets.Better than nothing for the tent campers.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
We started our camping experience when our kids were young. This year our little blessing, our grandchild, came with us to experience the beauty and tranquility of this KOA campground. The cabin accommodations were spacious and the fellowship with our immediate neighbors and staff was refreshing. This KOA location will nurture family ties while appreciating the beauty that encapsulates each site
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
The people at this facility were very helpful with all parts of our visit and made our familiy's stay in Townsend very memorable.
Jul 14, 2014
this park is not built for RV's 40' plus, great for short RV's and campers/tents. Thanks to Jimbo for watching our dog during a medical emergency.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We loved our stay at cabin #15. We were only scheduled to stay Monday thru Friday, but had so much fun that we wanted to stay until Saturday. The office staff went above and beyond to make it possible for us to stay another night :)
Jul 13, 2014
Always the best.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Campground staff always great, site 13 where we stayed had a sewer pipe up about 8 inches from ground which made it hard to empty waste water and other, all others I saw were level with ground and our site needed gravel, when it rained we were in the mud. And these sites were the most expensive on river, balcony, full hookup. Otherwise good camping.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
We always have a great time at the KOA in Townsend and looking forward to many more...THANKS!
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
It was just a little noisier than usual this time. Kids out running around being loud after dusk and the leaf blower early in the morning kind of took away the peaceful part of our stay.
Jul 11, 2014
Everything is great..The prices are getting so high that you can almost stay in a nice hotel for the same price...
Jul 11, 2014
We have stayed at the Townsend KOA for 5 straight years now. My children especially enjoy the summer camp and family night activities offered at the campground. The location is perfect for the outdoor activities we enjoy around the Cades Cove area.
Jul 09, 2014
It was a wonderful stay! I do wish the pool stayed open a little later for the kids. Most places we stay at the pool stays open until at least 10. Thank you! Awesome staff awesome stay!
Jul 09, 2014
Great location, friendly, helpful staff, beautiful campground with excellent facilities. We'll definitely go back!
Jul 09, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
The campground is well maintained and very convenient to all of the Smoky Mountain attractions in the national park.
Jul 07, 2014
The only complaint I have is that the mattress on the bed in the Cabin is too hard.
Jul 06, 2014
The staff was friendly and the cabin was immaculate. Would visit the Townsend, TN KOA Kampground again and reccommend to others.
Jul 06, 2014
Awesome place to stay! We parked on Sunday night in front of our cabin and did not start the truck until we left. Plenty of things to do and great service. We will be back again.
Jul 06, 2014
Clean, friendly staff, beautiful site!
Jul 05, 2014
KOA Townsend/Great Smokies, TN was a great vacation. The Deluxe cabin was just perfect for the 4 of us. Love the river stream just outside the cabin very relaxing and peaceful. Great staff, very clean camp grounds. Great family time and making memories that we will cherish a lifetime. Thanks KOA Townsend/Great Smokies you were apart of this vacation that we will never forget!....
Jul 04, 2014
Had another great stay. This is our 3rd trip to this Koa. Our family loves it. Great staff and facility
Jul 04, 2014
Had great stay will be back.
Jul 03, 2014
Our favorite place to stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
The campground was very clean. We stayed in a cabin on the river. There was no lighting whatsoever to go to the showers. It was very long way to the bathroom/showers. Only Porta potties closer to the cabins. For the price of the cabin, more bathrooms should have been available closer.
Jul 02, 2014
Great destination resort. Friendly and helpful staff, very clean, lots of fun activities, great area attractions. We'll definitely be back!
Jul 02, 2014
This was our return visit from a 1 night stay a few weeks ago. We love the staff,love the pool, love the playground, felt very welcomed. We will be back next year. Love the day camp. We didn't get to participate this time, but we walked over and spoke with the group and loved what they are doing.
Jul 02, 2014
Our family love this KOA we stay there as often as we can . Growing up in that area it's our first choice it's always clean and kid friendly .
Jul 02, 2014
Awesome

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.