Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Dec 09, 2014
Dec 09, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
I love this campground it is very quiet and relaxing.We did have a problem with our gas grill and could not get in touch with anyone.We had to take one from another site.
Dec 05, 2014
Dec 04, 2014
I would have given a 5 star rating except for the rest room facilities. While very clean, the showers had very little pressure and the shower heads were little more than 5 feet high. I am 6-4 and the water was hitting me in at arm height. Pricing for the camp site is pretty pricey as well. $50+ dollars a night is kinda steep. On the plus side the campground is beautiful, river is great, cle
Dec 02, 2014
Dec 02, 2014
we had the best time ever. cant wait until mothers day.< were going back...
Dec 02, 2014
Always a favorite!!!!!!!!!!
Dec 02, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
Our number one "go to" campground. For us it's an A+ in every regard. The staff - Adam, Mark, Jeremy, etc - are exceptional.
Dec 01, 2014
love staying at koa cant wait to stay again next year my family stays also we try to stay at the sametime see you in the spring
Dec 01, 2014
The location to the park entrance is great! The park was clean with decent amenities. The staff were friendly and very helpful throughout my stay.
Dec 01, 2014
Nov 29, 2014
Loved this KOA! Beautiful sites by the water. Can see why this place won an award. Fudge excellent! Will definitely be back. Excellent staff always willing to go the extra mile.
Nov 28, 2014
Allowed me to reserve site pull in site near big bath house but did not say anything about bath house being closed and did not put us in the area we requested. Over priced for the area and amenities.
Nov 24, 2014
Nov 24, 2014
we loved it there. the cabin was very comfortable and the overlook of the river made it really nice.
Nov 23, 2014
We have been coming to this campground since BEFORE it was a KOA. Love the place, the staff is excellent, especially Mickey. See ya next year
Nov 23, 2014
Park and staff were great. Only freezing weather took awayb from stay !
Nov 23, 2014
We enjoyed the cabin, warm and cozy after hiking along the beautiful river and the COOL outdoors. Thanks
Nov 23, 2014
This campground is absolutely beautiful. Our rustic cabin was about two blocks away from the bathroom facilities. Also, the water spigot near the cabin was either turned off or frozen. The nearest water was about one block away. On my way to the bathroom with toiletries, a lantern, and a teapot, I tripped over a fire ring . My legs were hurt, but I did not break anything. Closer bathrooms?
Nov 22, 2014
Nov 21, 2014
Nov 20, 2014
no problems everyone was nice and helpful. thank you.
Nov 20, 2014
Nov 19, 2014
We had a creek side site with a deck. It was a little too cold when we were there to enjoy the deck but it really was beautiful. The grounds were well maintained and everyone we encountered was very helpful. It is so close to the National Park and that was also spectacular. I would definitely return to this KOA.
Nov 18, 2014
Everyone was very nice and helpful and very clean. But koa townsend is $25 higher then their next Door neighbor that is just as clean.
Nov 18, 2014
Nov 18, 2014
Wonderful campground. Cozy clean little cabin. Cant wait to visit with family next summer
Nov 18, 2014
Nov 18, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
The staff was extremely helpful and kind. They helped me through some problems that I had with my camper. Love being around friendly people. We will be back.
Nov 17, 2014
Very nice campground, clean, pretty & great customer service
Nov 15, 2014
We totally enjoyed our stay. Rain or shine we had a great time!
Nov 14, 2014
Great
Nov 14, 2014
Beautiful place. Wonderful hosts. Cleanliness everywhere. Hot water. Convenient to eating spots,right next to the Smoky Mountains. Will definately stay again.
Nov 13, 2014
Great stay as usual.
Nov 12, 2014
Nov 12, 2014
we had a great stay. Everyone was helpful very friendly. It was a little more pricey than I would like but overall I would come back in the future.
Nov 11, 2014
the staff here are the absolute best!
Nov 11, 2014
We had booked to stay 2 weeks but the site we got waws so bad that we moved to adifferent campground at the earliest date we could get. Extremely disappointed specially since we always use KOA whenever possible but that will change now ! I have more soecifics but there isn't enough space here to list them - just cll me disgusted !!!
Nov 11, 2014
Very friendly helpers on the grounds. Within walking distance of good restaurants. The little park was a wonderful surprise.
Nov 11, 2014
Everything from the staff to all the facilities at this campground are top notch. Townsend KOA is our favorite place to stay.
Nov 11, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
Our favorite place to stay and the friendliest staff around! When we found out we had to pull out a day early, we were refunded the one night without any hesitation. As my husband said, that more than ensures our return.
Nov 10, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Townsend KOA. The scenery, sights , and staff were all great. Our only complaint was that the Wifi kept fading in and out. It was very frustrating to get online and then be kicked off.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.