Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 23, 2017
Clean and peaceful! Very nice bathhouse. Staff constantly patrolling the camp. My only complaint is that it was expensive
Jun 23, 2017
We enjoyed our time at the Townsend KOA. The staff was so very friendly and I have to say those showers are fabulous!! My daughter enjoys the pool and a place to ride her bike here. Thank you for a great place to camp. We will be back. Kim, Tommy and Rhianna of TN
Jun 22, 2017
.
Jun 22, 2017
Friendly attentive staff, well kept, very pretty. Bonus of being on the river! Kids and families enjoying tubing or just cooling off. Appreciated the dog run!
Jun 20, 2017
The Kampground was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our grandson was never bored, between the pool, playground and the other activities for the kids we had a hard time keeping up with him.
Jun 20, 2017
Clean, fun, convenient to the Smokies
Jun 20, 2017
Very clean, peaceful place to stay. It was really convenient to be able to rent tubes from the office through their partnership with a local tubing service. Right across the street from the Townsend Historical Greenway and just minutes from the National Park, gift shops, and restaurants. If you do want to go to Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg, it's a beautiful 30 minute drive.
Jun 20, 2017
We loved our stay at site 13! My only criticism is that the sewer hookups are right in front of the patios which is a bit of a buzz kill when you're about to munch on a burger.
Jun 19, 2017
This has to be the best KOA we have been to. Clean, great RV sites and wonderful accomodations. Showers and Bathrooms were great. There were 23 total in our group, rented 5 cabins with 2 RV sites.
Jun 19, 2017
Loved it here. Our boy scout troop had a blast tubing, on the "hey" ride and enjoying the amphitheater movie. We are already planning our next trip to the Townsend KOA.
Jun 19, 2017
Favorite KOA ever!!!
Jun 18, 2017
El único inconveniente es que los sitios de parking son demasiado estrechos y muy juntos unos con otros, por lo demás muy lindo campground
Jun 17, 2017
Kids loved it,and it was very clean,already booked for next year
Jun 17, 2017
It was a great place to stay. We loved our site, the employees were friendly and the amenities were very nice.
Jun 17, 2017
Very clean and well maintained park. Beautiful!!! Kind and courteous camp staff. Amazing stay!!! Would highly recommend
Jun 17, 2017
The campgrounds and the staff where all top drawer. Mike and Marshal went above and beyond to aid us when we had a malfunction in our MH. The grounds where beautiful and well kept.
Jun 17, 2017
Beautiful place! Very helpful& visible staff. Sites are easy to enter but somewhat small; pool small too but very clean with nice chairs. Pros: store, ice cream shop, river for tubing, close to businesses, some nice cabins,lots of shade, hook-ups easy to access. Great place to stay!
Jun 16, 2017
Another great stay!
Jun 16, 2017
Loved every day employees friendly,very helpful, most people friendly be back next yr
Jun 16, 2017
Wonderful campground with super helpful staff who go above and beyond to make sure you're stay is great. Highly recommend!
Jun 16, 2017
It's a beautiful place the staff is as friendly as they come. And it's in our top two as being "CLEAN"!
Jun 15, 2017
Great, as usual!
Jun 14, 2017
We enjoyed our stay as we always have in Townsend, however it would of been nice if the grass area behind sites 3-9.It needed mowing when we arrived and was not mowed during our 6 day stay. We still think it's a great camping facility. Thanks
Jun 14, 2017
Jun 13, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Made a reservation for the fall
Jun 13, 2017
Very clean , family oriented camp ground . My shoot out to the men who take you to your camp sight and help you park your camper ! I had to back in to a tight space and my guide was the BEST. And he had the cutest ship tzu dog . He was just a champ , I asked him if he wanted to do it and I think he thought I was being mean , but finally he understood that with out him i couldn't do it !!!thanks
Jun 13, 2017
This campground was so beautiful. The people running this KOA were very nice and helpful too. If in the area again, would definitely stay here
Jun 13, 2017
Very nice, clean camoground in excellent location on the Little River. Very conveniently located near National Park.
Jun 12, 2017
The staff was very friendly. The site on the river was excellent. The sewer connection was a little misplaced and uphill from my connection on my rv. You could use more shower houses with a better location than where there are located. They need to be placed closer to the campers that need them. Thanks, was a great week.
Jun 12, 2017
It is a great place for kids. We were right by the river and the activities were nice for the kids. Plenty of shade and mature trees there. The front desk is very helpful.
Jun 12, 2017
Have been to Townsend many times, but thought KOA was a little pricey. It is well worth it. Much nicer and a very relaxing atmosphere. Love the dog park! Excellent playground. Loved the middle sites with the brick patio and fire pits. Walking distance to some good sweet treats.
Jun 12, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jun 12, 2017
Had a great time, very close to Cades Cove. Campground family freindly, plenty for kids to do. Kids 12 and 17, on way home were already asking when we could come back. All staff was very freindly and helpful.
Jun 12, 2017
Best campground we've stayed in. Everyone was super friendly and the campgrounds were immaculate. We were very comfortable and can't wait to return!
Jun 11, 2017
Beautiful campground! We loved the landscaping around EVERY campsite and the dog playground was awesome for our little Yorkies. The people working were awesome in every way to help us with anything we needed. We truly enjoyed our stay. Best campground we have ever stayed in and we will be back in November!
Jun 11, 2017
Wonderful place for families
Jun 11, 2017
Great spot for families!
Jun 10, 2017
The weather was nice even when we got news of a bad wind storm. The actives for the kids and adults was "GREAT" we really enjoyed what they provide for us, they were the best!
Jun 10, 2017
really meant for families with children
Jun 09, 2017
Are stay was great, every thing was clean, and lots to do. Also just 25 min from pigeon forge/Gatlinburgh
Jun 09, 2017
Very friendly staff. Very clean. Lots of activities for kids. Ice cream was a huge plus!
Jun 09, 2017
Very clean,you need to spend the extra money to get the better site, we stayed in 47 some of the less expensive sites are small and tight
Jun 08, 2017
Been coming here for 22 years. I think that says it all!
Jun 08, 2017
The management and staff are top notch. We had the misfortune of being in a car wreck during our stay and they were all very helpful.
Jun 07, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
Excellent location, friendly and very helpful staff, bathrooms are clean, campground in excellent condition.
Jun 06, 2017
By far the best KOA that we have ever camped! We loved the staff, the clean park and clean sites/amenities. We appreciated the notification of a storm coming to put in our awnings. We loved, loved LOVED the Bingo game that was sponsored by the church group. One of the highlights of our stay. We all found Townsend rocks and kept them as souvenirs. We hope to come back again someday soon.
Jun 06, 2017
I am not a KOA type of camper but I was pleasantly surprised with Townsend KOA. Definitely step up to the nicer spot it is worth the few dollars. They have the nicest table and chairs I have ever seen in a public space. They also help you get into your space. Whether you think you need it or not. Which actually is nice because they know exactly how to angle so put your pride aside and get in there
Jun 06, 2017
We've stayed at several KOA's, I can tell you that this campground has them all beat. The place was nice, clean , and had beautiful sites that weren't on top of each other. The thing that stood out to me was how many employees are here, and they ALL, were so nice, and freely gave there opinions on things to do, restaurants, etc. So far the best campground we've ever stayed at!
Jun 06, 2017
My wife and I only stayed for one night, but it was very enjoyable! The grounds were clean and the whole campground was very immaculate!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award