Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13

RV Reviews

Oct 28, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
It was excellent stay. The people and staff was nice and always ready to help . We will be back.
Oct 28, 2014
Thanks to two great young men at KOA, Jordan and Jeremiah, our trip was rescued when they worked to find the blown fuse in our power hitch. Friendly, helpful folks. And what a beautiful camp! It is like staying in the park! The only negative was the very poor wifi which kept us from sharing pictures and blog with family. I would DEFINITELY return to this KOA even without wifi!
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Great campground, terrific staff. Best place to stay while visiting the great Smokey Mountains.
Oct 27, 2014
This KOA is for people with kids. If don't mind kids running through your campsite or all the screaming, then this is the campground for you. If not, recommend you go elsewhere. Also, the spacing between sites is very tight. Bathrooms were nice and clean. Workers and management are very friendly.
Oct 27, 2014
We had a great time - 1st time there and we will be back in the future. We needed a bigger site, but since we made last minute plans, it worked for us. Thanks to the friendly staff.
Oct 27, 2014
The staff was the best,and the place was very clean. Loved it and will return.
Oct 27, 2014
Nice campsite on the river!!! Very peaceful atmosphere and friendly staff. Will definitely come back to this site in the future.
Oct 27, 2014
For the price we paid, too far from bathhouse, no sewage hookup, somebody left at 5 am and were trying to wake everybody with noise and lights. All the people we dealt with were very friendly.
Oct 26, 2014
Oct 26, 2014
Second time staying here
Oct 26, 2014
We enjoyed our time and relaxed so much. The weather was great and the colors were awesome.
Oct 25, 2014
Mark thanks for all your travel advice. The fort was awesome
Oct 25, 2014
Very clean. Friendly staff, very helpful. We will be back.
Oct 24, 2014
Friendly staff, close to Cades Cove in the Smokies, Nice clean restrooms, stayed in a 30' 5th wheel. We will be back.
Oct 24, 2014
We stayed at site 87. Probably one of the prettiest site we had ever stay at. We have stayed here many times over the past ten years and have enjoyed our stay every time. We did however have a few downers. The first was the group getting loud directly across from us(west of site 87 across the grass area between us,way passed 10:00! Also,the dumping of sewage next to us during our breakfast!:(
Oct 24, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. The campgrounds are very well taken care of, everyone was very friendly. Only downside is that the sites are just too close together.
Oct 24, 2014
The staff was super friendly and helpful.
Oct 23, 2014
Location was good. I reserved site over 2 months in advance only to be placed on a campsite barely big enough for 28 ft. RV with no place to park vehicle. The more spacious lots are given to larger RVs and ones with slides. Rates were too high for the experience I had. Won't camp there again.
Oct 23, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Nice staff, neat location. Water leak at site made for messy unhook.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
everyone was very friendly! it was our second stay!
Oct 20, 2014
Our main complaint is the tightness of the campsites. We had a 40 foot camper beside us which completely obstructed our view. It made us feel very cramped. The vehicles also surrounded us to match.
Oct 20, 2014
We always enjoy staying at KOA Townsend
Oct 20, 2014
Prices keep going up and up. Lots of complaints from other campers. There are other options. I hope they realize that.
Oct 20, 2014
Sites too tight. Hard to get in and out. No here to park your truck once your camper is set up.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Would like to see shelves in showers.Staff was very friendly and helpful
Oct 20, 2014
It was a short stay but I enjoyed it. Great time an place thanks
Oct 20, 2014
Seemed well taken care of. All staff were helpful and friendly. Impressed with the cleanliness of restrooms and showers.
Oct 20, 2014
The employees sat in a golf cart right next to our site and stared at us until we left. We hadn't even pulled out of the site all the way before they started blowing it off for the next people. I wasn't too happy about it.
Oct 20, 2014
Great campground. Extremely friendly and accomodating staff. Only complaint is that when it fills up wireless coverage gets terrible more because of signal blockage by the additional RV's than additional usage. You can walk up to the front and get on fine. Additional hotspots on the fringes would help!
Oct 18, 2014
Oct 17, 2014
Had an emergency Tuesday night when river was rising rapidly. Emergency phone number you posted was an answering machine, so we could not contact anyone with KOA and no one ever called me back. Spoke with general mgr the next day who did apologize, but we were very worried Tuesday night at being left on our own.
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Always have a great stay at Townsend KOA. Every time we go they have made upgrades! All staff always friendly and ready to help. Thanks for always making our stay enjoyable!
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
We enjoyed the stay at the Townsend KOA. The sites were a little cramped, but well kept, which we always appreciate. Liked the individual showers, laundry facilities, game room, basketball court and playground! The cabins are nice to be able to include friends who don't want to camp.
Oct 14, 2014
We had a wonderful family gathering. Thanks so much for all of the great southern hospitality! We will be back soon! Have a great day!
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
A little on the expensive side but well maintained and the staff is very helpful. Overall a great stay ...
Oct 14, 2014
KOA was clean. Like the mural in restroom. Staff very helpful. Price was highest of our week's trip but guess the proxity to attractions caused this. Like the gravel sites - keeps our camp van cleaner than dirt or grass.
Oct 13, 2014
Are stay was great this was are second year. And we made res. again next year. Thank you to all the staff. And to Daisy for your super kindness. And for working with us when we had to come in a day late due to my husband having a heartattack your public relations is GREAT. Thanks KOA for great campgrounds and people . The White's Indiana.
Oct 13, 2014
It is always a very clean and great place to stay, I along with the family stay for about 6 days two times a year and always have good time.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.