Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13

RV Reviews

Dec 09, 2014
Dec 05, 2014
Dec 04, 2014
I would have given a 5 star rating except for the rest room facilities. While very clean, the showers had very little pressure and the shower heads were little more than 5 feet high. I am 6-4 and the water was hitting me in at arm height. Pricing for the camp site is pretty pricey as well. $50+ dollars a night is kinda steep. On the plus side the campground is beautiful, river is great, cle
Dec 02, 2014
we had the best time ever. cant wait until mothers day.< were going back...
Dec 02, 2014
Always a favorite!!!!!!!!!!
Dec 02, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
Our number one "go to" campground. For us it's an A+ in every regard. The staff - Adam, Mark, Jeremy, etc - are exceptional.
Dec 01, 2014
love staying at koa cant wait to stay again next year my family stays also we try to stay at the sametime see you in the spring
Dec 01, 2014
Nov 29, 2014
Loved this KOA! Beautiful sites by the water. Can see why this place won an award. Fudge excellent! Will definitely be back. Excellent staff always willing to go the extra mile.
Nov 28, 2014
Allowed me to reserve site pull in site near big bath house but did not say anything about bath house being closed and did not put us in the area we requested. Over priced for the area and amenities.
Nov 24, 2014
Nov 23, 2014
We have been coming to this campground since BEFORE it was a KOA. Love the place, the staff is excellent, especially Mickey. See ya next year
Nov 23, 2014
Park and staff were great. Only freezing weather took awayb from stay !
Nov 22, 2014
Nov 20, 2014
Nov 19, 2014
We had a creek side site with a deck. It was a little too cold when we were there to enjoy the deck but it really was beautiful. The grounds were well maintained and everyone we encountered was very helpful. It is so close to the National Park and that was also spectacular. I would definitely return to this KOA.
Nov 18, 2014
Everyone was very nice and helpful and very clean. But koa townsend is $25 higher then their next Door neighbor that is just as clean.
Nov 18, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
The staff was extremely helpful and kind. They helped me through some problems that I had with my camper. Love being around friendly people. We will be back.
Nov 17, 2014
Very nice campground, clean, pretty & great customer service
Nov 14, 2014
Great
Nov 14, 2014
Beautiful place. Wonderful hosts. Cleanliness everywhere. Hot water. Convenient to eating spots,right next to the Smoky Mountains. Will definately stay again.
Nov 13, 2014
Great stay as usual.
Nov 12, 2014
we had a great stay. Everyone was helpful very friendly. It was a little more pricey than I would like but overall I would come back in the future.
Nov 11, 2014
the staff here are the absolute best!
Nov 11, 2014
We had booked to stay 2 weeks but the site we got waws so bad that we moved to adifferent campground at the earliest date we could get. Extremely disappointed specially since we always use KOA whenever possible but that will change now ! I have more soecifics but there isn't enough space here to list them - just cll me disgusted !!!
Nov 11, 2014
Very friendly helpers on the grounds. Within walking distance of good restaurants. The little park was a wonderful surprise.
Nov 11, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
Our favorite place to stay and the friendliest staff around! When we found out we had to pull out a day early, we were refunded the one night without any hesitation. As my husband said, that more than ensures our return.
Nov 10, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Townsend KOA. The scenery, sights , and staff were all great. Our only complaint was that the Wifi kept fading in and out. It was very frustrating to get online and then be kicked off.
Nov 10, 2014
The rates continue to rise, making it difficult for families to stay here. Please try to reduce the rates so that it may be more affordable.
Nov 10, 2014
Great place!
Nov 09, 2014
Nov 09, 2014
Great
Nov 08, 2014
We love coming here but noticed this time that at 8:30 AM the staff started blowing away leaves with loud machines! Isn't a big part of camping enjoying the peace and nature sounds of the morning???
Nov 08, 2014
When the family owned it, it seemed like there were more staff and activities. To stop the Hayrides and movies before the end of October seems too soon, especially when the children had expected it. We did have a wonderful stay and PERFECT weather. Would be nice if that could be arranged every year!
Nov 08, 2014
This was our second stay (but not our last). The grounds & facilities are kept clean. The greatest asset is your employees--friendly, very helpful.
Nov 07, 2014
Very nice park, a little pricey but the facilities are nice and the park personnel were very friendly and helpful
Nov 06, 2014
Nov 05, 2014
Very accommodating staff.
Nov 05, 2014
Nice site backed up to Little River. Staff very helpful and friendly. The site was great, but staff will bring me back.
Nov 05, 2014
As always, we had a GREAT time at the Townsend KOA. Great employees & a great campground!
Nov 04, 2014
Nov 04, 2014
Had a great time. The campground was wonderful and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Nov 03, 2014
We always enjoy staying here, quiet & clean. A little heat in the showers & more in the restrooms would sure be nice.
Nov 03, 2014
We had a great time at the Townsend KOA. We had a spot on the river and it was beautiful! We were able to trick or treat at the campground and the office people gave out treats too! Very nice KOA employees. We are excited to plan another trip to this KOA
Nov 03, 2014
We enjoyed our stay but found that some of the staff was not as friendly as we have experienced in past visits.We were very disappointed that when we arrived,our children had missed the Halloween activity.No one told us of the time when our reservation was made even when asked about activities. And, Saturday's activities were also cancelled.The weather was cold but no rain or snow at the time.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.