Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12

RV Reviews

Oct 20, 2014
everyone was very friendly! it was our second stay!
Oct 20, 2014
Our main complaint is the tightness of the campsites. We had a 40 foot camper beside us which completely obstructed our view. It made us feel very cramped. The vehicles also surrounded us to match.
Oct 20, 2014
We always enjoy staying at KOA Townsend
Oct 20, 2014
Prices keep going up and up. Lots of complaints from other campers. There are other options. I hope they realize that.
Oct 20, 2014
Sites too tight. Hard to get in and out. No here to park your truck once your camper is set up.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Would like to see shelves in showers.Staff was very friendly and helpful
Oct 20, 2014
It was a short stay but I enjoyed it. Great time an place thanks
Oct 20, 2014
Seemed well taken care of. All staff were helpful and friendly. Impressed with the cleanliness of restrooms and showers.
Oct 20, 2014
The employees sat in a golf cart right next to our site and stared at us until we left. We hadn't even pulled out of the site all the way before they started blowing it off for the next people. I wasn't too happy about it.
Oct 20, 2014
Great campground. Extremely friendly and accomodating staff. Only complaint is that when it fills up wireless coverage gets terrible more because of signal blockage by the additional RV's than additional usage. You can walk up to the front and get on fine. Additional hotspots on the fringes would help!
Oct 18, 2014
Oct 17, 2014
Had an emergency Tuesday night when river was rising rapidly. Emergency phone number you posted was an answering machine, so we could not contact anyone with KOA and no one ever called me back. Spoke with general mgr the next day who did apologize, but we were very worried Tuesday night at being left on our own.
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Always have a great stay at Townsend KOA. Every time we go they have made upgrades! All staff always friendly and ready to help. Thanks for always making our stay enjoyable!
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
We enjoyed the stay at the Townsend KOA. The sites were a little cramped, but well kept, which we always appreciate. Liked the individual showers, laundry facilities, game room, basketball court and playground! The cabins are nice to be able to include friends who don't want to camp.
Oct 14, 2014
We had a wonderful family gathering. Thanks so much for all of the great southern hospitality! We will be back soon! Have a great day!
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
A little on the expensive side but well maintained and the staff is very helpful. Overall a great stay ...
Oct 14, 2014
KOA was clean. Like the mural in restroom. Staff very helpful. Price was highest of our week's trip but guess the proxity to attractions caused this. Like the gravel sites - keeps our camp van cleaner than dirt or grass.
Oct 13, 2014
Are stay was great this was are second year. And we made res. again next year. Thank you to all the staff. And to Daisy for your super kindness. And for working with us when we had to come in a day late due to my husband having a heartattack your public relations is GREAT. Thanks KOA for great campgrounds and people . The White's Indiana.
Oct 13, 2014
It is always a very clean and great place to stay, I along with the family stay for about 6 days two times a year and always have good time.
Oct 13, 2014
sites way too close to each other, for 80.00 a night i would expect no mold in showers
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
So relaxing and peaceful. Even though it rained. The staff were wonderful. This was our very first time camping and loved the experience.
Oct 13, 2014
Always a great time at this KOA bathrooms always clean and staff always friendly coming back in two weeks
Oct 12, 2014
The staff at Townsend KOA is always friendly and wonderful! It is a great place for our family, we love everything about it!
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 12, 2014
We were in two different sites; many thanks to Daisy and Jimbo for making the process so easy. The park is in a beautiful location and we were right on the river. We hope to return some day! Many thanks.
Oct 11, 2014
Wonderful stay, Great Hosts, stores close for convience and running, biking sidewalks.
Oct 11, 2014
Our first time at koa. More than we were used to paying to camp but well worth it. Very nice bath house and well kept campground. Quiet, very peacefull.
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
Grandchildren enjoyed the playground, the showers and rest room were always clean. but the sites are to close together.
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
All the staff is so helpful and friendly, I appreciate the help with getting our canopy out. Love the care of the trees and landscapng
Oct 11, 2014
love this campground, staff went above and beyond to make our stay a great experience
Oct 10, 2014
Staff was wonderful and were very helpful.Picnic tables were awful.. tripped over legs all the time
Oct 10, 2014
Oct 09, 2014
Oct 09, 2014
Wanted something close to the Nat'l Park.
Oct 08, 2014
My husband wished the fishing in the river could have been better(dont think they stocked the river). Our campsite #52 was a little tight-wish campsites were further apart & had more space to park cars. Facilities were very clean.
Oct 08, 2014
I have been coming to the KOA for many years. The employees are always very friendly and nice however the sites need a little upkeep done. For the price we paid, I should never have to walk in mud around my camper. It should either be grass, rocks, or mulched.
Oct 08, 2014
staff all extremely friendly and helpful always are all of them
Oct 08, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. We had a large sight by the water. Very nice.
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
We had a very nice time. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Justin. We appreciated his help so much especially since it was our first time out in a trailer
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.