Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12

RV Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
We have been coming to Townsend KOA for the past 6-7 years. The only negative review for this past trip is that we schedule a year in advance each trip, upon check in we were told our site was recently upgraded with sewer which meant it would be camper only but since we reserved last year we could stay there but would be charged the higher rate than what it was when reserved, I feel we should not.
Aug 24, 2015
We stayed in site 123. Simply put, this is the best camp site I have ever stayed in. The trees and the stream were simply wonderful. The campground was extremely clean including the bathrooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will only stay at this campground in our future trips to the Smokies.
Aug 24, 2015
One of the best campgrounds we have stayed in.
Aug 24, 2015
Quiet, Clean, Beatifully landscaped, lovely pool. Enjoyed it very much.
Aug 24, 2015
We realize it was near the end of the family vacation season and the park was very crowded and noisy. And, due to the bad economy, some of the parks are almost half full of resident families (due to no fault of their own). But the late night traffic noise rules need to be adhered to and enforced, no matter the circumstances. We were parked right up front, near the gate and didn't get much sleep.
Aug 24, 2015
Amazing upgrades to the sites. We are super pleased, as always, with our Townsend KOA.
Aug 24, 2015
Daisy is simply great, always makes the visit more fun with her friendly banter.
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Have stay there the last 4 times. Great place. Friendly staff.
Aug 23, 2015
All the staff were very personable. Baths,Showers and Grounds very clean
Aug 22, 2015
Everything was clean. We all went tubing which was readily available and convenient at the campground. We didn't have to leave to be able to tube. Liked having the shuttle service for it too.
Aug 22, 2015
This campground was very well kept. Close to all the places we wanted to go and see
Aug 20, 2015
Beautiful setting, wooded lots, very attentive staff. I love this place! It's the one I will compare everywhere else to from now on. Top notch!
Aug 19, 2015
Creekside, clean, with well-maintained bath houses, pool and playground. They even brought my receipt to my campsite while I was setting up.
Aug 19, 2015
The only thing we didn't like about our stay was where our site was. It was right behind dumpster and where the staff Gets together. There were lots of other spots open we were wondering why we would be put there. That should be the very last site to put someone.
Aug 18, 2015
WE HAVE STAYED AT THIS KOA SEVERAL TIMES AND I MUST SAY THAT IT HAD A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT FEEL TO IT THIS TIME, OBVIOUSLY SOME PERSONEL CHANGES WHICH ARE NOT BENEFICIAL TO THIS PLACE. BATH HOUSES AND COMMON AREAS ARE NOT AS CLEAN AS WE HAVE SEEN IN PAST STAYS BUT PLEANTY OF STAFF SITTING AROUND ON GOLF CARTS THATS FOR SURE.
Aug 18, 2015
Warm welcoming people. Comfortable, clean. Lots to do on site or in Smokies. Love to stay here as it cuts one hour off travel time to Gatlinberg. Kid friendly. Thanks KOA.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
KOA Townsend/Great Smokies, TN is by far our favorite place to stay! Been coming here for years with our family and will continue to do so. ALL of the staff make you feel like family. The recently upgraded wifi tower is amazing. It reached our site with no issues. Thanks y'all for always making our stay fabulous! See ya in November!
Aug 17, 2015
Great place, very relaxing!!
Aug 17, 2015
Excellent accommodations. Professional staff. Clean.
Aug 17, 2015
This is the nicest campground in the Smokies. Very clean and sights are very nice.
Aug 17, 2015
Always a great stay good wi fi upgrade
Aug 17, 2015
This campground was the best managed of any I have ever experienced. The staff was were professional and accommodated all of our needs.
Aug 17, 2015
I have normally had a great time at the KOA. But with all your price increases it is becoming more difficult to justify the extra money for your facilities. I had a electric and water site only and it was still around 72 dollars a night to stay. The first time i stayed at the one in townsend tennessee about 2 years ago it was only around 56 dollars a nigh.
Aug 17, 2015
This KOA has become somewhat overpriced. We have friends that we have camped with many years that are planning some 2016 functions at other locations due to some feeling they cannot afford the KOA any longer. With many other options in the area at 30% to 40% less. We stayed on a site without sewer priced at $72.00 a night. Seriously you should consider changing your name to The Marriott. VALUE???
Aug 17, 2015
One rude lady at front desk .i am going to cancel other res. unless she is relocated . If I owned koa she would not work for me .call joe at 865 719 7626
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
This campground is beyond awesome. The entire camping areas were extremely clean as was the entire campground. The entire staff went above and beyond to be helpful. It is without a doubt the best KOA campground we have visited. It truly embraces the true spirit you expect to find at a KOA!!!!! Thank you for a terrific visit!!!
Aug 16, 2015
Incredible campground so close to the park. We have visited many times and will be back. IMO, the best place to camp in the Smokeys. Mark and the crew are top shelf people.
Aug 16, 2015
Very disappointed in our stay. We had a problem with a local wood seller and thought that KOA handled it poorly. We canceled the remainder of our stay and moved to another local campground. It also changed our minds about a two week stay next year with our son and his family.
Aug 16, 2015
Was very nice there was a little road noise sites were smaller then we're used to but the patio area and fireplace ring were very nice
Aug 15, 2015
The campground was beautiful, and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpfu. Our only complaint was the new stone fire pit ( we were on one of the lots with the new patios and fire pits). The pit was fairly deep and had no holes for ventilation so it was VERY difficult to get a campfire going. I hope this will be corrected before our next stay.
Aug 15, 2015
Absolutely beautiful spot. Close to the mountains if that is what you want to explore.
Aug 15, 2015
Very quiet and clean. Staff was extremely friendly. Loved having laundry facilities
Aug 14, 2015
Great stay as usual! This was our 3rd one this year and we have 3 more coming up !
Aug 14, 2015
The grounds are beautiful & the staff nice. Our only disappoint was the stench from the port a potties across from our site. They were cleaned on Monday.. but all weekend in the high heat the smell was awful at our site and tubers from the river kept cutting through our site to use them. They need to be cleaned more often especially at the hottest point on Summer & with campers and tubers using
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Campground was well maintained and very clean.
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful as always! Been coming here for over 20 years and it just keeps getting better and better.
Aug 13, 2015
great will do it again
Aug 12, 2015
The new campsites are great. More like home. Not so close to your neighbor. The only complaint is the water pressure in the evenings. At times it would almost go off. Very clean campground.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Would give 5 stars but most of staff are not very pet friendly and say some nasty things about pets even though we clean up after ours. Some were nice but a few were not. Most campers bring their pets, that is why they camp. Need to be more pet friendly to the campers.
Aug 11, 2015
Always a great time at KOA Townsend. The campground is clean. The campsites are awesome and the staff is the best in the business. We can't wait to come back in a couple weeks
Aug 10, 2015
The Townsend KOA is a beautiful campground. However the nightly rate is way too high. This trip we were accosted by a female employee because we were not using the KOA rental tubes, we brought our own but apparently she thought we rented them elsewhere. Either way, she could use some soft skills training.
Aug 10, 2015
My wife and our little Silky Terror (lol) love staying at KOA's because they are all AOK! This has to be the best KOA we have stayed at. Thanks for the great time and the friendliest staff we have ever seen. Also thanks to Craig! Great Job Guys! Jeff and Catie "Camping with Vengeance!"
Aug 10, 2015
great camp ground , clean, nice patios the host were outstanding..
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.