Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 24, 2016
we had a wonderful time, with one exception....campsite 80 has 2 trees right in the middle of the site, making it difficult for us to put our awning up on our camper w/our truck pulled out of the way of traffic....might consider cutting one of them :)& a full length mirror in the "big bathhouse" in the ladies' room!
Sep 24, 2016
We had a wonderful stay at this koa. Very well maintained facility. Just wish the wifi wasn't so inconsistent as we rely on it even when on vacation.
Sep 24, 2016
It was awesome. The staff is friendly, helpful and very attentive to making sure everything is in great shape.
Sep 24, 2016
Loved that they left a lot if the natural trees. This enhanced the s energy and wonderful feel of camping. Restrooms clean and staff very helpful. Will definitely make this a destination in the future. Great place to stay!
Sep 23, 2016
For us first-timers at RV life, the KOA staff were extremely helpful with advice, RV set-up, and helpful information. It was also nice and quiet (late Sept.) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Sep 23, 2016
Sep 22, 2016
Staff was great, especially Marshall and all ladies in front office. Bathrooms and showers very clean. Great location to GSMNP and Cade's Cove.
Sep 21, 2016
We enjoyed our campground 100 because it gave us a view of the water. Everyone is always so helpful at Townsend/Great Smokies,TN. Thanks
Sep 20, 2016
Kids loved it. So did I. We had an RV by the river and they stayed in cabins. We enjoyed the rocks and the river, pool, playground, movie. Always so neat,with beautiful trees and landscaping. Very private feeling to be so close the the Highway.
Sep 20, 2016
Location good for Great Smoky Mtns NP. Campground is Very Tight to get around in. Very busy place. Marilyn in office, exceptionally nice and helpful. rest of staff...so-so on the friendliness scale.
Sep 20, 2016
We loved our stay here. Staff was very nice the campground has a river my dog loved to swim in and a dog park fences in, a restaurant and a store.the location was close to GATLINBURG and Pigeon Forge. We loved it!
Sep 20, 2016
Was our first stay at a KOA and it was great. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Staff was friendly as well. We were planning a return trip before we even left
Sep 20, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
My favorite place to camp
Sep 19, 2016
We love Townsend KOA!
Sep 19, 2016
Nice campground. Clean restrooms. Very high priced.
Sep 19, 2016
Upon arrival a gentleman in a golf cart came to our site and helped us back in. He even offer to bring us firewood! We enjoyed the beautiful scenery. The restrooms and showers were very clean. The front desk staff was very helpful and cheerful. We always stay here when in Townsend because we know the quality and care we will receive each and every time.
Sep 19, 2016
Neighbors had tv on and loud until 5am! Other than that, the weekend was awesome! I Love KOA! Please please put up a light at the basketball court!!
Sep 19, 2016
We loved camping in the woods under shade trees, next to a creek. The location is .2 miles from the west entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National park and the closest entrance to Cades Cove. The weekend proved to be very pleasant and relaxing. My wife stated it was the break she needed from our daily routine.
Sep 19, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
Fun family weekend! We'll be back!
Sep 19, 2016
The staff was super friendly!
Sep 18, 2016
We may have had the only pull through spot(thank you) Many lots had brick patios, table and chair sets and real brick fire pits. Very clean all over and so many lots butted up on the river. It was just a few miles from the great smokey mountain national park! Great park.
Sep 18, 2016
Excellent campground and friendly service! Loved our site! One suggestion..please put a light at the basketball court! Thanks!
Sep 18, 2016
Noisy neighbors until 5am in the morning! But campground is excellent! Please put up a light at the basketball goal so the kids can play until 9 or 10pm. Thanks!
Sep 17, 2016
Wonderful, clean,gorgeous campground!!! The hosts and all the employees were so friendly and helpful. Our site was a little small but we were right on the river and have no complaints. We hope to return. Thank you for helping make our vacation so pleasant.
Sep 17, 2016
This KOA campground is the most beautiful one I have been to so far in our travels! Staff was very helpful also. Thanks Greg & Sharon
Sep 16, 2016
first rate everything ,just a little too many campers for our taste
Sep 16, 2016
Amazing campground and beautiful scenery. The personnel were so helpful and friendly!! Definitely will be back!😊
Sep 16, 2016
Beautiful setting. Very clean facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Will be staying there again!
Sep 15, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff, and a beautiful setting, make this campground a place to come back to often.
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 14, 2016
We had a good time. Enjoyed the pool. Would've rather stayed along the river in the forested area. The store/arcade is very dated.
Sep 14, 2016
Best campground we have ever stayed at. Loved being close to Cades Cove and the Park. The staff helping us place the camper on the site was very nice. Enjoyed the riverside site, and our dog was able to swim too. Very enjoyable stay.
Sep 13, 2016
always great staff and good atmosphere really love this place
Sep 13, 2016
Very nice, clean, and friendly campground! Staff was extremely friendly!! Bathrooms and showers were exceptionally clean and updated! Will definitely be back!!!
Sep 13, 2016
Great site, great people. What more could one ask for.
Sep 13, 2016
Great stay, best maintained and friendly helpful staff.
Sep 12, 2016
It is a beautiful campground but I feel the spaces are a little too close together.
Sep 11, 2016
A little expensive compared to other KOA,s but very well run.
Sep 07, 2016
Staff is superior!
Sep 07, 2016
Good place. Need to trim trees of dead wood and low branches. Fertilize and reseed grass between sites. Add gravel to graveled areas.
Sep 07, 2016
Sites very close together. Should not allow people to burn plastics in fire pits. Playground for kids is terrific!! Very convenient to GSMNP!! Well Equipped store.
Sep 06, 2016
We've come here for over a decade & it remains our favorite campground. This weekend, I discovered a flat on the trailer when preparing to depart. The staff were wonderful to help fix it. Staff are great. The manager Mark is great. Best river sites in Townsend. Always clean grounds and restrooms. After 2 months in the Western U.S. this summer, this KOA tops them all with its beauty and staff.
Sep 06, 2016
Great staff however the cost has gotten to high!
Sep 06, 2016
Staff is superb (especially Debbie😀). Facility is xtremely clean and well maintained.
Sep 06, 2016
Awesome staff. My kids especially love Adam. Can't wait for our next visit.
Sep 06, 2016
We had a great stay in Townsend! This was the first time we've stayed at a KOA, but it will not be the last! We knew it was different from the moment we drove into the grounds. Smiling welcome, guidance into our site, asking regularly... How are things going and do we need anything? Thank you
Sep 03, 2016
Sep 01, 2016
Best campground in the Smokies. We have been coming here for 30 years. We love being on the peaceful side of the Smokies with out all the commercialism. Also, you are right near Cade's Cove and you can be in Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg in about 25 minutes.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award