Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Mar 21, 2017
I've been staying at the KOA for several years. Each year is better than the last. The owners are committed to making improvements, and it is a great, family-oriented campground. Our children ages 4 - 11 love it. The bathrooms and showers are extremely clean and the property is beautiful and well-maintained. We love staying here.
Mar 21, 2017
This was my first time out in my RV The lady at the front fest was very nice and accommodating. We were escorted to our site by Adam. This was a great touch. Adam was very polite and even got a blower and cleaned our patio off. Thank you.
Mar 20, 2017
KOA Townsend is our favorite place to go! Campground is beautiful and the employees are always friendly.
Mar 20, 2017
Mar 18, 2017
Beautiful campground. Quiet. Clean.great location. We will be back!
Mar 18, 2017
Campsite is centrally located in the Smokies. Staff was pleasant and facilities exceptionally clean. Although campsite was a little pricey, it was worth it. Will definitely return.
Mar 18, 2017
Would consider staying here again, except for the high cost. I have stayed at over 150 KOA's, and this was the most expensive. During the busy season I expect to pay the young rate, but during the off season, when many things are not open (pool, playground, etc) I feel it is just a rip off to charge the rate they charged.
Mar 17, 2017
Very friendly and welcoming staff. Thank you Craig for your most appreciated help you provided.
Mar 16, 2017
We were not used to the amazing service we received at a campground. From helping us get into our site to responding to requests, this was hands down our best experience with any campground staff. We are considering KOA wherever we go.
Mar 14, 2017
Very helpful staff. Great campground. Clean and very well kept.
Mar 13, 2017
The employees were there extremely friendly and courteous. I liked that they were actively improving the appearance-sod, mulch, etc. I was disappointed in the Doggy playground, though. It was covered in sweet gum balls and unusable. One of my Rotties got a sweet gum ball stuck in the pad of his foot-painful! The lots are smaller than we are used to, so we are trying a different site next time.
Mar 08, 2017
Our entire stay will be 6-7 weeks and we have really enjoyed the entire campground, especially our various river sites. Quality park with attention to every detail. The staff has been very friendly and helpful. The location is so close to the Smokies which is very desirable, not to mention the great antique shops close by. Looking forward to our return in the fall!
Mar 08, 2017
Clean facilities and wonderful staff!! Plan on staying again!
Mar 06, 2017
One of the best locations that we have stayed. Friendly and helpful staff and great facilities.
Mar 06, 2017
We loved it!! Bath house was clean!! Staff was very helpful!!
Mar 06, 2017
Very friendly when checking in n explained times n where things were, very helpful staff parking, very clean.
Mar 06, 2017
Beautiful place. office closed before it was scheduled to and we couldn't get any help. That and the fact that the bathrooms aren't dewinterized and yet you are already charging premium rates????
Feb 27, 2017
Stayed on the river Staff was very friendly and helpful Bath house and amenities were wonderful
Feb 27, 2017
Feb 27, 2017
Wanted to test a new rig and some new bikes out and spent a very pleasant weekend. Staff was very pleasant and facilities clean.
Feb 21, 2017
Right on the river. Firepit. Staff were very friendly.
Feb 16, 2017
Love this KOA. We live about 30 mins away so we go there as often as we can. CLEAN, updated, very friendly staff, nicely situated sites, convenient to many activities and lots for kids to do.
Feb 02, 2017
I had notated in my reservation that I would be a late arrival, but when I got there at around midnight no reservation package could be found. I had to look back into my email and find site # on confirmation and take a pic of map on office. Very cozy little campground and friendly staff. Beautiful site right on river.
Jan 17, 2017
Facilities were beautiful! Trees peppered among the sites, new middle larger sites had cobblestone patio with raised fire pit and round table with 4 chairs (FANTASTIC), excellent playground area (we had children ages 8-11 that LOVED it), stream running through campsite, clean facilities, great staff!
Jan 17, 2017
This is by far the best KOA that my family has stayed in over the past few years!
Jan 16, 2017
Jan 16, 2017
Had a great site on the river #78. Sites are right on top of each other so don't go into it looking for peace and quite. They need another bathhouse at the back right of the campground. The only one closest to us was closed for renovation and for what you pay to stay here a Porta potty was not ideal for the whole weekend. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jan 14, 2017
Enjoyed the beautiful location and the snow. Friendly staff and excellent facilities. Can't wait for my next adventure.
Jan 10, 2017
Another great vacation! The staff is amazing and the campgrounds are well kept. Great experience - Again!
Jan 07, 2017
Except for some loud and rude campers, (AKA: Tail gating crowd) between Christmas and new years we enjoyed our stay for the month. The sites are too close together. When people build giant fires your RV and vehicle are loaded with ash.
Jan 04, 2017
Tight uneven spaces, noisey. The most expensive KOA in the East and not worth it.
Jan 04, 2017
Awesome campsites. Staff goes out of their way to make your stay great. We have stayed three times and plan many more.
Jan 04, 2017
Nice place. .but THEY had to move us from our original space we had reserved due to their upgrades. And charged us higher fees for site they moved us to.
Jan 03, 2017
We love the KOA in Townsend, TN We have been staying there for the last 6 years.
Jan 03, 2017
Great staff....friendly and helpful. Thank you for another great vacation.
Jan 03, 2017
Great location, extremely welcoming and helpful staff. We'll definitely return.
Jan 03, 2017
We had a great time
Jan 03, 2017
Only stayed 2 nights and were not at campground much, but the time we were there it was great, clean and very friendly.
Jan 03, 2017
extremely helpful staff.
Jan 03, 2017
Stayed over New Years 2016 and had a great time, really nice campground and wonderful hosts!
Jan 03, 2017
We had a great experience here. It was our 1st time to stay in the Townsend KOA and we will be back. I love hearing the river flowing by while we sat around the fire pit (I know, sounds like an ad for a date or something). The sites were very well kept up and many had a paver-pad and rock fire pit. We will sure be back for another trip to the Great Smokey Mountains and will stay here.
Jan 03, 2017
Best koa around love this place
Jan 02, 2017
Although the stay was great. I was extremely disappointed that KOA did not adhere to the winter special discount for my families stay. My family have been frequent campers at the Townsend location for over 20 years. In future circumstances, the staff should adhere to KOA discount policy and not change discount rates due to negligence or at worst an attempt to capitalize on the recent fires
Jan 02, 2017
Jan 02, 2017
The staff was very friendly and always ready to help in anyway. Everything was very clean, and a great place for a family.
Jan 02, 2017
We love this KOA. We arrived on Christmas Day and left on New Year's Day. As always, it was quiet and peaceful. The main bath house was closed for the winter season but a smaller bath house was available. The only negative was that they were closed when we arrived and they had not left my info on the door as promised. Thankfully I knew the number of the site we had reserved so it was no problem.
Jan 02, 2017
This was the first time we have visited this KOA we enjoyed ourselves with our two small kids.
Dec 31, 2016
Nice campground that is well maintained. Location next to river is a big plus.
Dec 30, 2016
The park is beautiful. Perfect for families. We will definitely be back.
Dec 29, 2016
Excellent
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps