Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 23, 2014
We had a remarkable time. The camp ground was nice but VERY cramped in the section where we stayed,too close to use the pits. However this closeness made us meet our neighbors as outside privacy was nil. We still had a great time, due to the friends we made due to this closeness. One neighbor was a KOA employee who was a first class employee and became a friend, making the experience memorable.
Jun 23, 2014
Center part of the RV campground was a little more cramped than I like but the spot we had was great with lots of room on either side and that awesome view of the river.
Jun 23, 2014
Had a great time- nice place, friendly folks. Only complaint is this place really isn't big rig friendly.Had a devil of a time getting out!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
Without a doubt my most favorite camp ground. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I compare all other campgrounds to Townsend KOA and so far none can compare. Mark and Daisey are the best staff members and I actually miss them when we have to leave. See you next year.
Jun 22, 2014
Generally a good experience. KOA needs to upgrade its wi-fi. More than an inconvenience, my wife and I need to keep in contact with both our jobs and our site did not have wifi. Sites are crowded. Movie advertised for an 8pm start, started at 8:45 and was way too kids-oriented for us. Staff is great. River is refreshing.
Jun 22, 2014
Campsite were very nice, not real happy with the porta potties and the wifi was very weak and slow. Otherwise happy with campgrounds.
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
My family and I had such a wonderful time in Townsend. We just bought our first camper and had some struggles setting up. The KOA staff jumped right in and helped us. We couldn't thank them enough. Our three children loved the bible school and all the other activities they offer the kids. We plan on returning next month!
Jun 21, 2014
2nd year in a row we brought our grand daughters. We all had a great time. Kids camp sponsored By CHARM was great. Campsite and all facilities clean and beautiful.
Jun 21, 2014
it was good
Jun 21, 2014
Thank you Townsend KOA! What a great week of vacation. This was our first KOA stay and you have set a high standard! Looking forward to coming back.
Jun 20, 2014
Anhelpy and anfrendly stuff.
Jun 19, 2014
Always pleasant and friendly staff each and every time we stay, our favorite place to stay in townsend, tn.
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Wonderful place to h ave a family get together! Our grandchildren are ready to stay there again. Nice and clean. Friendly & helpful staff. They went out of their way to make us welcome
Jun 18, 2014
We love staying at KOA in Townsend. Staff is very friendly, campsite are well maintained. I give them a 10!!!
Jun 18, 2014
Only complaint is that the popcorn should be free on movie night...as the ice cream, snow cones, watermelon...all snacks on other nights were free! We didn't have any cash so my kids were disappointed when we couldn't scrape up any money for the popcorn! Otherwise...great campground. Clean bathrooms, loved the tubing on the river!
Jun 17, 2014
As always very friendly staff, helpful, fun place to be these hot summer days. It is the best campground in Townsend, TN
Jun 16, 2014
Nice & clean. Very friendly staff
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
The pool & playground areas were great. The only issue was driving access was a little difficult due to the need of campers to park vehicles in drive/pulling areas. Campers with more than 1 vehicle parked on the roadway & made maneuvering a bit of a problem. Also, guest parked their vehicles in front of the bathhouse when they used it & made that area very congested.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
We had a great time. There were lots of activities for the kids and the playground was fantastic. Our only complaint would be that there was only one bathhouse.
Jun 16, 2014
Had a great time, everyone was wonderful and helpful. Clean and relaxing. Sites were nice and shady which we appreciated since our awning broke. The river was clean and clear (and cold..lol) but that did not stop us from standing in it! Looked into the cabins, so cute and clean! We are going to stay again next year.
Jun 15, 2014
We had a wonderful time. There are a couple things that I noticed that were different that really didn't seem right to us. Why is the pool closing at 8:00? Some people can't swim during the heat of the day and they really look forward to swimming in the evening. Second, why do visitors have to pay when the cost of camping is high? We as a group feel that should be included in your price.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
the best!! need a hot tub please a nice one!!!
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
The park was clean and lovely near the river. Close to the Park Entrance. Staff was extremely friendly. Would definitely come back again
Jun 15, 2014
Restrooms could be cleaned more often for my taste. But otherwise it was a wonderful place to stay.. loved it
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
It was a great week till agree fell on our camper and after a week have still not heard anything from corp office as to whether they are going to help us recover lost camper and possessions. The people at campground were awesome, corp...not so much!
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
People were not friendly. Sights to close together to where slide outs are on next persons sight. Was not a pleasant experience at all
Jun 13, 2014
Staff was very helpful friendly. They alerted us to bad weather approaching. I will stay here the next time.
Jun 13, 2014
Another great stay even if it was rainy.
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 13, 2014
Our second extended stay here. Met our needs. Thanks!
Jun 12, 2014
Although the sites were a little small and close together, we had a great time. Our site backed up to the river. The campground had all the necessities and more!
Jun 12, 2014
Not up to par as other koa parks we have camped at,
Jun 11, 2014
Your campground and the scenery in and around it are stunningly beautiful! Yesterday morning, my husband and I were fortunate enough to see a bald eagle going up the river, and then later on, return back down the river. We had a river front site and truly could have just spent our time watching the river go by! You truly are on the "Peaceful Side of the Smokies." We'll be back!
Jun 11, 2014
Very noisy place to stay. The road noise and people seem to drive thru the campground all night. Beware of the church people harassing you to come to their stupid activities that they're allowed to have on site. Also cramped camper sites.
Jun 11, 2014
The Price is kind of high at $67+. Cable is a joke. Rainy days and nighttime campers do watch tv so more channels are needed.
Jun 10, 2014
staff gave out our name to campers wanting our future reservations. was treated like strangers and trespassers after checking out and returning to drop off registered guest to thier campsite.
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Fantastic, great area, clean, and friendly
Jun 09, 2014
So good, my wife asked that we make another reservation ASAP!
Jun 09, 2014
Great stay. Couldn't ask for much better.
Jun 09, 2014
Beautiful and peaceful KOA nestled beside the river. Friendly staff that are quick to go above and beyond helping you out.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.