Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 27, 2015
a little tight in areas but very nice
Sep 26, 2015
Great time.
Sep 26, 2015
Great employees, very helpful and friendly, sites are nice, wifi and cable work well. Great proximity to Smoky Mountain National Park.
Sep 26, 2015
Had a great experience. The restrooms and shower facility's were clean well lit and plenty of hot water. The campsite was clean and roomy the staff was cordial and helpful. If this is representative of KOA'S across the country my trip in July of 2016 will be spent at KOA'S
Sep 26, 2015
We had planned to move on to the Asheville area after visiting the Great Smoky Mts. National Park but with it and this campground both being so beautiful we stayed the entire 10 days here. This KOA is lovely and serene and with the staff being so courteous and friendly, it is everything a traveler could want in a campground. Would go back in a heartbeat.
Sep 25, 2015
Beautiful campground. Very well maintained and friendly staff. My favorite place to stay.
Sep 25, 2015
What a beautiful campground! Peaceful, relaxing, everything you needed right there on site. Will definitely be back!
Sep 23, 2015
Sep 23, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
We had a great time and as always was impressed with the staff and the campground as a whole.
Sep 21, 2015
We have been staying at this campground (thru 30 years, sporadically)back when it was Little River Campground. In June we stayed in a DC, this time we brought our camper. We would not even consider staying anywhere else in The Smokies. Koa is our home away from home. The (whole) staff are wonderful, helpful and so friendly. We love Townsend/KOA!P.S. the cleanest shower house/restrooms.
Sep 21, 2015
Very helpful staff, always enjoy staying here.
Sep 21, 2015
Great location, friendly & helpful staff. Plan on staying here in the future. It is on our short list.
Sep 20, 2015
Very friendly people. Well manicured grounds. WiFi could be better. RVs packed in pretty close to each other.
Sep 19, 2015
A great campground just got better, refreshed sites, more Wifi coverage, more full hook ups and when you see many of the same employees year after year that tells you there is something special about the ownership, work environment and how people are treated and that tranlates into a great camping experience time and again! Keep it up Team Townsend/Great Smokies KOA!
Sep 19, 2015
Great Campground! This was the first time I was escorted to our site and helped backing onto it. Guided past a tree and lined up perfectly on the first try. I think my wife missed fighting though. Nice pool and great bath house and rest rooms. Beautiful natural setting next to a river. We will be back.
Sep 19, 2015
absolutely gorgeous campground and so very clean and really nice people to deal with we will be returning
Sep 19, 2015
site #61 was well appointed. However, we felt we were camping in a "fish bowl"--too much constant KOA traffic & campers' traffic. Next visit we will request a site in the back of the campground. Is it necessary to have a garbage pick-up at 4 AM?
Sep 18, 2015
We love this campground, but, this time we requested and paid for a riverfront site. #100 is a terrible spot, have to back in, which puts camper door on side opposite river, + there's a public playground/dog walk between site & river.
Sep 17, 2015
The staff goes above and beyond to make campers feel welcomed. The grounds are well taken care of and the bathhouse is immaculate. Wonderful campground on the best side of the Smoky Mountains!
Sep 17, 2015
had a great time; helpful, friendly staff; great, convenient facilities. I have stayed at this campground many times, never a problem.
Sep 16, 2015
Clean, friendly, efficient campground. Already have reservations for next year.
Sep 16, 2015
Sep 16, 2015
We stayed at the KOA in sweetwater the week before it would be hard to match that group of people they were great. Still I have no complaints they are very nice and have a great facility
Sep 15, 2015
Very friendly staff, very clean, beautiful area. Will recommend this campsite.
Sep 15, 2015
Sep 15, 2015
It was an absolutely great and relaxing weekend. The park was clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful
Sep 15, 2015
great location/clean/friendly staff the best internet/WiFi in many KOA! Lear from that #1 Billing KOA!
Sep 14, 2015
Very friendly staff!! Firewood and ice delivered if needed. Grounds were very well kept. 100% would recommend to anyone!!
Sep 14, 2015
First, had to change our dates at the last moment. They were very accommodating and pleasant about doing so. Park is very nice and clean. Most of the attendants were very friendly.
Sep 14, 2015
Nice area, clean, and friendly staff
Sep 14, 2015
Love staying at Townsend KOA - they have the friendliest staff, and the campground and bathrooms are very clean and well-maintained! Always a great time!!
Sep 14, 2015
Awesome campground!!
Sep 14, 2015
We had a wonderful time like usual. Staff is so very helpful anticipating our every need.
Sep 14, 2015
SIGNS WITH DIRECTION ARROWS WOULD BE GOOD.SHOWING THE DIRECTION OF TRAFFIC.
Sep 14, 2015
1st appreciate your working with us re: site ; & placing us on #77 & 61; loved the updates on sites; however office communication improvement on cking in & receiving receipts & site info: Internet & TV channels ;work campers great & friendly;
Sep 14, 2015
Great as always! Kind, friendly staff and clean, neat campground. I almost don't want to tell anyone about my camping gem! This KOA is our home in the Smokies. See you there!
Sep 13, 2015
We were completely impressed with the Townsend KOA and plan to return often in the future...their staff was very helpful and their facilities impressive!
Sep 10, 2015
It was good, but the major drawback was the campsites on top of each other. Being in a hybrid we were at the disposal of our neighbors for when we could go to sleep. Unfortunately they enjoyed visiting till 1:00. This would not have been a problem if they're sitting area was literally 2 feet from our tent beds. The price for this .type of amenities is way yoy over priced. The pictures are misleadi
Sep 09, 2015
staff was great!!! Love the river sites!!
Sep 08, 2015
Loved the redesign of the lower campground. The staff was very helpful and the time spent in the campground was wonderful.
Sep 08, 2015
Extra clean, very beautiful, workers friendly and helpful. We will come again for sure.
Sep 08, 2015
Have stayed numerous times. Always good. Really like the improvements on the sites but not happy with the increase in price. Won't be able to stay as much in the future. Too expensive for a campsite.
Sep 08, 2015
I loved the upgrades that you made to the main bathhouse. And to the lower full hookup camping sites. We have been coming to the same campground for over 27 years. Thanks for keeping it in great shape.
Sep 08, 2015
Would stay more often if the rates were lower
Sep 08, 2015
Awesome...folks are super kind / great facility. Only recommendation would be to have the store / sweet shoppe carry fresh cooked food like chicken / sandwiches or something. It would be nice to make a stop if you traveled all day and didn't have time to cook. Otherwise, GREAT!
Sep 08, 2015
Great location, quiet side of the Smokey Mountains. The staff goes above and beyond. Everyone there was so friendly! Also, the facilities are well maintained and very clean. Sites are level and have beautiful trees. We will definitely stay there again!
Sep 08, 2015
A big thank you to all your staff. They even offered to take our trash off! Store employees display of cheer was much appreciated! You all do a great job in helping families enjoy themselves!
Sep 08, 2015
the Townsend KOA was extremely clean, well kept and the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Can't say enough good things - especially about Mickey!
Sep 08, 2015
Staff was super friendly and very helpful. Campground is beautiful. Would go back tomorrow.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps