Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

May 19, 2015
Sites too small. Motorcycle and other campers way too noisy. Townsend horrible destination!!
May 18, 2015
The stay was fantastic.
May 18, 2015
Had an excellent time! Will return!!
May 18, 2015
I have stayed in a lot of KOA's over the years, from Montana all the way to Florida, and I will say that this KOA was the cleanest and best kept I've been in. The only downside is that the store leaves a little to be desired.
May 17, 2015
Our parking was limited for the length of trailer we had. The Internet reception was poor. Our view of the river was great, our lot was shaded and the shower area was excellent. We traveled with our pets and the fenced area for them was very nice.
May 17, 2015
Beautiful campsite!! Staff is very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again and absolutely recommend to family and friends.
May 17, 2015
ice at koa store was 2.78,1 mile down road same ice 1.80. my wide ask workers to allow her to look into new cabin, just wanted to see how it was layed out,was told she couldn't look in.Real friendly crowd, all must have been from up north.
May 17, 2015
WiFi Terrible But all else GREAT !
May 15, 2015
Even tho it was a very busy weekend it was still quiet and peaceful. Renovated sites are excellent. Staff very good and friendly! Will be BACK!
May 14, 2015
The Townsend KOA is First Class campground. Best we have ever stayed in. The restroom/shower house has recently been remodeled. During our 2 week stay my only complaint was that there were no towel/clothes hooks inside the unisex shower stall. Midway of our two week stay each shower had a caddy to hold personal items and multi hook racks were being installed. The staff treated you like family.
May 14, 2015
AAA+
May 12, 2015
cleanest, safest, most caring, most organized, family oriented, professional and happening home away from home. a step into the past where things are like they should be. a spiritual experience for sure. all I can say is.....thank you!
May 12, 2015
I love the new sites!!! Staff was helpful and nice as always!!
May 12, 2015
A terrific campground in a wonderfully scenic area. Well staffed and everyone was welcoming. Would go back in a heartbeat! Maybe sooner! :)
May 12, 2015
this campground is close to where we live. It is very clean the sites are a good size. Many have paved patio areas which is very nice. They have planned activities and the staff are very nice and helpful. The campground is on the river which makes it so peaceful and beautiful. We love this campground!
May 12, 2015
great place, Great people very helpful!
May 12, 2015
The bath house is exceptional People were very friendly, available, and helpful.
May 11, 2015
Staff were very helpful and as always very pleasant.
May 11, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff. Grounds and facilities extremely clean. Lots of activities for the families, especially the kids. Quiet and restful.
May 11, 2015
Site #80 needs major work to make level to accommodate any size camper! Cable tv not working on this site either. Improvements to campground look great. We made reservations for next May. Tks
May 11, 2015
My granddaughters loved all the activities and the pool, playground, arcade, and the fudge and Ice cream shop so close. I love being on the river, so beautiful. All the staff are great.Lots of good places to eat nearby.
May 11, 2015
Love the changes they have made since last year.
May 11, 2015
We haven't been to this KOA for a few years, however, we can't wait to go back! They have made many numerous improvements to many of the sites, shower/bathroom facilities, playground equipment and pool! We had a great time and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Great Time!
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
My kids said this was their BEST camping trip ever. We all had a great time and will be back.
May 11, 2015
This is a great campground for kids. My entire family had a wonderful time. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
May 11, 2015
May 09, 2015
My wife stayed here for an extended time and hated to leave! Mark, Samantha, Jim, Mickey, Marshall, Marilyn,Jordan, Adam, Clint, and Dan all go above and beyond to make sure each camper has a great stay. They all will do everything possible to help resolve issues or concerns with an Rv, tent, or cabin. The grounds were always kept up & in order even after the severe storms brought down trees.
May 08, 2015
Best KOA we have stayed at yet! very suprised to arrive and find a beautiful brick patio site and awesome stone fire pit! Very friendly staff! Very well maintained campground! Definitely going back!
May 08, 2015
We had one of the most relaxing, calming stay ever. The site we chose was kinda of private, with the view of a beautiful section of the river and it's sound. Plus we got to see a family of geese for 3 days which was just an added bonus. We will promote this KOA!
May 08, 2015
Small, quiet with very friendly and helpful staff. Our site was riverfront with a deck we could sit on and enjoy the view from. We will definately be back!
May 08, 2015
Not Townsend's fault but we misread and reserved a spot with another "Smoky Mtn.: site and lost our entire reservation amount when we fixed the error. Probably the end of our KOA relationship. As for the Townsend facility, it was a little tricky backing into the camp site but the grounds are very nice and a credit to the KOA network. Setup is very family friendly.
May 07, 2015
Greatest of all KOA'S. Place, people and all sites.
May 07, 2015
As usual, we had a great weekend at KOA Townsend. LOVE the improvements!! The larger sites are wonderful. Bathhouse is as nice as ever, but I assume you aren't finished yet, as there are no hooks for hanging items. No complaints, tho. Will be back soon! OH! Almost forgot - Maintenance guys were super helpful when our slide-out wouldn't slide IN! Thanks!
May 05, 2015
Enjoyed it greatly. Can't wait to come back!
May 04, 2015
We've stayed there for years. Think it's one of the two best. Love the campground and the staff.
May 04, 2015
The employees are very friendly & helpful & campground is clean & well kept. Love it here. Would recommend KOA to everyone.
May 04, 2015
Wish we could have stayed longer - 1 night stop over. Will be back.
May 04, 2015
I was very disappointed in our site. I specifically asked if the sites were roomy. We were sandwiched in between two campers like a parking lot, when across the way there were beautiful roomy sites. The other sites did not have cable, which we didn't care, but we were not offered any of those site. They should of asked if we wanted cable. We were told we could move, but we had already unhooked
May 04, 2015
Loved this place, beautiful!! Will be back
May 04, 2015
Very great experience staff was great!
May 03, 2015
Excellent facility. Friendly staff. Quiet even on the busy weekend. Will delineate come back again. Only thing needed is a newer baby swing and stronger and faster wifi. Love the new sites!
May 03, 2015
Koa. Aok
May 03, 2015
No hot Water in the shower ?
May 01, 2015
One of best campgrounds we have experienced. Recent upgrades put it in a class by itself in Townsend and elsewhere. Be back next year.
Apr 29, 2015
Always a great time at Townsend KOA!
Apr 28, 2015
Have one suggestion, the remodeled bathrooms are nice but you forgot one thing. Hangers in the shower. There is no place to hang your towel or clothes.
Apr 28, 2015
As always, everything was perfect!
Apr 28, 2015
staff are the best always friendly and helpful
Apr 27, 2015
Having the flowing river as a back drop while drifting off to sleep was just what I needed after a stress week at work!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.