Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 28, 2016
Love love this campground!!!
Jul 27, 2016
You must have gotten new management. Was better before. No one patrolled in the evening like before. My neighbors had many visitors that were loud and stayed until 1 am for a few nights. My truck nearly got hit and I was blocked in my site and couldn't get anyone to move for me. Other than those few inconveniences I like this campground and have been going here for many years.Bring back how it was
Jul 27, 2016
Nice camp in wooded area. Very close to Cades Cove. Staff very helpful. Dump station in bad location
Jul 27, 2016
Clean, beautiful sites, & friendly helpful staff.
Jul 26, 2016
Loved our stay in Townsend. Everyone was very friendly and loved the campground. Having the river at our doorstep was amazing. Tubing was a big highlight. Liked being on the quiet side of the Smokies. Easy to drive over to the hustle and bustle when we wanted to. We will be back.
Jul 26, 2016
We enjoyed our visit. The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was clean. We loved the river and access available to all campers not just riverfront campers. The pool and tube rentals was nice as well. We didn't participate in the planned activities but it was nice to know they were available.
Jul 26, 2016
Townsend is my absolute favorite campground. I have camped there for 8 years and during all seasons. Friendliness surrounds you as soon as you enter the park. The location of this park is most convenient for a day in the Smokies. Clean, friendly,and convenient, the perfect trifecta!
Jul 25, 2016
Beautiful place. Can't wait to come back.
Jul 25, 2016
The best part of this campground is the river! The campground is situated along the riverbank with several campsites and cabins overlooking the river. There are a few places you can get in the river with your tube, float or chair to relax or float. If you rent a tube at the campground through Cowboy Tubin' they will pick you up further down the river and shuttle you back to the KOA.
Jul 25, 2016
Excellent facilities and friendly staff
Jul 25, 2016
Great setting! Great people! We make a point to come here each summer to meet up with family and friends. Always a wonderful time!
Jul 25, 2016
We love the Townsend KOA!!! I can't say enough good things about the park and staff. They always go above and beyond to make sure everyone is happy and safe! We look forward to visiting again in the fall!!
Jul 25, 2016
Love the campground and the location - needs more parking!!
Jul 24, 2016
Wonderful campground. 4th year we have taken grandkids camping there and they love it!
Jul 23, 2016
Family gathering & perfect place!
Jul 23, 2016
Nice, clean campground with a float rivrr.
Jul 23, 2016
We enjoyed it very much. The staff was very accommodating. We'll probably be back next year
Jul 22, 2016
Had a great stay. Loved our spot on the river.The day camp is wonderful, the kids loved it. Everything about the place is wonderful!!!!!
Jul 22, 2016
fun fun fun
Jul 21, 2016
Great time but too pricy.
Jul 21, 2016
We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was so helpful and friendly. First time campers and was amazed how attentive KOA staff was. We will definitately stay here again. The bath facilities were clean and close enough. We enjoyed the campground vibe. The pool, biking, the hay ride it made the trip great. Our family had three spots and we just had the best vacation. Very impressed!!!!!
Jul 21, 2016
Beautiful clean quiet park near the Smokies. Friendly office staff. Wonderful pool and river!!! Definitely coming back!
Jul 21, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helped us in or moved to another campsite. One huge disappointment was that the campers next to us, on 77, claimed that they were told that the river and beach in front of them was for their use only and blocked it from my 2 year old. The actual path lead from our site. We would love to know if that is the fact. They even blocked the river about 30'into the water
Jul 20, 2016
We just love staying with you guys. We really feel welcome and love how the staff treats us like family. Most important is we feel safe while we are there. Not only do we feel safe, we feel like we dont have to worry so much about our stuff when we leave. Thank you for the most absolute awesome time. We can't wait to go back.
Jul 20, 2016
Very friendly, family oriented park. Nicely situated along the Little River and close to Smokies Park
Jul 19, 2016
Mark runs a great campground! Had another great stay this year. Stayed on site 121, which was very nice! Adam was a great help and very polite! This was the eleventh time coming back, see ya soon!👍
Jul 19, 2016
Great people. We enjoyed the river and our time at the Townsend KOA.
Jul 19, 2016
Best campground we ever stayed at! The people that worked there were fantastic, the campground is in great shape and the kids had fun with the activities. We are looking forward to returning in the future.
Jul 19, 2016
My wife and I agree this is one of the nicest campgrounds we've been to in over ten years of camping. It is well kept with plenty of staff. I noticed two employees walking the grounds picking up trash, something you don't see much of. We also especially liked the stone patio and fire pit. We will definitely recommend and return.
Jul 19, 2016
Campground was very well maintained. Staff was very helpful and friendly . We were very happy. They had lots of activities for the children! That was very helpful!!!
Jul 18, 2016
VERY CLEAN AND WE HAD A GREAT SPOT!! ADAM IS THE BEST!! WOULD RECOMMEND THIS CAMPGROUND TO ANYONE!!
Jul 18, 2016
We had so much fun!! The camp ground was super clean and the facilities( restrooms and bath house) was unbelievably clean and the staff was super nice and accommodating. We would most definitely stay here again and really already have the next trip in plans. Wonderfully relaxing and beautiful!!!
Jul 17, 2016
We come every year!! We took our kids to Disney at the beginning of summer and came to Townsend at the end of summer and the kids said that this was a lot more fun than Disney! We have already made our reservations for next year...
Jul 17, 2016
Patio Site was very nice for 34' motorhome. Tubing in river was a fun experience for the teens and parents.
Jul 16, 2016
Had a great stay looking forward to coming back in September.
Jul 16, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. Sites were great and clean. Made reservations to return next year!!!!
Jul 16, 2016
Great stay. Friendly staff. We had a great visit and will be returning.
Jul 16, 2016
We had a great stay. Amazing site on the river, super clean bathrooms/showers and very nice staff.
Jul 14, 2016
I have camped at this KOA in July for many years. We love this place and the staff is fantastic!! KOA has made super improvements to this campground and i already have reservations for next year. Love it
Jul 12, 2016
Safe, clean enviroment, filled with daily fun activities for the family. The areas are kept very clean. The office staff is very helpful, courteous and super friendly. Our 3rd year🏞 🇺🇸
Jul 12, 2016
Very nice place, well kept, friendly staff. Only issue water pressure was low but not a major concern.
Jul 11, 2016
Exceptional campground. Environment is great. Staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. A favorite destination of ours.
Jul 11, 2016
Our family loves this campground! We come every year!
Jul 11, 2016
Maintance staff created a great impression for my nephew from fl and his family. My goal and KOA,s to exceed ecpectations. You did it.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Happy we were close to the river. I understand that you want as many campers as you can get in but camp sites were small you are absolutely right on top of one another. We had no where to set up games to play and everything was cramped around our camper other than the small site we enjoyed ourselves.
Jul 10, 2016
Nice, family-oriented campground in a beautiful and very convenient location. Close to Cades Cove. Great customer service,
Jul 09, 2016
Well kept, helpful courteous staff, lots of activities, awesome camp sites. We truly enjoyed our stay.
Jul 09, 2016
everything was great.but just one thing everyone i talked to stated that you need to install one more bathroom area over by the tint camping area we don't do the port a let thing at all. very nasty.
Jul 08, 2016
Great place very clean and friendly staff. But it's getting over priced !!! A lot of the regular campers that come to this Koa have stopped coming dew to the prices getting way to high for camping !!!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award