Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Oct 17, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
Good time and great staff. Didn't like how cramped sites are. We are used to government sites where there is more room between campers.
Oct 16, 2013
KOA staff at front desk were not friendly at all. Will be looking for other places to stay next year!
Oct 16, 2013
Making the reservation, The lady was hateful & to pushy on the discount card. Loved the new landscaping, but would have preferred the showers updated. They are almost to bad to shower in. And the bathroom was barely cleaned, not like it use to bE. We have always passed on how clean the bathrooms were, we just can't do that now. The trash was heaping over the whole time. Not worth the high charge!
Oct 15, 2013
Had a great time again !
Oct 15, 2013
In all the campgrounds we've have the privilege of using, none have been better than the Townsend KOA! It's a repeat destination for us without exception.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
We had a family reunion and rented in total 2 deluxe cabins, one water/electric camper site and one tent site by the river. All was great but it was very crowded. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Thanks for a great weekend.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
great time thanks
Oct 15, 2013
There was a very high rate of vehicle traffic and noisy due gravel. Also the parks WiFi was very poor! I was in site 57 and could not receive a signal, had to go to in front of "store" to get a signal and it was weak.
Oct 15, 2013
Very crowded.
Oct 14, 2013
The campground was well run and the weather was perfect. My camp site was level and spacious. The campground is somewhat pricey compared to other, comparable campgrounds in the area and the early check-out (11:00 am) basically eliminates any enjoyable time on the last day.
Oct 14, 2013
Employees need to wear some sort of name tag. I was having a discussion with an employee and would have liked to know who she was but she wasn't wearing a name tag.
Oct 14, 2013
Great trip, again.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
While there we booked 2 more trips. The staff was very professional & the grounds were clean & manicured. Our kids enjoyed the playground & movie night at the outdoor theater. Wi-Fi was slow at best, but not a big deal for us. We're looking forward to coming back soon.
Oct 14, 2013
We had a great time. We took my 4 year old grandson and he loved the playground. The only issue I had was with the bigger kids taking over the playground and running on the equipment. My grandson fell off going up the ladder and bit his tongue. Other than that, everything was great.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Sites are too close and neighbor campers slam doors all night long.
Oct 13, 2013
We had an excellent stay there up until 2 nights before we were to leave. A KOA worker (female) came by our campsite & was very rude. We had a visitor and instead of her asking nicely for them to please move their vehicle, she jumped off the golf cart & immediately started yelling for them to move. Also she was very hateful as to how she was talking to us and our children.
Oct 13, 2013
We enjoyed our stay!! The people are nice, and the campground is very well maintained!! We will be back. The one thing we would like to see is a place to park our camper so we can enjoy the rest of the day in the river.
Oct 13, 2013
We called ahead and they said they had a 60ft space because I have 40 ft and a jeep. When arrived they had to move cars to get us in space once I had to disconnect jeep and jockey my way into a barley 40 ft space. Place was jammed with people side by side!!!
Oct 12, 2013
Have stayed at this koa a few times and have enjoyed very much. The only complaint that I have and it wasn't a big deal was that the showers didn't seem to be as clean as I thought they should. Went in to shower immediately after they were cleaned and there was no sign or smell of any cleaner. Wish there were more activities for kids on other days besides Saturdays :)
Oct 11, 2013
The non sewer sites should not be charged to dump their sewage at the dumping station. This fee should be in the daily charge. You are encouraging dumping gray water out on the ground if your tank will not hold all you have.
Oct 11, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
People alway make the difference! This is our second stay and very happy again, the critical areas of any campground are condition of sites, everything in working order, well kept grounds, quality and clean bathhouses and helpful staff on demand, ALL of these are met here at Townsend KOA and it all starts at the top with the Chipperfield host family's spirit of excellence. A must visit KOA!
Oct 11, 2013
Oct 11, 2013
We LOVE Townsend KOA. We love the people that work there. They are the most hospitable folks ever! We love the sites by the river. It is clean,clean, clean. We think it is possible the best KOA in the word, really!!
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 10, 2013
Wonderful!!! Perfect!!!!
Oct 09, 2013
Oct 09, 2013
84a is a beautiful site, would highly recommend it.
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Very crowded and noisy. Campsites very close together but the location was beautiful.
Oct 07, 2013
Great facilities....very clean bath house. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. KOA Townsend rocks!!!
Oct 07, 2013
Had a great time! Very friendly staff and fun activities. My only complaint is that one morning, the garbage was being picked up (slamming garbage doors) very early in the morning (about 5:30am) and that was followed by leafblowing at 7am. Would be nice if those things didn't start until 8am or later.
Oct 06, 2013
Very nice, quiet, and clean.
Oct 05, 2013
Oct 05, 2013
Thanks to Mark and Samantha and all the staff at the park. Best KOA in the country! Always made to feel at home.
Oct 04, 2013
everything was great except for the national park being closed.
Oct 04, 2013
We loved our stay. Beautiful facilities, friendly and helpful staff, and great campsites. We especially liked the dog park. Thank you.
Oct 03, 2013
We loved the campground and everything was convenient and close by. You had a variety of sites by the river, back ins, pull throughs, places to walk, laundry, store, gas, pool, restaurant and I love the pet area. Very close to tour Cades Cove. Always maintenance at work keeping it clean and I basically couldn't find anything wrong with your camp. I would very much recommend it. Everyone friendly
Oct 02, 2013
We had a great 2 days away from it all. Will be returning soon.
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Staff was fantastic. Always there if we needed them. Definitely went the extra mile. Beautiful campground with many amenities!
Oct 01, 2013
We love the Townsend KOA and always have a great time when we're there. If we could suggest anything to make it better it would be to give a stronger signal to your WIFI. It's a bit slow and hard to get on to sometimes.
Oct 01, 2013
The staff was very friendly & catered to our group of campers. We are very happy with our experience & would highly recommend Townsend KOA!
Oct 01, 2013
It was awesome. Nice staff. There were 4 campers in our homeschooling group and we loved it. Can't wait to setback.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.