Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 01, 2016
Had a great week there. Very nice, clean, and quite campground.
Jun 01, 2016
We have stayed in many campgrounds around the Smoky Mountains and this one, in our opinion, has been the best. Everyone was very friendly. Helped me back in to our spot without making me nervous! (I normally dislike being assisted with that, but not this time.) Very clean, and very well cared for. The landscaping is amazing! Fantastic location, so close to the park and Cades Cove.
Jun 01, 2016
Awesome place on the water. Very friendly staff.
May 31, 2016
This is our favorite campground. We have camped there for over 25 years. Friendly and helpful staff, spic and span clean and a wonderful setting on the Little River a mile from the boundary of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park make a stay there a wonderful experience.
May 31, 2016
It was great as always, but the wifi was not working. I do not care to pay a premium price as long as I get a premium product and this stay I did not. Planned on getting some work done online while relaxing, but it didn't happen. I was told it was due to the number of people trying to get online, but it started day 1 before the campground was crowded. Issue was never resolved during our 4 day stay
May 31, 2016
I don't like having to park across the street when you have two cars.
May 31, 2016
Wonderful, friendly people and a beautiful campground!
May 31, 2016
Staff was extremely helpful resolving asewer tank dumping issue with my new trailer. I will stay at this facility if I return to this area again.
May 31, 2016
Very organized from helping you find and park in your spot to picking up trash, keeping bathrooms clean, picking up litter by the river daily (from tubers) and the handy pump out service for those not in a sewer spot.
May 31, 2016
This is the best campground we have ever experienced. We love it and will be coming back for many years to come!
May 31, 2016
Excellent campground. Very clean wonderful staff. Will definitely be back. The only problem we had was the family next to us made a fire using lighter fluid and kept squirting it on the fire causing it to blaze up. They were very close to our camper. This was our only problem.
May 29, 2016
We have been to the Townsend KOA about 6 times and have enjoyed the camp ground more every time we are there.
May 29, 2016
need more pull thru spaces
May 29, 2016
Very friendly staff. Dog run could use a little attention. Bathroom/showers clean. Lady at checkin very nice and helpful.
May 28, 2016
What a nice place! Not only where your staff knowledgeable and friendly but the campground was so clean and organized. I felt very safe and very comfortable. You guys do an excellent job and those host/hostess's deserve a very big compliment for a job well done. We will be back!
May 28, 2016
Beautiful sites, helpful staff. Our favorite place to take our camper--by far!!!
May 28, 2016
Very good service everyone was very friendly.I will surely be back
May 27, 2016
May 27, 2016
May 27, 2016
Absolutely love this KOA...beautiful setting by the stream and nice employees to assist your needs.
May 26, 2016
We had a great time. Everyone at Townsend KOA is so friendly. We love it that KOA is so dog friendly -- our 5 month old Golden had an awesome time !!!
May 25, 2016
May 24, 2016
Smart mouth white headed man very hateful and rude
May 23, 2016
This is our favorite campground. Great service. Level lots. River views.
May 23, 2016
I had a great time and all the staff was friendly and helpful. The area was keep clean and very nice at all times. Wish it were bigger for more people to enjoy.
May 22, 2016
Such friendly people
May 22, 2016
The camp sites were breathtaking views, the bathrooms were clean and well-designed, and the staff was beyond friendly and helpful. I didn't want to leave!
May 22, 2016
May 21, 2016
The campground is very well kept and clean. Our Patio Deluxe Site was so nice we reserved a site for September. The staff are friendly and helpful.
May 21, 2016
Very courteous staff, very clean grounds, beautiful creek & trees, and very well staffed. Greatly enjoyed our stay and plan to return soon. Thank You!
May 21, 2016
Helpful staff. Nice site. Pretty good weather. Clean bathroom and showers. We're going back.
May 21, 2016
Very nice campground nice staff could use an additional bath house
May 20, 2016
Can't thank you enough For your kindness after my wife's bike accident. Special thanks to Kathy for checking her knee out !
May 19, 2016
Had another outstanding rally with the Egg Camping club. The kind and friendly KOA staff were terrific. Best KOA in TN.
May 19, 2016
Best KOA or any other camp grounds I have ever stayed at. Awsome atmosphere, with a staff that is friendly and wants to make sure your stay is the best.
May 18, 2016
The staff was courteous and helpful. The guys were great to direct us in backing into our spot. Plenty of staff working to keep everything running well. Restrooms and showers very clean. We had a spot in the river that was soooo nice.
May 18, 2016
Campground is very well maintained and the workers are very friendly and helpful. We will be back in the fall
May 17, 2016
May 17, 2016
May 17, 2016
May 17, 2016
Very poor site. On top of other campers and sewer hook up almost on our pad. I probably would not stay here again
May 17, 2016
We hoped for a quite time, enjoying nature, birds, etc., unfortunately we were next to a basketball goal, and all we heard all day was thump, thump, boinnng and kids screaming. At night (our bedtime), thump, thump, boinnng & kids screaming. That site should only be let to families with basketball kids. We should have been warned. Unfortunately, that will probably be our last KOA visit.
May 16, 2016
Our stay was so awful we will not be returning. We paid for our stay nearly a year in advance and had to pay additional fees when we checked in. Very over priced for what you get. Not satisfied at all.
May 16, 2016
Everything was great as usual, except the gentleman that helped us back into our spot was very abrupt and bit hateful. I have always had a pleasant experience up until this time.
May 16, 2016
It was a tough drive, but well worth it. Would come back for longer stays. Not worth the drive from WNC just for the weekend.
May 16, 2016
Great stay. Gary was awesome!
May 16, 2016
The only problem I had staying here is not enough bath houses. The one that is there is closer to the campers that have bathroom already and the cabins that has to use the bath houses has port potties.. They does not help us on the shower situation..
May 16, 2016
This was our first time camping together as a family. We could not be more pleased with our experience from the moment we pulled up. My husband even made the comment that you could tell the employees truly love their jobs. We are going to have a hard time camping other places besides KOA Townsend because they set the bar high!
May 16, 2016
We loved the many activities that were available for our kids! Although the shower rooms appeared to be newly renovated, the water did not drain appropriately, leaving one to stand in a puddle of water while showering. The campground was very busy and loud, but overall, we enjoyed our stay. The staff were wonderful!
May 16, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful sites. Let's of activities.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award