Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
We love coming up to Townsend to the KOA camping. We come every year at least once if not more. Wish we could come more! So relaxing and fun.
Jun 27, 2016
Staff were great. Many young family activities. Clean showers and bathrooms. Sites were nice, but very tight. Only complaint-- no monitoring of people who do not comply with quite time-- A very loud and obnoxious extended family moved in next to us for the last two nights-- we were glad to leave them behind. Great access to the Smoky Mountains NP, 30 minutes to Pigeon Forge
Jun 27, 2016
Only concern is the dogs barking. The workers would drive by and hear them and not say anything. The bathhouse was very nice.
Jun 27, 2016
Very nice campground near the great smoky mountain national park.
Jun 26, 2016
It's always a pleasure to stay here. The campground is kept up beautifully. The staff is helpful and very friendly.
Jun 26, 2016
Everything about this KOA is great! Friendly staff, clean restrooms and showers, and very well kept grounds. We have three kids and they all loved their time there, nobody wanted to leave. We will definitely be back.
Jun 26, 2016
My family had a fantastic time at this campground. The staff was amazing and really went out of their way to make sure we had a great vacation. We will be coming back next year with a bigger group and will be recommending this RV park to everyone.
Jun 25, 2016
Jun 24, 2016
Wonderful friendly staff that cared about the well-being of their campers, very knowledgeable about the area and things to do. Campground was clean and very nice. Will definitely be back.
Jun 24, 2016
Very small sites. Would give 5 stars if the sites were larger. Miss the cafe with the chicken. Now only sweets.
Jun 23, 2016
Had a relaxing g time, sitting by the river
Jun 23, 2016
Great place to stay !
Jun 23, 2016
We enjoyed our stay here. We love Townsend, so this campground is in the perfect location. Our only complaint is that the trash truck showed up VERY VERY early Friday morning and made a ton of noise. I'm sure everyone was awakened by the loud noise of the trash truck picking up the dumpsters. I know I was. Surely they could arrange for the trash pick up to be laster in the day.
Jun 22, 2016
Enjoyed our ztay . Clean restrooms and showers. Friendly staff. Enjoyed activities the church provided . Great playgrounx and pool
Jun 21, 2016
Our favorite campground of all time. The staff, especially, help make this campground such a great one! It's always great to see the friendly & helpful faces such as Adam & the rest of the staff!
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
Great place for the whole family. We all enjoyed our stay. Extremely helpful outside workers who made us comfortable and welcomed.Bathhouse very clean. Will camp here again.
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
The staff at this campground is outstanding. The campground is clean, neat, and the amenities are wonderful. I would definitely come back.
Jun 20, 2016
Great stay. Friendly staff. Beautiful site right on the river. Easy access to tubing, which my kids loved. Clean showers.
Jun 20, 2016
Friendly and professional staff.
Jun 20, 2016
Great campground! Great site! Great fun! And peace and quiet too! We enjoyed our stay!
Jun 20, 2016
Simply a great place to stay in the trees shaded sites near the Little River. Daisy is the best, and Adam is great...thanks to all for an awesome stay!
Jun 19, 2016
Jun 19, 2016
Was near a corner on gravel road that was extremely busy and next to a basketball half court and dumpster. We can tolerate the kids playing but the dumpster was our view. We were in a premium spot with pavers on patio and built fire pit, very nice chairs and table.
Jun 19, 2016
Very nice campground. Super clean. Staff were some of the friendliest we have encountered over the years. Will be going back for sure and telling all of our friends.
Jun 19, 2016
As usual, friendly staff rate high. Bathroom needed some attention probably due to high numbers of "tubers" tracking in and out.
Jun 18, 2016
Love the clean facilities and friendly staff!
Jun 17, 2016
What a great campground! We've stayed at many and use Townsend KOA as a gauge for all the rest. The staff are super friendly and the grounds are well maintained. Mark and crew get an A+ from us.
Jun 17, 2016
Friendly staff, clean facilities, and close to the National Park. Our site was pretty narrow, but had a nice concrete patio and a gravel area with fire pit.
Jun 17, 2016
This is one of the greatest campgrounds we have ever stayed at. The service people are extremely knowledgeable and friendly, the sites are clean and well maintained, we have never had to wait more than 10 minutes for a service call of any type. The facilities are extremely clean, the pool is wonderful and the amenities are great. We will be back soon.
Jun 17, 2016
Jun 16, 2016
The campground is very clean! Access to the creek is very easy and fun for the kids. The night time activities for the kids provides fun entertainment. The pool is very nice as well. Everything is very clean and provided a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The staff is extremely helpful and will go out of their way to assist you...even when your vehicle breaks down off site! Wonderful stay!
Jun 15, 2016
I had a slight disagreement concerning my reservation.It was handled with the most outstanding customer service!
Jun 14, 2016
Excellent as usual!
Jun 14, 2016
Staff was great. Campsites are close together, many people just walk through your campsite if it is a shorter path for them.
Jun 14, 2016
This was our very first trip in our new pop up. From the moment we pulled in, we were treated like family. Our pull through site was beautiful and we had a great view of the river. We had a "deck" to sit on and enjoy the view. The bathrooms were clean and the showers hot. We will absolutely camp here again!
Jun 14, 2016
Great time. Friendly helpful staff. Only comment / complaint is add a path to get from non creek side site to the creek without having to walk through someone else's camp site.
Jun 13, 2016
LOVE this place! Got a site on the river and enjoyed every minute of our stay! Spectacular showers. Great location. Helpful staff helped make our stay pleasant. Can't wait to return. Thanks Townsend KOA
Jun 13, 2016
Love the camp our kids always have a blast here and its very close to the entrance of the Smoky Mountains. Everything is always clean and the employees are always helpful. The campers are very close together and that's the only thing I do not like about the site.
Jun 13, 2016
Everyone is so friendly, helpful and kind. Beautiful campground, tons of fun for kids. Nicely spaced sites. Loved the river
Jun 13, 2016
Great service, friendly and helpful staff. Great campground for families with children. However, the campground is very noisy...partially due to close proximity to main highway with lots of motorcycle traffic. Nice shaded sites but at the expense of lots of dead tree limbs...2 of which fell during a thunder storm hitting our camper and denting the hood of our suburban. Overpriced at $80 per night.
Jun 13, 2016
While some campgrounds have more amenities, KOA Townsend takes top marks for staff service.
Jun 13, 2016
Wifi and cable did not work
Jun 12, 2016
GREAT! The staff was helpful and friendly; the grounds were well manicured and clean; the bathroom /shower areas well maintained.
Jun 12, 2016
All the staff was very helpful. The park and bathrooms/showers was cleaned. We enjoyed our stay. Looking forward to our future stays.
Jun 12, 2016
Most of the staff was friendly. Then on Thursday a new staff member showed up that would stop and watch small kids. Kind of worried me. Being a parent.
Jun 12, 2016
Great kampground and great staff, we, my wife and I had two girls6&7 year old and the staff had activities for the kids at the pavillion. Almost every day they did face painting a scavenger hunt and tie dye t-shirts all you needed was to purchase the shirt for$10 i think and a group of young adults did the tieing and the dyieing and was spectacular. We have been camping here for over 20 years anv
Jun 12, 2016
Very friendly staff and guests. A little tight getting into and out of spots with 35ft fifth wheel but manageable. Some sites a little too close.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award