Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
Great, family friendly campground!
Jul 20, 2015
A little cramped and the bathrooms could use a little more TLC. Other than that, nice place. Pool was great!
Jul 20, 2015
Seriously the best showers I have ever seen in a campground! Friendly people and accommodating to our late arrival. Nice pool, very clean, small but perfect for the kids, and warm! Right near the entrance to the Cades Cove, Smoky Mountain National Park.
Jul 20, 2015
We have camped here for many years always enjoy our stay
Jul 20, 2015
Townsend Koa is a very nice campground the people there are always very helpful. They have lots of activities for the children.
Jul 20, 2015
Great family oriented campground. Plenty of things to keep the kids busy. If your looking for a place with great views close to the mountains and lots of kids and friendly adults this is the place.
Jul 20, 2015
Very nice campground, but seems rather expensive.
Jul 19, 2015
Reserved site #59 was relocated to another location due to park site improvements. KOA should have notified me prior to arrival. New location was not what I wanted. However, site upgrades are excellent.
Jul 19, 2015
This was our second stay at this KOA. Seven years ago it was a great place, this year was even better. They did a lot of upgrades to the newly remodel campsites with nice table and chairs, paver patio, stone fire pits. We love the river out back for tubing and the location of this KOA in Townsend gives you a more natural stay, no hussle of a big city. The city is only 15 miles away and has it all.
Jul 19, 2015
We had a great time! The staff members were super friendly and always eager to accommodate the needs of the visitors! They were very proactive. Thanks for making our trip a memorable one!
Jul 19, 2015
great koa, clean and very friendly
Jul 19, 2015
We had a great time. Plan on staying there next time we go to the Smokies.
Jul 18, 2015
Campground is beautiful & clean. People are friendly. I have 1 concern. I was walking 2 small dogs. There were campers checking in and 1 pulled out & 1 behind pulled down. I saw the man who had been helping campers back in on a golfcart so I stepped into empty campsite to get out of way. As I did, dogs peed on grass. The man nicely said to contain the dogs to the dog area. That is far to take them
Jul 18, 2015
Upgrades were so nice; bigger sites, paver patio, and fire pit. Very nice workers and very clean campground. We would stay here again! Downsides; the wood sold to most people didn't burn and the garbage man came to empty the dumpster at 5:30 in the morning! : (
Jul 16, 2015
We left our site for the day and the staff took items from our campsite. We told the office but nothing was done. So we had to replace these items on the road. Also cleaning bathrooms from 1:00 to 3:00 PM was very inconvenient. Also price was too high in our opinion, even more than Pigeon Forge KOA.
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Need better wifi. Suggestion to put wifi extenders around campground.
Jul 14, 2015
My favorite campground!
Jul 14, 2015
Great campground with friendly hosts. We'll definitely be back.
Jul 14, 2015
Everything would have been great if I had not had my billfold stolen, by one of your employees
Jul 14, 2015
My favorite campground! Clean, well maintained, shady campsites nestled among mature trees along the Little Pigeon River. Lots of activities. Love the dog yard. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It's home away from home!
Jul 13, 2015
Exceptional in every way. The location could not be better. The management and staff are really great people. We consider it a home away from home!
Jul 13, 2015
Campground is one of the nicest we have stayed at . Clean , well taken care of , updated and plenty of helpful staff. Would definately stay again .
Jul 13, 2015
Great site on the river and the people working there were very friendly and helpful!
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
We were very inpressed with all the helpers, groundskeepers. Very family friendly. Will be back. The Music's
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
The showers could use a little more upkeep. The campground is GREAT! Staff friendly and helpful. Deluxe patio sites and really nice.
Jul 13, 2015
The staff were the best I've ever met! Our experience was extraordinary!
Jul 13, 2015
Very disappointed. Woke up at 12:30am by somebody playing their radio. I heard the music until 1 or 1:30am. I couldn't find a number to call and report the music on any of the documentation given to me upon check-in. KOA should do a better job to inform the campers of who and how to contact someone when something happens through the night. Should also do a better job of enforcing quiet time.
Jul 12, 2015
Clean beautiful setting friendly staff lots to do. My grandson 8 loved it too. Thanks for offering the programs and convenient tubing. Will be back
Jul 11, 2015
Had a great two night stay on our way to see our son in SC. The staff was incredible and the park was beautiful. Having a gas station right next to the campground was a real convenience. I already have recommended this campground to my son and my wife and I hope to visit again soon.
Jul 11, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. We were very pleased with the kampground and will definitely stay at other KOA kamps.
Jul 10, 2015
Awsome stay as always didnt want to leave very friendly people and good people be back in the fall of 2016
Jul 09, 2015
Campground was really clean. And the staff was helpful and answered all of our questions.
Jul 09, 2015
From the time we pulled in until the time we had to depart we felt like we were staying with friends! Great staff!Very clean. Fun kid activities! We made reservations for next summer!
Jul 08, 2015
Your prices are way to high we have been staying at this camp ground over 25 years before u ever bought it but your rates are out rageous and you are forcing our family and five others we camp woth to find another place Our daugheter and hisband and boys; our son and his wife and boy; our fried and his wife ; his son wife and three girls; our cousin and his family Other Koas are half this
Jul 08, 2015
Great place, clean, happy, and well managed! Minor issue: Would like to see the WiFi extend out further into the campground for a more stable connection as you can't get a cell signal in the campground.
Jul 07, 2015
Love the campground and the staff however prices have been raised quite a bit. Also a suggestion - make sites 14 and 15 into one site. Very difficult to park one vehicle on each site. We were delayed an hour when leaving because the people next to us were gone and we cannot get our camper out. Very frustrating.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
We had a great time. We were a little disappointed in our site being very muddy with all the rain, but overall things were good. We've already made reservations for next July 4th.
Jul 07, 2015
Lovely lady at the front desk who was kind enough to take the time to help us extend our stay over the busy holiday weekend (Mickey/daisy) The pool area was clean and the restrooms were very nice. Loved the patios and fire pits. Somewhere we picked up poison ivy but not sure exactly where. Very quiet campground. Loved all the kid activities, the youth group there was fun to work with over the four
Jul 06, 2015
Nice clean place, a bit close together and pricey but lIke the new sewer and fire pits.
Jul 06, 2015
Great sites! Some of the staff is friendly!
Jul 06, 2015
Even with the rain!! We had an awesome time as always!
Jul 06, 2015
we had a perfect weekend the rain didn't ruin it and everybody that work there.were extra nice,also that our favorite camp ground it so peace there
Jul 06, 2015
I was impressed with the updates given to some of the spots. There was a storm one of the nights we were there, our awning broke and covered up the door. As we were finally getting out the KOA workers were right there to help us in any way. All through the day they asked if they could help us in any way. Really appreciated the way they took care of us.
Jul 06, 2015
great
Jul 06, 2015
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great amenities. The only negative is the campsites are so close together.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award