Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

May 19, 2013
Very clean, very nice, friendly staff. Will be back!
May 19, 2013
It is a beautiful campground and they are always improving it. The people that work there go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable and carefree as they possibly can.
May 17, 2013
May 16, 2013
May 16, 2013
Great, as always
May 15, 2013
The bathrooms were dirty all weekend but clean during the week. The playground and sites on the river were great. The location was central to the hikes and activities we did which was nice.
May 14, 2013
Great time. Loved the improvements of campground.
May 14, 2013
Superb campground. Truly the best run, cleanest, best customer service around.
May 14, 2013
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I could always find a staff member if needed and they were always patrolling the campground. I will stay here again!!!
May 14, 2013
Always such a beautiful property, and the recent improvements are fantastic! The employees are so wonderful there also! We will be there often!
May 14, 2013
Townsend KOA is our new campground!! The women taking our reservation were friendly, helpful and patient. They went the extra mile to insure our camper would fit and that we would be comfortable before we made the reservation. The campground has a million activities going on and EVERYONE was so nice and helpful! We camp alot all over the US and the employees/grounds at Townsend KOA are the BEST!
May 13, 2013
We love Koa in townsend.the new playground they installed is absolutely beautiful. However we are not happy with the activities that we have to pay for them.
May 13, 2013
The staff here is excellent! Please let them know that we have never stayed in a nicer staffed campground! Every worker we were in contact with went out of their way to be nice!
May 13, 2013
Always a wonderful camping experience. Thank you!
May 13, 2013
Very enjoyable we will definately be back!!!!!!
May 13, 2013
This is the best staff. Al, Jeremiah and the rest of them made our stay the best it could be.
May 13, 2013
We were really impressed with the changes that you have made over the winter. The new grass area by the river side looks great. (Please install the swings) The kids area looks like so much fun my wife wanted to go play on it!! We'll keep coming back!!
May 13, 2013
The only problem was site 32 the waste water connection is too high. Townsend KOA is our choice of campgrounds. We camp here at a minimum of 4 times a year.
May 13, 2013
May 13, 2013
Nice campground. Just very crowded when we stayed.
May 13, 2013
Very well thought out check in for a busy weekend. Pulled up and was taken straight to our spot and the receipt was brought down to us. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and great activities for the kids.
May 13, 2013
This was our 1st time staying here. Very nice, clean and friendly camp ground. We had a wonderful lot on the river. We will make sure to come back again. My son loved the banana bike.
May 13, 2013
May 11, 2013
Beautiful quiet place on the river. WiFi was a iffy, but everything else was great. The staff was continually keeping the place clean and neat.
May 11, 2013
Very nice campground and super hosts. Loved our site right on the river. Worth the splurge on price.
May 11, 2013
May 10, 2013
Great campground. Super clean. Staff are so friendly. Only wish tent sites were a little more level.
May 09, 2013
Very friendly staff, lovely sites, Propane and gas station on site. Less than 1 mile from GSM National Park.
May 09, 2013
The best KOA in the country - don't miss it! Wonderful staff, beautiful campground - you couldn't ask for more! Thank you for a great stay.
May 07, 2013
Always great!! love the new landscape:)
May 07, 2013
May 07, 2013
The staff was extremely friendly and personable. The facilities clean and easily accessible. This was tops in my book.
May 06, 2013
THE very best!!!!!! Mark, Samantha and the wonderful staff keep us coming back year after year after year.
May 06, 2013
We enjoyed our stay. We really like the up grade from the last time that we were there.
May 06, 2013
Wonderful time and it was very clean and the play ground was awesome for the kids
May 06, 2013
May 06, 2013
Very clean and well kept, kid and pet friendly...an enjoyable experience all around!
May 06, 2013
KOA staff has always been exceptional, and this time was no different - in spite of a rocky start with one of our camping buddies. Thank you - we'll be back.
May 06, 2013
May 05, 2013
Had a great time. Staff was very friendly. Campground was well located right outside Smoky Mountain NP. :-)
May 05, 2013
It was very well kept and the staff was extremely friendly. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone not to miss a chance to stay here. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.
May 05, 2013
May 05, 2013
The staff went out of their way to help me whenever I needed it.
May 04, 2013
Clean great staff Sites are way too close dont enjoy looking at another camper 3 foot away.
May 03, 2013
Everything was fine, except the raccoon ate my food I just brought back to my campsite, you guys need to call my friend Paul back to get some coons!
Apr 30, 2013
Apr 26, 2013
It is a beautiful spot and we had a great time. We liked it so much we intend to return as soon as possible. The only issue was the unfriendly guy at the store who closed ten minutes early and would not sell us ice. There were other people working there in the day who were very nice.
Apr 25, 2013
The best place in the world. Home away from Home. We had an incident with our RV electric step not retracting and the KOA general manager came to our site & fixed it to where we could drive home. Now that is CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! Thanks Mark for your help. The Heath Family
Apr 25, 2013
The campground and staff were really great. The only complaint I have is about the shower rooms. They are moldy and dirty. My advice would be to leave the doors open when they are not in use so they can dry out. A good scrubbing with a bleach cleaner would be great. Otherwise everything in the park is great.
Apr 25, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.