Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 13, 2013
This was our 7th year and as always it was fantastic in everyway. We come for the children and there is so much for children to do. We always look so forward to our trip. Thanks
Aug 13, 2013
It was OK, not the best koa we have stayed in. Not very kid friendly. The location was great but the staff was not very knowledgeable about attractions or directions.
Aug 13, 2013
We love this KOA! Was our 4th stay, and the longest. We are not happy that the Internet WIFI was unreliable Sunday thru Friday, then broke altogether (until Monday!)by the Gen Mgr who was trying to fix it himself. We should have at the very least been offered some kind of compensation. We work while camping and the Internet is key to that. I am sorry for the Mgrs but they mishandled this badly!
Aug 13, 2013
1st time to camp at KOA in Townsend/TN and will be back this fall. Keep up the good work!
Aug 12, 2013
Great site - good facilities and very convenient to GSMNP
Aug 12, 2013
Townsend/KOA is our #1 campground choice by far!
Aug 11, 2013
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful!!!
Aug 11, 2013
We had a wonderful stay this past week. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to us. The first night we arrived, we came in late, and the staff stayed to help us get in to our site. They also allowed us to pull in the opposite way to allow us to face our neighbors, our friends. They were always willing to offer suggestions and help us in any way needed. The area was beautiful!
Aug 10, 2013
Friendly escort to site, assisted parking trailer. Entrance way is very tight.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
every thing was great as always looking forward to coming back in october
Aug 08, 2013
This was our 1st annual family campout so it was important to please everyone.... Three families included children ages one,three and teens. We had a beautiful site on the river!Tubing was a highlight. Our grandson held his first fishing pole. Everything was so close.Bathrms & showers were very clean.The kids really enjoyed the play area,all enjoyed the movie night.We will be back next year!!Thank
Aug 08, 2013
Campsite was spacious with beautiful view of river. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Aug 08, 2013
Great place to camp, exceptional service and hospitality from staff.
Aug 08, 2013
We loved our stay! The fact that you can just drop your tubes in the river and float down the rapids was awesome!!! We will come back to stay!
Aug 07, 2013
Sites are extremely close to each other. Price was higher than Ii have ever paid for a campsite. Due to price and size of sites I will not visit this campground very often. Wifi only works if you sit at the office or pool. Campground was clean and staff was friendly.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
2nd visit there, and will come again. Disappointed in the beach upgrade, but overall a great experience.
Aug 05, 2013
Premium waterfront sites were soggy at best. There was no grass in between sites to wick away the mud. We requested straw which was delivered promptly. The shower rooms are in need of mold removal or tiling again. They were not as clean as previous years. We did not make yearly advance ressies as we have in the past.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Great place, staff very friendly and helpful. Reserved sites for next year.
Aug 05, 2013
Always like staying at KOA Townsend
Aug 05, 2013
Staff is second to none! Remember me everytime I came in co fact with them asking about my campsite and stay! Very great place to camp will be back soon!
Aug 04, 2013
This location was great! it is very close to alot of the attractions and the area is very beautiful! Everyone was very friendly and helpful with directions ect.. I especially enjoyed all the trees and the river right there. Everything was well kept and clean!!
Aug 04, 2013
Best week of our summer!Reading by the river,falling asleep listening to the rushing waters, feeling the stress leave my body, it doesn't getanybetter!Beautiful Mountains!
Aug 03, 2013
I always enjoy staying at koa townsend tn. I would highly recommend it and I will be back next year!
Aug 03, 2013
everyone looks nice, and really helpful we enjoyed our stay, then coming there for the past 20 years, Mark and his family really take care the campground.
Aug 03, 2013
We so enjoyed camping by the relaxing sound of the river. Tubing then relaxing in the pool was perfect. The playground was first rate and the staff was very friendly.
Aug 03, 2013
The expense of the campground has gotten to the outragous point. Nightly camping should not be more than a hotel.
Aug 03, 2013
Internet wifi would not work at all on site 40. No excuse for this with the technology available now .
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
First time staying here. We will definitely be back. Campground personnel were friendly and knowledgeable and present throughout the day. Other KOA's should be like this one.
Aug 02, 2013
We stayed four nights and had the greatest time. Staff is super friendly. We will be back!
Aug 01, 2013
A bit pricey compared to state parks, but this is a very nice campground with a friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful location close to the quiet entrance to the national park (away from all the nonsense of gatlinburg and pigeon forge). Right on the river with fun tubing.
Jul 31, 2013
Second time we have stayed here at Townsend. Only 2 complaints. Campsite needed a little more gravel(muddy when it rained) and the internet reception is terrible. They need to install a booster. Some people still have to work even on vacation. Otherwise we love camping here.
Jul 30, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Will stay there again. Only complaint was from my husband about the men's room not being clean.
Jul 29, 2013
This is a great campground but the cost is very expensive. Was wondering why you do not carry KOA products in the store.
Jul 29, 2013
Wonderful time. Pool was great. Clean family atmosphere.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Located just down the road from a entrance to the Smokie's. Very quiet atmosphere. A lot of families with kids. Located a distance from the hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Staff were friendly and helpful - circuit break blew on hookup at 10:45 PM, left a message with desk and by 8 AM it was fixed. Sites were a little tight - seen more than one camper struggle but staff helped
Jul 29, 2013
The staff was very kind and helpful, my only complaint was the sites were small.
Jul 29, 2013
I was in site 62, could have been larger. But everyone was very helpful. Thank-you.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
We love Townsend KOA
Jul 28, 2013
We had a great time and it was the kids first camping trip. They loved tubing. The personal treated us very well.
Jul 28, 2013
Great people at this KOA has had us coming back year after year. Everything is well maintained and everyone is ready to accommodate your every need no matter how small. I am ready to come back again!
Jul 28, 2013
Very clean! Lots of fun things for the kids to do. We will be back again next year!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.