Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 17, 2015
One rude lady at front desk .i am going to cancel other res. unless she is relocated . If I owned koa she would not work for me .call joe at 865 719 7626
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
This campground is beyond awesome. The entire camping areas were extremely clean as was the entire campground. The entire staff went above and beyond to be helpful. It is without a doubt the best KOA campground we have visited. It truly embraces the true spirit you expect to find at a KOA!!!!! Thank you for a terrific visit!!!
Aug 16, 2015
Incredible campground so close to the park. We have visited many times and will be back. IMO, the best place to camp in the Smokeys. Mark and the crew are top shelf people.
Aug 16, 2015
Very disappointed in our stay. We had a problem with a local wood seller and thought that KOA handled it poorly. We canceled the remainder of our stay and moved to another local campground. It also changed our minds about a two week stay next year with our son and his family.
Aug 16, 2015
Was very nice there was a little road noise sites were smaller then we're used to but the patio area and fireplace ring were very nice
Aug 15, 2015
The campground was beautiful, and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpfu. Our only complaint was the new stone fire pit ( we were on one of the lots with the new patios and fire pits). The pit was fairly deep and had no holes for ventilation so it was VERY difficult to get a campfire going. I hope this will be corrected before our next stay.
Aug 15, 2015
Absolutely beautiful spot. Close to the mountains if that is what you want to explore.
Aug 15, 2015
Very quiet and clean. Staff was extremely friendly. Loved having laundry facilities
Aug 14, 2015
Great stay as usual! This was our 3rd one this year and we have 3 more coming up !
Aug 14, 2015
The grounds are beautiful & the staff nice. Our only disappoint was the stench from the port a potties across from our site. They were cleaned on Monday.. but all weekend in the high heat the smell was awful at our site and tubers from the river kept cutting through our site to use them. They need to be cleaned more often especially at the hottest point on Summer & with campers and tubers using
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Campground was well maintained and very clean.
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful as always! Been coming here for over 20 years and it just keeps getting better and better.
Aug 13, 2015
great will do it again
Aug 12, 2015
The new campsites are great. More like home. Not so close to your neighbor. The only complaint is the water pressure in the evenings. At times it would almost go off. Very clean campground.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Would give 5 stars but most of staff are not very pet friendly and say some nasty things about pets even though we clean up after ours. Some were nice but a few were not. Most campers bring their pets, that is why they camp. Need to be more pet friendly to the campers.
Aug 11, 2015
Always a great time at KOA Townsend. The campground is clean. The campsites are awesome and the staff is the best in the business. We can't wait to come back in a couple weeks
Aug 10, 2015
The Townsend KOA is a beautiful campground. However the nightly rate is way too high. This trip we were accosted by a female employee because we were not using the KOA rental tubes, we brought our own but apparently she thought we rented them elsewhere. Either way, she could use some soft skills training.
Aug 10, 2015
My wife and our little Silky Terror (lol) love staying at KOA's because they are all AOK! This has to be the best KOA we have stayed at. Thanks for the great time and the friendliest staff we have ever seen. Also thanks to Craig! Great Job Guys! Jeff and Catie "Camping with Vengeance!"
Aug 10, 2015
great camp ground , clean, nice patios the host were outstanding..
Aug 10, 2015
Lots of shade with a river to play in!
Aug 07, 2015
We where only there for one night but really liked the patio. We will be back when we can stay longer.
Aug 07, 2015
best campground ever!!!! will return over and over again. loved our campsite. customer service ok laundry need AC but it was a place that we will go again
Aug 06, 2015
It would be great to have a small bath house near the cabins and tent areas. Like the way you re did the middle section in the 50's area. Enjoyed the kid activities that we get to do while we stay there.
Aug 06, 2015
Family loved it. We are already planning next years trip!! Pleasant and helpful staff.
Aug 06, 2015
We had a wonderful experience and everyone was so helpful. We really appreciated the help backing in our camper since this was our first time using our camper. We liked it so much we booked an extra night.
Aug 06, 2015
Great campground. The staff are wonderful and are willing to help at any time.
Aug 05, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and the kids activities were great. Did not feel comfortable having a campfire due to limited space and being so near parked vehicles. That was a disappointment
Aug 05, 2015
LOVED it! Would definitely stay again
Aug 05, 2015
The sites were a little small for my liking.There was no where to hang my lantern.Other sites had hangers on the tables.I had to swap mine for one from another site.The raccoons were destructive. They got into my cooler and destroyed about $100 worth of food. There were two dead trees hanging over my tent.Rolled the dice on that one.Anyway, nice enough, I guess.Poor people can't afford to stay.
Aug 04, 2015
Overall problably the best option in Townsend. We stayed on site 14. Site was level. I like the upgrades they are making to some of the sites. Grass needed cutting and bath houses stunk and had no Ac in them. Was also disappointed that I couldn't bring my golf cart. If staying in Townsend will camp here again. To this day Koa Cherokee by far the best and is the benchmark for how I rate.
Aug 04, 2015
Too many sites crowded in. Nice looking area and we had a decent pull through site (probably the best in the park). Love the trees (shade) as well, but the place needs about 1/3 of the sites removed and the rest spaced out. Internal roads are very tight and confusing as well. The folks working here are nice and helpful. Just too many sites for the space. Also WiFi is weak and slow.
Aug 03, 2015
So very angry that you've taken away all but 1 or 2 of the good tent sites along the river. Those of us that love to tent camp are now relegated to the "low rent" areas by the port-a-pottys! THE ALMIGHTY DOLLAR WINS AGAIN!!! You should be ashamed!!! Many we talked to feel the same way...very angry!!!
Aug 03, 2015
Close to creek .... Playground was good... Camping area was updated and clean
Aug 03, 2015
we had a great time
Aug 03, 2015
The campground and bathhouse were kept extremely neat and clean. The staff was very nice and helpful. Great campground - family and children friendly yet quite enough for folk camping without children. Just a great place overall - highly approve!!!
Aug 03, 2015
This was our first stay at any KOA, and it far exceeded every expectation. We would never stay anywhere else when visiting SMNP.
Aug 03, 2015
We really enjoyed the friendly staff, clean bathrooms, and other amenities provided at the campground. We took advantage of the playground, tube rentals, and the pool. I do wish that there were additional access points to the river. When we asked to be near the river, we did not realize that we would still have to walk to the other end of the campground just to let the kids play in the water.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
couldn't have asked for a better camping experience!The staff was extremely nice & helpful!
Aug 03, 2015
Great place l, but very expensive
Aug 03, 2015
The site we stayed in was easy in and out, the kids enjoyed the playground, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you for and enjoyable stay.
Aug 03, 2015
Clean and well maintained facility. There was a heavy sewer smell at main restrooms and dump station too near tube and bike rentals which could be a health concern.
Aug 03, 2015
This was the maiden voyage of our new camper and we had an awesome time! So many helpful KOA employees and campers with helpful tips and suggestions for a new camper. We love the Townsend KOA!
Aug 02, 2015
Awesome family campground with friendly staff!
Aug 02, 2015
Great site location on the river. Well staffed with friendly people. Awesome facilities, as far as, showers, restrooms and laundry. And shelter house, play areas, and amphitheater. Great stay in the smokies.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award