Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Mar 29, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
Our 4 year old loved the playground.
Mar 28, 2014
The managers and other workers in the store and office were great. Campsites are too small although I understand the need to have as many campsites as possible. We were so close we could hear the conversations inside the next camper.
Mar 26, 2014
When me and my son Tyler go on vacation. The one main thing is we don't want to have hassles with our camping experience. At KOA we never have to worry about anything. We are greeted with smiles. If theres any thing we need all we have to do is ask and we are taken care of. The best service one can get when camping is staying at KOA in Townsend TN. they made us feel as welcome as a family.
Mar 26, 2014
The riverfront was gorgeous and relaxing and we enjoyed our Friday so much! The new playground rocks!!! And when our family had an emergency situation the staff was so kind to accommodate us until we could take care or things. My husband said all the staff was genuine and concerned for us! Thank you all!
Mar 25, 2014
We have traveled a lot of places, but this is our favorite campground. Everything is always clean & they are constantly making upgrades to the campground. ALL of the staff is always so kind & helpful, especially Al & his wife!
Mar 25, 2014
This was by far one of the best camping trips our family has ever taken. Our site was beautiful and everything was very well kept and very clean. Can't wait to stay again!
Mar 25, 2014
we loved the dog park
Mar 25, 2014
Mar 24, 2014
Great stay - weather could have been better ! Would give them 10 stars!
Mar 24, 2014
Enjoyed the campground and enjoyed our neighbors. New lifetime friends.
Mar 24, 2014
I feel that the site we stayed on could use some more gravel. There was quite a bit of exposed soil and it was being track onto the concrete pad and then in the camper. Then it rained and was very muddy
Mar 24, 2014
Enjoyed the stay! My only word of advice is to add more landscape. We stayed at Disney's Fort Wilderness Campground in Orlando last month and it was impressive. The amount of landscape that provided a buffer between sites. Also I liked the small waist cans that were spread through out the camp ground and emptied daily. Pretty convenient. You guys do a great job and thanks for such a nice local KOA
Mar 24, 2014
Mar 22, 2014
Great stay. The facilities were clean and well-maintained. Staff was very friendly. About as good as a campground gets.
Mar 22, 2014
My stay was fantastic. Two problems, though. 1st was the terrible loud noise being made while remodeling the pool. The grinding noise was deafening and made me irritable. Plus, draining water from that area ran in front of playground area which caused the small children no way to cross it without stepping into it and soaking their shoes. I probably wouldn't have camped here if I knew in advance.
Mar 21, 2014
We love it .. Very friendly people. They make you feel like your part of the koa family
Mar 20, 2014
Mar 20, 2014
As always, we had a great time. Fantastic campground. Very clean. Amazing employees. Hospitality at its best. We love the Townsend KOA!!!
Mar 17, 2014
We had a great time, My 11 year old son and my 7 year old daughter loved the playground. The campground was very clean and well maintained. We definitely will be back. This will be our place to stay in Townsend!
Mar 17, 2014
The staff was friendly and very helpful. The facility was very clean and maintained.
Mar 13, 2014
Mar 13, 2014
pull through a bit short for our 28' fifth wheel.
Mar 10, 2014
Very nice campground and friendly staff but would likely stay at a different one in the area next time due to KOA's high cost. $65 for one night off season is too much.
Mar 03, 2014
It's always nicer when the campground is at lower capacity, but what a terrific place. Quiet, we were along the river, biked into the GSMNP, and just loved our stay. Terrific campground that we will absolutely revisit--our new go-to destination.
Mar 03, 2014
Goo
Feb 10, 2014
Mark and his staff made our stay very enjoyable. This was our first KOA visit...there will be more!
Jan 22, 2014
Had a great spot right on the river which was very, very peaceful. The only improvement I would recommend would be to improve the internet reception so it it strong at all campsites.
Jan 07, 2014
One of the most beautiful KOAs we have visited. It had easy access to Cade's Cove and Miss Lilly's resturant down the street was excellent. The campground was clean and taken care of very well. We can't wait to visit again.
Jan 06, 2014
This is the only KOA we've stayed at, usually at State Parks or Army Corp of Engineers. Staff really nice. It was very pretty by the stream, however the sites were very close. Some sites might not allow for awning room. The showers and bathrooms were clean, but some of the shower bldgs were not heated. Cold clothes dryers did not want to dry towels. Have to be close for wifi.
Jan 04, 2014
Great time at Townsend KOA as always! Even in freezing temps. Our kids love it here and can't wait to come back! Thanks!!
Jan 03, 2014
The sites were great right along the river. The wireless internet did not work and we were given a site we had to share parking space with another camper. Not enough room for the 2 campers and both trucks. Luckily the site next to us was open and we could park there. The staff was not very helpful.
Jan 02, 2014
Jan 01, 2014
Wireless internet is way toooo slow. There could not have been 25 campers in the park either. Would hate to see it when park is full. Needs to work better and faster since there is no phone service then either.
Dec 29, 2013
Dec 27, 2013
Love this campground. This will be our only location to stay. It's beautiful and the staff was very friendly. Can't wait to camp there again!!!
Dec 24, 2013
Dec 13, 2013
Dec 11, 2013
Dec 10, 2013
Dec 08, 2013
Great time,weather not perfect but hey first week of Dec.Nice site overlooking river.Will be back in spring.
Dec 04, 2013
Always love our time in Townsend and at the KOA. Staff is great! Thanks!
Dec 04, 2013
Dec 03, 2013
Dec 02, 2013
Great place and experience in every way!
Dec 02, 2013
We alway s enjoy Townsend KOA Mark and all the people are very helpful and friendly.
Dec 02, 2013
Dec 02, 2013
We love this campground! Everything is clean and accessible and it is a great location for other activities. Folks were friendly and we are already planning our next trip there. Thanks
Dec 01, 2013
We went for Thanksgiving week and it snowed. We had a site by the river and listening to the currents was so peaceful. Thankful for the leash free dog area and the basketball goal was a hit with the kids. It is not far am from Cade's Cove. We spotted lots of deer. Also not too far from Pigeon Forge and Gatlingburg. Traffic was not bad at all. It has a store and they can refill your propane gas.
Dec 01, 2013
The staff very helpful. Awesome visit.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.