Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 14, 2015
Awesome campground!!
Sep 14, 2015
We had a wonderful time like usual. Staff is so very helpful anticipating our every need.
Sep 14, 2015
SIGNS WITH DIRECTION ARROWS WOULD BE GOOD.SHOWING THE DIRECTION OF TRAFFIC.
Sep 14, 2015
1st appreciate your working with us re: site ; & placing us on #77 & 61; loved the updates on sites; however office communication improvement on cking in & receiving receipts & site info: Internet & TV channels ;work campers great & friendly;
Sep 14, 2015
Great as always! Kind, friendly staff and clean, neat campground. I almost don't want to tell anyone about my camping gem! This KOA is our home in the Smokies. See you there!
Sep 13, 2015
We were completely impressed with the Townsend KOA and plan to return often in the future...their staff was very helpful and their facilities impressive!
Sep 10, 2015
It was good, but the major drawback was the campsites on top of each other. Being in a hybrid we were at the disposal of our neighbors for when we could go to sleep. Unfortunately they enjoyed visiting till 1:00. This would not have been a problem if they're sitting area was literally 2 feet from our tent beds. The price for this .type of amenities is way yoy over priced. The pictures are misleadi
Sep 09, 2015
staff was great!!! Love the river sites!!
Sep 08, 2015
Loved the redesign of the lower campground. The staff was very helpful and the time spent in the campground was wonderful.
Sep 08, 2015
Extra clean, very beautiful, workers friendly and helpful. We will come again for sure.
Sep 08, 2015
Have stayed numerous times. Always good. Really like the improvements on the sites but not happy with the increase in price. Won't be able to stay as much in the future. Too expensive for a campsite.
Sep 08, 2015
I loved the upgrades that you made to the main bathhouse. And to the lower full hookup camping sites. We have been coming to the same campground for over 27 years. Thanks for keeping it in great shape.
Sep 08, 2015
Would stay more often if the rates were lower
Sep 08, 2015
Awesome...folks are super kind / great facility. Only recommendation would be to have the store / sweet shoppe carry fresh cooked food like chicken / sandwiches or something. It would be nice to make a stop if you traveled all day and didn't have time to cook. Otherwise, GREAT!
Sep 08, 2015
Great location, quiet side of the Smokey Mountains. The staff goes above and beyond. Everyone there was so friendly! Also, the facilities are well maintained and very clean. Sites are level and have beautiful trees. We will definitely stay there again!
Sep 08, 2015
A big thank you to all your staff. They even offered to take our trash off! Store employees display of cheer was much appreciated! You all do a great job in helping families enjoy themselves!
Sep 08, 2015
the Townsend KOA was extremely clean, well kept and the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Can't say enough good things - especially about Mickey!
Sep 08, 2015
Staff was super friendly and very helpful. Campground is beautiful. Would go back tomorrow.
Sep 08, 2015
We loved our stay! It was a great 3 day weekend and our site was perfect. We always love our experience at KOA Townsend. We have been going for about 4 years now.
Sep 07, 2015
Everythjng about the campground was great except the price! I could've gotten a nice motel room just down the street for 30% less
Sep 05, 2015
We have stayed several times and really enjoy this KOA. It is well kept and the people are very friendly. We like the location because we can easily get to local attractions without being in the heavy traffic areas.
Sep 04, 2015
Sep 03, 2015
Had one of the best camping experiences at this KOA!!! The staff was outstanding and the campground was phenomenal!!!
Sep 03, 2015
Great campground. I would not hesitate to recommend to anybody. Very clean and beautiful location. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Sep 02, 2015
Friendly and courteous staff. Clean campground. Enjoyed our stay. Would recommend and stay again. The staff were exceptional! Please pass along the impression a smile and friendly face makes on a guest. It goes along way!
Sep 02, 2015
The sites were really close together so close that people were constantly walking through our area. The cost was a little high for what little amenities there were
Sep 01, 2015
Sep 01, 2015
Next Friday will be our 100th night camping at the Townsend KOA over the last five years and we have loved every time we have stayed there. Staff is AWESOME
Aug 31, 2015
Had a great time! Very clean and very friendly campground...can't wait to come back again!!
Aug 31, 2015
Stay was very nice but your prices are way too high!
Aug 31, 2015
Very nice campground! Staff was pleasant and helpful. I felt the cost of the sites was a little high.
Aug 29, 2015
Great experience! The staff were excellent! Great location!
Aug 28, 2015
Great spot on the river. I wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 27, 2015
wonderful !
Aug 27, 2015
Thats the better Koa
Aug 27, 2015
KOA PROPRE ET SUPER BIEN ÉQUIPÉ UN MODÈLE À SUIVRE POUR ÉTABLIR DES STANDARDS ÉLEVÉS DE TOUT KOA 9.9 / 10 car il y beaucoup de koa à visiter mais celui vi vaut le détour et l'arrêt aurions aimé allongé notre séjour Félicitations à toute l,équipe pour accueil et les informations touristiques
Aug 25, 2015
Really a beautiful KOA. Staff was incredibly friendly, bathrooms were immaculate. I have a shower in my rv, but i used their showers, they were so very nice. The river beside this KOA is worth every penny of the cost. It is a perfect mountain rv site. Nice biking trail right across the street. My family and I cannot wait to return!
Aug 25, 2015
This campground has to be the best KOA we have ever visited. The entire staff was friendly, helpful, and showed they actually enjoyed their job. One employee stood out Sarge who was on top of cleaning up the sites soon as everyone left and running the hay ride. Seems like we saw him helping all over the place and was very friendly.
Aug 24, 2015
We have been coming to Townsend KOA for the past 6-7 years. The only negative review for this past trip is that we schedule a year in advance each trip, upon check in we were told our site was recently upgraded with sewer which meant it would be camper only but since we reserved last year we could stay there but would be charged the higher rate than what it was when reserved, I feel we should not.
Aug 24, 2015
We stayed in site 123. Simply put, this is the best camp site I have ever stayed in. The trees and the stream were simply wonderful. The campground was extremely clean including the bathrooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will only stay at this campground in our future trips to the Smokies.
Aug 24, 2015
One of the best campgrounds we have stayed in.
Aug 24, 2015
Quiet, Clean, Beatifully landscaped, lovely pool. Enjoyed it very much.
Aug 24, 2015
We realize it was near the end of the family vacation season and the park was very crowded and noisy. And, due to the bad economy, some of the parks are almost half full of resident families (due to no fault of their own). But the late night traffic noise rules need to be adhered to and enforced, no matter the circumstances. We were parked right up front, near the gate and didn't get much sleep.
Aug 24, 2015
Amazing upgrades to the sites. We are super pleased, as always, with our Townsend KOA.
Aug 24, 2015
Daisy is simply great, always makes the visit more fun with her friendly banter.
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Have stay there the last 4 times. Great place. Friendly staff.
Aug 23, 2015
All the staff were very personable. Baths,Showers and Grounds very clean
Aug 22, 2015
Everything was clean. We all went tubing which was readily available and convenient at the campground. We didn't have to leave to be able to tube. Liked having the shuttle service for it too.
Aug 22, 2015
This campground was very well kept. Close to all the places we wanted to go and see
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award