Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Apr 27, 2014
This is my favorite of all the KOA campgrounds I have stayed in. We love the area and the people there are extremely friendly and helpful.
Apr 25, 2014
Showers could be hotter. Nice campground.
Apr 24, 2014
Met our family there and enjoyed the easy access to The Great Smoky Mountains National Park.
Apr 24, 2014
Great staff and clean facilities. My only complaint would be that the sites seemed to be a little too small for my liking. But, we did enjoy our stay.
Apr 24, 2014
Ranks near the top of our all time favorite campgrounds....we will definitely return
Apr 24, 2014
Apr 23, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Very close together and the site next too us had two vehichles and could not get out of our area
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
nice staff. friendly campers. love the mountains. and very peaceful. we will be back thank you.
Apr 21, 2014
our stay was very enjoyable. the staff was very friendly and helpful. we will be back in the near future.
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
Great fun! Campground was clean and laid out well. The restrooms and showers were sparkly clean too! We'll be back again soon!
Apr 21, 2014
Friendly, clean. Nice playground and pool area for the kids. Loved the river going through the campground.
Apr 20, 2014
They truly try to make your stay the very best! Love the "family" feel you get upon arrival! This is the Best KOA ever!
Apr 20, 2014
What a find! We reserved a spot near the river recommended by the staff. Beautiful, and the staff was so helpful. We will be sure to visit again when we are in the area! Bill & Ann
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
Our stay was awesome. The place was perfect! Afterwards, we had a vehicle problem and returned to the KOA for help finding a mechanic. Sherri, at the Office referred us to a place in Marysville that fixed everything. Without her, we would have had to end our trip. Thank you!
Apr 20, 2014
This campground was WAY overpriced. A similar campground right beside here with THE SAME emmenities was $30 cheaper and there campsites were even a little nicer father apart and nice decks with the sites . I'm sure we were just paying for the KOA name but we won't be doing that again. The people who worked there were very nice tho.
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 17, 2014
Wonderful campround! Very clean! Pool is awesome! Scenery is beautiful! Wonderful employees! We love the koa townsend!!!
Apr 15, 2014
Our 3 day stay was great. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean and comfortable grounds. Will stay again.
Apr 13, 2014
Nice clean well maintained. Beautiful area/location
Apr 12, 2014
Fantastic little gem of a park! Beautiful scenery and great staff - especially Suzanne and Al! General Manager Mark is a great host!
Apr 09, 2014
Had a wonderful stay. As usual staff is so friendly and helpful.
Apr 07, 2014
Old campground but nice and clean. Workers seemed very nice and helpful.
Apr 07, 2014
Apr 07, 2014
Apr 07, 2014
Only one item I would like to see you put in ... in each shower stall have a shelf or rack installed that one can place item on while showering! Moving the curtain to get to items causes that area to get wet. Small but important issue!
Apr 07, 2014
Apr 06, 2014
This was one of the best all around campgrounds we've been to. The views are excellent and you have all you need at your fingertips.
Apr 05, 2014
Wonderful place; clean and friendly people. Nice facility
Apr 04, 2014
Location, location, location. Very close to GSMNP. 25 minutes to Pigeon Forge and 40 minutes to Knoxville.
Apr 03, 2014
Apr 01, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Great staff, very friendly professional and accommodating. This KOA sets the standard for all others, great location and amenities. We will definitely be back!!
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Great place, great people, great staff, great great
Mar 29, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
Our 4 year old loved the playground.
Mar 28, 2014
The managers and other workers in the store and office were great. Campsites are too small although I understand the need to have as many campsites as possible. We were so close we could hear the conversations inside the next camper.
Mar 26, 2014
When me and my son Tyler go on vacation. The one main thing is we don't want to have hassles with our camping experience. At KOA we never have to worry about anything. We are greeted with smiles. If theres any thing we need all we have to do is ask and we are taken care of. The best service one can get when camping is staying at KOA in Townsend TN. they made us feel as welcome as a family.
Mar 26, 2014
The riverfront was gorgeous and relaxing and we enjoyed our Friday so much! The new playground rocks!!! And when our family had an emergency situation the staff was so kind to accommodate us until we could take care or things. My husband said all the staff was genuine and concerned for us! Thank you all!
Mar 25, 2014
We have traveled a lot of places, but this is our favorite campground. Everything is always clean & they are constantly making upgrades to the campground. ALL of the staff is always so kind & helpful, especially Al & his wife!
Mar 25, 2014
This was by far one of the best camping trips our family has ever taken. Our site was beautiful and everything was very well kept and very clean. Can't wait to stay again!
Mar 25, 2014
we loved the dog park
Mar 25, 2014
Mar 24, 2014
Great stay - weather could have been better ! Would give them 10 stars!
Mar 24, 2014
Enjoyed the campground and enjoyed our neighbors. New lifetime friends.
Mar 24, 2014
I feel that the site we stayed on could use some more gravel. There was quite a bit of exposed soil and it was being track onto the concrete pad and then in the camper. Then it rained and was very muddy

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.