Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12

RV Reviews

Jul 28, 2015
The stay at this koa was wonderful. We are retired, and new to all this. The staff was pleasant, and most accommodating. We'll be back for sure.
Jul 28, 2015
What a fun family place to stay! Instead of the mountains, the kids wanted to play at the playground and in the pool. Our dog was welcomed and had a great time, too! Lots of rain during our stay has convinced me to get a cabin next time instead of staying in our tent! Very friendly staff!
Jul 28, 2015
Great family campground!
Jul 28, 2015
We loved everything about the campground! Our granddaughter had a wonderful time and the playground area is so nice to her it seemed like a "park". Everyday she asked "When are we going up to the park?"
Jul 27, 2015
We've been coming here for years. Great place for the kids and families!
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Great staff, Adam,Jordan,SARGE! Great new additions that have been added look great. Every where I looked Mark was working ! Great job by all. See ya next year!!!!!
Jul 27, 2015
Our first visit and it could not have gone better. Extremely friendly staff, clean grounds, great location and RV lot was perfect and spacious
Jul 27, 2015
We will be coming back. Grandkids enjoyed it .
Jul 27, 2015
very nice place and staff
Jul 27, 2015
Our family has stayed at KOA since before it even became KOA. This particular time it seemed that more sites had been added squeezing people on top of one another. On top of the closeness of the camp sites our family was told that walking in between campsites is not allowed when coming out of the river from swimming. We have decided that unfortunately we will not be staying here again.
Jul 27, 2015
Our weekend getaway!!!
Jul 27, 2015
Great amenities, great location, sites are a little closer together than i like , but had a great time camping in townsend on the river...
Jul 27, 2015
Very clean! Nice staff! I only wish they would have told us that they were going to have to do excavation on the site next to ours! Our dog was terrified and it was loud! Maybe we could of been moved to a different site???
Jul 27, 2015
Awesome campground at the doorstep of the smokies! Right on the river with helpful staff and upgraded amenities. Many activities for children. We were booked for 3 days and we stayed for 5. We would have stayed more if we could.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Fantastic place to camp! Great showers! Staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly!
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Wonderful!!
Jul 25, 2015
Wonderful staff, clean restrooms! Great place to stay!
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Always a great stay!
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
We love this campground. It has become an "annual retreat" for our entire family. The owners are making some great improvements.
Jul 21, 2015
Like the campground but not happy with busy area our lot was in. Too much traffic with site. Fires were too close for lot sizes.
Jul 21, 2015
great
Jul 21, 2015
Had a great time , kids had a blast , the Bible day camp and family night fun was awesome !! Pool and bathrooms super clean ,all staff very friendly ,Def would stay again :)
Jul 21, 2015
Amenities great. However too pricey for camping. Sites were extremely small. We had a hard time getting our trailer backed in and our truck still stuck out in the road. Plus they would let us camp near our friends because they were in a tent and we have a camper.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
It was very nice and the folks working there were nice and helpful
Jul 20, 2015
Great, family friendly campground!
Jul 20, 2015
A little cramped and the bathrooms could use a little more TLC. Other than that, nice place. Pool was great!
Jul 20, 2015
Seriously the best showers I have ever seen in a campground! Friendly people and accommodating to our late arrival. Nice pool, very clean, small but perfect for the kids, and warm! Right near the entrance to the Cades Cove, Smoky Mountain National Park.
Jul 20, 2015
We have camped here for many years always enjoy our stay
Jul 20, 2015
Townsend Koa is a very nice campground the people there are always very helpful. They have lots of activities for the children.
Jul 20, 2015
Great family oriented campground. Plenty of things to keep the kids busy. If your looking for a place with great views close to the mountains and lots of kids and friendly adults this is the place.
Jul 20, 2015
Very nice campground, but seems rather expensive.
Jul 19, 2015
Reserved site #59 was relocated to another location due to park site improvements. KOA should have notified me prior to arrival. New location was not what I wanted. However, site upgrades are excellent.
Jul 19, 2015
This was our second stay at this KOA. Seven years ago it was a great place, this year was even better. They did a lot of upgrades to the newly remodel campsites with nice table and chairs, paver patio, stone fire pits. We love the river out back for tubing and the location of this KOA in Townsend gives you a more natural stay, no hussle of a big city. The city is only 15 miles away and has it all.
Jul 19, 2015
We had a great time! The staff members were super friendly and always eager to accommodate the needs of the visitors! They were very proactive. Thanks for making our trip a memorable one!
Jul 19, 2015
great koa, clean and very friendly
Jul 19, 2015
We had a great time. Plan on staying there next time we go to the Smokies.
Jul 18, 2015
Campground is beautiful & clean. People are friendly. I have 1 concern. I was walking 2 small dogs. There were campers checking in and 1 pulled out & 1 behind pulled down. I saw the man who had been helping campers back in on a golfcart so I stepped into empty campsite to get out of way. As I did, dogs peed on grass. The man nicely said to contain the dogs to the dog area. That is far to take them
Jul 18, 2015
Upgrades were so nice; bigger sites, paver patio, and fire pit. Very nice workers and very clean campground. We would stay here again! Downsides; the wood sold to most people didn't burn and the garbage man came to empty the dumpster at 5:30 in the morning! : (
Jul 16, 2015
We left our site for the day and the staff took items from our campsite. We told the office but nothing was done. So we had to replace these items on the road. Also cleaning bathrooms from 1:00 to 3:00 PM was very inconvenient. Also price was too high in our opinion, even more than Pigeon Forge KOA.
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Need better wifi. Suggestion to put wifi extenders around campground.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.