Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 23, 2017
The staff was GREAT,the BEST we've had the pleasure of meeting. Kudos to Jimbo and "Miss Daisy" they are the best!!
Jul 23, 2017
I became ill while staying at this KOA in Townsend TN . Me daughter's went to the office and told them I needed to leave. The staff was so professional in handeling our check-out, and gave back the money for the days we missed. So, I and my family Thank you! June Young
Jul 23, 2017
We can not say enough good about our stay! The staff was wonderful (especially Adam) and the campground was very clean and well taken care of! Such a beautiful place! We will be back for sure!!
Jul 23, 2017
Staff was not friendly...way too serious. Man/owner?? thin with gray hair and glasses looked ticked off all the time..Max, staff.. ALWAYS on your back!!
Jul 22, 2017
The only complaint I have was that the internet was hit and miss. My wife had homework for her online class, but we were unable to stay on the internet long enough to get any work done. Other than that, our stay was good.
Jul 22, 2017
The work and camp personnel are passionate and were friendly. The campground was very well maintained and had great amenities.
Jul 22, 2017
We love this campground & the staff is extremely friendly & helpful! Our only complaint this time was our river front site #78 did not have enough shade. It got pretty hot at times but thankfully we had the river right there to cool us off😉
Jul 22, 2017
Very clean, quiet, nice spaces. Very friendly and helpful staff. Daily trash pickup. We didn't have children with us but noticed very nice playground and pool. There were activities for the kids. The river is directly behind campground with easy access for tubing or playing in river. Nice camp store too. Nice dog run area, small but room for dogs to be free.
Jul 22, 2017
This campsite is simply fantastic! The sites are roomy so you don't feel right on top of one another as it can be crowded due to demand for such a great campground! Staff was very attentive. Everything was clean & taken care of. Much for kids to do. River was outstanding! Highly recommend as a place to unwind and enjoy nature and loved ones.
Jul 21, 2017
We loved this KOA! Staff assist you to locate and get parked in the ideal place in your spot, then leave you alone to have fun! Temperature here on the creek was at least 10 degrees cooler than elsewhere---so nice for hot July times in Tennessee! Bathhouse very clean, pool well maintained, much better than average playground, excellent patio site. We loved it!
Jul 21, 2017
Site 61 was high traffic area next to basketball goal and dumpster. Worst site for traffic and noisy. Site and campground clean and well kept.
Jul 19, 2017
Great
Jul 19, 2017
very relaxing vacation. enjoyed church service.
Jul 19, 2017
Very disappointed, no posting anywhere about no golf carts allowed, dogs off leash across from us and barkers, noise from same site past 10:00, small little scooters (gas) running thru park, restrooms not cleaned or stocked as often as they should be having ample # of camp workers.
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
Great place. We stayed 6 days and really enjoyed it.
Jul 18, 2017
Everyone there was very helpful.
Jul 18, 2017
Plenty of staff and they are all wearing smiles and ready to help at anytime. They assist you in backing in your site and even deliver fire wood and ice. Extremely clean
Jul 17, 2017
Would have given a 10 and 5 stars if I felt good about the price, which keeps going up more each year.
Jul 17, 2017
Great stay again.Other than my 2 yr old grandson got stung by wasp on playground.Seems they're bad there a lot and needs constant attn. for the kids.And we had a yellow jacket nest in the holly at the base of the big tree at end of site 60.Maybe yellow jacket traps thru-out the grounds.
Jul 17, 2017
The staff were very attentive and always around if we needed something. The kids really enjoyed the campground and basketball area. Great campground.
Jul 17, 2017
Please improve the wifi Great staff Amazing facilities a
Jul 17, 2017
very nice, the staff are very friendly. I think it could use a little clean up. I wish there was more concrete for kids bikes
Jul 17, 2017
The staff is very helpful esp when you are arriving. Very good at assisting with positioning the RV. Campground is very clean.
Jul 17, 2017
Excellent campground, it was our 1st time and we throughly enjoyed it. So peaceful and the staff was super friendly!
Jul 17, 2017
Love it there wouldn't stay anywhere else. Now that they have church groups coming in for kids and adults it's even better.
Jul 17, 2017
Great campground especially if you have kids. Staff nice and helpful. Bathrooms and show ers could be better. Suggestion - check them couple times daily cause there's lots of people using them.
Jul 17, 2017
We had a wonderful time! The campground was so nice, updated, and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. We will definitely return!
Jul 16, 2017
Great experience! Would go back
Jul 16, 2017
It was our second stay in two years. So amazing once again we scheduled our third stay before we left. Fantastic staff!
Jul 14, 2017
Great campground, very clean! Some sites are close to highway and can be a bit noisier than back by the river. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, including the store up the hill. I would stay here again!
Jul 14, 2017
Staff wasn't really friendly at all. Got to the campsite and only to find out they put us between two families with barking dogs that barked all day & night and nothing was done. Than at 2 am a truck came through twice loud as can be still nothing. Only pretty clean restrooms.
Jul 13, 2017
It was great
Jul 12, 2017
everything was great but be warned if you stay at tent site 100...there is NO shade...otherwise it's a great site and a great campground. Best hosts you will evr meet!
Jul 12, 2017
Great camp
Jul 11, 2017
In the opinion of this family, the Townsend KOA sets the standard for a great campground. Exceptional in every regard.
Jul 11, 2017
Good
Jul 11, 2017
The campsite is too crowded. Specifically, site 38 is wedged in between two other sites that provide little privacy when outdoors. I also was surprised to find no charcoal grill and only a shallow fire bowl for amenities. The bathrooms were clean and the private shower stalls were a nice feature. The pool was nice and the river access was good.
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
great people at the location we stayed in clean place and helpful people there. enjoyed staying there
Jul 10, 2017
We have been to this KOA at least 10 times and have loved each and every time! Staff is amazing and so helpful. Location is absolutely gorgeous! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!
Jul 10, 2017
Game room needs to be updated. Everything else great, especially the staff.
Jul 10, 2017
This is a good campground but the staff seems a bit overwhelmed at times. I was billed for someone else's purchase and it took them over 30min to "correct" the error and I still don't see the credit back on my visa (5 days later). On a positive note: bathroom and shower stalls were in great condition.
Jul 10, 2017
This is a great place to stay. We love it. Right on the river it is great. It is clean and the staff are very friendly! We will be going back!!!
Jul 10, 2017
Great location, quiet and feels like camping! Grounds very well kept. Highly recommend going here.
Jul 10, 2017
Very nice campground, clean. very expensive, should not charge for each adult or each vehicle.
Jul 10, 2017
Another great weekend at the Townsend KOA. My camping friends and I agree if we had to commit to one campground, this would be the place. It's clean, the KOA staff is very helpful, the sites are spacious and level, and the kids have a ball at the pool, in the river, playing basketball, and riding bikes.
Jul 10, 2017
wonderfull, thank you
Jul 10, 2017
We like the staff.they help you put your camper in the right spot. They are very friendly. Hay rides,bingo, swimming,bike riding,grilling,tubing. Lots of fun.
Jul 09, 2017
Nicest campground in the smokies. Has everything you need for any type of family. Will definitely be going back to this campground.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award