Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13

RV Reviews

Apr 18, 2015
The grounds are beautiful. The sites are spacey. Everyone was SO nice, friendly and helpful. Thank you for making our stay that much better!
Apr 16, 2015
Apr 16, 2015
Had a great campsite by the river. The campground is clean quiet and the staff is great.
Apr 14, 2015
Canada to Townsend Koa. 800 miles to get there,8 days there,800 miles back at 11.5 mpgs!!Townsend Koa is PRICELESS! Great campground,river,sites,area! Mark, Clint and all my office girls were amazing! BTW I miss u Daisy! Thank You. Metz Family!
Apr 14, 2015
We always in joy our stay! We really wish you had a heated pool!! Or Enclosed heated pool!! And maybe bikes to rent!! Thanks
Apr 14, 2015
The campground is extremely well taken care of and the staff was friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back!
Apr 14, 2015
Like all KOA's I have camped at, a great place where your rv loves to stay and you will too. We love the quiet side of the mountain!
Apr 14, 2015
Apr 14, 2015
Friendly,clean and relaxing. Great trip.
Apr 13, 2015
Enjoyed out stay but the only compliant is other guests that do not pay for river sites, seem to think its ok to cut through our river site that we paid for and hang out at it. There is a public access...it needs to be noted & very clear to other campers.
Apr 12, 2015
We enjoyed the campground. It was clean, well maintained and employees were helpful.
Apr 11, 2015
really nice helpful folks; great place to stay
Apr 10, 2015
Love all the new improvements. Staff excellent. Quiet.
Apr 09, 2015
The campground is beautiful and wonderful if you don't need to do any work. I am a student and had some things I needed Internet for and the Internet was very unreliable. There was no TV either. We were Informed about this but were told there would be reliable internet. I love the campground but will not be able to come on a regular basis (we camp about every other weekend) unfirtunately.
Apr 09, 2015
Apr 08, 2015
Love the area but the prices for this place especially during summer is ridiculous these sites are very narrow hardly any room between you and your neighbor.
Apr 07, 2015
Awesome
Apr 06, 2015
We loved the KOA in Townsend! Can't wait to return!!
Apr 06, 2015
Very nice campground. Well Kept. Dissappointed the cable was out and the central bath house was not open due to remodeling.
Apr 06, 2015
Great as always even though cable TV service was not available during our stay. We have been camping here multiple times a year for over 25 years and plan to continue to do so for many more years to come.
Apr 06, 2015
We had a wonderful Easter weekend and the egg hunt for the kids was great. The Easter bunny was an excellent addition to the whole weekend
Apr 06, 2015
It's a very nice campground! I have been going here since I was a child and now my husband and I go. The only negative for this particular stay was the water in the shower was cold. It was freezing outside and then the water in the shower was cold. I don't know what was wrong but that wasn't fun.
Apr 06, 2015
The best campground in the Townsend by area by far. Many new upgrades and an always extremely clean facility. Bathrooms are always squeaky clean. Price is a premium, but the value is there, and that makes it worth it for my family and i. I would recommend it to anyone. Last but not least, the staff is one of a kind awesome, and today that is the difference maker in any business.
Apr 05, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and one employee even dug into storage to get some water shoes for my boys (it was suddenly warm over spring break), which we REALLY needed to buy. Thanks KOA, we will be back!
Apr 03, 2015
All in all great KOA. Improvements are being made (new landscaping & updated bathhouse) Only issues were 1) we called 2 weeks out to adjust stay and were told there were no spots available to arrive early while our whole stay there were spots available 2)we were placed next to the bathhouse that was under renovation. While work didn't start till 8:30 the constant noise of work/radio was offputting
Apr 03, 2015
By far the best campground! Have stayed numerous times throughout the years and it is always very clean and well kept. :))
Apr 03, 2015
Awesome KOA, we stayed in a site right in the river and my kids loved that. There isn't a bad site here. They were redoing bathrooms and showers so the only ones where a little father than I liked but once the other one is done it will be fine. Great playground too!!
Apr 02, 2015
Great place to stay on the quiet side
Apr 02, 2015
It is always a pleasure to stay at this KOA.
Apr 02, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Our stay was great. Our only complaint would be staff not enforcing the no dogs in playground rule and not asking parents to watch their children around office and playground on bikes etc.
Apr 02, 2015
Love this spot, a hidden gem, and will as before be back again
Apr 01, 2015
Newly renovated sites..nice people.
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 29, 2015
Our favorite campground in all of Tennessee! Beautiful sites & ├╝ber friendly staff...I highly recommend a week here!! (Literally right outside the gates of Smoky Mtn. National Park)
Mar 28, 2015
Mar 28, 2015
Beautiful campground in a great setting! Our site backed to the river (with our own little deck). The staff was awesome. The only (extremely minor) downside was that the sites were kind of close. This absolutely didn't affect our stay, though. We had a great time, and may find our way back if we have a few extra days in the summer.
Mar 27, 2015
Love it!!! We had an amazing vacation. The KOA Townsend is awesome. Very clean and well manicured. The employees are friendly and accomdating. Southern hospitality at its best.
Mar 27, 2015
The camp ground was great. The employees were very friendly and helpful. They even helped us back into our site! I gave it 4 stars because the showers were not Cleaned daily.
Mar 25, 2015
We had a wonderful stay and the entire staff were so helpful and kind! Beautiful improvements being made to the campground too!
Mar 24, 2015
Mar 23, 2015
We had a great time and enjoyed the new updates. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
Mar 23, 2015
My kids love the playground. Friendly staff. The dog park is a big hit. Safe campground were you feel safe to let kids have some freedom.
Mar 22, 2015
Our stay for the most part was great! The weather was awesome! We only had a couple of inconveniences that weren't really a problem....the main bath house was being remodeled so the entire camp had to use the small one behind the office and the cable TV was out.
Mar 21, 2015
Helpful, curtious.
Mar 20, 2015
Loved the friendly, helpful staff. Loved our site right on the river also next to a grassy area. Nice playground and bathhouse.
Mar 19, 2015
Too expensive, not near enough restrooms and showers!
Mar 18, 2015
Mar 17, 2015
Awesome scenery.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.