Skowhegan / Kennebec Valley KOA

Route 2 (18 Cabin Road in Canaan)

Canaan, ME 04924

Reserve: 800-562-7571

Info: 207-474-2858

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at Canaan KOA. Beth was great help in exploring the local area. We so appreciated the onsite kafe so we could eat great food without cooking!
Jul 08, 2013
Don and Beth are the best hosts! Totally committed to providing a great time to the whole family.
Jul 07, 2013
The owners are excellent. They know the area well and what there is to do. Camp is clean with plenty of daily activities for children. Sites could use some leveling as when it rains there is pooling around your rig. Great area to base your stay out of and see the sites.
Jul 02, 2013
Very clean, really nice staff and a great breakfast at the onsite cafe.
Jul 01, 2013
Store had no food peoducts the and closest store was a dunkin donut miles away. Store closed early 7pm and opened late 10am
Jul 01, 2013
We love this campground!! We came with friends,their first time, and they booked another weekend with us!! Can't wait to go back!!! Beth and Don are the best host! They are the reasons we keep going back!!
Jun 30, 2013
Very nice people, friendly.Thinking about returning to this campground to explore the area more. Thank you for making our stay pleasant
Jun 28, 2013
Forgot reservation (said she got dates mixed up) and refused to locate us to a suitable campsite until 11:00 next morning. Failed to fulfill one hour satisfaction guarantee. For fear of worse experiences we abandoned our site the next morning.
Jun 27, 2013
Great staff
Jun 25, 2013
Helpful, friendly staff; beautiful campground; and lots of activities for kids!
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
not much going on for kids this weekend but they still had fun
Jun 19, 2013
Jun 19, 2013
Jun 19, 2013
The facilities and service were excellent. It was nice to go to a campground that actually liked having kids there.
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
We were very happy with this KOA, it met or exceeded all of our expectations.
Jun 16, 2013
enjoyed the ice cream social, but wasn't too excited about the fire ring almost under my slide with the other camper burning plastic....
Jun 07, 2013
Jun 06, 2013
Love camping here, miss Beth get well soon!
Jun 03, 2013
We had a great time! The staff was friendly and helpful, the games and activities were perfect for all my kids. The one thing that was difficult, was the hours of the camp store : 9am - 7pm, just isn't easy hours. We needed things in the morning, the at night before bed, but were not able to get them!
May 29, 2013
The nonstop rain is what caused the only issues that we had. Our site was 8"+ solid mud. We got stuck trying to pull our camper in Friday. Then delt with mud issues all weekend. My only complaint is that the sites near the pool (where we stayed) did not have the same gravel pad that many of the sites up on the hill had. I truley belive that this would have help the situation a great deal. Thank yo
May 28, 2013
Very upbeat. Many activities. Clean. Weather was terrible but staff stayed upbeat and kept families involved and adjusted activities as necessary.
May 28, 2013
This location needs some updating. It had been four years since our last trip there and they have done little if any work to the facilities. The RV sites are in serious need of drainage work as they turn into mud holes with very little rain. The staff is very friendly and helpful so that is a plus.
May 27, 2013
Unfortunately, it rained all weekend so we were stuck inside most of the day and didn't get to experience the amenities. However the staff were very nice and welcoming. We will definitely be back, hopefully with better weather!
May 27, 2013
May 23, 2013
Friendly staff, super clean restrooms, well maintained campground!
May 22, 2013
We had a wonderful relaxing weekend...loved it!
Oct 17, 2012
Oct 16, 2012
We always have a blast, can't wait til next year!!!
Oct 15, 2012
Beth and Don do alot of activities with the children. Halloween weekend is our favorite!!! They do an awesome job :)
Oct 15, 2012
Wonderful location, great staff.
Oct 14, 2012
Oct 13, 2012
I have never found a campground that is so kid friendly and puts so much focus on activities for kids and families!
Oct 12, 2012
The Halloween themed weekend at the KOA in Canaan is fantastic!! Beth and her staff are very friendly and put together many fun (and scary) activities for guest of all ages. We have already made reservations to go back again next year and we had many guest and new campers who were there with us this year.
Oct 12, 2012
The stay was fine. However we ar unhappy that friends of ours rented a cabin, paid in full. Then had to cancel three weeks prior. the cabin was able to be rerented, however they will not recive a refund only a credit. This is wrong in my opinion. We camp with at least two other families some times more.
Oct 12, 2012
Had a great stay! Lot's of activities for kids. Beth is very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back next year.
Oct 12, 2012
Halloween weekend was awesome. The owners went out of their way for me and my family. If anyone wants a great place to stay as well as a great time. Stay at the Skowhegan/Canaan KOA. Thanks again Don and Beth.
Oct 10, 2012
The most polite staff, we have met except in Mt. Pleasant SC. They were extremely helpful in touring, the cabin and jacuzzi was awesome. Lots of great activities.
Oct 09, 2012
We enjoyed our stay. The campground's cabins are in a nice location. The campground was preparing for the upcoming Columbus Weekend and it looked like we were going to miss alot of good fun activities. We plan to visit the area in the near future and would stay at the campground.
Oct 08, 2012
Had a great time as usual and we are looking forward to camping there again next year. Thank you, Don and Beth
Oct 06, 2012
Beth is great!
Oct 05, 2012
We were just passing through and we enjoyed our short visit with you
Oct 01, 2012
Have so much fun here, can't wait until columbus weekend, they put on a great Halloween Fund Raiser for kids to go to camp.
Oct 01, 2012
rainy but still a great weekend!!!
Sep 30, 2012
Sep 27, 2012
Our stay was short but sweet. We are on our 4th KOA since being with you and you are the best and the most friendly. Thanks for being like a Canadian maritimer, friendly and happy. Gail & Wayne Ross

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.