Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618


4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Yurt

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
the campground itself is great, but the bathrooms and pool were in desperate need of a deep clean. there was built up grime around the edge of the pool and in the showers. we camped in site 68, which had plenty of shade. If it rains on you, be prepared to not be able to get up to some of the higher campgrounds without 4 wheel drive. the roads turn to mud and there are some steep hills to climb
Jul 20, 2015
I had a wonderful time at the campground. I love the fact that the restroom and shower were clean and within walking distance. We also had hiking near by, a pool to cool down and the store to get whatever we needed thru out the day without having to drive far. The employees were wonderful.
Jul 20, 2015
I like how there was a convenient store there and how they had running water for the restroom and shower (which was free!) and that it wasn't booked like the other places, and we got to move our table around. I didn't like how it was super dusty or that we had to put out the fire out at 12am or that the place charged $5 a person after the 2nd person.
Jul 20, 2015
Les toilettes était dans un état lamentables voir dégelassent.
Jul 19, 2015
Loved it!!! Clean
Jul 19, 2015
We were fortunate to get the last tent site as every campground in the area for miles was full! Unlike what the State is doing,....we had water and working restrooms. Grace was awesome at the front office,...held my spot,...and was overall just a super nice, friendly, helpful person to assist us! I definitely would recomend and stay here again! Thank you!
Jul 17, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
We had been traveling down highway 1 all day without any luck of finding an open campsite. We made it to the Santa Margarita KOA at about 10 pm and met Karen. She was so nice and understanding of our troubles and gave us an AMAZING spot. We had such a terrific trip thanks to her :)
Jul 13, 2015
I brought 9 kids to camp this weekend. When I called to make my reservations the gentleman who answered was oh so helpful and we got a great site that more then met or needs and expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful except the lady who was working Sunday morning. She was cranky and not so helpful. But otherwise we all had a blast, stayed cool and will be back again for sure. Thank you.
Jul 13, 2015
Amazing place!!! Very clean and beautiful CA country..... We will come back for sure!!
Jul 13, 2015
As a kid, I remember it being one of my favorite places to vacation with my grandparents and parents... Fast forward 20 years and I continued the tradition and took my son. Thanks to the GREAT EMPLOYEES and perfect sites I just had the greatest weekend of my life and know my son had one of the best experiences in his life. THANKS SANTA MARGARITA KOA
Jul 12, 2015
There was a sewage leak near our site, we were placed in the overflow area for some reason, the playground was under construction and the joint pillow was broken. We had five kids with us. It was kind of a nightmare. Dillon at the front was nice though.
Jul 09, 2015
Everything was great had the best camp site only one recommendation have the water truck drive by earlier to keep the dust down. And a employee in a koa truck was driving around very fast kicking up the dust
Jul 09, 2015
We came from Shasta that was beautiful, Margarita was more expensive for a smallest, a not that nice space. We will try another the next time.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
We were only there one night, but at check in we were given the wrong yurt and it took a couple tries to find the right location. In the end it was fixed and we had an enjoyable night.
Jul 06, 2015
JoAnn and I had a wonderful weekend . See You Soon
Jul 06, 2015
I was so scared when I stayed there, because of bears. They didn't give a warning about bears. I just read a notice about bears on a restroom door. I think that they should have explained there might be bears when I asked to change my tent site. That night, I saw two bears!!! They were just 5m apart from my tent. They dig out trash bins. I heard bears started to appear a week ago later.
Jul 06, 2015
We did not stay after looking at the site the road was to steep and the site was to far from the restroom also the campsite was to dusty we never unpacked
Jun 29, 2015
Absolutely great! However I would change the internet resorvations to include what campsite number was reserved and offer a local and AAA discount.
Jun 28, 2015
The owner is rude and disrespectful. The path walking from an upper tent site to the bath house is dangerous.
Jun 25, 2015
Charming location on hillside. It was hot & dry time of year - cooler would be much better. Enjoyed the Frisbee golf, farm animals nearby & nice staff.
Jun 24, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
I tell everyone about your wonderful camp site! Thank you for a lovely stay!
Jun 22, 2015
Wonderful secluded tent site, friendly hosts. Clean and well maintained facilities. Perfect stay!
Jun 22, 2015
Pool was very dirty, there were no hay rides, no movie night, no rec room, not very many activities at all. This was very disappointing especially for Father's Day weekend.
Jun 22, 2015
We loved the remote campsite (old 88)! Aside from uncontrolled dust and slippery roads walking to/from the restroom, we were all very happy with it. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, well beyond what would have reasonably been expected.
Jun 22, 2015
Our kids had a blast. Clean, well stocked bathrooms. overall a good experience
Jun 21, 2015
The staff were really nice and everything was great organiced. The camping area is great and the location wonderful.
Jun 19, 2015
Cleanliness of Campground was not up to KOA standards. Bathroom facilities were not clean; Trash cans over full, smell was unacceptable, lots of flies, paper towel dispenser in women's room jammed, outdoor trash cans full, our site was not clean and other unoccupied sites were not cleaned. Limited staffing tried to do best they could.
Jun 18, 2015
Very clean campsite; easy to register; beautiful location.
Jun 16, 2015
Friendly staff, fun and clean camp ground. This place has a little store for everything you might have forgot to pack and only 15 minutes away from Kmart in case they don't have what you left behind. We are definitely coming back....thinking about one of those cute cabins for next time!
Jun 15, 2015
It was a nice KOA, but our space was very small & both bathrooms were way too many stairs to climb every time!
Jun 12, 2015
this was a short overnight trip. we didn't go swim or play on the fun stuff. the staff was super helpful and friendly. This is a very steep campground. lots of hills and gravel roads. we were on motorcycles. Let the staff know when leading a motorcycle to the campsite to go a bit faster. momentum helps get us up the hills better. thank you.
Jun 07, 2015
Had such a great time with my family. It was so quiet and peaceful.
Jun 07, 2015
May 29, 2015
May 28, 2015
Loved every minute
May 27, 2015
A very nice campground with lots of fun activities for the kids. We had a wonderful stay.
May 27, 2015
The bathroom was only cleaned, trashed emptied once during my stay.
May 26, 2015
Grassy areas for tent sites would be a big plus.. This KOA was too dusty.
May 26, 2015
It was great we had a wonderful time my kids loved it we are definitely planning on our next trip to Santa margarita .
May 24, 2015
Really disappointed that camp sites were so close together. With no privacy. There were other campers right above me. I would not come back to this KOA.
May 12, 2015
Beautiful! Love the location for easy exploration of Morro Bay, Atascadero, Paso Robles and San Simeon.
May 11, 2015
Very clean campground, hot showers and clean bathrooms. Neighbors were loud after 10 (wish there was a nightly patrol). Kids complained that wifi sucked, and pool was freezing. However I liked the place and the staff were friendly
May 07, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
May 03, 2015
Apr 20, 2015
Maybe next time I'll get a better spot, I think I had the worst spot in the entire camp area.
Apr 20, 2015
Our stay was great! We stayed at site that had awkward drive and huge rocks making us have to make a 3 point turn in that little road. The next morning I went up the road that said one way (sorry) and it was so easy to enter the site. Other that it was perfect. Clean bathrooms, friendly staff, and welcoming environment.
Apr 17, 2015
We had a wonderfull stay there. The staff is friendly, the place is beatiful, we had a great tent site. Clean showers and restrooms.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals