Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 14, 2014
Before our stay I had 3 phone calls that were never returned, told by the owner that if our group wanted to party (while 5 of us were sitting around the fire), that we have houses for that and we needed to stop sitting around the fire and go into our individual tents and be quiet at 11:30, when a polite "hey guys, please keep it down for our other campers" would have been nicer. Will not be back.
Jul 14, 2014
We love staying at the Santa Margarita Lake KOA. It's close enough to home for a quick get away weekend that feels special. The kids love the giant jumping pillow and pool. They just go back and forth between the two all day! Couldn't be happier. Scott and Karen are amazing, and their entire team is eager to help...with smiles, all of them. That is rare in customer service today. What a gem.
Jul 14, 2014
Campground clean, staff welcome excellent, facilities well tended. A wide variety of camp spots enabled me to find a quiet corner to sleep well.
Jul 14, 2014
Awsome fun for everyone from one year old to two fat fourty year old guys.Camp was well kept. The bouncer pillow wore all of us out. Kellyand Scott were wonderful to work with and even with a last minute addition of my daughters family on a fully booked weekend they still made it happen and made us feel like we were their number one client. Looking forward to staying there again and again.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Great place to camp near the lake.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Good: The yurt was great and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean. The staff was very nice. My kids loved the jumping pillow. Bad: The bathrooms are cleaned 8am-10am, which in my book is prime bathroom time. The pool was pretty gross and needed to be cleaned. I wouldn't consider fishing one of the activities because I don't think there are any fish in the lake.
Jun 30, 2014
The facility was well maintained overall, my only requests would be 1) water near my campsite (#90) 2) trash at/near campsite 3) bathroom facilities that didn't require a car drive 4) get rid of the "watch dog" who barked long into the night right at the fence a stone's throw from my tent.
Jun 29, 2014
We loved the yurt! We are locals but decided to do a one night slumber party for my daughters birthday. It was the perfect set up for a slumber party with teenage girls. The only negative was the distance to the bathrooms.
Jun 24, 2014
The staffs and the facility were wonderful. They went above and beyond to make sure we were welcome.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Everyone was extremely nice. The pool wasn't crowded and the area was clean. I highly recommend tis location. My kids had a blast!
Jun 24, 2014
Great crew. Nice shady tent site. Quiet out of the way location was appealing. Still close to towns along the coast. Toilets and showers were clean but could use a makeover. Enjoyed my stay.
Jun 23, 2014
Very clean campground and also the people there were very friendly and helpful. Our campsite 88 is awesome, its so private feels like your secluded from every one else with beautiful views..will definitely go back there again. .
Jun 23, 2014
The KOA people were all very nice. We had a nice time but some of the amenities that drew us to this KOA were not good. The basketball hoop was broken and in a parking lot. The disc golf course was in a hilly field of dead, knee high grass. The 3 teenage girls in our group enjoyed the party yurt and pool but my older teen son and I were a bit disappointed.
Jun 19, 2014
LOVED this KOA. We stayed in a Yurt (our first) and it was exceptional. The grounds at this location are amazing and it is also close to a beautiful beach. We can't wait to go back!
Jun 17, 2014
Loved it! Best KOA with beautiful grounds, lovely people and gorgeous surroundings!
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
The staff was so friendly 100% of the time. I was constantly needing to ask questions and adjust my reservations. They were so accommodating. The restrooms smelled good and the activities for the kiddos were top notch. Over all the facilities were clean and the hot water was hot! I only wish that the maps showed that everything was hilly ie the bathrooms were no where near our site. But now I know
Jun 09, 2014
We had a great time! We are from SLO and it was the perfect way to start summer. Staff was great, fun activities, and the grounds were well kept. We will be back!
Jun 09, 2014
So easy and clean! We had a great stay.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
The bathroom by our site was out of order and the closest one was not obviously marked so it was difficult to find. We paid for a more secluded area but were still able to see and hear other campers close by. It was very nice that the ground was raked before we got there so we didn't have to worry about picking up rocks ect. And the lady who checked us in was very kind and helped us navigate.
Jun 02, 2014
DIRT....and just not dirt that is packed or solid but like dirt that you step in and a cloud of dust poofs up around you. Nice sewer smell in the middle of nowhere. C'mon man
May 28, 2014
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. However, the bathrooms need immediate updating and ventialtion!! Also, for such a large place and how warm the weather can get, there needs to be additional water areas for kids to refresh and play in. What's amazing about this place is the location. You are literally 30 minutes away from the most amazing beaches in Coastal California and wine country!
May 27, 2014
Was great looking forward on going back
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 25, 2014
Awesome! The tent sites are incredible, great views, peace and quiet. A great experience and my third or fourth time there.
May 21, 2014
This campsite was amazing. everyone was so helpful and and nice. There were plenty of activities to keep the kids busy and we had a wonderful time!!! would defiantly come back. Care camp weekend was wonderful! thank you so much! Ewing
May 14, 2014
Got in late and info was on board for us great site. enjoyed the drive to and from the site. scenery was gorgeous
May 11, 2014
Freindly and helpful staff, Great views from the tent areas in the back. No Wi-fi back there, but cell internet works fine.
May 08, 2014
We stayed two nights and the bathrooms were never cleaned. One men's bathroom has only one toilet and it was backed up with waste the entire time we stayed there. It is a pity since the place is so beautiful. For people who liked tent camping this situation is not necessarily the end of the world but the price this KOA is charging for a night's stay is definitively a rip-off.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am very sorry our restrooms were not up to our usual standard of cleanliness during your visit. We had a brief housekeeping issue while I was away, at the end of April and the first week of May, which has been resolved. Please visit us again and you'll find everything clean from corner to corner.
May 05, 2014
The manager and his family were very good and nice people. However, the person who I made the reservation with lied to me and told me that the camp store would be open until 8pm on Friday and Saturday-however when I showed up at 730 on Saturday night it was closed and the sign said closed at 5PM due to Winter hours. I was charged Summer rates, but the park is on Winter hours? I won't be back.
May 02, 2014
Apr 29, 2014
KOA was an awesome place! I would definitely recommend there yurts!
Apr 29, 2014
Very clean and well kept. We were happy with our site and will return when the nights are a little warmer. Thank you, Bill
Apr 25, 2014
Loved our tent site. We had plenty of space in our site to play, and the kids loved the jumping pillow. Close to Santa Margarita Lake where we all had fun fishing.
Apr 25, 2014
We stayed at Camp 87, best experience possible! Thank you
Apr 23, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 19, 2014
We loved our stay here. The staff was nice, the bathrooms amazingly clean, lots of land to explore. The only two complaints would be that the fire pits are extremely shallow and the guy driving the golf cart with the blue (staff member) drove as fast as possible everywhere he went, kicking up dust and disregarding children's safety when driving near the playground. The playground was awesome btw!
Apr 17, 2014
Staff were very friendly, grounds were well maintained- nice quiet campground. We had a blast!
Apr 13, 2014
We all loved camping at camp koa my parents have gone for 14 years and now its become a family tradition we always get excited because there is always something new to experince at camp koa, plus everyone is very nice and helpful .
Apr 01, 2014
The tent sites are very large and the washrooms were clean
Mar 25, 2014
This place is fantastic. Just had my 3rd trip there in the past 8 years. It keeps getting better and better. Not only is it a beautiful area, but this place has a mix of RV camping and remote sites for privacy. I love the cabins and the yurts. Wonderful owner as well, friendly. Cant say enough good things!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.