Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Accommodations, Deluxe Cabins, Log Cabins & Yurts

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

RV Sites, Tent Sites, RV & Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Apr 06, 2017
Beautiful area. We enjoyed the Yurt. Having the WiFi was an added surprise- although we didn't tell our children. We would come again. Close to lots of fun places- Pismo,SLO and Morro Bay.
Apr 06, 2017
Secluded sites a bit cold but adequate. Friendly staff nice bouncer.
Apr 04, 2017
The new team is the best team we have encountered in our many visits here, over the last ten years.
Apr 03, 2017
We loved everything about the campground...except the light situation at night. We were in site 37 & it was extremely bright (lights from both staircases & the bath house). Our tent was completely lit up! Next time we'll stay in another site. I recommend fixing the lighting situation though & making it more focused (both for a good night's sleep & better stargazing!)
Apr 02, 2017
The staff was welcoming and friendly and the facilities were kept clean. We enjoyed our stay very much!
Mar 24, 2017
I only stayed one night ,but that was because it was raining.camp ground was nice
Mar 20, 2017
Pretty area with the most helpful staff especially KimAnn
Mar 20, 2017
Santa Margarita KOA is a destination camp ground. Plan to stay and enjoy the natural beauty of this area.
Mar 18, 2017
I think it is a great place and very spread out with regards to the sites. I like KOA's so I shouldn't be writing reviews. Cheers
Mar 05, 2017
Wonderful, thank you!
Jan 05, 2017
Had such an amazing time! Staff was extremely helpful and always willing to help!
Dec 01, 2016
Nov 27, 2016
Love this place
Nov 07, 2016
Love the new management team. I can see nice improvements in the camping from previous visits.
Oct 28, 2016
So quite. Wonderful!!!!
Oct 20, 2016
I rented out 20 cabins for a retreat I planned and KimAnn helped me coordinate the whole thing. The reservation of 20 cabins took time, but they were patient and helpful. The party yurt was the perfect resource to have when the entire weekend was rained out because we were able to fit 70 people comfortably in there. There was also plenty of space for the 110 total we had during the day. Greatplace
Oct 12, 2016
Wish we could stay longer
Oct 11, 2016
Great facility - super impressed
Oct 10, 2016
Clean site, well maintained, good facilities, already freezing cold at night early October
Oct 07, 2016
Great place, great amenities. Good people. I have a small complaint about the cats fighting and rummaging around and the dogs barking. I wish the tent camping was a little cheaper.
Oct 04, 2016
Really had a good time. 0nly negative was group of men smoking on a hookah at pool.
Oct 04, 2016
Being a KOA Emplyee Visiting this KOA with my girlfriend who is also a KOA Employee we really have so many great things to say about this KOA..From the beginning of our stay to the end the staff was AMAZING!! Kim & Candra are so NICE!! From our campsite to the bathhouses they were VERY well kept! & CLEAN! First Outside KOA we camp at and if it wasn't 4 hours away I would go next weekend too!
Oct 03, 2016
Everything about Santa Margarita KOA was great! It started with a great welcoming for us and it ended with lots of nice memories to take home with us. We will definitely be back. Thank you SM KOA for offering everything we needed for a great family vacation. Respectfully, Gudino Family (Downey, CA)
Oct 03, 2016
The proximity to the lake is very nice however, it is cheaper to camp at the lake. The bathrooms were decent. There was a lot of nice wildlife like deer and birds in the campsite. The staff is helpful and friendly.
Sep 27, 2016
Pozo package was quoted at $20 over the phone but $25 when we got there. Everything else was great, and everyone was very hospitable
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 26, 2016
Extremely nice staff, especially Kim Ann, and the campground was very nice with lots of space between campsites.
Sep 26, 2016
Sep 26, 2016
Great people great hospitality
Sep 26, 2016
Very clean and extremely nice staff!!!
Sep 26, 2016
Karen (manager) was positive and friendly from our first phone call until we left. She welcomed our family and had a beautiful campsite that was well maintained and just perfect! The bathrooms were the cleanest I have seen at any campsite nationwide! We were amazed at how big the grounds were and it really was just so pretty. The staff really went above and beyond to give us the keep us safe.
Sep 25, 2016
Everyone on the staff was so welcoming and friendly. I felt completely safe here to camp with my motorcycle. An added bonous very hot showers! Best KOA ever!
Sep 20, 2016
All of the employees are in incredibly friendly and helpful. Thank you!
Sep 12, 2016
Sep 12, 2016
Star there was amazing thanks for everything nice weekend we passed there
Sep 12, 2016
The front desk lady made our stay!
Sep 08, 2016
Kim Ann was super kind. Restroom was okay as I observed the staff maintaining frequently. Great store with lots of stuff, but firewoods have a lot of moisture. Swimming pool was also okay, but was a bit small and the water was little to cold.
Sep 08, 2016
Kim Ann was the best host we have had yet on our 24,000mile journey from Alaska to Argentina. Thanks again!
Sep 07, 2016
The staff truly makes you feel like family.
Sep 07, 2016
The whole family loved this past weekend in Santa margarita koa, there is plenty of entertainment for everyone and we understand the section we camped is an overflow area.there is a need for Water and restrooms closer,electricity and elongated toilets, for the toilets are just too small!
Sep 06, 2016
Unique layout built into the hills. Very pretty scenic surroundings. Nice activities to keep the kids busy. Well kept bathrooms. Friendly, helpful staff.
Sep 06, 2016
We had amazing camping experience. If you are going camping with kids, this is the way to do it. Lots of fun things to do for them, since you can only make so many s'mores before they get bored. Great family bonding, amazing staff, we'll be back.
Sep 05, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 29, 2016
Very friendly staff and great pool area. The only slightly negative aspect about this campground is that the bathrooms and showers are quite a bit older. This is a good place to stay if you want a reasonably priced place to stay in the area.
Aug 29, 2016
i did not stay at the campground, i requested a refund as was denied.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, you were placed in our overflow RV area because we were completely full. KOA offers a full refund if you are unsatisfied & leave within an hour, which you did. The phone # we have does not work. I will contact you by e-mail to arrange a refund. We try to help folks when we are full.
Aug 28, 2016
I absolutely love this place!
Aug 24, 2016
Nice owner, nice und helpful peaple und great nature.
Aug 22, 2016
Friendly staff, clean, tons of activities for kids, beautiful scenery, very relaxing...
Aug 22, 2016
Really clean and well cared for campgrounds. Very welcoming staff.
Aug 18, 2016
Excellent staff, very helpful and knowledgeable. Pool is great families with kids and jumping pillow is a popular stop at our stay in Santa Margarita. Unfortunately a large group of campers showed up at 11:30pm and were very loud, talking and nailing stakes in the ground.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals