Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Tent Reviews

Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Fair - when compared to other KOA's. All roads to camp sites are dirt, no gravel. This creates an extremely dusty facility. We were kept awake all night by barking dogs that belong to some of the neighboring land owners. Staff was very helpful and professional.
Jul 27, 2013
Everything was excellent the only reason why I didn't give them 5 stars is because the restrooms were always dirty and cloged water overflowing on the ground. Other than that we enjoy our stay
Jul 26, 2013
Don't enjoy camping in dirt. No grass for dogs. Restrooms far away, too many hills. Camped with others and hills separated us.
Jul 25, 2013
10 points for clean bathrooms! Campsites are very small.Site#63 High ground Don't recomend it if you have toddlers.They were nice enough to move us down site#15. No boat, dont go to the Lake $10.00 per car. Walk in for free, but w/little ones in a hot day, not a good idea.Make the best of it we just had a picnic & pulled out our kites! I will try another KOA KG
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Employees very nice! Bathrooms were not clean. Biggest complaint, the NOISE! Maybe its the quality of campers that stay there... First night, was awoken by a car alarm and then the owner decided to pack up and leave but not before he crushed all of his beer cans...At 4:15 am!!!2nd night similar occurrence... both nights had to endure listening to other peoples car radios at FULL volume. Just rude.
Jul 23, 2013
The facilities were very clean and kept up, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We will definitely be coming back.
Jul 22, 2013
Good place to take the kids. They really enjoyed the playground, jumping pillow and pool. Yurt was big and cimfortable; however, one of the bottom bunks was broken. One complaint is the campsite is very dusty. But, overall, we had a good t his me.
Jul 22, 2013
My family and I had an awesome vacation at KAO Santa Margarita! We loved that there were activities for everyone: pool, foosball, hey ride, live music, food....Staff was great and went out of there way to make our stay the best. Kids loved it and can't wait to go back! Thanks and would highly recommend...
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
we had great time
Jul 22, 2013
I recommended KOA to everyone I met on the beach. It was clean and the staff spoiled us rotten. I couldnt have asked for a better campground.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
More rustic than anticipated. Site itself was nice, but needed 4-wheel drive to get up the mountain to our campsite (road has not been maintained).
Jul 19, 2013
3 adults 4 kids tent camped. It was a pain to have to drive to a rest room. Atleast put one with in walking distance same as water bibs especially because of your high prices. Pool hours should be extended to 10 pm during summer. Will camp here again if no where else in California is available.
Jul 18, 2013
Made a mistake in where I thought I was booking, but the site was so beautiful and the campground facilities so clean I was out of the dog house quickly. I should also mention staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 17, 2013
Fun but A LOT of walking, mostly uphill. A hike to the bathrooms including 20 stairs down hill and 20 stairs uphill, one way, for a total of 80 stairs round trip! Despite that, the kids loved the jumping pillow and wonderful star gazing.
Jul 17, 2013
We did not appreciate the overflow area we were placed in. Overall the campgrounds in other areas appeared well kept, but we felt that us--and others after us--would have thought more of this KOA if we were told it was full and sent to the state campground nearby out of respect for wanting an enjoyable stay as opposed to being placed where we were and charging the same rate as all other tent sites
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
We loved our site #88. Great views and loved the goats. Glad there was a porta potty nearby. The rest of the site was a bit cramped. The owner was responsive and friendly and handled some problems at the site. We appreciated that.
Jul 12, 2013
Tent sites were very private and great view, but for the price premium of a KOA, the facilities were not up to expectations - very dirty, bug infested pool area, dirty bathrooms, ice out of stock in store, etc. Plusses were jumping pillow and hay ride.
Jul 11, 2013
It was a nice campground, but a little rough for tent camping because of all the dirt. It would have been nicer if there were hay or chips over the dirt where the sites were. It's ideal for motorhome or trailer camping for sure. Otherwise, the grounds were excellent. We enjoyed swimming in the pool, the jumping pillow and the people were really nice and quiet at night.
Jul 11, 2013
My 10 year old son and I stayed overnight in one of the hurts. We live only 30 minutes away but we wanted to do something fun, different and spontaneous. We had a great time! The yurt is spectacular and we were next to the jumping pillow, which was perfect. We can't wait to stay at this KOA again.
Jul 09, 2013
Friendly staff, lots to do, the jumping pillow was a big hit (even with my wife, we have no kids!) The camp sites were clean and well kept and there was plenty to walk around and see! Definitely recommend!
Jul 08, 2013
They gave us a site that sat above a dysfunctional bathroom that smelled like it was overflowing with waste. There were other sites, the other site offered was at a dangerous drop off. We had no water at our site and the bathroom was at a downward walk that was slippery, and our entrance to our camp needed 4 wheel drive most times to get to the top. I will never recommend this camp.
Jul 08, 2013
Clean, safe, and lots to keep the kids happy! We will definitely be back.
Jul 08, 2013
Too dusty. Too hot. Not the best summer camp location. Would prefer a little cooler.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Unfortunately, the weather was too hot, obviously not the fault of KOA. The view at our site was just as described: "spectacular and secluded". My only complaint was that we had noisy neighbors below but other than that we LOVED our site.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
We loved our campsite #13. Secluded and shady. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Jun 28, 2013
This camp is built on a hillside which gave extra space between tent sites. We saw quite a bit of wildlife. We will be returning.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Great staff. Keep up making the great improvements
Jun 13, 2013
We were told we'd have wifi; we didn't. The campsite wasn't clearly marked. One bathroom was locked. Men's bathroom wasn't clean. Hot shower was good!
Jun 13, 2013
Jun 07, 2013
will rate higher when bathroom renovations are complete.
May 30, 2013
All the staff were extremely friendly and there were lots of activities. Thank you to Shari Scott Rex Karen and all the others for a wonderful stay. Best KOA ever!
May 28, 2013
Lots of activities and very friendly staff. The kids loved the jumping pillow!
May 28, 2013
Great spot for visiting the coast,a beautiful area, the playground and the pool are great and management put some effort into activities for the family. But- the restrooms were filthy and run-down, and there were not enough facilities. Plus, with 3-4 families camping on each site, the campground was totally crowded and loud. Not my expectation for a KOA, at all.
May 19, 2013
perfectly happy
May 14, 2013
Good place but very windy.
May 13, 2013
I've stayed at this KOA several times. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Lots of amenities at the campground. Bathrooms are clean and well-stocked.
May 13, 2013
May 12, 2013
May 10, 2013
This was definitely one of the most beautiful locations I have ever stayed at. I love the quiet of the mountains, the cool air, and the easy proximity to both the lake and the village as well as to the ocean.
Apr 30, 2013
We found everyone to be very kind, friendly, and willing to help in any way they could. Karen was especially helpful..she went the extra mile to resolve our reservation dilemma. Thanks to all!. Brian
Apr 30, 2013
Camp site was up in the hill, secluded and good views. We saw LOTS of wild life. Only complaint was lousy laundry machines. But you don't go camping to do your laundry anyway. Would definitely come back if in the area. The best KOA we've stayed at thus far.
Apr 29, 2013
Such a great staff, the sites are huge, and the amenities are wonderful. Couldn't ask for a better spot! I highly recommend it to all.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.