Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jun 19, 2014
LOVED this KOA. We stayed in a Yurt (our first) and it was exceptional. The grounds at this location are amazing and it is also close to a beautiful beach. We can't wait to go back!
Jun 17, 2014
Loved it! Best KOA with beautiful grounds, lovely people and gorgeous surroundings!
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
The staff was so friendly 100% of the time. I was constantly needing to ask questions and adjust my reservations. They were so accommodating. The restrooms smelled good and the activities for the kiddos were top notch. Over all the facilities were clean and the hot water was hot! I only wish that the maps showed that everything was hilly ie the bathrooms were no where near our site. But now I know
Jun 09, 2014
We had a great time! We are from SLO and it was the perfect way to start summer. Staff was great, fun activities, and the grounds were well kept. We will be back!
Jun 09, 2014
So easy and clean! We had a great stay.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
The bathroom by our site was out of order and the closest one was not obviously marked so it was difficult to find. We paid for a more secluded area but were still able to see and hear other campers close by. It was very nice that the ground was raked before we got there so we didn't have to worry about picking up rocks ect. And the lady who checked us in was very kind and helped us navigate.
Jun 02, 2014
DIRT....and just not dirt that is packed or solid but like dirt that you step in and a cloud of dust poofs up around you. Nice sewer smell in the middle of nowhere. C'mon man
May 28, 2014
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. However, the bathrooms need immediate updating and ventialtion!! Also, for such a large place and how warm the weather can get, there needs to be additional water areas for kids to refresh and play in. What's amazing about this place is the location. You are literally 30 minutes away from the most amazing beaches in Coastal California and wine country!
May 27, 2014
Was great looking forward on going back
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 25, 2014
Awesome! The tent sites are incredible, great views, peace and quiet. A great experience and my third or fourth time there.
May 21, 2014
This campsite was amazing. everyone was so helpful and and nice. There were plenty of activities to keep the kids busy and we had a wonderful time!!! would defiantly come back. Care camp weekend was wonderful! thank you so much! Ewing
May 14, 2014
Got in late and info was on board for us great site. enjoyed the drive to and from the site. scenery was gorgeous
May 11, 2014
Freindly and helpful staff, Great views from the tent areas in the back. No Wi-fi back there, but cell internet works fine.
May 08, 2014
We stayed two nights and the bathrooms were never cleaned. One men's bathroom has only one toilet and it was backed up with waste the entire time we stayed there. It is a pity since the place is so beautiful. For people who liked tent camping this situation is not necessarily the end of the world but the price this KOA is charging for a night's stay is definitively a rip-off.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am very sorry our restrooms were not up to our usual standard of cleanliness during your visit. We had a brief housekeeping issue while I was away, at the end of April and the first week of May, which has been resolved. Please visit us again and you'll find everything clean from corner to corner.
May 05, 2014
The manager and his family were very good and nice people. However, the person who I made the reservation with lied to me and told me that the camp store would be open until 8pm on Friday and Saturday-however when I showed up at 730 on Saturday night it was closed and the sign said closed at 5PM due to Winter hours. I was charged Summer rates, but the park is on Winter hours? I won't be back.
May 02, 2014
Apr 29, 2014
KOA was an awesome place! I would definitely recommend there yurts!
Apr 29, 2014
Very clean and well kept. We were happy with our site and will return when the nights are a little warmer. Thank you, Bill
Apr 25, 2014
Loved our tent site. We had plenty of space in our site to play, and the kids loved the jumping pillow. Close to Santa Margarita Lake where we all had fun fishing.
Apr 25, 2014
We stayed at Camp 87, best experience possible! Thank you
Apr 23, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 19, 2014
We loved our stay here. The staff was nice, the bathrooms amazingly clean, lots of land to explore. The only two complaints would be that the fire pits are extremely shallow and the guy driving the golf cart with the blue (staff member) drove as fast as possible everywhere he went, kicking up dust and disregarding children's safety when driving near the playground. The playground was awesome btw!
Apr 17, 2014
Staff were very friendly, grounds were well maintained- nice quiet campground. We had a blast!
Apr 13, 2014
We all loved camping at camp koa my parents have gone for 14 years and now its become a family tradition we always get excited because there is always something new to experince at camp koa, plus everyone is very nice and helpful .
Apr 01, 2014
The tent sites are very large and the washrooms were clean
Mar 25, 2014
This place is fantastic. Just had my 3rd trip there in the past 8 years. It keeps getting better and better. Not only is it a beautiful area, but this place has a mix of RV camping and remote sites for privacy. I love the cabins and the yurts. Wonderful owner as well, friendly. Cant say enough good things!
Mar 19, 2014
Beautiful site with a decent amount of privacy. Spotless bathroom with hot showers. Had a wonderful time.
Mar 10, 2014
Feb 26, 2014
The campgrounds and the restrooms were very clean. There was plenty of things for the children to entertain themselves with giving me and my wife plenty of alone time. Couldn't have asked for any better service, the employe there were extremely friendly. Had a wonderful time would deffinately recommend this place to anyone.
Dec 06, 2013
Nov 10, 2013
Private, well-spaced campsites. Beautiful views. My car battery died and the campground manager came by within 3 minutes and charged it up so I could get on my way.
Oct 22, 2013
It's the time of year when there are fewer campers. We felt we had the campground pretty much to ourselves. The staff here are wonderful! A great stay in our favorite tent site!
Oct 18, 2013
Everything was clean. I was a little to far from the rest rooms but it was quite and met some real nice people. Plan to return but staying in cabin!
Oct 08, 2013
I loved this site. beautiful. the gentleman in charge was outstanding. but arriving at night, the directions were sketchy at best. would have stayed here longer but for time. very, very nice.
Oct 07, 2013
Lovely oak trees, a friendly staff and deer on the hilltops in the morning. What more could you ask for?
Oct 07, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
When we got there at 6pm we had to wait for our site cause the other people were still there. Then they have that site to someone else so we had to go to the one next to the playground which was very loud. Sixth koa I've stayed at in a week and the worst one. All the others were great.
Aug 27, 2013
Loved the Saturaday family fun activities. Such a great place to stay. Really enjoyed it!
Aug 26, 2013
The camp site was very nice. There was alot of noise after 10pm and early in the morning before 700am plus cars and ATC's traveling up and down the road. All Friday night there was a dog barking. Cleaning of the bathrooms from 8-10am? Prime hours the showering. Why not after 1200pm would seem more reasonable. Since check out is 11am.
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Everyone at this KOA was so friendly and accommodating. We had a great time!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.