Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jan 12, 2017
We had a great time!!! We have stayed a few times already. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. The only thing is the water pressure for the showers but you are in the mountains so how many showers do you need. We will definitely be back!!!
Jan 07, 2017
Super nice staff! Beautiful, clean, well-maintained cabin. Loved the facility. Great place for a quiet winter getaway!
Jan 05, 2017
Had such an amazing time! Staff was extremely helpful and always willing to help!
Jan 03, 2017
Ever since I was a boy traveling the US, KOA's have always been the highlight of our journey. These campgrounds have always proved to be a safe, fun, friendly place to enjoy time with family and get closer to nature. The Koa in Santa Margarita is no different. Great campsites and fun for all ages! Then there is the staff. The nicest, friendliest, most helpful bunch I've ever encountered.
Jan 03, 2017
Beautiful lake, mountains and campground! Clean, fun and peaceful.
Jan 02, 2017
We had a great time. Wish the lake was higher so we could have taken the boat. I left my home made fire poker at the camp sight. That thing was awesome.
Jan 01, 2017
Visited on a regular yearly vacation in the early 1970's, once staying two weeks, was just as enjoyable this trip as my memories of the 70's. A few more conveniences, Wifi, RV hookups cabins, The trees, quite with the sound of families hiking by was great. My wife loved it. we'll differently be back. Close to Morro bay, Pismo, Hearst Castle, San Luis Obispo. Can't go wrong here. Rodney & Lois B.
Dec 30, 2016
Perfect get away with the family Cabins where great so was stafff
Dec 30, 2016
Loved the cabins, 88 was perfect for my family of 5!
Dec 30, 2016
Enjoyable
Dec 23, 2016
Thankful that you were flexible with us checking in late. We were stuck in Big Sur, busy exploring!
Dec 19, 2016
The cabin was very nice and we had plenty of room. The staff at Santa Margarita were very nice and helpful. My wife had a great time for her birthday. Thank you.
Dec 19, 2016
Absolutely loved it. The staff was incredibly helpful to us, providing help with our fire when it would not start for the life of us, and also getting my truck started when the battery died. We are incredibly thankful to have been able to run to such caring camp staff. They basically double as my mother when things got stressful :)
Dec 01, 2016
the lady manager couldn't have been more helpful and cooperative. Made our stay much more pleasant.
Dec 01, 2016
Nov 30, 2016
The hospitality at Samnta Margarita KOA we is a good reason to keep going there.Its like him he away from home.
Nov 29, 2016
We had a great stay. We stayed at a tent site (#22) which was close to a bathroom but we also had our privacy and this site had access to water and electricity. Management was really pleasant and helpful.
Nov 28, 2016
Had a great time. People that work there were extremely helpful and friendly. Would go again.
Nov 28, 2016
Kim Ann was an extremely good host and very helpful. 10/10
Nov 27, 2016
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Nov 27, 2016
This was our ninth Thanksgiving here, and LOVE the campground, the camp hosts and EVERYTHING about it. We'really already reserved for next year!
Nov 27, 2016
Very friendly employees and the kabin was in excellent condition. A really good stay for us.
Nov 27, 2016
Love this place
Nov 25, 2016
Loved the nature.
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
Men's restroom smelled horribly. We were only booked for one night. We did look around the campground on the morning we left. It looks like it has a lot of activities and features to offer.
Nov 14, 2016
Nov 14, 2016
We have been coming here for the last few years because of the location and what it has to offer. The staff were all friendly and made the trip even more enjoyable.
Nov 07, 2016
This is an amazing camp ground. The staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. I belong to a few camping clubs but my go to camp grounds has always been KOA for the excellent service we receive. This camp ground and its staff is the reason I will continue to camp KOA.
Nov 07, 2016
Love the new management team. I can see nice improvements in the camping from previous visits.
Nov 04, 2016
inattentive staff at check-in. way too many steps to restrooms. spaces could use some leveling.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry our staff was inattentive. We pride ourselves on superior customer service; so, I am at a loss as to why that happened. Please visit us again and I guarantee you will receive excellent service with a smile.
Nov 04, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. Clean & serene. The staff was so friendly and welcoming. I can't say enough good things about them. We would see them making the rounds every once in a while, but we didn't feel "policed". Plus, on the night we stayed there, they had a stargazing event with local astronomers. I think they said they are there once a month. Can't wait to come back!
Nov 01, 2016
It was good
Nov 01, 2016
We loved it here. The cabin was nice, lots of stuff to do, & staff was wonderful.
Oct 31, 2016
Our cabin was fantastic for our group! We were in town for a concert at the Pozo Saloon down the street and the KOA was a great base for us. It was nice to have a full bathroom and kitchen to use while also getting to still have a campfire and picnic table outside. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great stay!
Oct 31, 2016
Loved the cabin abd campsite. check in was easy, and site 25 was perfect for a big family
Oct 28, 2016
So quite. Wonderful!!!!
Oct 27, 2016
Great
Oct 26, 2016
Enjoyed the easy access to trailer site and location of hook-ups. Liked the quiet atmosphere and relaxation I great surroundings.
Oct 25, 2016
Our experience with this KOA was so positive, we came back again the following year. We were not disappointed, and we received the same warm welcome. We had a large party of cyclists, and were graciously offered adjoining campsites as well as a large-sized grill for the event. We had a wonderful time, and plan to come back again next year. Thank you Santa Margarita KOA!
Oct 25, 2016
clean and quiet. I arrived after midnight and my paperwork was on the board just like I asked it to be.
Oct 24, 2016
Staff is welcoming & the bouncing pillow & play area is a big hit. Would be nice to know how to get the horse shoes & tether ball so we could have played with those too. Adding another swing set would be a big hit as well. There are only 2 swings & 1 child swing it was rare they were not full. Also, the Emu looks sad... maybe a bigger area for him to roam around in. Love this place
Oct 22, 2016
Way too expensive!
Oct 21, 2016
We came on Wednesday, and saw whales at Pismo on Friday plus cinnamon rolls. Wine tasting and loofa sponges in nipomom. Wine Harvest in Paso on sat ant Sunday Take the hike up the hill past water tanks to the top. What a view!!
Oct 20, 2016
I rented out 20 cabins for a retreat I planned and KimAnn helped me coordinate the whole thing. The reservation of 20 cabins took time, but they were patient and helpful. The party yurt was the perfect resource to have when the entire weekend was rained out because we were able to fit 70 people comfortably in there. There was also plenty of space for the 110 total we had during the day. Greatplace
Oct 20, 2016
Nice setting, friendly staff...kind of a long trek to bathrooms, tho.
Oct 17, 2016
Friendly staff, sites among the trees with lots of space.
Oct 14, 2016
Very clean place! Rode a motorcycle from Tacoma Wa and was glad to arrive after riding south. Ground at tent site was so hard tent stakes couldnt penetrate. Nice people everywhere!
Oct 12, 2016
Wish we could stay longer
Oct 11, 2016
What a great place to stay!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals