Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2015
Great place to camp. My family loves this KOA.
Jul 26, 2015
My kids had a great time!
Jul 26, 2015
Beautiful scenery but the lady that runs the front desk is a condescending know it all.
Jul 26, 2015
nice staff, good locatiobn, store could be opened a little longer
Jul 25, 2015
The staff were great, however, this koa is located away from everything. I was disappointed. Cars came by all night long and there was a lot of dust. The worst koa I have seen so far.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
It's very remote. The bathrooms are hard to reach. Many of the advertised amenities were not usable. Store / Office closed at 5, not 8 as advertised

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are 10 mi. off US101. There are steep stairs to the restrooms. Mid-week we may close the store at 5pm but there is a sign that says "Please use our walkie talkie to reach staff for any reason at any time." Our new, larger Jumping Pillow will go in this week. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
Jul 21, 2015
Unfortunately everything was dry and dusty, the trees were gray. Some parts under construction. But extremly polite and friendly people. Facilities ok.
Jul 21, 2015
We were in site #8 if I come back I would not stay in this site because every time a vehicle goes by dirt is thrown all over your site:( sadly if your eating your food gets a layer of dirt:(
Jul 21, 2015
Our cabin was clean. The staff were amazingly kind and generous. Our only complaints were related to the behavior of other guests,missing or broken luxuries/activities and lack of WiFi connectivity. But, as two of those were not in the owners control, it's unfair to blame.
Jul 21, 2015
- Playground was under Construction (no jumping pillows) - wifi wasn't good
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Staff not very friendly and pretty much non existent, bathrooms/showers were gross! website said they had a lrg bouncer like most KOAS do, they didn't and playgrd was awful too. Very little lighting so bring your flashlight. Worst KOA I've ever stayed at and I've stayed at many of them as we are members
Jul 20, 2015
Very pleasant. Noisy kids were quiet by10 or so. So not a real issue. Planning to stay again.
Jul 20, 2015
the campground itself is great, but the bathrooms and pool were in desperate need of a deep clean. there was built up grime around the edge of the pool and in the showers. we camped in site 68, which had plenty of shade. If it rains on you, be prepared to not be able to get up to some of the higher campgrounds without 4 wheel drive. the roads turn to mud and there are some steep hills to climb
Jul 20, 2015
I had a wonderful time at the campground. I love the fact that the restroom and shower were clean and within walking distance. We also had hiking near by, a pool to cool down and the store to get whatever we needed thru out the day without having to drive far. The employees were wonderful.
Jul 20, 2015
I like how there was a convenient store there and how they had running water for the restroom and shower (which was free!) and that it wasn't booked like the other places, and we got to move our table around. I didn't like how it was super dusty or that we had to put out the fire out at 12am or that the place charged $5 a person after the 2nd person.
Jul 20, 2015
Les toilettes était dans un état lamentables voir dégelassent.
Jul 19, 2015
Great Stay. Friendly people. Had a small emergency while we were at campsite. Scott, who worked in office went above and beyond to help. I would highly recommend this campsite.
Jul 19, 2015
Had a great stay! We were in the deluxe cabin and loved it. It was clean and cozy and we will definitely be back!
Jul 19, 2015
Loved it!!! Clean
Jul 19, 2015
We were fortunate to get the last tent site as every campground in the area for miles was full! Unlike what the State is doing,....we had water and working restrooms. Grace was awesome at the front office,...held my spot,...and was overall just a super nice, friendly, helpful person to assist us! I definitely would recomend and stay here again! Thank you!
Jul 17, 2015
Jul 17, 2015
Todo muy bien muy buena atención y un lugar muy bonito, el precio es adecuado
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Rented a cabin for the night. It was so bad we left after 15 minutes and went to a hotel. Call me if you want to know more.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry you had a bad experience at Santa Margarita KOA. KOA offers a Money-back Guarantee if you checkout within the first hour. I did not see that you took advantage of this. Please call us to discuss what did not meet your standards in the cabin. Please ask for the Manager/Owner, Karen.
Jul 15, 2015
nice quiet stay
Jul 15, 2015
It is beautiful area and kampground is very big and spacious. However, rv lots are small and hard to get to. When we were there jumping pillow was not working. Also, guest punctured main water line and we were out of water for one morning. Staff was really nice and brought as water but it was annoying not to be able to flush toilet.
Jul 15, 2015
We had been traveling down highway 1 all day without any luck of finding an open campsite. We made it to the Santa Margarita KOA at about 10 pm and met Karen. She was so nice and understanding of our troubles and gave us an AMAZING spot. We had such a terrific trip thanks to her :)
Jul 15, 2015
No Internet near our camp site, No Jumping bag...no hot water in cabins

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Santa Margarita KOA. We are large and rural; so there are some spots without internet. You were in a tent site, so I am not sure which cabin did not have hot water. If you had shared your concerns while onsite, we would have done our best to address them.
Jul 13, 2015
I brought 9 kids to camp this weekend. When I called to make my reservations the gentleman who answered was oh so helpful and we got a great site that more then met or needs and expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful except the lady who was working Sunday morning. She was cranky and not so helpful. But otherwise we all had a blast, stayed cool and will be back again for sure. Thank you.
Jul 13, 2015
Amazing place!!! Very clean and beautiful CA country..... We will come back for sure!!
Jul 13, 2015
As a kid, I remember it being one of my favorite places to vacation with my grandparents and parents... Fast forward 20 years and I continued the tradition and took my son. Thanks to the GREAT EMPLOYEES and perfect sites I just had the greatest weekend of my life and know my son had one of the best experiences in his life. THANKS SANTA MARGARITA KOA
Jul 13, 2015
First of all pull up to the campsite and it smells like sewer. The playground was not finished. The picnic table was right on top of the sewer outlet to the next camp I will not stay there again nor recommend anybody else to stay there. Thank you for your concern all the other kOA sites that I've been to along the coast you could not hold a candle next to them. Thank you much Rodney Johnson.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Santa Margarita KOA offers a rustic, back-to-nature experience that's not everyone's "cup of tea." We were installing a new Jumping Pillow replacement. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If you had voiced your concerns while here, we would have done our best to address them. Thank you!
Jul 12, 2015
There was a sewage leak near our site, we were placed in the overflow area for some reason, the playground was under construction and the joint pillow was broken. We had five kids with us. It was kind of a nightmare. Dillon at the front was nice though.
Jul 11, 2015
Had an awesome time although we missed the jumping pillow that was out of order the days we were there.. Overall had a great time there. We will definitely be back! Thanks
Jul 09, 2015
Everything was great had the best camp site only one recommendation have the water truck drive by earlier to keep the dust down. And a employee in a koa truck was driving around very fast kicking up the dust
Jul 09, 2015
Love it. We have already recommended it to our friends.
Jul 09, 2015
Very hot and dry when we were there but peaceful and beautiful. Restrooms were clean and nice, beautiful pool and easy access to coast and wine tasting right in Santa Margarita!
Jul 09, 2015
Cabin was so nice and clean. I definitely come back again.
Jul 09, 2015
We came from Shasta that was beautiful, Margarita was more expensive for a smallest, a not that nice space. We will try another the next time.
Jul 08, 2015
The best location ever
Jul 07, 2015
MY FAMILY AND I HAD A GREAT TIME AT THE KOA IN SANTA MARGARITA!
Jul 07, 2015
Bathrooms needs major repairs and upgrades. Pool is peeling needs resurfacing, really like the fact they have a shallow section for the babies. Cabins could use a through cleaning, Campground is very dusty. Glad there was a mini fridge.
Jul 07, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and it really was deluxe. It was our first "glamping" trip as a family and even though we had all the comforts of home, it was nice to not have TV and computers to occupy us. We had a really great time playing games together and sitting around the fire.
Jul 06, 2015
So we stayed in a cabin and it was nice our daughters loved the stay. It wad peaceful and quiet at night. During th day we went to the pools and went on a hayride around the camp site. It was beautiful I can't wait to go back again. Next year.
Jul 06, 2015
We were only there one night, but at check in we were given the wrong yurt and it took a couple tries to find the right location. In the end it was fixed and we had an enjoyable night.
Jul 06, 2015
I loved the camping trip but i didnt like the Bathroom because it was not cleaned up.
Jul 06, 2015
JoAnn and I had a wonderful weekend . See You Soon
Jul 06, 2015
I was so scared when I stayed there, because of bears. They didn't give a warning about bears. I just read a notice about bears on a restroom door. I think that they should have explained there might be bears when I asked to change my tent site. That night, I saw two bears!!! They were just 5m apart from my tent. They dig out trash bins. I heard bears started to appear a week ago later.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.