Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618


4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Yurt

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Oct 29, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was near a lake and would probably be good for a longer stay. Bugs were bad the night we were there.
Oct 29, 2015
Great office people, sight was fine, dusty and too many flies, we met very nice other campers, overall we enjoyed our stay.
Oct 26, 2015
It was very nice. I would recommend placing a trash bin at the exit so we could discard trash non the way out. I could not find one as I was leaving.
Oct 10, 2015
Just perfect. Already reserved for next year. The hosts and staff were first rate, friendly and helpful.
Oct 09, 2015
We had a great time, the campgrounds are very clean! The staff is great. The family loved the jumping pillow.
Sep 29, 2015
Thank you so much for making this stay for my family so special. A successful weekend!!
Sep 28, 2015
Saved us a long drive after a concert at the Pozo saloon site was nice and in the shade
Sep 27, 2015
We stayed at 3 other KOA campgrounds on this Trip. They all had cleaner bathrooms, sites. Staff were friendly at Santa Mararita, free hay ride good. Just need to fix up the place a little , it is kinda run down.
Sep 22, 2015
The pool was disgusting, game room wasn't impressive, the flies were outrageous and I love KOA but would never go back to this one.
Sep 14, 2015
Friendly staff and very clean property!
Sep 10, 2015
We loved the friendly and professional staff, the pool was always well cared for, the grounds are well kept, the new bath house is beautiful and all the wildlife was awesome. Our kids and dogs felt very welcome and we enjoyed all of the hikes around the area as well as the lake nearby. The highlight however was the starry night event where we got to see Saturn, galaxies and nebula!
Sep 08, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay because this campground was very quiet. It is off the beaten track and I am guessing that is why it was not crowded. The only two things that I would like to see improved are more RV sites that are more private, like some of the tent sites and for people to be more diligent picking up after their pets.
Sep 08, 2015
This was our 5th annual group camping trip, each year we have seen this KOA get better and better, improvements are noticeable and the kids loved the art projects! We will be back next year!
Sep 08, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Staff was exceptional! Lots of activities and fun stuff to do. We look forward to planning our next trip. Many thanks.
Sep 06, 2015
Loved it. Spacious, clean and dog friendly. Huge pet relief area. Even though they're renovating the noise was minimal. Staff was friendly
Sep 04, 2015
Sep 03, 2015
Sep 01, 2015
Worst KOA ever Worst RV park ever. Unpaved and un level roade and pads. Bathroom forever away. almost exclusive permanent residents. The hired help received a visit from probation and went running off to tell other help. Felt unsafe. No lighting. Not KOA quality.
Aug 27, 2015
Really nice campground with good space between the tents
Aug 27, 2015
I had a great time and everything went well. There was one minor problem but the staff took care of it immediately.
Aug 27, 2015
The campground is laid out in an interesting manner, as it is built on a hillside. Because of the drought, there is a lot of dust. That makes it a little difficult. The people were very nice. Don't wash your car or your rig before you go😜
Aug 24, 2015
Great beautiful KOA! Management was wonderful, very clean and quite. We had the best spot! Number 62 pull thru!
Aug 22, 2015
Grandkids LOVED the jumping pillow. Bathrooms clean but a bit of a hike. Store was not open for buying firewood (or beer) upon our arrival but Kandra gave extra effort to rustle up some fire wood for us.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Scott and the entire staff were great! Great safe fun and loved the Telescope Night. Bouncy and pool were very welcoming. Great location to use as a base camp. Thank you for a good time.
Aug 18, 2015
Nice spot on the campground and really Nice people who worked there.
Aug 17, 2015
I stayed here for a week and it was one of my favorite campgrounds ever. Most of the KOAs I've stayed at have the sites packed in so tight you're practically camping on top of your neighbor while at Santa Margarita there is plenty of room and the surrounding area is beautiful. The owner runs a tight ship.
Aug 12, 2015
The only thing that wasn't ok was the cleanlyness of the restrooms. The campground is absolutely amazing. We had a great time.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
We had a wonderful stay. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. Camping at this location was more like getting away from city camping. It was very well groomed and maintained. Because it was a summer weekend it was completely full and we found the bathrooms/showers to be very busy. That was the only nonpositive comment we would make. We loved the terrain and atmosphere. Great place
Aug 09, 2015
The campsite area is absolutely fantastic. Properly in the country, peaceful and away from the rush. We were lucky and got a huge secluded site BUT the washrooms were totally unacceptable. Old, dirty and disgusting. A clean would have helped. The worst ones we have seen on our travels.
Aug 08, 2015
We liked this camping a lot. It was quiet, we had a large space. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We liked the pool and volleyball playground. Unfortunately the bouncing pillow was under renovation.
Aug 07, 2015
Bad roads, dumpsters full and not emptied, no cell phone reception, and space is dirt and not level.
Aug 06, 2015
I had a great time with my family and it was nice that visitors were so easily accommodated when they came to have just dinner.
Aug 06, 2015
The breaker outside kept tripping, placed smelled like septic, and construction was going on so we couldn't enjoy ourselves.
Aug 05, 2015
Site was tiny. Fire pit was literally 6 feet from neighbors sewer line. Pool was green. Playground nowhere near complete. Volleyball court was in shambles. Bounce pillow nonexistent. Staff was friendly. Hookups worked. Was VERY expensive for what we got. There was one camper spot that I would consider in the future after playground completion. If it's not available, no way would I stay again.
Aug 03, 2015
Garbage had not been emptied for some time. Dusty. Many cramped spaces.
Aug 03, 2015
Very nice campground we are looking forward to going back real soon
Jul 31, 2015
Nice friendly hosts. Very quiet and rustic. We liked our stay here.
Jul 30, 2015
Don't know if it was from recent rains, but my one complaint would be the deep (in some parts very deep) wash out area at the entrance to my spot (26 I believe.) Makes backing in, positioning, and pulling out more challenging than it needs to be. Beyond that, easy to get to, nice area, and my family and I enjoyed our stay.
Jul 30, 2015
Wonderful quiet setting. Very relaxing. Great help from staff regarding recommended routes for our large RV. Thanks
Jul 29, 2015
The staff are genuinely friendly and very willing to help you have a wonderful stay.
Jul 27, 2015
Lovely rural atmosphere.
Jul 27, 2015
No insects, but poor internet also. Bathrooms should be modernised
Jul 26, 2015
My kids had a great time!
Jul 26, 2015
Beautiful scenery but the lady that runs the front desk is a condescending know it all.
Jul 25, 2015
The staff were great, however, this koa is located away from everything. I was disappointed. Cars came by all night long and there was a lot of dust. The worst koa I have seen so far.
Jul 21, 2015
Unfortunately everything was dry and dusty, the trees were gray. Some parts under construction. But extremly polite and friendly people. Facilities ok.
Jul 21, 2015
- Playground was under Construction (no jumping pillows) - wifi wasn't good
Jul 20, 2015

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals