Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

RV Reviews

Apr 22, 2015
While the weather turned cold and we could not stay as long as we wanted, the camp was very nice and the workforce people were very nice.
Apr 20, 2015
Thanks for all the hard work!
Apr 19, 2015
We had a nice time camping. But we missed the children's activities we took part in last May. I hope you will add them to next year's Spring break.
Apr 15, 2015
My second time staying here, the Kampground Manager went out of his way to help me and for that I'm am extremely greatful. THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Apr 14, 2015
My family always enjoys a stay here. I park my motorhome with older son as a companion. Younger son and family get a cabin. Only criticism is the laundry room. Bad experience there a year ago and again this year. New machines needed.
Apr 13, 2015
No Swimming Pool until summer season No movie nights until summer season The Wifii was terrible It actually hurt the settings on all of our devices -- on our devices Many Books that were bought and downloaded on our readers were deleted The lake was much farther than we were told ... Not a 1/4 Mile ... It was actually 1.2 Miles each way
Apr 13, 2015
We were given camp site 26 originally then were able to move to site 100 which was much better! Site 26 is really small and located in weird spot. Service was awesome check in and out was easy and fast! The kids loved the pillow jumper! I gave it 4 stars because a dog barked almost every night. Oh well something's happen. Overall great area tucked away from the every day!
Apr 13, 2015
We really enjoyed out stay! This is a quiet peaceful KOA. It's perfect for a calm get away and close enough to action to enjoy the best of both worlds.
Apr 13, 2015
The barking dogs wasn't a hit I think they should go back up the hill where there's not so many people....their pretty noisy! Other then that we love the place...
Apr 13, 2015
Overall great - kids loved the pillow but were disappointed that the pool was closed.
Apr 13, 2015
Fantastic! It was the cleanest campground I have ever stayed in! The staff was extremely helpful and kind. Super clean bathrooms too!
Apr 11, 2015
Beautiful and peaceful campsite and helpful staff. However, the shower facilities let it down a little.
Apr 06, 2015
Beautifull surrounding, campground really in The nature, but restrooms nötig clean at all.
Apr 06, 2015
It was OK, thank.s
Apr 04, 2015
Very Nice campground, lots if schade andere plenty to do for the kids
Apr 03, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much. Lots of things for our grandkids to do and we were close to the coast. We will be staying again in the future.
Apr 01, 2015
We had a good site. The environment was great, looking forward to returning.
Mar 31, 2015
We have been coming here for the last 3 summers...we live it...it totally has the camping feel and is well kept up...and the staff are so friendly....will be back in a couple weeks.... :)
Mar 31, 2015
We had a great stay. Wish there was water in the pool, it was extremely hot out. But we had a good time
Mar 23, 2015
Had a great stay, quiet and peaceful. The check in was a breeze with a very helpful person. We'll be back I'm sure.
Mar 23, 2015
Perfect weather, beautiful site, nice amenities. Thanks for having us.
Mar 18, 2015
A great place to stay for peace and quiet, no traffic noise, no train noise. Very helpful staff! Thank you.
Mar 17, 2015
We liked the campground. However Saturday night, the water went out. It was out for about an hour. But, when it came back on, the water was full of rust. It stained my sink. I think we should get something in return for that.
Mar 16, 2015
Off season is not the best time to stay as a single lady, but would be a blast for family. There's lots of fun things for the kids to do & close to the lake. I voiced my concerns, of loose & barking dogs & kids unsupervised after dark, & an old sewage spill at my site, with management, who explained that there isn't an active manager at night and took care of the other problem immediately.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry to hear your stay was less than enjoyable. Yes, we do have active management onsite every night. Because of poor cell reception, campers can reach a staff member by using our landline by the store or a two-way radio by the store door. We will make a better effort to let guests know.
Mar 09, 2015
While setting up the camp below us, which we had clear view of, looked like full time folks, began a load screaming fight with each other, we immediately packed up and left. We will not stay in this type of environment. We sacrificed our money and moved to the Santa Cruz location, which accompanied us. Very pleased here.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry that your stay was interrupted by fellow guests. We wish you had drawn our attention to the situation while you were onsite. We are known for being a very quiet park. We hope you will visit us again in the near future so we can redeem ourselves.
Mar 05, 2015
needed trash clean up before we got there but quiet
Mar 02, 2015
Nice people
Feb 18, 2015
Campground was nice, and well maintained. Only comment I would make,I was originally registered to site #22 (with 19 ft trailer), would have been near impossible to get in, and no way to get out w/ trailer. Thank you.
Feb 17, 2015
We love the wilderness feature of this Campground. It is very difficult for a 40' motorhome to negotiate. We stayed in Site 46 and had to ask people to move their vehicles so we could get in and more so out of our site. Once settled it was fantastic for the remoteness, activities. it's what camping use to be ... relaxing (except for the driving part)
Feb 17, 2015
The hosts were fantastic people who went out of their way to make our unplanned weekend here great. The blanket of stars overhead was also amazing. Looking forward to trying a cabin next visit.
Feb 07, 2015
Friendly, they worked with us coming in later then they stay open. They didn't have free wifi that was a bummer.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes, we do have Free Wi-fi through Tengo Internet. You have to set up an account with Tengo; but, there is no password needed and no charge. Many KOA's use Tengo; so, once you have an account...you are good to go! Please come see us again. Happy camping!
Feb 02, 2015
Great facility, great service.
Feb 02, 2015
We only had one night to take it all in. That was not enough. We plan to come back!
Jan 26, 2015
R space was great, but the Internet service was really slow and most times could not connect. Had a great stay will try to be back in a few months,Wiley's
Jan 24, 2015
What a great place lots of space staff helpful beautiful quiet place perfect setting I have only 2 negative could the boss of KOA fund new toilets and showers and new washing and drying machines they are very tied looking Staff work hard on site would camp here again
Jan 21, 2015
The staff was very helpful and upgraded us to an easier campsite that would fit our newly acquired, longer, and not easily parked trailer. They also helped us with all kinds of fittings and tips. These are the kind of people that give a good name to campers.
Jan 19, 2015
It was winter so it was a little chilly. The camp sites are large. They have a huge bounce pillow that was great for the grandkids after it warmed up a little. The water heater for the bathrooms were not working. COLD SHOWERS! Scott, the host, couldn't have been a nicer guy. I think he is stretched too thin on his duties. He could sure use some help. It's a beautiful area. Nice, dark nights.
Jan 08, 2015
Jan 06, 2015
GOOD SERVICE, VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY EMPLOYEES. PARK IS KEEP VERY CLEAN.
Jan 06, 2015
The park was clean and the employees were friendly. I mentioned that one of the bathrooms had a clogged drain and it was taken care of in a timely manner. This was the second time we've stayed there since September and look forward to going back soon...
Jan 02, 2015
We enjoyed our site--it was private and scenic and the employees were very nice. But the bathrooms were far and the closest one didn't have hot water (it was in the 20's-40's while we were there).
Dec 28, 2014
No hot water in showers. One of the main reasons we stayed at a KOA was to use the shower facilities.
Dec 22, 2014
Peaceful experience,and staff was very friendly, and helpful! I would come back and let my family and friends in on this amazing spot.
Dec 16, 2014
Rock roads make it difficult to pull trailers up the hills and to back into the sites. But they did accommodate us by using a tractor to put our trailer in thesite.
Dec 03, 2014
I think there have been many improvements since our last stay. Hopefully many more will come in the future. One item of concern is that some of the KOA trucks that roam the roads inside the park...could use to go slower.
Dec 03, 2014
We only stayed 2 nights but everything was more than satisfactory. Very friendly host!
Dec 03, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Nov 27, 2014
We had a great stay. The staff was very helpful, and this location is ideally situated for easy access to San Luis Obispo, Pismo Beach, and Avila Beach. We'll be back!
Nov 25, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
We love this KOA! It's local to us and a great getaway from home. Super accommodating to our needs. We will be returning!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.