Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

RV Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
Great beautiful KOA! Management was wonderful, very clean and quite. We had the best spot! Number 62 pull thru!
Aug 22, 2015
Grandkids LOVED the jumping pillow. Bathrooms clean but a bit of a hike. Store was not open for buying firewood (or beer) upon our arrival but Kandra gave extra effort to rustle up some fire wood for us.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Scott and the entire staff were great! Great safe fun and loved the Telescope Night. Bouncy and pool were very welcoming. Great location to use as a base camp. Thank you for a good time.
Aug 18, 2015
Nice spot on the campground and really Nice people who worked there.
Aug 17, 2015
I stayed here for a week and it was one of my favorite campgrounds ever. Most of the KOAs I've stayed at have the sites packed in so tight you're practically camping on top of your neighbor while at Santa Margarita there is plenty of room and the surrounding area is beautiful. The owner runs a tight ship.
Aug 12, 2015
The only thing that wasn't ok was the cleanlyness of the restrooms. The campground is absolutely amazing. We had a great time.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
We had a wonderful stay. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. Camping at this location was more like getting away from city camping. It was very well groomed and maintained. Because it was a summer weekend it was completely full and we found the bathrooms/showers to be very busy. That was the only nonpositive comment we would make. We loved the terrain and atmosphere. Great place
Aug 09, 2015
The campsite area is absolutely fantastic. Properly in the country, peaceful and away from the rush. We were lucky and got a huge secluded site BUT the washrooms were totally unacceptable. Old, dirty and disgusting. A clean would have helped. The worst ones we have seen on our travels.
Aug 08, 2015
We liked this camping a lot. It was quiet, we had a large space. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We liked the pool and volleyball playground. Unfortunately the bouncing pillow was under renovation.
Aug 07, 2015
Bad roads, dumpsters full and not emptied, no cell phone reception, and space is dirt and not level.
Aug 06, 2015
I had a great time with my family and it was nice that visitors were so easily accommodated when they came to have just dinner.
Aug 06, 2015
The breaker outside kept tripping, placed smelled like septic, and construction was going on so we couldn't enjoy ourselves.
Aug 05, 2015
Site was tiny. Fire pit was literally 6 feet from neighbors sewer line. Pool was green. Playground nowhere near complete. Volleyball court was in shambles. Bounce pillow nonexistent. Staff was friendly. Hookups worked. Was VERY expensive for what we got. There was one camper spot that I would consider in the future after playground completion. If it's not available, no way would I stay again.
Aug 03, 2015
Garbage had not been emptied for some time. Dusty. Many cramped spaces.
Aug 03, 2015
Very nice campground we are looking forward to going back real soon
Jul 31, 2015
Nice friendly hosts. Very quiet and rustic. We liked our stay here.
Jul 30, 2015
Don't know if it was from recent rains, but my one complaint would be the deep (in some parts very deep) wash out area at the entrance to my spot (26 I believe.) Makes backing in, positioning, and pulling out more challenging than it needs to be. Beyond that, easy to get to, nice area, and my family and I enjoyed our stay.
Jul 30, 2015
Wonderful quiet setting. Very relaxing. Great help from staff regarding recommended routes for our large RV. Thanks
Jul 29, 2015
The staff are genuinely friendly and very willing to help you have a wonderful stay.
Jul 27, 2015
Lovely rural atmosphere.
Jul 27, 2015
No insects, but poor internet also. Bathrooms should be modernised
Jul 26, 2015
My kids had a great time!
Jul 26, 2015
Beautiful scenery but the lady that runs the front desk is a condescending know it all.
Jul 25, 2015
The staff were great, however, this koa is located away from everything. I was disappointed. Cars came by all night long and there was a lot of dust. The worst koa I have seen so far.
Jul 21, 2015
Unfortunately everything was dry and dusty, the trees were gray. Some parts under construction. But extremly polite and friendly people. Facilities ok.
Jul 21, 2015
- Playground was under Construction (no jumping pillows) - wifi wasn't good
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Staff not very friendly and pretty much non existent, bathrooms/showers were gross! website said they had a lrg bouncer like most KOAS do, they didn't and playgrd was awful too. Very little lighting so bring your flashlight. Worst KOA I've ever stayed at and I've stayed at many of them as we are members
Jul 20, 2015
Very pleasant. Noisy kids were quiet by10 or so. So not a real issue. Planning to stay again.
Jul 19, 2015
Great Stay. Friendly people. Had a small emergency while we were at campsite. Scott, who worked in office went above and beyond to help. I would highly recommend this campsite.
Jul 17, 2015
Todo muy bien muy buena atención y un lugar muy bonito, el precio es adecuado
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
nice quiet stay
Jul 15, 2015
It is beautiful area and kampground is very big and spacious. However, rv lots are small and hard to get to. When we were there jumping pillow was not working. Also, guest punctured main water line and we were out of water for one morning. Staff was really nice and brought as water but it was annoying not to be able to flush toilet.
Jul 15, 2015
No Internet near our camp site, No Jumping bag...no hot water in cabins

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Santa Margarita KOA. We are large and rural; so there are some spots without internet. You were in a tent site, so I am not sure which cabin did not have hot water. If you had shared your concerns while onsite, we would have done our best to address them.
Jul 13, 2015
First of all pull up to the campsite and it smells like sewer. The playground was not finished. The picnic table was right on top of the sewer outlet to the next camp I will not stay there again nor recommend anybody else to stay there. Thank you for your concern all the other kOA sites that I've been to along the coast you could not hold a candle next to them. Thank you much Rodney Johnson.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Santa Margarita KOA offers a rustic, back-to-nature experience that's not everyone's "cup of tea." We were installing a new Jumping Pillow replacement. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If you had voiced your concerns while here, we would have done our best to address them. Thank you!
Jul 09, 2015
Very hot and dry when we were there but peaceful and beautiful. Restrooms were clean and nice, beautiful pool and easy access to coast and wine tasting right in Santa Margarita!
Jul 08, 2015
The best location ever
Jul 02, 2015
Campground was ok and had loTs of potential playground lacks major attention pool was not very clean basketball court could use some attemtion
Jul 02, 2015
This is an awesome campground. Close to Hearst Castle and the truly exciting Zip Line at San Margarita. We had a lot of fun.
Jun 29, 2015
It's always nice....
Jun 28, 2015
Belle situation, mais loin de tout : à réserver aux amoureux de la nature ! Alerte OURS en cours mais prise un peu à la légère par les responsables du camping (beaucoup plus par les rangers du state park voisin...). Eau de qualité limite, piscine avec un système de filtration bricolé, hygiène des sanitaires plutôt douteuse...
Jun 27, 2015
Der KOA Campground ist sehr gut in die Landschaft eingebettet.Die Spielplätze für Kinder weitläufig. Die Sanitären Anlagen sind etwas Renovierungsbedürftig aber sauber. Danke für diesen netten Platz.
Jun 24, 2015
The camp staff were marvelous! Our suggestion would be that because of how spread out the camp is and how difficult it is to walk the roads, it would be great if the staff would perhaps have set times where they would come pick up garbage or deliver ice.
Jun 22, 2015
Great 2 Weeks - Looking forward to coming back next year. Read my blog post here: http://theamericanwinetrail.com/?p=280
Jun 22, 2015
Wonderful and caring staff...we will be coming again!!
Jun 22, 2015
Great Staff
Jun 22, 2015
Loved all the activities for kids, the playground and jump pillow, being surrounded by nature, a beautiful view that kept us outside. A great KOA!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.