Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Apr 21, 2017
The staff was kind and welcoming and helpful. It was our first family travel-trailer trip (hopefully, of many), and we loved it. Thank you!
Apr 19, 2017
Park was clean, very well kept
Apr 17, 2017
The staff at Santa Margarita KOA are all very nice and professional.The bathrooms are clean and the store has a plentiful variety of items that you may need for your camping trip. The sites are clean but a little dusty at times.This is to be expected out in the country. Overall pleasant experience!! We will camp here again !!!
Apr 17, 2017
Had a wonderful time. Loved the layout of the grounds. Don't forget to walk around and check out the upper roads where it is tent camping only. Beautiful views.
Apr 17, 2017
Nice campground & friendly staff. Would stay here again.
Apr 14, 2017
Love this campground! Great staff at the store, sites are easy and clean (though not always level) - minor compared to the location you get - close to San Luis Obispo - we've visited several times and love it!
Apr 14, 2017
Good people, friendly staff. Lousy showers, grounds not anywhere near as nice as County campground up the road at the lake and better priced. Stacked camping at it's finest
Apr 12, 2017
My husband and I and our 3 grown kids w our grandkids just spent an amazing 3 days at your KOA. Perfect family fun spot!
Apr 10, 2017
We had a great time! Very Friendly staff. Will Go again.
Apr 09, 2017
Apr 08, 2017
We had so much fun with out kids at the beautiful campground. Very clean, gorgeous location and the jumping pad was endless entertainment for our kids. Staff was very friend and accommodating. We'll be back!
Apr 04, 2017
Awesome place amd staff, deer came into our campsite :)
Apr 04, 2017
The campground has a nice wooded feel, but how come you have such a beautiful setting, but you put people six feet from each other. I just don't get it. Camp host were nice.
Apr 04, 2017
Very quite and beautiful campground.Staff very kind and helpful.
Mar 31, 2017
Mar 29, 2017
The worst koa we had from Indiana to California. The restroom are very dirty, to dirty to shower or go to the toilet.
Mar 20, 2017
Had a wonderful weekend. One of our favorite spots. Office staff always friendly and helpful. Two sites next two the jumping pillow. Kids loved it as usual.
Mar 13, 2017
Was hoping to find RV spaces a little more separated from each other. Limited personal space / privacy.
Feb 21, 2017
We had a great stay, even through one of the worst CA storms ever! The hosts were super-helpful & accommodating..even letting us move sites & park a wedding-day leftover beer-keg trailer in their parking lot! Bathrooms were clean & the showers were hot! Overall a very welcoming & beautiful place to stay! (We loved Kevin the Emu too!) They have great stuff for kids too!
Feb 15, 2017
We found this KOA by accident and were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly. The trailer site was nice and quiet. The park itself is hilly which makes for private feeling sites and great hiking. The down side was that they have a few animals. The emu was in a very small chain link encloser and definettly stressed and pacing. One goat couldn't stand.
Feb 07, 2017
This was a great find. The customer service was amazing. Kim Ann couldn't have been friendlier when we arrived. Had problems with our electric and although they couldn't fix it, they arrived promptly on a late Saturday night. Loved our pull-thru site. It was a rainy weekend so we plan to go back in the spring.
Jan 16, 2017
Really friendly staff, when you can catch them. Office is not continuously manned, so you have to radio for assistance. Clean resort well maintained. Loved it.
Jan 03, 2017
Ever since I was a boy traveling the US, KOA's have always been the highlight of our journey. These campgrounds have always proved to be a safe, fun, friendly place to enjoy time with family and get closer to nature. The Koa in Santa Margarita is no different. Great campsites and fun for all ages! Then there is the staff. The nicest, friendliest, most helpful bunch I've ever encountered.
Jan 03, 2017
Beautiful lake, mountains and campground! Clean, fun and peaceful.
Jan 02, 2017
We had a great time. Wish the lake was higher so we could have taken the boat. I left my home made fire poker at the camp sight. That thing was awesome.
Jan 01, 2017
Visited on a regular yearly vacation in the early 1970's, once staying two weeks, was just as enjoyable this trip as my memories of the 70's. A few more conveniences, Wifi, RV hookups cabins, The trees, quite with the sound of families hiking by was great. My wife loved it. we'll differently be back. Close to Morro bay, Pismo, Hearst Castle, San Luis Obispo. Can't go wrong here. Rodney & Lois B.
Dec 30, 2016
Enjoyable
Dec 01, 2016
the lady manager couldn't have been more helpful and cooperative. Made our stay much more pleasant.
Nov 30, 2016
The hospitality at Samnta Margarita KOA we is a good reason to keep going there.Its like him he away from home.
Nov 29, 2016
We had a great stay. We stayed at a tent site (#22) which was close to a bathroom but we also had our privacy and this site had access to water and electricity. Management was really pleasant and helpful.
Nov 28, 2016
Had a great time. People that work there were extremely helpful and friendly. Would go again.
Nov 27, 2016
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Nov 25, 2016
Loved the nature.
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
Men's restroom smelled horribly. We were only booked for one night. We did look around the campground on the morning we left. It looks like it has a lot of activities and features to offer.
Nov 14, 2016
Nov 04, 2016
inattentive staff at check-in. way too many steps to restrooms. spaces could use some leveling.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry our staff was inattentive. We pride ourselves on superior customer service; so, I am at a loss as to why that happened. Please visit us again and I guarantee you will receive excellent service with a smile.
Oct 27, 2016
Great
Oct 26, 2016
Enjoyed the easy access to trailer site and location of hook-ups. Liked the quiet atmosphere and relaxation I great surroundings.
Oct 24, 2016
Staff is welcoming & the bouncing pillow & play area is a big hit. Would be nice to know how to get the horse shoes & tether ball so we could have played with those too. Adding another swing set would be a big hit as well. There are only 2 swings & 1 child swing it was rare they were not full. Also, the Emu looks sad... maybe a bigger area for him to roam around in. Love this place
Oct 22, 2016
Way too expensive!
Oct 21, 2016
We came on Wednesday, and saw whales at Pismo on Friday plus cinnamon rolls. Wine tasting and loofa sponges in nipomom. Wine Harvest in Paso on sat ant Sunday Take the hike up the hill past water tanks to the top. What a view!!
Oct 20, 2016
Nice setting, friendly staff...kind of a long trek to bathrooms, tho.
Oct 17, 2016
Friendly staff, sites among the trees with lots of space.
Oct 09, 2016
Oct 09, 2016
friendly step clean space kids friendly camp
Oct 03, 2016
Our only issue was that the location of the water an power were not together. Unfortunately our water connection us at the front of our rig & the site connection was away from electric connection - our hose was too short by a foot. We noticed most if not all other sites power & water were next to each other.
Sep 27, 2016
Clean, friendly and a great place to camp. My family had a blast.
Sep 27, 2016
Keeping in mind the fact that this is a KOA, it is a great place to stay with full hookups. Compared to other KOAs I've stayed at it is super clean, and quiet, and actually offers a bit of privacy in alot of thier spots. We stayed in #9.
Sep 25, 2016
loose gravel road made parking a bit tricky but other than that it was a great place.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps