Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Accommodations, Deluxe Cabins, Log Cabins & Yurts

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

RV Sites, Tent Sites, RV & Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 21, 2017
Santa Margarita KOA is lots of fun for kids and adults. The pool is awesome! The staff in the store is super friendly. Our site, "the fishbowl" was so perfect for our 4 toddlers and 6 adults. Our one complaint is that the jumping pillow thing was not working the majority of the time that we were there. We finally went once when it was working and it was so fun- just wish it was working more.
Jun 21, 2017
I will be honest and say I had higher expectations. We recently stayed at the KOA in Ventura, and it was better equipped/set up.Our reservation was also suppose to have shade and didn't. We were tent camping so we had to buy a canopy to help with the heat. Was okay.
Jun 09, 2017
Very friendly staff!
Jun 04, 2017
Friendly staff, clean restrooms, and great place to camp.
May 31, 2017
We stay here as often as possible, this is our first choice when camping either in tents or trailer. Karen and the rest of her wonderful staff are so respectful as well as helpful. Visted other KOAs and they do not compare to Santa Margarita. This KOA has alot the others can learn from. Great job Karen,me and my wife thank you and your team for making our stay such a wonderful one again.
May 30, 2017
Wonderful campground! We love all of the people we meet. The bounce pillow is the crown jewel for us.
May 30, 2017
Everyone here was so helpful and nice. Property is very clean and set up perfectly. We stayed in front of the jumpy pillow and could see the kids from camp. It was very convenient. We had a family reunion here and everyone was very happy.
May 30, 2017
The site was really and spacious. My only concern was the access to the restrooms. We stayed in the YURT and the climb up and down the hill was a bit strenuous.I love the improvements made to the camp and I will definitely come back!
May 30, 2017
Beautiful campsites. Very clean. Great staff.
May 30, 2017
Nice place, welcoming, friendly and helping staff. Thanks Kim Ann for taking good care of the group. Couple of low lights - Couldn't sleep the 1st night due to a dog barking all night. Would have expected that dog to have been taken care prior to arrival. Women restrooms were not clean.
May 30, 2017
A great end of the day and night. Good holiday rates, and cheery and helpful staff
May 26, 2017
Pool was closed, staff did not advised us at the booking time or checking time.A lot of web spiders and spiders in restrooms.Be aware.
May 24, 2017
Had a great time will be going back
May 22, 2017
Camping area was spacious. Stay was great! Upon arrival I received great customer service. Overall wonderful experience.
May 20, 2017
The best part about this KOA was discovering the wonderful county park at the lake for half the price. I stay at KOAs a lot, and this one is lovely but seemed overpriced for the sloping dirt pads, lack of 120V plugs, lack of hot water in the shower, mobility issues, dangerously narrow roads and lack of traffic controls on the upper hill. It's a difficult site for a campground.
May 18, 2017
The campsite was amazing and just what we were looking for. The park attendant was very nice. We got there pretty late and she still offered to open the store for us and guided us to our campsite. If we come in this area again, we will definitely stay here!
May 15, 2017
jumping pillow was fun, staff was very on top of everything, beautifully maintained grounds
May 13, 2017
Was nice, but the sites are dirt and it rained..... So we camped in mud. But friendly staff
May 07, 2017
Very clean and well maintained My kids had a blast
May 04, 2017
Friendly staff,
Apr 24, 2017
KOA is a great place to go camping. The staff are very friendly and very accommodating. The campsites are in good locations. The bathroom is very clean. They had a nice playground for the kids as well. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone I know..
Apr 23, 2017
L
Apr 22, 2017
Very accommodating for a late arrival and clear communication. We're not there long enough to take advantage of all services but the dump station was gross and almost not usable.
Apr 19, 2017
Apr 17, 2017
Management was very nice and friendly. The sites are dug into the hillsides, and suitable. Not friendly for kids with bikes, but there are other options. Barking dog everynight into the wee hours was my only gripe.
Apr 16, 2017
The staff and grounds were wonderful. The hike to the restrooms/shower facilities keeps this stay from receiving 5 stars.
Apr 10, 2017
Really helpful in finding the right site for me
Apr 10, 2017
Clean and staff was awesome. I'll be back.
Apr 08, 2017
The front desk staff is very nice.But the area of ​​the tent is too bad.Because it rains at night.The ground is actually yellow mud,so terrible.
Apr 06, 2017
Beautiful area. We enjoyed the Yurt. Having the WiFi was an added surprise- although we didn't tell our children. We would come again. Close to lots of fun places- Pismo,SLO and Morro Bay.
Apr 06, 2017
Secluded sites a bit cold but adequate. Friendly staff nice bouncer.
Apr 04, 2017
The new team is the best team we have encountered in our many visits here, over the last ten years.
Apr 03, 2017
We loved everything about the campground...except the light situation at night. We were in site 37 & it was extremely bright (lights from both staircases & the bath house). Our tent was completely lit up! Next time we'll stay in another site. I recommend fixing the lighting situation though & making it more focused (both for a good night's sleep & better stargazing!)
Apr 02, 2017
The staff was welcoming and friendly and the facilities were kept clean. We enjoyed our stay very much!
Mar 24, 2017
I only stayed one night ,but that was because it was raining.camp ground was nice
Mar 20, 2017
Pretty area with the most helpful staff especially KimAnn
Mar 20, 2017
Santa Margarita KOA is a destination camp ground. Plan to stay and enjoy the natural beauty of this area.
Mar 18, 2017
I think it is a great place and very spread out with regards to the sites. I like KOA's so I shouldn't be writing reviews. Cheers
Mar 05, 2017
Wonderful, thank you!
Jan 05, 2017
Had such an amazing time! Staff was extremely helpful and always willing to help!
Dec 01, 2016
Nov 27, 2016
Love this place
Nov 07, 2016
Love the new management team. I can see nice improvements in the camping from previous visits.
Oct 28, 2016
So quite. Wonderful!!!!
Oct 20, 2016
I rented out 20 cabins for a retreat I planned and KimAnn helped me coordinate the whole thing. The reservation of 20 cabins took time, but they were patient and helpful. The party yurt was the perfect resource to have when the entire weekend was rained out because we were able to fit 70 people comfortably in there. There was also plenty of space for the 110 total we had during the day. Greatplace
Oct 12, 2016
Wish we could stay longer
Oct 11, 2016
Great facility - super impressed
Oct 10, 2016
Clean site, well maintained, good facilities, already freezing cold at night early October
Oct 07, 2016
Great place, great amenities. Good people. I have a small complaint about the cats fighting and rummaging around and the dogs barking. I wish the tent camping was a little cheaper.
Oct 04, 2016
Really had a good time. 0nly negative was group of men smoking on a hookah at pool.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals