Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Apr 21, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 19, 2014
We loved our stay here. The staff was nice, the bathrooms amazingly clean, lots of land to explore. The only two complaints would be that the fire pits are extremely shallow and the guy driving the golf cart with the blue (staff member) drove as fast as possible everywhere he went, kicking up dust and disregarding children's safety when driving near the playground. The playground was awesome btw!
Apr 17, 2014
Staff were very friendly, grounds were well maintained- nice quiet campground. We had a blast!
Apr 13, 2014
We all loved camping at camp koa my parents have gone for 14 years and now its become a family tradition we always get excited because there is always something new to experince at camp koa, plus everyone is very nice and helpful .
Apr 01, 2014
The tent sites are very large and the washrooms were clean
Mar 25, 2014
This place is fantastic. Just had my 3rd trip there in the past 8 years. It keeps getting better and better. Not only is it a beautiful area, but this place has a mix of RV camping and remote sites for privacy. I love the cabins and the yurts. Wonderful owner as well, friendly. Cant say enough good things!
Mar 19, 2014
Beautiful site with a decent amount of privacy. Spotless bathroom with hot showers. Had a wonderful time.
Mar 10, 2014
Feb 26, 2014
The campgrounds and the restrooms were very clean. There was plenty of things for the children to entertain themselves with giving me and my wife plenty of alone time. Couldn't have asked for any better service, the employe there were extremely friendly. Had a wonderful time would deffinately recommend this place to anyone.
Dec 06, 2013
Nov 10, 2013
Private, well-spaced campsites. Beautiful views. My car battery died and the campground manager came by within 3 minutes and charged it up so I could get on my way.
Oct 22, 2013
It's the time of year when there are fewer campers. We felt we had the campground pretty much to ourselves. The staff here are wonderful! A great stay in our favorite tent site!
Oct 18, 2013
Everything was clean. I was a little to far from the rest rooms but it was quite and met some real nice people. Plan to return but staying in cabin!
Oct 08, 2013
I loved this site. beautiful. the gentleman in charge was outstanding. but arriving at night, the directions were sketchy at best. would have stayed here longer but for time. very, very nice.
Oct 07, 2013
Lovely oak trees, a friendly staff and deer on the hilltops in the morning. What more could you ask for?
Oct 07, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
When we got there at 6pm we had to wait for our site cause the other people were still there. Then they have that site to someone else so we had to go to the one next to the playground which was very loud. Sixth koa I've stayed at in a week and the worst one. All the others were great.
Aug 27, 2013
Loved the Saturaday family fun activities. Such a great place to stay. Really enjoyed it!
Aug 26, 2013
The camp site was very nice. There was alot of noise after 10pm and early in the morning before 700am plus cars and ATC's traveling up and down the road. All Friday night there was a dog barking. Cleaning of the bathrooms from 8-10am? Prime hours the showering. Why not after 1200pm would seem more reasonable. Since check out is 11am.
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Everyone at this KOA was so friendly and accommodating. We had a great time!
Aug 20, 2013
There was a lot of things to do. Loved the options of tenting, yurts, cabins, the air pillow. If anything, the roads were kinda steep and bathrooms could have been more centrally located.
Aug 20, 2013
Great friends, great food, Willie Nelson nearby. Nice general store. Wish i could have stayed longer. stayed in yurt. very large and comfortable.
Aug 20, 2013
having a shuttle provided for a minimal fee to go to pozo was a huge plus! spaces for camping were small compared to most places, but staff is super accommodating. would stay again!
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Without a doubt, the best "Kamping" experience I have EVER had. Simple reservations, no confusion, PROMPT courteous check-in, in spite of concert crowd; quiet, private site, clean restroom. TRY IT!!!
Aug 20, 2013
Great time. Easy to book. Better than advertised. Great owner/staff.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
We hosted a high school youth event here and the students absolutely loved it! The staff was great, the campsite was just perfect and the jumping pillow was amazing! We are definitely scheduling more events here in the future. I cannot imagine a better camp, especially one so close to home on the central coast of California!
Aug 17, 2013
I normally have an amazing time at Santa Margarita KOA this was my 3rd year family camp trip.... This year we had a slightly bigger group and seemed to cost just way too much money.... I kinda felt upset and like I definitely did not get my money's worth this time... Not sure if we will back next year :0( It just wasn't as pleasant for me this year!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry to hear that you did not have your usual good time at SMKOA. We have not raised our rates in years. Please let us know what we can do to make your stay better when you visit us again!
Aug 15, 2013
The photos and the map did not indicate elevation. My two sites were at different elevations, thus inconvenient for our large group. On one of the nights, one of the KOA members assigned to the night shift was inebriated and walking around with a .22 rifle. Loaded firearms do not mix with alcohol....ever. The pool was lovely, and the water pressure for showers was great.
Aug 14, 2013
have stayed here twice now nice size camps and Kids love the jumping pillow pool is aways from the sites and showers on the hill unkept and dingy. a Bee and fly problem for sure. The help is very friendly
Aug 14, 2013
Had a great time. The staff was friendly and helpful. The facilities were all fine. Kids loved the jumping pillow. Wanted to spend every minute possible on it. Pool clean and refreshing. BBQ and music Saturday night was fun. This campground is built into the hills. Our site was fairly high up on one of the top terraces and we walked up and down a lot which was fun and cool for us.
Aug 12, 2013
our camp site was clean and the views were beautiful my kids loved it and the pool was crystal clean
Aug 12, 2013
We had a great time!!! Nice location, nice people, fabulous time!
Aug 12, 2013
It was great - Scott & Karen are fantastic! Lots of fun things to do - especially loved the little hayride.
Aug 09, 2013
I underestimated this site. Loved the location, the seclusion avail to those who wanted it and the awesome wildlife we saw in the night. Sunset was gorgeous too!
Aug 08, 2013
The bathrooms were filthy. My husband nor I could bring ourselves to step foot in the showers, and we needed shower after tenting in the "dust bowl" camp site. The four wheelers going up and down the hill (workers) kicked up more dirt than the campers coming in. And it was the most expensive KOA of the six we stayed at on this road trip.
Aug 08, 2013
The staff were very nice and personable! The only issue I had was that the curfew of some campsite/cabins who were very noisy were not enforced. Other than that we had a wonderful time!
Aug 07, 2013
My friend and I stayed in site 61. It overlooked all of the RVs. Not our idea of a great view, but once the Oleanders grow in, it'll be a dynamite site.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
The yurt your was clean and comfortable and very fun to stay in. The staff members were friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean but old and dingy. The fact that it is built on hill made it a little hard to navigate but very private.
Aug 05, 2013
Had a wonderful time! Bathrooms and other facilities were convenient but still spaced out enough to get some exercise and not have building too close together. The yurt was fantastic and we would stay there again in a minute! The star gazing event was an added bonus that we have been meaning to come to- so that was wonderful! thank you for a great experience!
Aug 05, 2013
Nice to get away from the heat and hussel bussel of the city. Relaxing atmosphere, great service
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Perfect for families. Lots of fun stuff for the kiddos. We were bummed that there was no swimming at the lake but nice that we could at least get wet at the pool.
Aug 02, 2013
Climbing the tall stairs to the restrooms late at night can be quite difficult.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.