Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Tent Reviews

Aug 16, 2014
The camp grounds were clean, the other campers were friendly and the staff were great. Oh, the pool, playgrounds and stargazing my kid loved it! Thank you KOA!
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
What a great campground. Some of the poor reviews you read are ridiculous. You are camping, what more do you want. The staff was great, the Saturday activities are awesome. We will be back. LOVE THIS KOA!!
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
The staff is great with personality to match.Camp ground is well taken care of and the bath houses are clean, and smell clean. The camp store is small but has every thing you might need if you forget it like I did. I didn't pack a wash cloth but was able to buy one for $1. I have no complaints from staff too store prices. An 8lb bag of ice is $3.25
Aug 11, 2014
Very friendly and lots of fun. The town nearby is very nice too.
Aug 10, 2014
A map with my registration was waiting for me on arrival, but the sites themselves were not well marked. The bathrooms were nice.
Aug 08, 2014
this koa has everything you need and looked like it had plenty of activities for a longer stay. We were in a tent site at the top of the hill which was quiet with a fantastic view but a tricky drive in the dark!!
Aug 04, 2014
Great place to get away. There are so many things to do in the area. The only thing I'd reconsider is the time of year I visit, it was very hot. Also, check out Shangri La ranch during your stay.
Aug 03, 2014
Stayed in 17 KOA's over 12 states during the course of the trip. The terrain is tough with sites often being cliff-side. There is not nearly enough bathrooms for the amount of folks this site holds and this was evident. Drought area needs a sanitary alternative.
Aug 01, 2014
I enjoyed the rural feel of the campground. We had the very top sight and the view was awesome! I have a feeling that campground has been around for awhile, and they are making some upgrades. The staff was friendly and very helpful.the only complaint complaint I have is the portable toilet at the top needs to be cleaned daily like the rest of the bathrooms. In all, we had a great time.
Jul 30, 2014
We just came up for one night this time since we were bringing a friends family and none of them had ever been camping before. They are converts. We'll be back soon for a longer stay!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Great visit. Owners super friendly. Would love it if electricity could be added to some tent sites. Also a large sink at restrooms for washing pots and pans would be super helpful. My kids loved the huge jumping pillow!!! Thanks!
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Me and my grandkids really enjoyed staying there. Love to be not to close to other campers. Would return in the future. Thank you
Jul 25, 2014
Huge disappointment! Unsafe roads, talcum type dirt 2" deep, disgusting ports potty, etc. I'm shocked you're allowed to rent those spots!! We camp a lot-have never seen anything as atrocious. Got they're late & office was closed, which is fine....campers shouldn't drive those roads in the dark. Unbelievable..... Pros:good water pressure, wildlife
Jul 23, 2014
loved the jumping pillow and large campsites. swimming pool was very clean but the disc golf course needs attention. we look forward to returning next summer.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Stayed 5 nights in mid July 2014. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our corner of the campground was very quiet. The restrooms were reasonably clean and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The pool was nice 4 out of 5 days, but Tuesday was free swim day and it was mobbed with small children. The campground is on a steep hillside giving campsite privacy, but makes getting around tough
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Hot showers, not right next to a freeway, bounce pillow and disc golf, helpful employees. What's not to love? Would recommend.
Jul 18, 2014
We always enjoy staying at the Santa Margarita KOA. It is well kept, the bathrooms are clean, the staff is amazing and the activities for the kids are great. With our local discount, its a nice little getaway without a bunch of fuss and travel. We will definitely be back soon :)
Jul 17, 2014
Office closed early, paths and directions to bathrooms not labelled, pool closed at 8, seems early. Site was nice and flat for a tent.
Jul 17, 2014
Lots of fun for the family. The pool was nice and the jumping pillow was fun for the kids!
Jul 17, 2014
The campsite was beautiful! The showers were cleaner than other campsite bathrooms I've used. Don't really have any complaints. Hope the new bath house is completed soon!
Jul 15, 2014
The staff was very welcoming and friendly. This was my first stay at a KOA and I can definitely say it will not be my last.
Jul 14, 2014
Clean site. Friendly staff.Clean bathrooms although far from our site. Cons- lots of wasps.
Jul 14, 2014
Before our stay I had 3 phone calls that were never returned, told by the owner that if our group wanted to party (while 5 of us were sitting around the fire), that we have houses for that and we needed to stop sitting around the fire and go into our individual tents and be quiet at 11:30, when a polite "hey guys, please keep it down for our other campers" would have been nicer. Will not be back.
Jul 14, 2014
We love staying at the Santa Margarita Lake KOA. It's close enough to home for a quick get away weekend that feels special. The kids love the giant jumping pillow and pool. They just go back and forth between the two all day! Couldn't be happier. Scott and Karen are amazing, and their entire team is eager to help...with smiles, all of them. That is rare in customer service today. What a gem.
Jul 14, 2014
Campground clean, staff welcome excellent, facilities well tended. A wide variety of camp spots enabled me to find a quiet corner to sleep well.
Jul 14, 2014
Awsome fun for everyone from one year old to two fat fourty year old guys.Camp was well kept. The bouncer pillow wore all of us out. Kellyand Scott were wonderful to work with and even with a last minute addition of my daughters family on a fully booked weekend they still made it happen and made us feel like we were their number one client. Looking forward to staying there again and again.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
Great place to camp near the lake.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Good: The yurt was great and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean. The staff was very nice. My kids loved the jumping pillow. Bad: The bathrooms are cleaned 8am-10am, which in my book is prime bathroom time. The pool was pretty gross and needed to be cleaned. I wouldn't consider fishing one of the activities because I don't think there are any fish in the lake.
Jun 30, 2014
The facility was well maintained overall, my only requests would be 1) water near my campsite (#90) 2) trash at/near campsite 3) bathroom facilities that didn't require a car drive 4) get rid of the "watch dog" who barked long into the night right at the fence a stone's throw from my tent.
Jun 29, 2014
We loved the yurt! We are locals but decided to do a one night slumber party for my daughters birthday. It was the perfect set up for a slumber party with teenage girls. The only negative was the distance to the bathrooms.
Jun 24, 2014
The staffs and the facility were wonderful. They went above and beyond to make sure we were welcome.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Everyone was extremely nice. The pool wasn't crowded and the area was clean. I highly recommend tis location. My kids had a blast!
Jun 24, 2014
Great crew. Nice shady tent site. Quiet out of the way location was appealing. Still close to towns along the coast. Toilets and showers were clean but could use a makeover. Enjoyed my stay.
Jun 23, 2014
Very clean campground and also the people there were very friendly and helpful. Our campsite 88 is awesome, its so private feels like your secluded from every one else with beautiful views..will definitely go back there again. .
Jun 23, 2014
The KOA people were all very nice. We had a nice time but some of the amenities that drew us to this KOA were not good. The basketball hoop was broken and in a parking lot. The disc golf course was in a hilly field of dead, knee high grass. The 3 teenage girls in our group enjoyed the party yurt and pool but my older teen son and I were a bit disappointed.
Jun 19, 2014
LOVED this KOA. We stayed in a Yurt (our first) and it was exceptional. The grounds at this location are amazing and it is also close to a beautiful beach. We can't wait to go back!
Jun 17, 2014
Loved it! Best KOA with beautiful grounds, lovely people and gorgeous surroundings!
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
The staff was so friendly 100% of the time. I was constantly needing to ask questions and adjust my reservations. They were so accommodating. The restrooms smelled good and the activities for the kiddos were top notch. Over all the facilities were clean and the hot water was hot! I only wish that the maps showed that everything was hilly ie the bathrooms were no where near our site. But now I know
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.