Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 20, 2016
All of the employees are in incredibly friendly and helpful. Thank you!
Sep 12, 2016
Sep 12, 2016
Star there was amazing thanks for everything nice weekend we passed there
Sep 12, 2016
The front desk lady made our stay!
Sep 08, 2016
Kim Ann was super kind. Restroom was okay as I observed the staff maintaining frequently. Great store with lots of stuff, but firewoods have a lot of moisture. Swimming pool was also okay, but was a bit small and the water was little to cold.
Sep 08, 2016
Kim Ann was the best host we have had yet on our 24,000mile journey from Alaska to Argentina. Thanks again!
Sep 07, 2016
The staff truly makes you feel like family.
Sep 07, 2016
The whole family loved this past weekend in Santa margarita koa, there is plenty of entertainment for everyone and we understand the section we camped is an overflow area.there is a need for Water and restrooms closer,electricity and elongated toilets, for the toilets are just too small!
Sep 06, 2016
Unique layout built into the hills. Very pretty scenic surroundings. Nice activities to keep the kids busy. Well kept bathrooms. Friendly, helpful staff.
Sep 06, 2016
We had amazing camping experience. If you are going camping with kids, this is the way to do it. Lots of fun things to do for them, since you can only make so many s'mores before they get bored. Great family bonding, amazing staff, we'll be back.
Sep 05, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 29, 2016
Very friendly staff and great pool area. The only slightly negative aspect about this campground is that the bathrooms and showers are quite a bit older. This is a good place to stay if you want a reasonably priced place to stay in the area.
Aug 29, 2016
i did not stay at the campground, i requested a refund as was denied.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, you were placed in our overflow RV area because we were completely full. KOA offers a full refund if you are unsatisfied & leave within an hour, which you did. The phone # we have does not work. I will contact you by e-mail to arrange a refund. We try to help folks when we are full.
Aug 28, 2016
I absolutely love this place!
Aug 24, 2016
Nice owner, nice und helpful peaple und great nature.
Aug 22, 2016
Friendly staff, clean, tons of activities for kids, beautiful scenery, very relaxing...
Aug 22, 2016
Really clean and well cared for campgrounds. Very welcoming staff.
Aug 18, 2016
Excellent staff, very helpful and knowledgeable. Pool is great families with kids and jumping pillow is a popular stop at our stay in Santa Margarita. Unfortunately a large group of campers showed up at 11:30pm and were very loud, talking and nailing stakes in the ground.
Aug 17, 2016
nicht sauber
Aug 16, 2016
Awesome!
Aug 16, 2016
Great crew and site
Aug 15, 2016
My husband and I have been coming to tent camp here since 2001 because we love this campground! Staff is friendly and helpful, the grounds are clean and well maintained. The owners are consistently making improvements that enhance visitors' experiences. Whether tenting or glamping, this KOA has something special for everyone!
Aug 15, 2016
Love this campground. The staff is awesome. We stayed in one of the yurts and the only problem was the entry and exit to the site. There is a lot of loose dirt that makes driving up and down hills a little tough. And the description of being close to bathrooms is correct but it's down a narrow path on the side of the hill, a little scary at night in the dark. But we loved the yurt and grounds
Aug 14, 2016
We love the camp layout, the bounce pillow, the pool, and the friendliness of staff. Your camp store is very well stocked and reasonably priced. We don't like the powdery dirt that gets everywhere, but the rest of the camp is great.
Aug 13, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
We have a 5 year old and had a great time and would love to return again.
Aug 08, 2016
The restroom facilities need better maintenance, the mens urinol were clogged up and so were the bowls. Also,a few extra urinols would be good. It would be nice to have some information on how to act in case we have a bear or a tarantula close to our tent. Overall I liked this park.
Aug 08, 2016
Accessibility is challenging for people with walking challenges
Aug 08, 2016
First time staying here and second staying at a koa. This koa didn't have much activity for kids. Other then the pool. The Surroundings Very Nature But dirt everywhere. friendly stuff. Felt very safe. Family friendly campers all around.
Aug 08, 2016
Great stay n fun activities
Aug 06, 2016
We have not camped out in many years so we were a bit rusty. We did not realize we were roughing it, well we learned, although could have been rougher. camp ground is good kids loved the pool and the jump pad. The only real concern was the rest room and showers were a little travel. all in all great experience. Thank You.
Aug 02, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Super friendly..last minute stay. I think we got the best campsite even though it was the remote one. Best view of the grounds!
Jul 31, 2016
Perfect
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
The place was clean, everyone was very friendly, and we had fun!!
Jul 26, 2016
Bel emplacement sanitaires bien entretenus personnel très sympathique et accueillant
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Everyone was very nice. Campground was well-kept. The only recommendation is to keep pool open until 9 in the summer. But that is being picky.
Jul 22, 2016
Nice store and helpful staff. Dirt tent site. Steep climb to showers and bathrooms.
Jul 21, 2016
Had a wonderful time at Santa Margarita!
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Very quiet and well kept. Would be nice to have a restroom closer to east side. Very nice managers! A little dusty up in there though.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Stayed for two nights. The staff was extremely nice and accommodated all of our need. I would be willing to stay here again, and will definitely recommend to friends.
Jul 17, 2016
Absolutely perfect! Great location, plenty of things for kids to do yet relaxing enough for me and my hubby. Friendly staff. Clean restrooms and shower's. Well definitely be back soon.
Jul 07, 2016
It was a Great stay, I love the Shower Points, very clean. The only thing is some People were still Noisey after 10:00 pm and the Roosters.
Jul 07, 2016
The campsite itself was pretty nice. Unfortunately, I got the site that was the furthest from everything and each time I had to use the restroom it was an uphill climb. I was also woken up by deer running around my campsite and was left wondering if they would stampede onto my tent. Overall, the people were friendly, but it would have been nice to be warned of all the wild wildlife.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

#25 is our most popular tent site because of its privacy and closeness to the restroom. Seeing wildlife is usually a bonus. I'm sorry the deer disturbed you. They usually keep their distance. The drought is sending them in search of food and water. You were not in danger. Now you have a GREAT story.
Jul 06, 2016
Good
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals