Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Accommodations, Deluxe Cabins, Log Cabins & Yurts

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

RV Sites, Tent Sites, RV & Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 12, 2017
Sep 10, 2017
Nice & quiet. A little far from places to eat & the steep dirt roads were tricky on a motorcycle but loved the peace & quiet. Definitely recommend for cars and RVs.
Sep 07, 2017
The entire staff was friendly! Awesome location, can't wait to be back.
Sep 06, 2017
We had a great time. Staff was very helpful and nice. Great pool activities. Rented a Yurt it was great. Would like to thank the staff for a wonderful Family camping trip. We plan to return again and for sure our labor day family trip.
Aug 28, 2017
I enjoyed my stay was excellent, with the exception of seeing and Witnessing the caged Ostrich. It was very upsetting and heartbreaking.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
One of the best kept secrets of KOA! Beautifull campground, very friendly and helpfull personell and nice scenery. At night you can really see the stars because it is dark enough. plenty of activities for young kids. Employees are really making an effort to make your stay really pleasant.
Aug 16, 2017
Entire campground is well maintained with clean bathrooms and showers. Staff is excellent and helpful! Jumping pillow and pool are always a favorite. Was our 3rd year visiting Santa Margarita, and looking forward to many more fun years!
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We tent camped for one night. The site had a few large trees that gave great shade in the morning. What I didn't realize about Santa Margarita is that it is all dirt - the roads and the tent sites. I went back and looked at the pictures on the KOA website and the pictures showed this as well. A good location near San Luis Obispo, but not as nice as some KOA's we've been to.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
I luv it here. the staff are truly the most kind, pleasant and helpful staff I have ever encountered. the restrooms are clean and have multiple showers. there is lots to do for the kids which is great. the pool is clean with lots of tables and chairs. I have the best time here and cant wait to come back!!
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
Perfect spot at #6 tent site.
Jul 31, 2017
The 1st thing I would say was the campground host was very nice,& she did her best. From here I was disappointed with my stay. The accommodations need a lot of update, it is probably the most unimproved or updated KOA I've stayed in. It apprears very little improments have been made since'90. we also had a group of 40 move in beside us with no regard for quiet hour, & were not corrected til 1am.
Jul 26, 2017
Jul 26, 2017
LOVED the gals at the front desk, so friendly and helpful. Now this is a campground, true to KOA camping. Would highly recommend.
Jul 25, 2017
friendly staff and spacious sites
Jul 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time camping at KOA Santa Margarita. My only complaints were that our campsite (#39) literally had no shade. It was very hot and even just one tree for shade would have helped. And my other complaint is that the bathrooms are very inconveniently placed. Quite a walk for young children.
Jul 24, 2017
It was a good stay, our plan was to go for the beach in Pismo and see sea elephants. Both are 30 min drive. Big plus for staff. Small minus for the dirt.
Jul 24, 2017
We had a lot of fun. We were in a more remote campsite, which we opted for, but it was difficult to find and get to. We could've walked to everything if the hills weren't so bad. I'm just glad we had a truck to take us around. The pool was freezing cold. And the basketball court is nothing more than a basketball hoop in a RV parking area. Other campsites seemed nice. The bathrooms were well kept.
Jul 23, 2017
It was nice but the kids crying and parents yelling was stressful
Jul 20, 2017
Made a late same night reservation for a camping spot. Reservation person was outstanding. Upon check-in there were no envelopes which was confusing. Couldn't figure out phone. Bathrooms could use updating. Enjoyed short visit.
Jul 20, 2017
Really friendly staff, clean facilities, lots of space. What else do you want?
Jul 19, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
Lovely time! Amazing staff, fabulous accommodations, super fun activities and amenities. Only bummer is the dust, but you are camping after all! Highly recommend.
Jul 17, 2017
Loved everything! Can't wait to come back in September.
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 14, 2017
It was our sons first camping trip and he enjoyed every bit of it. Thank you for everything, the staff was wonderful and made our stay even more enjoyable. Our favorite thing was the jumping pillow, which we visited multiple times a day. We will definitely visit again!
Jul 12, 2017
Fantastic KOA! The staff is super friendly and very helpful.
Jul 12, 2017
All the campers were pretty quiet, the area is very shady, the bathrooms are clean, and the staff was nice. Not a bad place to stay!
Jul 09, 2017
Had a great time at this KOA. Staff was friendly. Would definitely stay again.
Jul 08, 2017
The kampground is super family-friendly, which meant the kiddies (and I!) loved it. My children loved the bouncy thingy, the playground, and the pool. And I liked watching them enjoy the Great Outdoors without the dreaded electronic gadgets. I also liked the wide open kampsites that provided privacy and space for the tent, etc.
Jul 05, 2017
Camp was too dusty and many of the sites had no shade. That made it uncomfortable during our stay in July. But kids activities are offered and the staff is friendly. May want to include an after hours phone number for reporting water leaks or other emergencies.
Jul 05, 2017
Love the remote sites! The staff is also amazing and very friendly.
Jul 05, 2017
Bummer it's not near the lake
Jul 04, 2017
Need to be fit. Washrooms not always clean during the week but very clean at weekends. Kamp America bus there one night and the occupants were horrendous. Drinking and extremely loud until 3 am. No one nearby got much sleep that night.otherwise clean and very helpful staff.
Jul 03, 2017
Jun 30, 2017
Nice campground. Tent site was a little dusty, though no big deal. clean restrooms. only .2 mile from beautiful Lake Maragarita.
Jun 29, 2017
we loved our stay, the people had great attitudes and help us when we had questions..I would recommend this camp site to anyone as 5 stars..
Jun 29, 2017
Enjoyed our stay in your yoaurk (not spelled right) very much.
Jun 26, 2017
fun pool and bounce pillow, but mostly owners and staff very happy to have us, and very helpful.
Jun 25, 2017
We enjoyed our stay.
Jun 21, 2017
Santa Margarita KOA is lots of fun for kids and adults. The pool is awesome! The staff in the store is super friendly. Our site, "the fishbowl" was so perfect for our 4 toddlers and 6 adults. Our one complaint is that the jumping pillow thing was not working the majority of the time that we were there. We finally went once when it was working and it was so fun- just wish it was working more.
Jun 21, 2017
I will be honest and say I had higher expectations. We recently stayed at the KOA in Ventura, and it was better equipped/set up.Our reservation was also suppose to have shade and didn't. We were tent camping so we had to buy a canopy to help with the heat. Was okay.
Jun 09, 2017
Very friendly staff!
Jun 04, 2017
Friendly staff, clean restrooms, and great place to camp.
May 31, 2017
We stay here as often as possible, this is our first choice when camping either in tents or trailer. Karen and the rest of her wonderful staff are so respectful as well as helpful. Visted other KOAs and they do not compare to Santa Margarita. This KOA has alot the others can learn from. Great job Karen,me and my wife thank you and your team for making our stay such a wonderful one again.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals