Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

May 27, 2014
The cabin was FANTASTIC!! Our whole family member were LOVE this place. But!! This KOA is too far from LA with 101 freeway heavy traffic. ^^
May 27, 2014
The campsites were a little close. I like some room and a little privacy when camping.
May 15, 2014
May 14, 2014
Had a wonderful time bonding with friends. Noticed that they are adding more cabins which we plan to stay next time.
May 13, 2014
We arrived after the office was closed, & it was after a big weekend. The bathrooms were pretty unpleasant, but the cabin in which we stayed, was clean. KOA has always set a good standard, so I'm sure this isn't a regular occurance.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so very sorry that our restrooms were not up to our usual standard of cleanliness during your visit. We had a brief housekeeping issue, at the end of April and the first week of May, which has been resolved. Please visit us again and you'll find everything clean from corner to corner.
May 06, 2014
WE SPENT THREE DAYS AND TWO NIGHTS IN THE DELUXE CABIN NEAR THE POOL ND ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH. THANKS FOR A GREAT TIME. WE'LL DEFINETLY DO IT AGAIN.
May 05, 2014
the camp location was great. but cabin and restroom was not cleaned and dirty. the shower was lusted
May 04, 2014
Best time to visit is in spring time
May 03, 2014
The hosts are very helpful and the campground is well maintained. The bathrooms were dirty, not maintained for 2 days of my 3 day stay.
May 01, 2014
Great place and people
Apr 28, 2014
Loved everything about it. First time there. Will definitely return.
Apr 28, 2014
We loved your camp site. The little cabins are great for people that are riding motorcycles. We had a great time. It was also very nice that they pervided bedding and towels so we had more room on are bikes for the ride up. Can't wait to vist more KOA destinations on are bikes thank you.
Apr 25, 2014
It was wonderful!
Apr 22, 2014
Very nice prefab cabin walking distance to the lake. Summer Swimming pool. Quite, clean, friendly.
Apr 22, 2014
Friendly staff, turkeys and deer around, bathrooms clean, lots of trees, unique campground! We stay here anytime we're in the area!
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 15, 2014
Very nice and clean cabin, missing a few essentials (kitchen trash can and bags, hand soap, only had 1 roll of toilet paper). Only things wrong with cabin were bathtub drain didn't plug and bathroom fan didn't work. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.
Apr 08, 2014
This may be one of the nicest locations of any KOA campground. Staff was friendly and accommodating.
Apr 07, 2014
We frequent the Moteray Bay Area, and spend $200 plus a night for a hotel room. Our family also loves camping with you, we get the best of both worlds at a great price, the kids had a blast making s'mores. The cabins are great, can't wait to go back.
Apr 03, 2014
Our stay was outstanding! Karen at check in was so friendly and hospitable. And even though it rained we were very cozy in our clean and comfortable cabin.
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 24, 2014
Mar 16, 2014
Mar 10, 2014
Our stay in a deluxe Kabin was fantastic. The only complaint I have is that the Kabin was not as clean as it should have been.
Feb 23, 2014
The woman who helped me in the koa office and on site was extremely nice and helpful. Felt at home.
Feb 18, 2014
Scott was a huge part of our GREAT time. His warm welcome and enthussiasm were just what we needed. We haven't visited here for about 5 years but the new kabins were great for our family. I was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer in August and can't travel far and need lots of rest. I got that and my kids had a great time on the pillow jumper! What great memories my kids will have of this vaction!
Feb 18, 2014
Great location, nice people.
Feb 18, 2014
The location grabbed us; the pictures and zany video hooked us. We were looking for a last-minute get-away and this KOA with its 2 bedroom cabin fit the bill. The bathrooms were clean, the hosts extremely friendly, and the proximity to Santa Margarita Lake 1/4 mile. This KOA sits on hilly terrain, which makes some of the sites more challenging to get to, but it also allows for some amazing views.
Feb 17, 2014
Nice and beautiful area ...... So good so cool
Jan 28, 2014
Everything was extremely clean, staff was very helpful,and nice. had a great experience! look forward to more with KOA. :)
Jan 27, 2014
We had a very we'll rested weekend . Love the koa park. Would highly recommend it.
Jan 21, 2014
We were pleasantly surprised with this KOA. The staff was great. The amenities were awesome. The kids LOVED the jumping pillow! The cabin was nice and cozy. We saw deer, blue jays and woodpeckers. Great family time away from it all. We will definitely be back!
Jan 19, 2014
Jan 14, 2014
Everything was wonderful! The only reason I could not give 4 stars was the area around the picnic table had a lot of dog poo around it. someone was not cleaning up after their pet. The day we left a bag of dog poo was left on a rock by our car. Very disappointing that people are so inconsiderate. Camp site should have been checked before we arrived so at least we did not arrive to dog poo.
Jan 14, 2014
It was a great bday weekend for my husbands 70th. Love the lay out of the place. We will definitely be back. Thanks. The beattie's in cabin 16
Jan 14, 2014
beautiful scenery, warm, clean cabin
Jan 09, 2014
I absolutely loved it. The cabins are great. So much wildlife! One star missing only because the whole lot is hills and hard with small child and walks/bikes. Definitely going again
Jan 06, 2014
Cabin was clean with heater (better bed). It was very quiet as a campground is 8 miles away from 101. We slept & eat well at this place. Restroom & Play area needs upgrade and cleaning. It is very dusty and need proper landscaping. Bring your drinking water. Pool was very clean, but you can't use in winter time.
Jan 05, 2014
Santa Margarita KOA has been our family vacation spot for over 25 years. I instantly relax and feel at home each and every visit.
Jan 05, 2014
The cabin was clean and comfortable, we enjoyed the fire ring and the meteor shower at 4 am was worth getting up in the cold. Thanks
Jan 02, 2014
We stayed in the little cabins. Theyre cute and perfect for sleeping. My kids spent most of the time on the jumping pillow and had a blast. We will definetely be coming back in the summer to use the pool and to watch movies on the cool hay bale theatre. Great place!!
Jan 01, 2014
Dec 30, 2013
Staff was very welcoming and attentive to any/every need. Staff were pleasant and the grounds were very well kept. I will be returning very soon!
Dec 17, 2013
Very friendly staff. The Cabin was great!
Dec 15, 2013
Rented a deluxe cabin with kitchenette and shower. There was no heat and it was freezing cold. After some wait, they upgraded me to a bigger deluxe cabin with heatat no extra cost. This is my home away from home, but I'm becoming a bit disillusioned with management. The store should have been open until 5 pm for check in. It was closed when I got there at 4:50. Granted, this was not peak season.
Dec 11, 2013
Dec 07, 2013
Dec 03, 2013
We have been spending Thanksgiving weekend in the Santa Margarita KOA for at least 6 years! We LOVE it! Our numbers go up and down each year, this year we had 20 family and friends! Looking forward to many more years camping here :-)
Dec 03, 2013
Nov 30, 2013
We had a very good time. Kabin was comfortable. Kampgrounds and bathrooms clean. We will most likely return there.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.