Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jul 13, 2014
Thanks for you good services
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Wonderful staff....Allowed us to check in early and directed us to the rec room where I could watch the World Cup Semifinal w/o having to drive into town.
Jul 09, 2014
What a great camping experience! The hosts were quite friendly, accommodations were plentiful and our cabin was clean and cozy. The sites were close together so it wasn't quiet or secluded in our area but other spaces were. Lots of wildlife could be heard at night, such a nice change from a hotel! We'll visit again!
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
The staff were great. Very helpful. The campground is laid out well and there were many events offered over the weekend. The negative was that there were so many dogs off leash as well as a number of unsupervised children of very young age roaming around. We had a group right next to us overly drunk and openly smoking weed behind their yurt which meant right next to my cabin.
Jun 24, 2014
Very clean bathrooms and cabin. Arrived after hours and left early so didn't see much of camp. There are 24 steps up to the bathroom so it would not be a good location for those with some types of medical issues. Nice staff.
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Arrived late ( 10pm) tired and road weary, Scott appeared out of the darkness, asked if we needed help. He made sure we were all good then guided us to our Kabin doorstep. What a God send.. Bathrooms clean, pool clean, hosts and employees awesome. We will be back. Thanks KOA! Love. E
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
We called at the last minute because we were disappointed with the KOA that we had reservations with. Not only did they fit us in but they gave us a deluxe cabin. We have stayed here several times and have always enjoyed it. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome.
Jun 17, 2014
We enjoyed our stay and loved the view from our cabin.
Jun 17, 2014
We rented two cabins. (#10 & #11) Both were extrememely clean and comfortable. The entire staff was friendly, welcoming and always helpful. We all felt like family. Couldnt have asked for a better group of people, better accomodations or a better time.
Jun 17, 2014
Our stay would have been a lot better had we been in a different spot. With little kids & bring right next to the road it was stressful. People were flying by also in the middle of the night. I did see kabins in spots that would have been so much better for us.
Jun 04, 2014
May 27, 2014
The cabin was FANTASTIC!! Our whole family member were LOVE this place. But!! This KOA is too far from LA with 101 freeway heavy traffic. ^^
May 27, 2014
The campsites were a little close. I like some room and a little privacy when camping.
May 15, 2014
May 14, 2014
Had a wonderful time bonding with friends. Noticed that they are adding more cabins which we plan to stay next time.
May 13, 2014
We arrived after the office was closed, & it was after a big weekend. The bathrooms were pretty unpleasant, but the cabin in which we stayed, was clean. KOA has always set a good standard, so I'm sure this isn't a regular occurance.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so very sorry that our restrooms were not up to our usual standard of cleanliness during your visit. We had a brief housekeeping issue, at the end of April and the first week of May, which has been resolved. Please visit us again and you'll find everything clean from corner to corner.
May 06, 2014
WE SPENT THREE DAYS AND TWO NIGHTS IN THE DELUXE CABIN NEAR THE POOL ND ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH. THANKS FOR A GREAT TIME. WE'LL DEFINETLY DO IT AGAIN.
May 05, 2014
the camp location was great. but cabin and restroom was not cleaned and dirty. the shower was lusted
May 04, 2014
Best time to visit is in spring time
May 03, 2014
The hosts are very helpful and the campground is well maintained. The bathrooms were dirty, not maintained for 2 days of my 3 day stay.
May 01, 2014
Great place and people
Apr 28, 2014
Loved everything about it. First time there. Will definitely return.
Apr 28, 2014
We loved your camp site. The little cabins are great for people that are riding motorcycles. We had a great time. It was also very nice that they pervided bedding and towels so we had more room on are bikes for the ride up. Can't wait to vist more KOA destinations on are bikes thank you.
Apr 25, 2014
It was wonderful!
Apr 22, 2014
Very nice prefab cabin walking distance to the lake. Summer Swimming pool. Quite, clean, friendly.
Apr 22, 2014
Friendly staff, turkeys and deer around, bathrooms clean, lots of trees, unique campground! We stay here anytime we're in the area!
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 15, 2014
Very nice and clean cabin, missing a few essentials (kitchen trash can and bags, hand soap, only had 1 roll of toilet paper). Only things wrong with cabin were bathtub drain didn't plug and bathroom fan didn't work. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.
Apr 08, 2014
This may be one of the nicest locations of any KOA campground. Staff was friendly and accommodating.
Apr 07, 2014
We frequent the Moteray Bay Area, and spend $200 plus a night for a hotel room. Our family also loves camping with you, we get the best of both worlds at a great price, the kids had a blast making s'mores. The cabins are great, can't wait to go back.
Apr 03, 2014
Our stay was outstanding! Karen at check in was so friendly and hospitable. And even though it rained we were very cozy in our clean and comfortable cabin.
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 24, 2014
Mar 16, 2014
Mar 10, 2014
Our stay in a deluxe Kabin was fantastic. The only complaint I have is that the Kabin was not as clean as it should have been.
Feb 23, 2014
The woman who helped me in the koa office and on site was extremely nice and helpful. Felt at home.
Feb 18, 2014
Scott was a huge part of our GREAT time. His warm welcome and enthussiasm were just what we needed. We haven't visited here for about 5 years but the new kabins were great for our family. I was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer in August and can't travel far and need lots of rest. I got that and my kids had a great time on the pillow jumper! What great memories my kids will have of this vaction!
Feb 18, 2014
Great location, nice people.
Feb 18, 2014
The location grabbed us; the pictures and zany video hooked us. We were looking for a last-minute get-away and this KOA with its 2 bedroom cabin fit the bill. The bathrooms were clean, the hosts extremely friendly, and the proximity to Santa Margarita Lake 1/4 mile. This KOA sits on hilly terrain, which makes some of the sites more challenging to get to, but it also allows for some amazing views.
Feb 17, 2014
Nice and beautiful area ...... So good so cool
Jan 28, 2014
Everything was extremely clean, staff was very helpful,and nice. had a great experience! look forward to more with KOA. :)
Jan 27, 2014
We had a very we'll rested weekend . Love the koa park. Would highly recommend it.
Jan 21, 2014
We were pleasantly surprised with this KOA. The staff was great. The amenities were awesome. The kids LOVED the jumping pillow! The cabin was nice and cozy. We saw deer, blue jays and woodpeckers. Great family time away from it all. We will definitely be back!
Jan 19, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.